Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
97,413 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Crown Victoria steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Crown Victoria:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Crown Victoria Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Aug 062016

Crown Victoria

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Today I was driving my 2005 Ford Crown Victoria on a city street. I made a left hand 90 degree turn at a relatively slow speed. Upon turning the wheel back, the steering locked. To avoid hitting a parked car to the left, I forced the steering over forcefully. It felt as if the steering shaft was blocked by something. I pulled the car immediately over to a parking spot on my right. In the process of turning the wheel, the steering was suddenly normal, then very difficult, normal, then difficult, as if it were being intermittently hit. I opened the hood and found the left header heat shield, opposite of the steering shaft, separated from its normal position and was lodged between the steering shaft and the header. The heat shield was heavily corroded. I took a photo of it in its lodged position. I then removed the heat shield and attempted to move the steering wheel. It turned freely and normally. Due to my location, I had to drive the vehicle (which appeared drive-able) for another hour to my house.the vehicle has already been fixed by the recall involving the steering shaft replacement, and has been driven for many months since then. The steering shaft impacted the heat shield multiple times, collapsing part of the heat shield and leaving surface marks on the steering shaft. This may have caused damage to the steering system and/or shaft, apart from the fact that the heat shield is now absent, potentially further damaging other components. Thank you

- Zeeland, MI, USA

problem #25

Oct 062015

Crown Victoria

  • 63,329 miles
On 10/06/2015 the vehicle in question was travelling at 65-70mph in the left hand lane of a highway going straight ahead when operator lost complete steering due to the steering shaft becoming disconnected from the steering column resulting in single vehicle crash. The vehicle had a recall completed on 10/10/14 -13S08.

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #24

Mar 142015

Crown Victoria

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. The contact stated that while making a right turn at approximately 15 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the upper intermittent shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously serviced under NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V385000 (steering) and 14V704000 (steering). The manufacturer was made notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #23

Mar 182015

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 129,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice in February 2015 and brought my car to a dealership for repairs on March 18, 2015. The service manager of that branch informed me that there is a problem with the upper steering column bearings that aren't covered by the recall. He said he spoke to the recall center and the reason they gave was because this recall was issued in 2013 and I didn't respond in time. I did not receive a letter and if I did, I certainly would've responded in a timely way. Then I spoke to the recall center and argued that this upper column problem is a direct result of the lower column shaft; to which I was told that typically Ford only covers what's explicitly detailed in the recall notice. Also, I was told, the reason for my issues with the letter may be because the NJ mvc has been slow in disseminating driver information to car companies. If that's the case, it's absolutely unfair and unreasonable to hold me responsible for a bureaucratic issue of communication. This argument might not be too valid, but there is a recall issued by NHTSA regarding improper repairs of the upper steering column shaft. This suggests to me that there is a problem in general with steering column shafts, so I think my repairs should be covered. I told the service manager to just fix what's covered and I'll take whatever risks afterwards. I don't have the money for those repairs and, out of principle, I don't think I should be liable for those costs.

- Neptune, NJ, USA

problem #22

Oct 072013

Crown Victoria

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. While driving at 40 mph, the steering wheel became loose. As a result, the contact had to shut off and restart the vehicle in order to temporarily correct the failure. The failure recurred on multiple occasions and no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Windsor Locks, CT, USA

problem #21

Jun 182013

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 103,800 miles
I was responding as a volunteer ambulance emt from my residence to the fire station for an emergency call when the steering locked up. I tried to turn the steering wheel back and forth while applying the brakes and it began to steer again. I continued to the station about 3/4 mile away, made the ambulance call. Upon completion of the call I lifted the hood and observed the lower joints of the steering shaft were rusty and corroded. I sprayed the joint with wd-40 and turned the steering back and forth. In preparation for a trip two days later I was checking the vehicle and found the "exhaust heat shield" lying on the frame between the engine and frame. It was then I figured the part had come off and jammed between the steering shaft and the frame causing a momentary loss of steering control. I have not replaced the heat shield. After a factory recall replacement of the lower shaft resulted in the car steering like new with very little effort for a month or so. I then noticed the steering seemed to bind again at times. I looked and the upper steering shaft is corroded so I sprayed the U joint contained in the upper shaft with lubricant. I contacted the dealer who said the upper shaft was not part of the recall so I called Ford and was told the same thing. The upper shaft joint is experiencing the same failure as the lower shaft. Corrosion in the U joint is causing the needle bearings to not operate properly resulting in more difficult turning of the steering. I lubricate the joint at times. I believe the "upper steering shaft" should be included in a recall due to corrosion effecting the parts due to design not sufficient to prevent contaminates from entering the steering U joints. The "exhaust heat shield" was deteriorated due to corrosion of the mounting holes used to secure the shield to the exhaust manifold mounting bolts.

