Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,585 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Ford Edge drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Ford Edge Owner Comments

problem #5

Aug 162016

Edge

  • 106,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The 2009 Ford Edge I own has been experiencing slipping and surges in acceleration while trying to maintain a constant speed at a 45-55 mph range. While decelerating the transmission slips and revs up and down causing the car to jerk forward and/or suddenly slow or stop. There are numerous tsb for the 2009 Ford Edge transmission ( tsb 10-21-2, 10-17-4, 10-9-9, 13-5-27. However, the tsb's state that they only cover 2009 - 2011 models built 3/13/2009 - 6/30/2010. The tsb's explicitly indicate the 6F50 and 6F55 transmission. My 2009 Ford Edge has a 6F50 transmission that happens to be built on 10/24/2008 and therefore, Ford is limiting its liability because a date range was placed on the tsb. Yet, my car exudes the same performance and flaws outlined in the numerous tsb's. as well, there are several other complaints on NHTSA related to the 2009 Ford that Ford is refusing to repair if it falls outside of the date range. This is a very shallow way of limiting liability and a lack of responsibility and ethics on Ford part, imo. I would like to point out that tsb 10-9-9 covered 2009 Ford Edge built between 12/11/2009 and 4/15/2010 and then tsb 10-21-2 extends the date range to 3/13/2009 through 6/30/2010. An investigation should consider if the 6F55 and 6F50 transmissions in general should be recalled. Given that my car meets all criteria other than a date for a well known defect, it appears Ford has found a great way to circumvent liability on poor designs and manufacturing and place the financial burden and safety risk on the consumer. I am requesting that an investigation be initiated to expand the tsbs related to the 2009 Ford Edge to a recall on the transmissions in question, 6F50 and 6F55. Currently, Ford only response is to request that I pay the repairs and keep the receipt in case the tsb expands to cover my manufacturing date. Complaining here is my resolution:)

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #4

Mar 302015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 123,925 miles
The power takeoff unit needed to be replaced. Based on other forums this seems to be a common issue with this vehicle.

- Whitmore Lake, MI, USA

problem #3

Sep 012014

Edge

  • 95,000 miles
My 2009 Ford Edge started to shift hard a few months ago. I noticed that at times the car would lurch forward when starting out and knock into the gear.. about two weeks ago the car started to whine at speeds around 50mph. Last weekend there was a metal scraping sound when driving. My mechanic has diagnosed this as a transfer case problem. The unit needs to be replaced at 1600 dollars. After doing research, I have found that this is a know Ford problem and have found many many complaints by consumers. This should be a recall by the manufacturer since it is obviously a problem that many people are having.

- Suffern, NY, USA

problem #2

Dec 012010

Edge

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Edge. While stopped at a traffic stop, the contact depressed the accelerator pedal and the engine rpms increased drastically, but the vehicle was hesitant to accelerate. The vehicle suddenly jerked forward without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice but the technicians were unable to diagnose the failure. The failure recurred four times intermittently. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000.

- Weatherford, TX, USA

problem #1

Nov 132010

Edge

  • 28,000 miles
The problem surfaced more recently over the last 5 to 6 thousand miles (current mileage 36,550) and is progressively getting worse. Manifestation: On a reasonable incline, where most other vehicles I have tested do not roll back between the time the driver shifts the right off the brake pedal and on to the accelerator while the gear is in "D" mode, the Ford Edge will roll back. Depending on the situation whether there is on coming cross traffic or not, one can depress the accelerator further and the car tends to slightly "shoot" forward. If there is cross traffic (vehicular or pedestrian) one must shift the foot back to the brake again very quickly, or else the car will roll back and hit whatever is behind. The roll back can, if allowed, continue for several feet depending upon the gradient. The dealer claims this issue to be normal for this transmission and has no fix for it.

- Bullard, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?