Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Say what you will about the styling of the Ford Edge, but the bottom line is owners seem to love this vehicle. That is, of course, except in the case of it's dangerous, worrisome and unexplained issues with random engine stalling.

Our data suggests an early defect trend, as owners of the 2007-2008 models have started posting their accounts of what happens when you're driving down the road and the engine just stops. Some at high speed, some at low speed but always a random shutdown of the engine, electrical and power steering.

Time will tell if this becomes a widespread issue, but there's no drying the seriousness of the problem. With that in mind, we're flagging the Edge with our "Beware of the Clunker" rating until the situation improves.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,867 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Edge drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Edge Owner Comments (Page 8 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #35

Aug 022012


  • miles


I bought my Edge, used last year and I love it. Although, every now and then while driving the transmission makes a huge bang noise. Its scary!!! I hope that Ford will take care of this. It seems there are other complaints regarding the same problem.

- Tuckerton, NJ, USA

problem #34

Mar 302013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 75,703 miles
Approached a stop light on a hill. Light turned green. Did not have to come to a complete stop and when I accelerated the transmission jerked and made a loud noise. This has happened several times in my commutes. Transmission fluid level is within normal range.

- Spring Creek, NV, USA

problem #33

Jan 012013


  • 60,894 miles
While driving on highway a big bang noise happens in the car, feels and sounds like I have been hit. The car doesn't stop, keeps driving. Dealers technicians say they can't fix it or don't even know what it is because it doesn't happen all the time. It is such a violent bang and jerk. Only does it right now anyway, on a long drive on a highway. I am over my warranty, so very upset, as my children are in this car everyday. Just bought it and to trade it in I would loose so much money. You need to be doing recalls on this car where there are so many others posting this same problem on the Ford forum. Everyone saying it is transmission and when they replace it, it still doesn't work properly. This is crazy!! Ford do something please!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Milford , MA, USA

problem #32

Mar 202013


  • 54,000 miles


Lately when driving my Edge I noticed that when I come to a complete stop the car like jerks back and makes a loud bang sound-then when I try to drive after stopping the car doesn't want to go-it's like it is just stuck there, so I have to take my foot on the gas wait a few seconds than put my foot back on the gas and than the car will go but it seems like it takes forever to get some speed. The jerking and the car not wanting to accelerate has even happen when I have been driving around 20mph- I have replaced the battery thinking maybe it was the battery and nope that didn't work. This as a mother of 3 young children has me very concerned-I have seen many complaints with the same issues I have stated above and Ford has yet to correct these defects. Does someone need to lose their life before action is taken.

- Methuen , MA, USA

problem #31

Mar 042013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Vehicle was taken to power Ford in valencia for standard service a week ago. 41,000 miles new tires bought- was told all was ok. One week later I am driving when suddenly speedometer stops and mileage is reading --- grinding noise then a wrench icon appears which means the powertrain is malfunctioning, then the air bag light went on and then an ! icon which means there is a problem with tires. Terrified, I called power Ford and told to bring it in... I was less than a half a mile away, and put on my hazard lights and barely made it the few clocks to the dealership. This is a haunting problem that I have read at least a dozen comments about the power train. Had I been ion the freeway I don't think I would be alive. Please investigate this issue with the Ford Edge. I did not know the outcome at all. Thank you

- Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #30

Jan 262013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 67,013 miles
The transmission failed. As I was driving down the road it clunked very loudly as it shifted and then wouldn't change gears. I stopped at a light and the car would not move. The engine was running but the car would not go. By downshifting manually I was able to move forward and then got it to the dealer. They diagnosed it as drive and reverse engage but it neutrals out in 4th, 5th and 6th. They found metal shavings and chunks in a sample of the fluid drained. We bought the car used from Ford. It was a buy back from the previous customer because of leaky axel seals that could not be resolved. Had the same issue and the dealer replaced seals and things seemed to be okay. Transmission always clunked randomly; dealer thought it was mounts. Once we got new transmission we realized the old one always had problems. This new one shifts completely smoothly, which in retrospect the old one did not.