- Richfield , PA, USA

problem #20

Aug 292013

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was approaching a stop sign and I made a complete stop as I pulled forward and attempted to make a right turn my steering failed completely. I had no control what so ever to turn left or right. With further inspection it was the lower heavy duty bluish green bearing that was no longer connected to the upper shaft inside my steering column.

- Ft.Riley, KS, USA

problem #19

Aug 292013

Crown Victoria

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, he attempted to make a right turn but the power steering assist failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the steering shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 102,000.

- Fort Religh , KS, USA

problem #18

Jan 092013

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds and after completing a left turn, the steering wheel seized without warning. In addition, the contact stated that low beam headlights intermittently failed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the exhaust manifold heat shield and the light control module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 54,000 and the current mileage was 60,000...updated 05/20/14 the consumer stated the steering wheel did not seize. It became difficult to turn when going around corners. Updated 05/28/2014

- Roselle, IL, USA

problem #17

Jul 092013

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Turning corner and steering all of a sudden binds up. Told its a ujoint problem that Ford should get on top of before somebody gets hurt. Mines not the only one with this problem that I've met.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #16

May 012013

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 80,213 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On multiple drives steering became difficult and not responsive. The problem was more pronounced at slower speeds. The steering linkage assy. Had to be replaced at considerable expense.

- Medford, MA, USA

problem #15

Mar 022013

Crown Victoria

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Crown Victoria. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds and after completing a left turn, the steering wheel seized. The failure recurred numerous times. The VIN was unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 36,000.

- Coraoplois, PA, USA

problem #14

Oct 022012

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 98,201 miles
Steering started feeling stiff while on a long road trip when I went to change lanes. When I returned home I parked it for a month. Had a few people look at it and they found nothing wrong. Drove it on another long trip and it slowly became worse. Felt like the car was floating opposite my steer or delaying the direction I would steer.felt like it was catching on something or being block from movement. Had it looked at again fluids check, rac checked, pump check, greased up. Let it sit again for sometime then took it down the street and steering would not turn. Had no control almost caused a serious accident it took bruet force to save us. Had it looked at again and he said the steering rod looks strange in movement nothing he has ever seen before and that the arm it self looks bent. I now have a car I can not drive and no one can fix because they don't know what to fix. I can't even sell it knowing someone could die.

- North Canton, OH, USA

problem #13

Dec 032012

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 161,323 miles
Recieved information regarding the lost of steering in the 2005 - 2008 Ford Crown Victoria police interceptors that police agencies where experiencing. After contacting our local dealer and Ford, we were provided with a picture of a light blue/green bearing that is under the dash. We had this vehicle inspected and it was found to have a defect in this bearing which is near the locking column.

- Woodstock, VA, USA

problem #12

Sep 292012

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
I was pulling into my driveway, the steering wheel would not turn. If I would not have been able to stop, I would have ran down my mailbox and drove into the yard. After opening the hood on my 2008 crown vic, I noticed the heat shield from the exhaust manifold was jammed between the steering knuckle and the exhaust manifold. It had rusted off the bolts and fell in between while I was in motion. The 2005 I know own and purchased in Sept, after driving it all the way from hudon, I opened the hood when I got home and noticed half of the heat shield in the same spot. The other half was gone. I would say if this were to have gotten lodged in a vehicle that has the steering knuckle rust and failure, it could easily break the knuckle while you are trying to steer the vehicle seeing the shield is concave in shape and does not collapse. I would consider this a priority item to check on all 2005-2008 police interceptor crown vics because it is the most used police vehicle during this time period. Just a suggestion. Knowing the issue happened to me, I would not want to see anyone get seriously injured or killed from something I knew was wrong with these vehicles and didn't tell anyone...updated 05/20/14 updated 05/28/2014

- Valley City , OH, USA

problem #11

Sep 262012

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 76,898 miles
Inspection found dislocated bushing.

- Harrisburg Pe, PA, USA

problem #10

Sep 262012

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 107,414 miles
Inspection found dislocated bushing.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #9

Sep 262012

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 88,208 miles
Inspection found dislocated bushing.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #8

Sep 112012

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 128,848 miles
Catastrophic failure of the steering column; the steering column retaining ring failed. Binding if the lower and middle universal joints and believe it is heat related? steering shaft not traveling on a true axis and a result is the retaining ring is being worn and eventually wears out.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #7

Sep 112012

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
Catastrophic failure of the steering column; the steering column retaining ring failed. Binding of lower and middle universal joints and believe it is heat related. Steering shaft not traveling on a true axis and a result is the retaining ring is being worn and eventually wears out.

- Rockville, MD, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?