Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.4

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,108 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Ford Contour engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Ford Contour:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Ford Contour Owner Comments

problem #12

Jan 122007

Contour

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Original start date 1-12-07. Timing belt shredded. Had shop fix the problem. 4-2-07 belt broke again replaced again. 10-18-07 timing belt broke again. Shop did not want to replace again said it is dealer problem. Dealer says shop problem. Shop says it will fix on 11-2-07. Shop finally fixes on 11-4-05. Car not running right take back to dealer on 11-5-07. Dealer says wasn't fixed properly. 11-8-07 pick up from dealer and they state we should have any more problems. If so bring back under warranty. 3-13-08 dealer now states belt broke and not covered and other major problems. Almost 1600 to fix. Still can't give me specific reason to why belt keeps shredding. Now what is one to do? I have put alot of money into this and can't get a real answer. Also in the past shop printed out other reports from NHTSA sight about the same problem with this same car in different states. But yet dealer says don't know of any other problem like this with this kind of car.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #11

Oct 192007

Contour 4-cyl

  • miles
Timing belt failure. Since 2004 I have had 5 new belts put on. 2007 had 2 new belts in 7,000 going on 3rd now.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #10

Jan 032005

Contour

  • miles
The consumer believes that the rubber odor he smelled inside the passenger compartment of the vehicle came from the belts in the engine.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #9

Jun 042003

Contour 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,298 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Shreds timing chain belts every 40-100 miles, 8 replacements in 3 months. Pulleys, tensioner and belt all replaced repeatedly by Ford dealership and they are trying to say it's normal.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #8

Sep 152002

Contour 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Timing belt needed to be replaced. Have taken the car back 4 times since then for the same problem with the timing belt.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #7

Dec 052002

(reported on)

Contour

  • miles
Consumer states timing belt failure is causing vehicle to hesitates or may not start intermittenly dealer is aware of the problem.

- Tenafly, NJ, USA

problem #6

Aug 132001

Contour

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intermittently under wet conditions vehicle will stall out and die. Dealer has inspected vehicle and adjusted belts. Please specify which belts, and provide additional information.

- Westbury, NY, USA

problem #5

Oct 262000

(reported on)

Contour

  • miles
When it rains alot serpentine belt skips and I lose steering power. The last time it happened I nearly struck a concrete wall. I called the dealer and the manager played dumb saying that he was not aware of a dealer notice. I checked your web page and there is a service bulletin. I am afraid if this were to happen at speed or on a curve that I or my children could be seriously injured if involved in a crash.

- Naugatuck, CT, USA

problem #4

Oct 141999

(reported on)

Contour

  • miles
Engine belt that dealer put on made a whistlung sound. Then, belt popped and shredded like ribbon.

- Crockett, TX, USA

problem #3

Oct 141999

(reported on)

Contour

  • miles
Engine belt that dealer put on made a whistling sound. Then belt popped/shredded like ribbon.

- Crockett, TX, USA

problem #2

Sep 241999

Contour

  • miles
Engine belt that dealer put on made the car have a whistling sound. Then belt popped and shredded like ribbon.

- Crockett, TX, USA

problem #1

Apr 231999

Contour

  • miles
Serpentine belt fell off.

- Mount Hore, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?