- Greene, ME, USA

problem #29

Oct 012012


  • 35,000 miles


While driving at speeds between 40-65 mph the vehicle will engage harshly with a loud bang while in O/D. when O/D is off, car will accelerate faster, when applying break there is a hesitation and car will not slow down until breaks are applied over and over again.

- Rougemont, NC, USA

problem #28

Apr 072010

Edge 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
Upon acceleration the RPM's will go up yet the car will slow down and you will feel a bang as if someone has rear-ended you. This has happened quite a few times within a year of us purchasing it brand new. The dealer couldn't find anything wrong several times I brought it to them. Finally, I left it there a few months ago and wouldn't take it back until it was fixed. They re-did the transmission and said it is fixed. I have been having the same issue with it still. I almost got into a car accident because it did it as I was turning and it just wouldn't kick into gear, then a big bang and it goes. I almost got hit dead on. Now they are telling me they can't do anything about it because I have 60,240 miles on it and it is out of warranty at 60,000. I have been complaining about it since they fixed it but everytime I went to bring it there to have it checked, they didn't have a loaner or the tech who needs to look at it is off. We called corporate and they did nothing. This is ridiculous that I am reading so many other people having the same issue and nothing is getting done - no recalls, nothing. This is unfair as to I have maintained everything on this vehicle and it should not be doing this. This is a Ford issue and they should be taking care of this. It is not the consumers fault for poor manufacturing of a vehicle that was advertised so great! they should be fixing this issue before someone gets hurt or killed in an accident.

- Wall, NJ, USA

problem #27

Nov 072012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Driving home from work at a speed of 55 to 65 on I-65 in montgomery, Alabama when all of a sudden my car begin to not recognize the gas. It slowed down suddenly and the engine began to shake. I made it to an exit by driving slowly with hazard lights on. We took the car to gilmore Ford the same day. On 11/8/12 we were informed that the PCM caused the coil pack (2) to not fire and therefore burned it up. I asked if this was a known problem with the car and was informed by [xxx] that he has only seen it once. Well I decide to look into it via the web and found that this is a known defect in the PCM installed on Ford Edges. My thought is that had traffic been going faster I would have had an accident in the middle of the highway with how quickly the car speed shifted down. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Coosada , AL, USA

problem #26

Jul 122012


  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge limited. The contacted stated that while traveling 20-25 mph, a popping noise emitted outside of the vehicle as the vehicle became resistant to acceleration attempts. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who confirmed that the PCM module failed and the engine coils were melted. The manufacturer was contacted. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 81,000 and the current mileage was 82,000.

- Fon Du Lac, WI, USA

problem #25

Oct 092009

Edge 6-cyl

  • 18,552 miles


It happened when I came off the highway onto the side road, there was a loud clunk in the rear of the vehicle and I lost power to drive, and when I pressed the gas it would only go 30 miles of speed. I went into a parking lot, turned the motor off and let it sit for 10 min. I restarted it and it seemed fine. But now on a regular basis it will clunk in the rear like I have been hit and then clear up and drive good. I have had it checked many times by Ford and other places but no one can find anything wrong with the drive train. I notice on Ford forum that many people are having the same problem. There should be a recall for this vehicle by Ford to cover all Ford Edges from 2008 to 2010 and have the drive trains replaced, even if they can not find any problems. Or find out what is really happening to this vehicle and have them all recalled to fix the problem.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #24

May 152012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 78,686 miles
This has happened several times. The vehicle was moving forward and all of a sudden the air bag light & the check engine light came on & the display said "no odometer available". when I came to a stop, the car would not move - it was like it was in neutral then all the sudden the transmission engaged with a loud clunk & the car moved & all the lights went out. A wrench appeared on the dashboard and the screen read odo error with dashes. I could not go. It was as if my car was stuck in neutral. Even after turning the car off and on several times it did not remedy the problem. It also was shifting hard from park to drive, etc.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #23

Jul 112012


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact stated that the vehicle would not accelerate from a stop. The contact also stated that the vehicle eventually jerked when it began to accelerate. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current mileage was 67,000.

