Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Say what you will about the styling of the Ford Edge, but the bottom line is owners seem to love this vehicle. That is, of course, except in the case of it's dangerous, worrisome and unexplained issues with random engine stalling.

Our data suggests an early defect trend, as owners of the 2007-2008 models have started posting their accounts of what happens when you're driving down the road and the engine just stops. Some at high speed, some at low speed but always a random shutdown of the engine, electrical and power steering.

Time will tell if this becomes a widespread issue, but there's no drying the seriousness of the problem. With that in mind, we're flagging the Edge with our "Beware of the Clunker" rating until the situation improves.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,524 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Edge drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Edge Owner Comments (Page 9 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Jun 252012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle was brought to the Ford dealer to have an oil leak checked. They determined there was a leak with the ptu (power transfer unit) seal. They tried to repair the seal, but this did not work. They ordered a new seal and it has been on back order. The vehicle has been at the Ford garage since 6/25/2012 and cannot be used until a new seal is installed.

- Fairmont, WV, USA

problem #19

Jun 302012

Edge

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning in heavy traffic. The contact managed to exit onto the shoulder. The failure was experienced numerous times, sporadically and always without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a week but the dealer was unable to diagnose a failure. The contact retrieved the vehicle from the dealer and while exiting the lot, the failure recurred. The dealer then made repairs to the vehicle that were unknown to the contact however, the repairs did not correct the failure. The manufacturer was notified who advised the contact that the vehicle was not under warranty and offered no assistance. The failure and the current mileage was 68,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #18

Mar 292012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 27,300 miles
The vechile loss power and stalled out. After that the car on the second occurrence won"T start had to charge battery the car raced whiled idling and had no power to run. Went back to the dealer and are unable to find any problem. So we are now stuck with a car that will shut down and lose all power which is not safe to drive do to the fact that if we drove it at night and stalls out we lose all power and with no power the other cars may run into us and cause an accident which we are unable to prevent. Thank you this is a dangerous situation. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Lillington, NC, USA

problem #17

Jun 052012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

What started out as noise in the rear tires, I thought, became very loud and distracting. Took it in to a tire dealer and replaced 2 tires and had the same very loud whine, even the employee at the tire store was amazed at how loud the sound was. He thought it was bearings and I took it in to a friend of mine who owns a repair shop. I took it in to him because I thought my warranty was no longer valid. He repaired the very badly worn bearings and told me he was very surprised at how bad they were knowing how and where my driving was done. Mostly on the freeways no off road driving. I decided to look on line to see if this had been a problem with other 2008 Ford Edges and it has been reported in the 2007's also. Seems like a trend to me. I went into my Ford dealer and the service manager said it has been seen as a problem and suggested we look on the warranty and extended service plan and see if it was covered. It was, under the powertrain warranty. I asked if they would reimburse me for the repairs" the service manager said they would talk to the Ford customer service in our region and let me know. She said no! they would not because I didn't bring it back to them, remember I thought it was out of warranty, then she said I was not the original owner, I bought it from that dealer with 9388 miles on it. All the other warranties that came with the car were honored why not this one?" I was not the original owner for those warranties either. I would be happy just to be reimbursed on the bearings, the total was $550. I also have the expense of 2 new Michelin tires @ $500. Help!

- Desert Hills, AZ, USA

problem #16

Jun 012012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 93,564 miles
My Ford Edge has jerked and jumped a few times but was told that nothing was wrong with it. Well on Friday June 01, 2012 I tried to put car into gear and it did not want to go, it started jerking and jerking. Then it started going, lights started going off such as the wrench, tire pressure, and then odomoter dropped to zero and it said data odomoter error. The next day I turned the car on and was making a loud whining noise. I took the car to gulf coast Ford in angleton, Texas on Saturday June 02, 2012 and they called my husband Wednesday June 06th and told him that they had to take the transmission apart. Said they had three cars last week with the same problem and they currently had one with same problem right next to mine and they said they are not sure why this is happening. Ford has a serious problem with this car and it needs to be fixed. My car is at 93,500 miles and the transmission should not be going out already. I wish they would recall this car completely. I am ready to get rid of it.

