Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Say what you will about the styling of the Ford Edge, but the bottom line is owners seem to love this vehicle. That is, of course, except in the case of it's dangerous, worrisome and unexplained issues with random engine stalling.

Our data suggests an early defect trend, as owners of the 2007-2008 models have started posting their accounts of what happens when you're driving down the road and the engine just stops. Some at high speed, some at low speed but always a random shutdown of the engine, electrical and power steering.

Time will tell if this becomes a widespread issue, but there's no drying the seriousness of the problem. With that in mind, we're flagging the Edge with our "Beware of the Clunker" rating until the situation improves.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,568 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Edge drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Edge Owner Comments (Page 4 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #65

Jan 162009

Edge 6-cyl

  • 16,280 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On January 16 2009 leak on front axle seal. Ford dealer replaced ptu cover and intermediate shaft seal. On May 29, 2009 leak was detected again from ptu unit. Ford replaced again! on June 9 2014 vehicle has leaks of ptu and rear differential seal again. Out of warranty! estimate cost to repair is $1600. After research the ptu is a problem on the Ford Edge 2007 and 2008 models. Ford will not admit there is a problem.

- Mt. Laurel, NJ, USA

problem #64

Jun 012013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Oil leaking from ptu unit Ford wants $ 1600 to fix what seems to be a faulty (defective) system in Ford Edges.

- Powell, OH, USA

problem #63

Aug 282014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 59,118 miles
I was driving my vehicle and noticed it jerking and hesitating to accelerate. The engine light became blinking rapidly and I noticed a burning smell. I took my car to a shop, who stated that one of the coils had melted and cracked. They replaced the coils and all spark plugs. Picked my vehicle up and still had the same issues, constant jerking, engine light still on, and still not wanting to accelerate. Took vehicle back the following day, shop stated the PCM was bad and needed to be replaced. I then contacted a local Ford dealership, who claimed they had never heard of this issue, and I would need to pay for them to run their own diagnostics on it, even though I was well aware of what was wrong with it. As of right now the car is still not fixed, and runs horribly. I refuse to spend anymore money on a problem that Ford is well aware of!!!

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #62

Jul 292014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving approximately 35 mph and slowing down, the car suddenly jerked forward like someone rear ended me. Parked the car and tested next day, same result. Made appointment with local Ford service department. They pulled codes P0720 and P0722 and followed tsb 07-21-11. Did not fix problem. Replaced output speed sensor and turbine speed sensor. Problem still exists after bill of $1145.31 and now car will only drive in 1st and 2nd gear so it is almost useless.

- Sidney, MT, USA

problem #61

Jun 252014

Edge 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2007 Ford Edge. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle transmission problems. The consumer stated on June 25, 2014, the vehicle was towed to the dealer to diagnose an issue that had occurred on more than one occasion. It was determined by the dealer, the transmission needed to be replaced. The consumer stated the first time she noticed a problem, occurred while driving in heavy stop-and-go-traffic in the center lane. All of a sudden, the RPM's dropped to zero and the vehicle abruptly stopped. She placed the vehicle in park and luckily it started. It ran a bit sluggishly for a few miles and then resumed to normal operation. The consumer stated the incident happened a second time.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #60

Jul 012014

Edge

  • 79,000 miles
Driving down interstate highway, speedometer drops to zero then dash lights all come on. Get off highway pull over and car does not move. Wait about 20 minutes, put car in D, hear loud bang, car lunges forward a little then drives normally. Second time it happened was on highway at @60mph when same thing happens, get off highway and stop at 2nd red light when the car does not move at all. Let car sit for @10 min. Then it starts going @10mph, after about 1 mile resumes normal operation. Have brought to local Ford dealer and had 2 sensors replaced along with a transmission fluid exchange but now today it happened again when I stopped at busy back road intersection then tried to resume speed the veh. Would not move. E-mailed local Ford dealer to let them know that issue was happening once again after sensors were replaced. Prior to Ford also had sears look at veh. Where they determined it was a sensor but could not determine which one. Now that the vehicle is back to me it also seems to have alot of hesitation on wanting to go. This vehicle has never seemed to be the best transmission and I have a big concern about how many other people have similar issues with this vehicle. I wonder what would happen to somebody who keeps driving it without getting off the road" I am concerned for the safety of my family, myself, others who own this vehicle, and others on the roadway around these vehicles when there is a problem. The posts I keep seeing all reflect the same issue and all too often they are told that they cannot find anything wrong with the vehicle, will it take a major accident or death for this concern to be addressed" a vehicle should not keep stopping or producing loud bangs after it stops moving and I think there appears to be enough evidence from enough people who have voiced their issues with this problem to warrant immediate action on this matter.

