Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Say what you will about the styling of the Ford Edge, but the bottom line is owners seem to love this vehicle. That is, of course, except in the case of it's dangerous, worrisome and unexplained issues with random engine stalling.

Our data suggests an early defect trend, as owners of the 2007-2008 models have started posting their accounts of what happens when you're driving down the road and the engine just stops. Some at high speed, some at low speed but always a random shutdown of the engine, electrical and power steering.

Time will tell if this becomes a widespread issue, but there's no drying the seriousness of the problem. With that in mind, we're flagging the Edge with our "Beware of the Clunker" rating until the situation improves.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,277 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Edge seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Edge Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

Jul 052016

Edge

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Satsuma, AL, USA

problem #32

May 012008

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. This repair is taking much too long given the potentially deadly nature of this recall

- Freeburg, IL, USA

problem #31

Jan 012016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. My daughters Ford Edge received the recall letter that said the passenger air bag was recalled. The drivers was not, only the passenger. She is in college and frequently has other students in her car and I am very concerned about the safety of others or my daughter if she happens to not be driving the car and is a passenger. We have not received any information on when the passenger air bag will be replaced. It has been a very long time since we received the letter and can you please find out what is going on with this. I need the airbag replaced asap! thank you.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #30

Jul 082016

Edge

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. My complaint is it seems like this recall isn't being completed in a timely manner. I received the recall in July 2016, contacted Ford in October 2016 and as od December 2016 still no action. That is nearly six months. I believe that something that could rupture and send metal fragments striking occupants should not be taking this long to repair. Any information and a time line for repair would be great. Thank you for your reply. Concerned recall car owner

- Mesquite, NV, USA

problem #29

Nov 272016

Edge

  • miles
Tail light sockets melting causing the bulbs to blow and not work. Have had to change both sides three times now. Also the takata airbag has still not been replaced. The dealership stated they still do not have the parts to fix it. I am very concerned about both these things.

- Rossville, GA, USA

problem #28

Nov 162016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). However, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Raeford, NC, USA

problem #27

Jun 012016

Edge

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #26

Oct 142014

Edge

  • miles
I have receiving recall letters on my 2008 Ford Edge for a passenge-side airbag malfunction since October 2014. It is now November 2016 and the local Ford dealer tells me that the part is still not available. At assistance is greatly appreciated.

- Port Jervis, NY, USA

problem #25

Jul 012016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall - notice sent July 2016 - states passenger airbag, if inflated may cause serious injury and/or death! almost November and no parts available to fix! will not carry a passenger in my car until fixed!! what is date of repair"?"

- Orange, TX, USA

problem #24

Oct 262016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Medford, NJ, USA

problem #23

Oct 262016

Edge

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. Ford issued the recall to replace the front passenger airbag on June 1, 2016, and yet nearly five months later still has not come up with a solution. Please help!! I am afraid to drive my car with a passenger in the front seat.

- Miller Place, NY, USA

problem #22

Jul 012016

Edge

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #21

Oct 182016

Edge

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The manufacturer stated that the parts for the repair were unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #20

Aug 242015

Edge

  • 70,000 miles
Takata air bag recall- received Ford recall notice on passenger frontal air bag but noy on driver's air bag that cut my face when it deployed and obstructed my vision and made me hit another car. Why was that bag not mentioned in the Ford recall to this same VIN # as my car? vehicle in motion and have these bags exploded when sharp turn was made to avoid accident previous report 2/6/2016 yr # 100148 reference 10872208.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #19

Jul 112016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags) however, the part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #18

Sep 032016

Edge

  • 75,000 miles
My vehicle Ford Edge model 2008, lost control as well as speed when the wrench light came to the dashboard, immediately after the airbag light lit up, I had little or no engine power to engage gear to keep up with traffic speed. My speed dropped to 40 miles or less per hour. Very dangerous situation because at that moment the odometer lighting also went off. Driving on a highway at night no one drives below 40 miles per hour, made the situation pretty grave and dangerous. The problem comes from the power train faulty sensors near the transmission need to be replaced costing over $800,00, as for the airbag I haven't received a invoice yet.

- Forest Hills, NY, USA

problem #17

Sep 042016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall and possible fuel leak recall. Purchased vehicle 6/6/2015 and have never received recall notice letter, nor was vehicle fixed by dealer.

- Covington, KY, USA

problem #16

Jul 062016

Edge

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Santa Fe, TX, USA

problem #15

Jul 212016

Edge

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Edge. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #14

Jun 082016

Edge

  • miles
Takata recall 16S26/ NHTSA recall 16V-384. My car was sold to me a vehicle exchange in phx and now I have all sort of problems with the fuel tank, timer, it leaks coolant and also the dome lights won't go off. I need to get this fixed asap. Contact me at 4805937152, my name is matthew garner. My car also overheats and the air conditioning only blows out really hard on the passenger side. Please help me I have twin and my wife and I need a reliable car.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?