- Danbury, , TX, USA

problem #15

Apr 012012

Edge

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact stated while driving out of his garage in reverse the vehicle stopped moving and he was unable to continue driving. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnosed that the power train unit burned and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 80,000. Updated 7/18/12 the consumer stated after waiting two months for the part, he instead purchased a used part. Updated 07/25/12

- Panguitch, UT, USA

problem #14

Jun 102011

Edge

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We bought our Edge certified through the local Ford dealership and within months the transmission would violently shift between first and second. When I took it in they said they couldn't replicate the problem. It happens at least a few times a month and I'm nervous that there will be complete failure once we are outside the warranty period.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #13

Apr 152012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 35,990 miles
The transmission will occasionally fail to engage properly when accelerating from a stop. The vehicle will initially move forward but then will fail to accelerate as the engine continues to increase RPM. This has occurred multiple times. The first maintenance performed at Ford was to rebuild the transmission. After the repair there were no problems for almost 4 months and then the transmission problem recurred. This last time it occurred almost caused an horrific accident. As the auto accelerated from a side street to make a left hand turn onto a four lane highway, the transmission failed to accelerate after its initial acceleration and stopped in the middle of oncoming traffic. A T-bone accident was barely avoided. The second Ford repair was to replace a 'sensor' and was just picked up today from Ford.

- Peachtree City, GA, USA

problem #12

Apr 132011

Edge 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact stated that after shifting into park, the shifter would become stuck. The contact would have to shut off and restart the vehicle in order for the gear selector to dislodge. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised him that they were unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer had not been contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 06/05/12 updated 06/06/2012

- Sikeston, MO, USA

problem #11

Mar 242012

Edge

  • 30,000 miles
I was in drive and stopped at a light on a hill with an automatic transmission. When the light turned green and I took my foot off the brake I started rolling backwards. It didn't stop rolling until I put my foot back on the brake.

- Pleasantville, NJ, USA

problem #10

Jan 212009

Edge 6-cyl

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ongoing transmission issues since purchased new. Been to repair for more than 17 days and issues still remain unresolved. Took car in for regular scheduled oil changes and repairs.at approximately 30,000 miles the camphasers ( Ford admitted wrong camphasers had been installed) were replaced. Coolant problem discovered as well when vehicle engine was removed. Odd odor coming from heater, when vehicle returned after camphaser and coolant issue did not resolve situation, and vehicle returned to galpin Ford service, was told that axle and bearing were broken and that the steering wheel was not in proper position. I am deeply concerned for other Ford Edge owners as well as members of the public who may be affected by vehicle that does not properly engage and appears to stall before moving forward.... this is an enormously serious issue, that should not be ignored. Reading the prior complaints, tells me this is not a new problem, and that consumers and Ford are aware of the transmissions issues. Please assist.

- Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #9

Dec 202011

Edge

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact stated that the vehicle accelerated very slowly from stops. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on fifteen occasions, but they could not diagnose a failure. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and the contact was finally informed that the vehicle was equipped with incorrect cam phasers. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure continued. The vehicle was again taken back to the dealer and the contact was informed that the axle and wheel bearings were damaged. The contact was informed that this may be the cause of the poor acceleration failure. The vehicle was again repaired and the failure continued. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #8

Jul 212008

Edge

  • 1,500 miles
This problem has occurred since first few months of owning it. At times while driving at all speeds the car's power goes away in the sense you might be driving 68 then the car starts to slow down, then slam, there is a loud mechanical slam, and the car feels like you ran it to something metal or solid. It literally shakes the whole car scares the !@#$ out of you. It"S usually on the express way and more when it?S cold. It seems when I"M barely increasing the gas, then letting off a bit, then back on the gas again. The local Ford dealer found a bulletin from Ford stating that replacing the transmission doesn't fix this problem to wait for further investigation. We have been waiting since 2008. The car runs great other then this problem. This might not happen for weeks then it will happen as many of 3 times in a 5 mile drive. I went on a 2 hour trip this week. It happened twice on the way up and once on the way back. As soon as we take it to the dealer it doesn't happen. I've asked them to keep the car for a week and drive it. That hasn't happened. They keep throwing their hands in the air. I wish it would just lock up so they can find something. I have seen others with the same problems but yet Ford hasn't fixed it.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #7

Jan 032012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
The power take off unit (transfer case) developed a leak on the right hand side. The leak drips onto the exhaust pipe creating smoke and an awful smell. This could result in a fire.