- Warwick, RI, USA

problem #59

Jul 112014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my 2007 Ford Edge with 3 children in it when all of a sudden I lost the ability to not only accelerate but my speed suddenly fell from 45 miles an hour to 15 miles an hour without any ability to accelerate. My car was in a constant state of shaking and sputtering and increased when applying the brakes. There was something significantly wrong and it was pretty scary to experience particularly with 3 small children. I had the car towed to my automotive service company where the car's software system displayed codes indicating two ignition codes failed. Subsequently, the service provider replaced all the spark plugs and two coils. The car was not fixed and it was further determined that the PCM board is sending extremely high current to the ignition coils and could have caused an engine fire. This is very distressing. Ford has issued an internal tsb acknowledging this issue but has not enacted a recall. The estimated cost to replace the PCM, spark plugs and coils (6) is approximately $3,000. Additionally in my research there is a class action lawsuit that has been filed by a group of Ford owners.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #58

Dec 222010

Edge 6-cyl

  • 55,799 miles
Bought the car used from a Ford dealer with 46,138 miles and purchased an extend warranty 07/17/2010 in Dec 2010 noticed a smell from car, took it to a local repair shop, he printed me out the Ford tsb 09-25-7 that identified the problem with the right hand int shaft leak on the power transfer unit (ptu) I took to a local Ford dealership, they confirmed the problem and fixed, under the original car warranty.(55,799 miles) in Aug 2012 noticed the same smell, went an other Ford dealership(9-12-12), same problem with ptu seals, and not covered under the extended warranty. Paid approximately $800 to repair. In May 2014 same smell again, took back to the dealer who did the last repair (6-27-14), ptu again, except this time it needed seals plus a new ptu over $1,400 to repair. The smell comes from the fluid dripping onto the exhaust, not sure how toxic or flammable it is but I know it can't be good for you. This is not caused by miss use of the car or lack of maintenance. It is Ford poor design, and I realize mistakes happen, but stand behind your product.

- North Potomac, MD, USA

problem #57

Jun 202014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 83,770 miles
My vehicle all of a sudden started to slow down suddenly like I had taken my foot off the gas. It started shuddering and my transmission light came on. I thought it was the transmission so I had it towed to the shop. After diagnosis, it showed my cylinders were misfiring. It was due to a bad coil which was causing the spark plugs to read at an extremely high voltage. They needed to replace all coils and all spark plugs. Then found out that it fried my PCM(computer) which also had to be replaced. Come to find out, this is a know issue with the 2007 Ford Edge and there is a tsb on it for this exact situation. The dealership told me that the PCM had a malfunction which caused the coils/spark plugs to go bad. They also said the PCM has a manufacturer 8 year/80,000 mile warranty. Well I was at 7 years/83000 miles and when they submitted the warranty claim, Ford denied it forcing me to pay $2400 for the repairs. I think this is ridiculous to deny a known malfunction for only 3000 miles over. What if I had been on the highway when my vehicle suddenly came to a stop" I had my son with me that day and this could have caused a major accident, possibly involving other drivers, and we may have even been injured. And Ford doesn't feel responsible to help with the cost of this repair?"

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #56

Jun 252014

Edge

  • 63,436 miles
Pulling out into traffic and experienced very harsh shifting. The transmission shuttered and shook, almost refusing to go through the intersection.

- Huntington, VT, USA

problem #55

Jun 252013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased a 2007 Ford Edge roughly about a year ago, have had no problem with the vehicle. It was my dream car since I was 18, being 24 and finally having one was a dream come true. I started experiencing a whining noise upon driving down the road one day. I proceeded to pull over thinking it was a belt. It wasn't so I continued to go down the road. Bringing it to my mechanic he told me its the transfer case within the car itself. I tried calling Ford because of this common defect to have it replaced. They would not assist in the replacement of their mistake. I now owe $1500.

