Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,132 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Edge engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Edge Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #83

Sep 022015

Edge

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At 4 separate times my vehicle suddenly and without warning had a total loss of power at highway speeds during rush hour traffic. I was forced to coast to the right side of the road and on to the shoulder with other vehicles all around me going 70 mph. I stopped the vehicle and restarted it. It hesitated, but did start again, and then drove fine 10 minutes before doing the exact same thing again! I took it to the Ford dealership and they person at the desk knew what it was right away without even looking at the car: The throttle body. This is apparently a very common problem with these vehicles, and Ford has already issued an extended warranty for other cars with a similar problem. For the Edge, however, I am being forced to pay $600 to repair it or risk my life by continuing to drive it as it is. Ford knows about this problem. They have even redesigned the part. They should be forced to recall the part before somebody gets hurt (or worse) because of their mistake!

- Fort Smith, AR, USA

problem #82

May 172014

Edge

  • 40,000 miles
This is now the seventh time I've lost all power while driving. The car completely shuts down, steering becomes uncontrollable and the oil pressure light comes on. I've taken to the dealership and I'm being told the car has no codes of what happened and they can't repair. I'm not sure how a computer doesn't register a low oil pressure light or how it's not hard coded somewhere in the computer system that the car just cut out at 35mph to 60 mph I have no warning that this is about to happen, I lost my steering, car shuts down, brakes do not work. Ford has no idea on how to fix this. I pull over and wait a few minutes crank up and go, sometimes it does it 5 to 6 times in a row before I can get to the dealer. Also, my driver's side door always keeps the door ajar light on, Ford has no clue how to fix this either- the interior lights stays on the whole time also. I have taken it in several times for this also and they can't fix it. I bought this car used and it was great for one year and now it has many problems which I believe it did when I bought it. I now put 93 octane in it just to see if that helps, I have put engine cleaner in it, had all the filters changed every 3 months, nothing seems to work. I do have grandchildren and worry that an accident could happen due to this malfunction. How do I go about filing against Ford for the lemon law.

- Orange Beach , AL, USA

problem #81

Feb 192015

Edge

  • 62,000 miles
My throttle body has gone out on my Edge causing my car to completely stall out in rush hour traffic and on the highways. I have read forums about many warranty extensions that Ford put on vehicles very similar to my own because of this issue but mine was not one of those. I'm now having to pay $800 to fix a problem that Ford created!

- Indianapolis , IN, USA

problem #80

Aug 032015

Edge

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on interstate 75 in Kentucky, my 2011 Ford Edge lost power, with violent shuddering and no acceleration. Managed to move from the middle lane to the emergency lane. Shut off Edge and restarted, everything returned to normal. Today, Aug, 12 the exact same occurance happened again, other than speed all conditions were the same. Ford dealer said it could possibly be the throttle body but could not diagnose until it happens again and vehicle is not shut off and taken directly to them. This is an extremely unsafe incident to have happen on the interstate at 70 mph, this should be a recall.

- London, KY, USA

problem #79

Jul 242015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
About 2-3 weeks ago, while driving in the outer banks, nc, I had a sudden loss of power in the vehicle and an yellow wrench sign came. Luckily, I was able to pull off the road and shut the car off. Once restarted, it worked ok. I went to cavalier Ford dealer at portsmouth, va and they could not find anything wrong. Since there was no recall or mention of this problem from Ford, I was told not to worry about it. Today, while driving with my wife and daughter, I had complete loss of power with the yellow wrench sign again. I had to pull on the wrong side of the road with hazard lights on. Again, we were lucky that we did not get hit. When restarted, I was able to drive back home and take my wife's car. I am taking the Ford Edge to the dealer again. I am letting you know that, when I googled for similar problems, there were plenty of complaints on this model vehicle. You can find these reports on the link below: \25\15 updated 12/1/2015