- Richmond, KY, USA

problem #6

Mar 242011

Edge

  • 33,000 miles
My wife was driving the vehicle and upon acceleration from a complete stop, the vehicle randomly would go into a "neutral-like" state. Rpms would increase dramatically, but the car would crawl between 3-5mph. The message, "od read error" would display on the dashboard, power steering would go out and brakes would not respond well (it was as if the car had turned off). When shifting from drive to park or reverse, the vehicle would jerk forward violently, as if rear-ended. Once the car was turned off and started again, the problem would go away. We brought the vehicle to the dealership multiple times and the dealership even determined that the transmission needed to be replaced. This was only at 37,600 miles. The dealer said it was a transmission issue, but it appears to be an on-board computer issue as well. After transmission was replaced, 5 weeks later had issue with shifting into first gear. Vehicle shifted very hard into first gear. Car is back down at the dealership again. Wrote a letter to Ford expressing my concern and requested the car be repurchased, they denied my request.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #5

Jun 242009

Edge 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Occasionally, (once or twice a year) the vehicle jerks violently once between 20-45 mph when slowing and then accelerating. Feels like the vehicle was rear ended or hit a huge pot hole. This has happened very intermittently. Recently, it is happening once or twice a month. Local Ford dealer checked PCM (?) calibration and updated it to tsb 08. Hopefully this will solve the problem.

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #4

Nov 142011

Edge 6-cyl

  • miles
My vehicle is a 2008 and it only has 109,000 miles on it and I started to hear a whining sound, brought it to the auto mechanic and they said that it might be something in the transmission such as a bearing. Well to my surprise they transmission dealer advised me that I needed a whole new transmission. Transmissions are supposed to last a long time and this is very unexpected. $3800 for a new transmission. I have always heard a clunking sound coming from the transmission when it shifted gears or when I put in in reverse.

- Hamburg, NJ, USA

problem #3

Mar 052008

Edge 6-cyl

  • 65,466 miles
Purchased Ford Edge new 2008. Had problems since beginning. Driving low speed it slipped into L, twice. Brought car in several times complaining spitting and sputtering, bucking like choking. (I do not have exact date of complaint today but entered approximate- in process of obtaining history ). brought car into Ford dealer in albany where I was told bad gas and one time a broken seal but not told where seal was. Car now 4 yrs w/ only 65466. Miles. Always got synthetic oil change for more $ to insure extended coverage on powertrain or so was informed would be the case. I asked, how can I get a 4000 mile extended coverage on the powertrain when I am only to get the oil changed at 5 - 6000 miles, I was told "don't worry about it". Oct. 2011 car sputtered and spit after filling tank. I hoped was due to bad gas as told in past, however, this time, the car would only go 30 mph, any faster, car acted like was in neutral. Orange wrench light came on, I called Ford garage, aaa was towed in. No warranty I am told because I didn't purchase an extended warranty. Why did I need it? I was told I would be ok with the synthetic oil changes and extended coverage on the powertrain. In addition, I am being told because only did a transmission flush at 30,000 not 60,000, not covered. We all know car should not need new transmission at 65466 miles regardless. Treated car like a child. Want nothing else. Been w/ Ford / now Ford/ Mazda since 18yrs old, now 52. Loyalty gets nowhere. In process of obtaining history all complaints since new to fight no support. All this and the end will result with me having no car and considerable expense and ultimately no more good credit if I throw the keys at them and say keep it !

- Watervliet, NY, USA

problem #2

Oct 032011

Edge

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact stated that occasionally when driving at low speeds the vehicle would change gears violently, causing the vehicle to lunge forward abnormally. The dealer diagnosed that there were no failures within the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted but denied any assistance with repairs to the vehicle. The failure mileage was unavailable and the current mileage was 41,000.

- Wylie, TX, USA

problem #1

Aug 152011

Edge 6-cyl

  • 73,453 miles
Whenever you accelerate, the transmission begins to jerk. The power train problem indicator light will come on and go off. The car frequently jerks.

- Lester, WV, USA

Not what you are looking for?