Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,682 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Fiat 500 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Fiat 500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Fiat 500 Owner Comments

problem #16

Nov 222015

500

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought car on May 2014. After I used car for 2-3 months I have a problem about I couldn't start because of no battery power. I took to the shop and they said change the battery brand new. However, after I use car for 6-7 months it happened again that I couldn't start the car D/T no battery, the technician said to me that the computer drain the battery and they will adjust the computer system not to drain battery. After the 2nd time happen I drove for another 3-4 months I experience the smoke coming out from the front hood while I was driving. I brought to the shop and the technician couldn't find any problem. And as of today (11/22/15) it happen again that I couldn't start my car. My car monitor said the radiation fluid temperature is too high. I have to towed car to the shop. The shop called me said they couldn't find any problem the car is start normally. My current mileage of the car is 20,000. Im so lucky that still alive and I only bought car not even a good 2 years. I already have tremendous problem and Fiat companies didn't want to try to help me to resolved it at all.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #15

Sep 052015

500

  • 3,506 miles
I was pulling into traffic on an extremely busy road. There is always heavy traffic on this road so you must pull out into traffic quickly. When doing so I pressed the gas pedal almost to the floor. The car did not shift into any gear. It was like it went into neutral. The RPM's reved and it would not move. I was almost hit on both sides of the vehical. This happened on Saturday Sept. 5th. On tues. Sept 8th I was on an on ramp to the interstate. I once again pressed firmly onthe gas pedel to be able to meger into traffic and quickly get up to speed. While doing so, the car acted the same way. It was like it was in neutral. I was once again almost hit by several cars. I called Fiat in portland and demanded they look at the car. At first they could'nt get me in as they were over booked. I explained that I have surgery in mass. On Friday the 11th and I cannot drive this car on a four lane highway. I feel extremely unsafe in this vehicle. I have many other mechanical problems that they are looking into as well. This is the worst car that I have ever purchaced. I have also contacted Fiat usa.

- Arundel, ME, USA

problem #14

Aug 112015

500

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Fiat 500. While stopped at a traffic light, the vehicle jerked violently. A message appeared on the dashboard instructing the contact to place the transmission shifter in the neutral position and then into the drive position. The contact followed the instructions and the engine failed without warning. The contact attempted to restart the engine multiple times before succeeding. The check engine warning light then illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle was reluctant to accelerate and drive slowly. The contact also noticed a burning odor. The contact discovered that the odor was coming from under the hood. The vehicle was towed to a dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 39,000.

- Lemoor, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 132013

500

  • 1,045 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Fiat 500. While driving at approximately 30 mph, the transmission temperature gauge warning light illuminated and a voice activated indicating that the clutch was overheating and warned the contact to park the vehicle immediately. In addition, the contact stated that when the vehicle was parked in various weather conditions, the shift lever failed to shift out of the park position. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, where it was inspected but the cause of the failure was not determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,045.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #12

Jul 132015

500

  • miles
I had my radio replaced at the dealership because the screen was having some distortion issues and also it was creating a lot of heat, so it was replaced and now it's starting to short out and they cant seem to figure out why its doing it! the volume goes up and down once in awhile by itself and they can't seem to figure that out either! also my wife has been experiencing a lack of power when she's driving and the vehicle will not go past 50mph, and then it starts to shake pretty bad! she has to pull over and shut the car off wait 2 minutes and than turn it back on and than it's fine! and lastly when I sit at a traffic light I start to smell something burning coming from the engine and I pull over to inspect the engine and nothing.. I called the dealership and the lady told me it's the transmission burning because I have the auto manual shifter model and that's why it does it and it is normal! I really don't think it's normal at all? the lady at the service counter told me that this model really took off in italy but not here in the states! so I guess I bought a lemon I told her and all she said was she was sorry!! I have so much trouble at this dealership because I have to prove something is always wrong with my car!!!

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #11

Feb 242015

500

  • 9,326 miles
On the day of Feb. 24 2015 me and my wife were in the drive-thru at star-buck. While we were in line to get coffee we smell this bad burning smell. I thought it was from some where in the area, I even ask the star-buck clerk whats that smell, his reply was this is the first time smelling it. As we pulled off from star-bucks I noticed white smoke coming from under the hood and making its way into the cabin of the vehicle. Called the Fiat dealership as it was happening, they suggest me to bring Fiat in, so I did. Fiat verified the problem and stated this.( verified clutch burning type smell under hood. Inspect and found no leak and no codes in PCM or tcm. Drove and found engagement from stop very slightly delayed compared to newer vehicle. Relearned clutch contact points. Drove again and feels better. Ok at this time.) then on May 6 2015 14005 miles, my Fiat 500L did it again. We were at popeyes drive-thru waiting in line to buy chicken and it happen again with the burning smell and white smoke, but this time my Fiat wouldn't move while we were in drive. So I shifted out of drive to reverse from reverse to neutral and car wouldn't move. Then I put it in park and kill the car, reatrted car and it decided to move then. So it scared me again with the breathing of the burning smell, in which hurts your lungs and burns your eyes. So I brought the Fiat to a different Fiat dealership, with my concern. They kept the car for 1 day and said. (test drive vehicle and is operating as designed. Shifts through gears pro pertly, up shifts and down shifts. Unable to duplicate concern at this time. Checked over vehicle ans is operating as designed.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #10

Apr 152015

500

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Fiat 500. While driving approximately 42 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and the contact lost control of the vehicle. As a result, the contact crashed causing damage to the rear driver side of the vehicle and the rear window. A police report was not filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 6,000. The VIN was not available.