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #78

Jul 212015

Edge

  • 64,100 miles
Vehicle lost power while entering freeway. Wrench light came on, engine was shuddering baldy. Engine had just been started after sitting for 90 minutes. Had to limp across two lanes of traffic to get to the median. Engine had to be shut down and restarted after two minutes. Could have caused a bad collision.I do not trust this car. It is dangerous.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #77

Jul 192015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 45,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife was driving on a surface street with our infant boys in the back seat. Without warning, the 2011 Ford Edge lost all power and the engine vibrated intensely. It could have caused a serious collision. She restarted the car and tried to make it home safely and slowly. It happened again on the way. The next day (7/20/15), when we drove the SUV to the dealership, it happened a 3rd time. Galpin Ford (N hills, ca) diagnosed it with a faulty throttle body, not covered by our 7-year powertrain limited warranty. This is a certified preowned Ford Edge that we purchased a little over a year ago. Throttle bodies should not fail with 45K miles on the car. And, it should be covered by the warranty, or better yet...it should be a recall. The loss of power is a dangerous problem that Ford should take responsibility for.

- Tarzana, CA, USA

problem #76

Jul 192015

Edge

  • 33,800 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Edge. While driving at an unknown speed, the AWD and check engine warning lights illuminated. The vehicle failed to accelerate. The contact was able to maneuver to the emergency lane. The contact shut off the vehicle and was able to restart the engine, but the failure persisted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 33,800.

- Taducah, KY, USA

problem #75

Jun 082015

Edge

  • 58,586 miles
Certified pre-owned 2011 Ford Edge limited AWD. Purchased in Nov. 2014. On Monday, June 8, 2015 as I was driving at 55 mph, a light came on on the left hand side of the instrument panel. The light said "AWD off" and had a little wrench symbol on it. The car abruptly lost power and I just coasted out of the way of traffic and onto the side of the road because there was no shoulder. I tried to press the gas pedal but nothing happened--there was no acceleration. My vehicle essentially "died" without warning in traffic. Weather conditions were sunny about 85 degrees. The radio and ac worked, but the gas pedal did not. The vehicle sounded like it was going to stall out and was sputtering as I coasted. I put the vehicle in "park" and turned the vehicle off. I waited several minutes and restarted the vehicle. Vehicle seemed to work ok and no warning lights came back on afterwards. I called the dealership and arranged for me to have my car inspected for the cause of this malfunction. I paid $111.30 for the vehicle to be hooked to a diagnostic machine but the dealership was unable to get any "codes" from a diagnostic reading nor could the dealer replicate the warning light to come on. On June 24, 2015 the same issue happened again. I took a photo of the light on the dash, sent it to dealership. Third time happened on Friday, July 10, 2015 and I was on the highway in the passing lane and had to coast across the slow lane to get out of the way of traffic so I wouldn't cause an accident. Again, I took photos of the odometer and the "AWD off" light and sent to dealership. Dealership sys without a code from diagnostic machine, they can't tell what is wrong. Fourth time happen last night, July 14, 2015. This is a huge issue as from researching on the internet, a lot of other Ford Edge owners experienced the same problem! please help! I feel like I'm getting no help!

- Monroeville, NJ, USA

problem #74

May 242015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 49,905 miles
The first time the problem occurred I was driving down a street and had slowed to make a left turn into a retail establishment. Just as I made the turn the vehicle shuddered slightly and immediately lost forward momentum - it was like the vehicle was in neutral - I had no acceleration. A wrench appeared on my driver's display. I was able to pull to a stop and I shut the vehicle off. After several minutes I attempted to start the vehicle. It took several seconds longer than normal for the vehicle to start but it did. The second occurrence happened in my work parking lot. I had backed my vehicle out of my parking place and just as I started to accelerate the vehicle shuddered slightly and I again lost any acceleration. I turned the vehicle off and restarted immediately. Again, it look slightly longer than normal for the vehicle to start. The third time I was driving 55 down a road when the vehicle suddenly lost momentum. Same deal with limping to the side of the road, praying this time that nothing was coming as the vehicle was only half off the road. It started with effort. In each occurrence the wrench appeared. This has all happened over a period of 13 days. I contacted a local Ford dealership Saturday and described the problem over the phone. The mechanic said he was very familiar with the problem - that it was the throttle body. I decided to do some online research and discovered complaint after complaint describing the same problem. I'm very disappointed in Ford for not making this problem more of a priority. Does there need to be a loss of life before something is done? we will be driving several states away in just a few weeks and I have absolutely no confidence in my vehicle. I certainly don't want to be traveling 75 miles an hour on a freeway when my vehicle suddenly decides it doesn't want to cooperate. Very, very disappointing.

