CarComplaints.com Notes: Considering sales numbers and data that monitors complaints-per-make, there appears to be an unusually high number of issues with the 2012 Fiat 500. Perhaps that isn't surprising -- it is the first model year of the car, and those tend to have a higher incidence rate.

Of particular concern is the number of engine and powertrain complaints submitted to NHTSA.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,386 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Fiat 500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Fiat 500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Fiat 500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #119

Jan 182017

500

  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Stopped at a red light on the highway. When light changed, I let out the clutch to start driving, but the gear never engaged. Tried every gear. Only reverse would try, but it would only grind. No clutch engagement.

- Chaska, MN, USA

problem #118

Jan 072017

500

  • 48,598 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Fiat 500. While driving 40 mph and shifting gears, the vehicle failed to remain in the current gear. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the clutch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The mechanic stated that the issues were not the same as those listed in NHTSA campaign number: 16V302000 (power train). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 48,598.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #117

Jan 162017

500

  • miles
For the record my vehicle is at my home and not at a Fiat studio this has been verified by my local police department. I will take my vehicle into Fiat to complete the incomplete recall when........ Chrysler Fiat gets mechanics in the state of Utah that are certified and trained to work on a Fiat using the proper tools! when I spoke with Fiat phone number 800-992-1997 on 01/16/2017 around 9am mountain day light time I felt as if I was being cohered into summiting a claim for reimbursement of the faulty parts that were put into my vehicle by Fiat Chrysler in slc Utah between 10/03/2016 and 10/27/2016 I have not and will authorize anyone to be reimbursed on my behalf. I have not filed any claim myself for reimbursement.

- Saratoga Springs, UT, USA

problem #116

Dec 222015

500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle was stationary in the driveway when it refused to shift out of neutral or into reverse. It''s been taken in for an initial diagnostic and I've been informed the pressure plate is worn and they say it''s unrelated to the well known S34 recall. My car is only at 38000 miles and they say it''s normal for a pressure plate to wear at this period but I find it difficult to believe so many people have the same problem and that it''s entirely unrelated to the clutch spring issues stemming from the clutch travel not having a limiter. If I'd been on the road or freeway this would have been very dangerous for me and I'm concerned by the amount of people experiencin the same problem. The company officially so far has told me that it''s not covered under warranty as the pressure plate warranty only lasts 1yr or 12,000 miles which is ridiculous considering the importance of the part, the difficulty and expense of replacing it, and the fact there are so many related elements they've chosen to ignore as possiblet cause. I've been quoted just under 1600 to replace it. This is unacceptable in a car at only 38000 miles to have such an expensive and dangerous issue that has been reported significantly.

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #115

Jan 132017

500

  • 189,000 miles
As of 01/15/2017 my 2012 Fiat 500 pop recall has still not been fixed correctly. I am currently renting a vehicle for transportation. Fiat Chrysler has not paid me one penny toward my vehicle rental. I have received random emails from Chrysler the last email was dated January 13, 2017 saying they had an updated on case #30818709. What update could they have my vehicle recall has not been fixed in a timely manner. My vehicle has not been fixed at all. The truth is there are very few mechanics in the United States of America capable of fixing a Fiat because of the unique design most mechanics don't have the proper training for this particular design of vehicle nor do they have the correct tools the vehicle is designed using a european metric system in order to bring the vehicle to safety standards Fiat mechanics need the proper training and tools! bottom line my recall has not been fixed!

- Saratoga Springs, UT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #114

Jan 022017

500 4-cyl

  • miles
2012 Fiat 500. Consumer writes in regards to manual transaxle/clutch pedal recall 16V-302 technical difficulties.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #113

Dec 302016

500

  • 105,170 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The clutch peddle recall S-34 does not fit the problem with the Fiat clutch assembly. The root cause of the problem is excessive pressure on the throw out bearing and subsequently the pressure plate. My clutched failed at 105170 miles at under 1 mph while going from a stop to putting it into reverse to park at my workplace in baton rouge, la. This occurred in late August and I was without my primary transportation until December 30th due to parts not being available for the recall issued and the recall not covering all of the failed parts as it should have. The consumer should not be responsible for a design failure on the manufacturers part and should not have to pay $1500 for a repair that Fiat and the NHTSA should have recalled when clutches started failing with less that 20000 miles on them back in 2012. Fiat needs to own up to their failure and recall the entire clutch assembly not just the peddle. That is like putting a bandage on a time bomb hoping nobody notices.