- Clinton, NY, USA

problem #54

May 282014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 14,315 miles
I was going to work.my car then jerked and stopped. I almost got rear ended because it just lost power. I was told the transmission was bad..I went to the dealer and they will only help if I pay 4500 dollars, I did not get the warranty, ,I only had the car less then 2 months, now the car has to sit and I lost my job. I red reviews and all reviews said they had transmission replaced.fyi I was not offered a warenty. This car should have a recall.I will have to get a lawyer and see if this matter can get resolved.

- Sanford , MI, USA

problem #53

May 162014

Edge

  • 90,000 miles
I noticed when I get to about 40 miles per hour my car doesn't want to shift into next gear. Took to a Ford dealership and was told it was ptu valve. Cost to fix is $1350.

- Bethpage , TN, USA

problem #52

Mar 102014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
Ptu unit developed a leak, was nearly empty of oil by the time the dealer could repair. Dealer says ptu needs to be replaced for ~$1600. This seems to be an extremely common problem. This should be repaired under recall.

- Oxford, MI, USA

problem #51

May 142014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
2007 Ford Edge has been shifting gears heavy (especially low) and getting worse. Last week it should have down shifted to 2nd but instead up shifted to like 4 or 5th gear and I lost any real power to get up the hill. The noise itself was a very noticeable bang and shudder. This is apparently happening to other because there's youtube videos of the exact same thing.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #50

Jan 092014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
I was traveling on 95 North in S. Carolina when my car jerked and everyone lurched forward in the vehicle as if we had traveled over a speed bump or something large in the road. It was mid day and nothing was in the road. We continued traveling and about 30 miles it happened again and we realized it was the transmission. We were fortunate to make it home and took it to our mechanic. He saw no visual signs of trouble such as leakage, warning lights or check engine lights even during the test drive so he did an internet search and found that Ford suggest running transmission fluid through, draining and repeating. He did this. We had to travel out of state again the next month and the same problem occurred on the highway. I'm so concerned for my family and I'm now reading on the internet that this is not just a random issue and people are pleading for a safety recall before someone is hurt or killed due to the multiple transmission issues that are affecting so many of these vehicles. We need help, what does it have to take?

- Hackensack, NJ, USA

problem #49

Apr 282014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 164,000 miles
Went from reverse to forward, acted like there were no lower gears. Was able to limp home about 1 mile. Put it into reverse, loud bang, shook entire car, backed into car port, shutoff car, then no restart. Massive amount of obd codes, had mechanic remove transmission, torque converter failure and thrust bearing destroyed, I feel very lucky that transmission didn't fail on highway causing me to have an accident on my way to work as a childrens swim instructor.

- Apache Junction, AZ, USA

problem #48

Mar 012013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Driving at low speeds the vehicle will shift very hard, feels like someone rear ending me. The transmission feels like it has a hard time getting into gear. At high speeds the same thing happens but usually on hot days. The transmission finally gave out at 75000 due to the hard slamming and had to be rebuilt. I was leaving a driveway and was unable to accelerate, putting me at risk of being hit from behind. This could have been disastrous at high speeds. At 78000 miles I am still having the same problem, I turn the vehicle on the transmission slams into R and then I cannot accelerate past 10 mph. I turn the vehicle off and restart it, and it seems like nothing every happened. This happens intermittently and the check engine lights come one only every once in a while it is happening. Worried about me and my babies safety while driving.

- Humble , TX, USA

problem #47

Feb 172014

Edge

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Edge. The contact stated that extreme pressure had to be applied to the accelerator pedal in order for the vehicle to respond. Additionally, the vehicle would exhibit an abnormal noise when in reverse or changing gears. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who was unable to diagnose the problem. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 97000.

- Niles, MI, USA

problem #46

Jan 182014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 63,153 miles
2007 Ford Edge;mileage 63153 leaked fluid/burning rubber odor was emitted from under the hood area. Service vehicle:find internal seal leaking in ptu. Not serviceable. Need to replace ptu.

- Timonium, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?