Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,733 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Crown Victoria engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Crown Victoria:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Crown Victoria Owner Comments

problem #11

Mar 072016

Crown Victoria

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. While driving 65 mph with the cruise control activated, the vehicle accelerated independently without warning. The contact mentioned that the brakes failed to engage. In order to stop the vehicle, the ignition key had to be turned to the off position. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not inspected or diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 88,000.

- Knightsen, CA, USA

problem #10

Aug 032015

Crown Victoria

  • miles
While accelerating from a stopped position through a red light, when I reached 40 mph the motor started roaring as if I was pushing the gas peddle in a parked position. The vehicle accelerated over 90 mph. I tried to slow the vehicle by pushing and stomping on the brake peddle. After about 10 stomps the vehicle's motor stopped the roaring and proceeded to slow down. I have had the brakes checked and repaired (there was a hole in my brake line, where the line goes up on the body frame under driver side seat) I still have issues with the engine accelerating on it's own. I have had it checked out, but can not find the problem.

- Orange, VA, USA

problem #9

Nov 172014

Crown Victoria

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. While driving 5-10 mph, the vehicle independently accelerated and crashed into another vehicle. The failure occurred on two occasions. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries reported. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #8

Jul 152011

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. The contact stated that the engine exhibited an abnormally excessive increase in RPM's. the contact stated that he would have to depress the brakes hard so that the vehicle would not run away. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they were unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was contacted but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 33,000. Updated 8/30/11 the consumer stated while at a stop, with the engine running, he experienced a high engine acceleration without touching the accelerator pedal and the brakes would hardly hold the car in place. The consumer stated he would have to shut the engine off. Updated 09/21/11

- Lyons, IL, USA

problem #7

Dec 192010

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,820 miles
I bought Ford victoria crown model 2005 from an individual on Dec. 2009. It was police car. After I bought the car within a months time I hit another vehicle. I lost control and the brake didn't work. It didn't stop by hitting once, it was amazing hitting back again and again. My car or even the other car didn't have any body damage and after 1 hour I started driving and on my way home the same thing happened. I got out of the road but no accident. I took the car to the garage and I paid $800 for the maintenance. I used the car for a taxi cab. Again I have another problem with this car. I had to take a customer to the airport and before I got there, smoke was coming out and I stopped the car in the airport garage. This time it became completely out of service and I had the vehicle towed to the garage. The result as the mechanic tested said the transmission is totally out of use and need another one. Again two months back while driving I lost control of the brake and stop out of the road. Recently on Sunday Dec. 19, 2010 major accident happened. While driving I couldn't control the brake and the vehicle accelerated on its own. So, I hit the fence on the road and the vehicle was damaged. The vehicle was towed to the garage and when the mechanic tested he couldn't find anything, even he did a road test. I was advised this vehicle is dangerous if I start driving. I can submit all my expenses which I paid for the maintenance if possible. Thanks to a friend who gave me information to check online if this vehicle model is recall. Updated 01/03/11

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #6

Dec 232007

Crown Victoria

  • miles
We have a 2005 crown victory I had stopped at a red light completely sitting still the car accelerated I had my foot on the brake already it would not stop somehow I had the presence of mind to put it in neutral I told my husband a few days later he was driving it happened to him at about the same time the something would not allow the fan to be turned down it seemed stuck we took it back to the dealer they fixed the fan but said there was nothing else wrong drove it a few more times it happened again back to dealer this time we were assured that Ford said there was nothing to fix because there was nothing wrong at christmas 2007 a few days before christmas I was driving again I had stopped to make a left turn I was very near where I had intended to go I gave it a little gas all at once it was as if someone has placed a brick on the gas paddle I put both of my feet on the brake it would not stop until I hit a building all at once the gas was released again the Ford dealer said there was nothing wrong with the car I was charged with the accident we still have the car I will not drive it we didn't want anyone else to be maybe killed if we traded it my husband drives it sometime so far nothing has happened I don't know if they fixed it after that or not we tried to find someone else this had happened to I think he found 2 or 3 people that had similar problems but would not comment on it.

- Mt.Vernon, Ky., KY, USA

problem #5

Jul 242006

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford Crown Victoria accelerated without warning. The consumer had other problems with the vehicle such as a right front door rattle, the ac control switch needed to be replaced and a tire needed to be repaired.

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #4

Jul 242006

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,715 miles
On July 24, 2006 at approximately 2:15 pm I picked up my car, a 2005 Crown Victoria from don bohn autoplex located at 3737 lapalco blvd, harvey, la. 70058. I had dropped off my car on Saturday, July 15, 2006 to have the ac control switch replaced, left front tire repaired and right front door rattle diagnosed. After leaving the Ford dealership, I proceeded down the road to meet a friend for lunch. The restaurant was just a few miles from the Ford dealership. I pulled into the entrance to the casino/restaurant and stopped at a 4 way stop. After removing my right food from the brake and beginning to proceed, the engine accelerated on its own at a very high rate. I attempted to stop the vehicle by using the brakes but this had no effect in stopping the car. Out of complete desperation, I threw the car in park and turned the engine off. After calming down for a few minutes, I restarted the engine with my foot on the brakes. When I put the car in drive, the car once again began full acceleration. I again threw the car in park and turned the engine off. I noticed during this second incident that there were numerous lighted symbols that came on the dash. In an attempt to get the car out of traffic and into a area free of pedestrians, I started the vehicle again and the same thing happened a third time. I shifted into neutral and managed to get the car parked. I went into the casino and was assisted by an employee in calling the Ford dealership and explained the incidents. They advised me to call Ford roadside assistance, which I did. Four hours later a tow truck arrived and towed my car to don bohn Ford. During my 4 hour wait in the parking lot I was able to talk to the service manager and the service manager. I was advised that they had heard about such incidents but had no first hand knowledge "unintended acceleration."

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #3

Oct 152005

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,075 miles
The contact stated the horn was not working. The service dealer replaced the horn, and reprogrammed the ccm to the latest calibration. Since the repair she had to press firmly, in the exact location of the horn symbols. Sometimes she has to press on both horn symbols to get the horn to work. The dealer said after time and use the horn should become easier to use. Another concern she had was with the vehicle speed control. While at a stop sign the vehicle accelerated on its own. The service dealer inspected the vehicle, but could not find the cause of the problem at this point. Updated 11/29/05.

- Southfield, MI, USA

problem #2

Jul 102005

Crown Victoria

  • miles
Reporting two cases of sudden acceleration in rented Ford crown vehicle, rented from hertz in san diego during first part of July 2005.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #1

Jan 312005

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 448 miles
While merging from a secondary road the 2005 Ford Crown Victoria (police car) accelerated suddenly which caused the driver to lose control of the vehicle. Acceleration continued and the vehicle did not respond despite the brakes being applied. The vehicle swerved out of control, struck a median and drove off the road into a snow bank. The vehicle sustained front end damage and a bent frame.

- Liberty, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?