- Marble Falls, TX, USA

problem #9

Apr 182015

500

  • miles
Was driving the car in stop and go traffic in detroit. Car began to smoke heavily as if on fire, and engine shut down and stalled right in the middle of the highway. Had car towed to dealership and they were unable to do immediate diagnosis of car. Car has less than 5000 miles on it and was purchased brand new in October 2014.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #8

Oct 082014

500

  • 15,461 miles
While driving the car, would experience jerky movements while the car shifted in 1st, 2nd and 3rd gears, both accelerating and decelerating. Have had issues with the transmission locking while the car is in park, needing to let the car sit and then restarting it. Have also had issues with sluggish 1st gear that suddenly lurches forward when the gas pedal is really pushed down. Braking is also touchy. Multiple trips to the dealership service department to have this fixed, opened a case with the manufacturer regarding the fixes. Manufacturer supplied a new transmission valve body that was replaced, seemingly fixed the jerky movement but resulted in the sluggish 1st gear. Manufacturer closed case when lemon law was mentioned.

- Pleasant Grove, UT, USA

problem #7

Mar 102015

500

  • 7,810 miles
We purchased the 500L Fiat in December of 2014. On February 14, 2015 we brought the vehicle in because on a return trip from tijuana Mexico while in border traffic the engine started smoking. The car looked like it was going to catch on fire, it smelled of burnt rubber. We brought the car in and they explained that this has been happening a lot and the manufacturer is aware but is not doing anything about it. We contacted Chrysler usa and opened a case, however during the case review the car did the same thing and we returned the car to the service shop on March 10th...which again they said it is our fault the car is doing this due to driver error. I should explain that what they are calling driver error, it is an automatic vehicle and Chrysler usa is saying that for this vehicle (mind you it is an automatic) if you are in traffic for a period of 5 minutes or longer you must shift the car on every occasion into neutral or else it could burn out the transmission. They go on to say that if the car does smoke just pull over and after the transmission cools down it is safe to drive again. I asked Chrysler usa to show me on exactly what page does it say that in their manual, furthermore that when purchasing this car the dealer did not disclose special driving instruction for their automatic vehicle. If the dealer did disclose that information before the sale we would have not bought a car that could leave us stranded in Mexico or other areas. At this point after Chrysler usa, has refused to show us where it states that in the manual if in traffic more than five minutes the car must be shifted into neutral to avoid burning out the transmission, and they are not intending on doing anything besides tell us that "sorry the car is performing as designed". we are taking every means necessary to get a buyback on this vehicle.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #6

Nov 142014

500

  • 432 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Fiat 500. The contact stated that while driving at unknown speeds, the vehicle decelerated without warning. In addition, fumes were seeping into the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the battery was low which caused the failure. As a result, the battery was removed and placed back into the vehicle but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 432. Updated 7/29/15

- Palestine, TX, USA

problem #5

May 232014

500 4-cyl

  • 19,278 miles
Intermittent no crank no start, when turning the key ti to start the car the engine does not engage on the first try. You can hear the clicking of the starter and all electronics power up but engine does not engage and start, similar to not having enough compression in the engine. As time passes the more frequent the issue becomes. 5/23/14 1st visit to service department, updated powertrain module. Returned car to service department on 5/29/14 for same no start issue, software update and reprogrammed instrument cluster module software. 6/9/14 car did not stat, return to service department 6/13/14, internal circuit/software failure replaced and programmed new powertrain control module. 7/3/14 went to pick up car from service department and car did not start. Back in shop and was told needed an update that has not been released to pick up car and deal with no starting issues until update is ready. Left the car at dealership saying not acceptable to pick up if not fixed. Still working on trying to get it fixed.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #4

Feb 202014

500

  • 6,400 miles
Does not shift into gear. Vehicle came to a complete stop while driving, very dangerous being on the expressway with family. After several attempts vehicle began to shift again. Repeated problems occur sporadic throughout the week.

- Donna, TX, USA

problem #3

Dec 212012

500 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
Car does not shift from park to drive. Instrument panel relays many warnings (gear not available, transmission warning, seek service) and check engine light comes on. This is occurring daily now and Fiat does not have a fix. Codes can be cleared by the dealership and the transmission module is where the warnings are stored. I have been told it is safe to drive. I have been told to let the car warm up for 2 minutes before putting it into drive.

- New Baltimore, MI, USA

problem #2

Aug 022013

500 4-cyl

  • 60 miles
After a week, car mil started to blink, but manual mentions it can be drive and computer may reset itself, but then malfunction lamp was on all time, and then car started to stall, to stop completely. Started car just to park it, then white smoke came from exhaust when reversing. Immediately towed car to repair shop, it took 3 weeks for repair as parts are not easy available. Parts affected are: Multi air actuator, gasket no, gasket cy, and wiring en.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #1

Jul 292013

500 4-cyl

  • 2,600 miles
Today is the 30th day of the purchase of my car and haven't make a payment yet. While driving in the normal morning commute traffic at 5 to 10 miles per hour and making frequent stops due to the traffic jam, smoke began to come out of the air vent. Initially I thought that the vent was open to the outside and the smell belonged to a trailer next to me; but no... the air was circulating from within the vehicle. When I opened the door heavy smoke was coming from under the car and it seems like the car was going to set on fire, I was trapped between two lanes and I panicked because if an explosion would have occurred too many cars were close to me due to the heavy traffic. Panel did not light up with any indications of "check engine" or "temperature" rising. Temperature was normal according to the thermostat. I pulled up to the shoulder and got off the car and opened the hood and it was full of smoke. At the beginning car engine did not run but later the tow truck was able to drive the car over the platform. Car was left at the dealership for further evaluation since it is a brand new model that just came to the usa. Unknown defect at this time.

- Mebane, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?