- Woodstock , MD, USA

problem #22

Jul 212012

Edge 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph, the vehicle lost power and stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised the contact that there were no failures found within the vehicle and the computer was reset. The failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The failure mileage was 41,000 and the current mileage was 42,000. Updated 08/28/12 the consumer stated the failures occured when the vehicle was parked or in motion. Updated 09/05/2012

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #21

Jul 042010

Edge 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Speeds up and down at low speeds and clunks in the transmission, also now it does it at 20 mph when the outside temperature is around 90 degrees.

- Wisconsin Rapids, WI, USA

problem #20

Jun 252012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The vehicle was brought to the Ford dealer to have an oil leak checked. They determined there was a leak with the ptu (power transfer unit) seal. They tried to repair the seal, but this did not work. They ordered a new seal and it has been on back order. The vehicle has been at the Ford garage since 6/25/2012 and cannot be used until a new seal is installed.

- Fairmont, WV, USA

problem #19

Jun 302012


  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning in heavy traffic. The contact managed to exit onto the shoulder. The failure was experienced numerous times, sporadically and always without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a week but the dealer was unable to diagnose a failure. The contact retrieved the vehicle from the dealer and while exiting the lot, the failure recurred. The dealer then made repairs to the vehicle that were unknown to the contact however, the repairs did not correct the failure. The manufacturer was notified who advised the contact that the vehicle was not under warranty and offered no assistance. The failure and the current mileage was 68,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #18

Mar 292012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 27,300 miles
The vechile loss power and stalled out. After that the car on the second occurrence won"T start had to charge battery the car raced whiled idling and had no power to run. Went back to the dealer and are unable to find any problem. So we are now stuck with a car that will shut down and lose all power which is not safe to drive do to the fact that if we drove it at night and stalls out we lose all power and with no power the other cars may run into us and cause an accident which we are unable to prevent. Thank you this is a dangerous situation. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Lillington, NC, USA

problem #17

Jun 052012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
What started out as noise in the rear tires, I thought, became very loud and distracting. Took it in to a tire dealer and replaced 2 tires and had the same very loud whine, even the employee at the tire store was amazed at how loud the sound was. He thought it was bearings and I took it in to a friend of mine who owns a repair shop. I took it in to him because I thought my warranty was no longer valid. He repaired the very badly worn bearings and told me he was very surprised at how bad they were knowing how and where my driving was done. Mostly on the freeways no off road driving. I decided to look on line to see if this had been a problem with other 2008 Ford Edges and it has been reported in the 2007's also. Seems like a trend to me. I went into my Ford dealer and the service manager said it has been seen as a problem and suggested we look on the warranty and extended service plan and see if it was covered. It was, under the powertrain warranty. I asked if they would reimburse me for the repairs" the service manager said they would talk to the Ford customer service in our region and let me know. She said no! they would not because I didn't bring it back to them, remember I thought it was out of warranty, then she said I was not the original owner, I bought it from that dealer with 9388 miles on it. All the other warranties that came with the car were honored why not this one?" I was not the original owner for those warranties either. I would be happy just to be reimbursed on the bearings, the total was $550. I also have the expense of 2 new Michelin tires @ $500. Help!

- Desert Hills, AZ, USA

problem #16

Jun 012012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 93,564 miles
My Ford Edge has jerked and jumped a few times but was told that nothing was wrong with it. Well on Friday June 01, 2012 I tried to put car into gear and it did not want to go, it started jerking and jerking. Then it started going, lights started going off such as the wrench, tire pressure, and then odomoter dropped to zero and it said data odomoter error. The next day I turned the car on and was making a loud whining noise. I took the car to gulf coast Ford in angleton, Texas on Saturday June 02, 2012 and they called my husband Wednesday June 06th and told him that they had to take the transmission apart. Said they had three cars last week with the same problem and they currently had one with same problem right next to mine and they said they are not sure why this is happening. Ford has a serious problem with this car and it needs to be fixed. My car is at 93,500 miles and the transmission should not be going out already. I wish they would recall this car completely. I am ready to get rid of it.

- Danbury, , TX, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?