- Albany, LA, USA

problem #112

Nov 202016

500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Fiat 500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V302000 (power train) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #111

Dec 262016

500

  • 189,000 miles
My car 3C3cffar2ct280401 2012 Fiat 500 pop 2 door hatchback has still not had the safety recall fixed Fiat Chrysler is in contempt of court because my recall has not been fixed in a timely matter!

- Saratoga Springs, UT, USA

problem #110

Jun 212016

500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Fiat 500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V302000 (power train). Due to the dealer's refusal to work within the contact's schedule, the recall repair was not completed. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- North Richmond Hills, TX, USA

problem #109

May 102016

500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

With a low mileage (under 20K miles), the car has been in taken back to the service department for over 5 times for main seal (between engine and the transmission) leakage, engine programming recall, and repeated noise when the car is in motion that can't be identified/fixed.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #108

Nov 142016

500

  • 131,000 miles
I have recently taken care in for engine light it was, then both head lights went out again. Theyve done this going down the road at night. Now transmission and engine light came on. Was told could be torque converter clutch was stored default and cleared may come bk, or tcm or torque converter or solenoid. I am still paying for this car had little over a year now. 131,000 mile. Ive put only 42K on it. Others complain same parts/issues. This needs to be a recall issue now. I am a traveling nurse, I have to have a car to take care of my patients please. Now it sits waits go to cary nc 11/29. Diag cost me $141 to see ? is now. Just had sparks/wires replaced two weeks ago. Please help

- Henderson, NC, USA

problem #107

Nov 222016

500

  • miles
Clutch cover diaphragm spring may fatigue &/or fracture, resulting in an inability to disengage the clutch, shift gear, and potential loss of power that could result in a crash. This recall just came in the mail and is pretty serious. I am traveling for the holidays and my service station is unable to service my vehicle for over a month. For something this serious, that is an unacceptable time frame.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #106

Jun 272016

500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Fiat 500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V302000 (power train) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hannibal, MO, USA

problem #105

Oct 162016

500

  • 26,000 miles
Rear main seal oil leaks. Car only has 26,000 miles on it and has only been driven around town. Dealer claims this is "normal wear and tear" and is denying service under 100,000 mile power train warranty terms.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #104

Jan 012015

500 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
2012 Fiat 500. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle manual clutch malfunction and consumer seeks reimbursement for manual transaxle clutch recall notice. The consumer referenced recall 16V302000.

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #103

Aug 102015

500

  • miles
Light check engine and power train.

- Guaynabo, PR, USA

problem #102

Jun 012016

500

  • 23,000 miles
Recall S34/NHTSA 16V-302 was issued in June but now we are in October and the local Fiat dealer (frontier Dodge Chrysler Jeep in lubbock, Texas) has not yet repaired the defect.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #101

Oct 272016

500

  • 18,500 miles
Manual clutch recall received June 2016. Per only Rhode Island dealer, Fiat still has not provided the repair parts as of October 27, 2016. Serious safety issue as clutch continues to stick or not return unpredictably in moving traffic situations. Five months have passed since recall and manufacturer has failed to remedy. NHTSA should impose a serious and exemplary fine and other penalty. Recall is S34 / NHTSA 16V-302. Please respond to me at [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Barrington, RI, USA

problem #100

Oct 252016

500

  • 19,000 miles
There has been an open recall for a clutch problem since June. Almost 5 months later and Fiat has no update on the parts.

- Manhasset Hills, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?