- Pleasantville, OH, USA

problem #73

May 142015

Edge

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our family was driving on a heavily traveled bridge at 40mph and the vehicle immediately lost all power and idled roughly, forcing us to travel on the bridge at just a few miles an hour with our four-way flashers on until we reached the side of the road. A wrench appeared on the computer screen with the message AWD off. My husband turned the vehicle off and then back on and it ran fine until we drove it again and same thing happened. We are fearful for our safety and beg Ford to recall. I visited several websites and saw way too many consumers with this same serious safety issue. We are going to get it evaluated by a mechanic tomorrow and pray that we are able to safely drive it to the garage.

- South Williamsport, PA, USA

problem #72

May 072015

Edge

  • 79,000 miles
Car stalled twice. Previous complaint filed but I called after finding recall number 10S14. Claled Ford and they told me not covering my VIN even though situation is the exact same happenings. Your rep told me to file a new complaint becasue he coud not update the one previously submitted; ODI number 10715241. He stated that they would investiage and psossible add my VIN to be covered under this recall.

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #71

May 072015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
Car stalled three times. Power went off and I was almost rear ended. Told it's the throttle accuator stuck open. Error 2111, picture of wrench and now engine light on. Even though I found this on your website fird refused to cover. May of the same complaints on all social media sites. Ford gave me case number [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #70

Apr 112015

Edge

  • 59,000 miles
On April 11, 2015, the throttle body assembly on the engine of my 2011 Ford Edge failed while in heavy traffic at highway speed on a 6-lane highway. I was traveling in the inside lane when the failure occurred. There was no power to the engine, and I coasted quickly across 2 lanes to a right turn lane. Fortunately, everyone reacted positively to my emergency flashers as I decelerated. On Monday, April 13, the local Ford dealership repaired the car. After returning home, I checked the internet for information on this failure mode and was surprised to read that Ford had a couple years earlier settled a NHTSA complaint for several Ford models that exhibited the problem my car experienced. The Ford Edge was not part of the settlement. Further research revealed other Ford Edges with the same problem as mine. Apparently, Ford won a partial settlement on the throttle body issue. The failure mode is as dangerous as the General Motors ignition switch failure. Both the GM and Ford failure modes result in the same manner complete loss of power and a hope to make it safely to stop. Recognizing that others are having problems similar to me, shouldn't the NHTSA reexamine this Ford problem. In my case I'm just thankful my wife wasn't driving the car. She was with me when the failure occurred and claimed she would not have known how to react. Do you really want to wait until we have as many deaths as GM experienced with their ignition switch failure before acting?

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #69

Apr 032015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
I was driving my 2011 Ford Edge on a busy road and lost all ability to accelerate. The engine jerked, then started shaking, wrench light came on the dash board. I would push the pedal and nothing would happen. Had to roll along with flashers on until I reached a parking lot entry to pull into, as there was no shoulder on the road I was on. Meanwhile, cars were speeding up behind me and passing my car into on coming traffic to avoid colliding with me. Once in the parking lot, I turned off the car, and immediately turned it back on (less than two seconds later), and everything was back to normal. Took the vehicle directly to the dealer and was told by their service technician that I needed a new throttle body and was no longer under warranty (vehicle had 57,000 miles).

- Prospect, KY, USA

problem #68

Feb 232015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owned a 2011 Ford Edge. While driving approximately 5 mph into the driveway, there was smoke and flames erupting underneath the hood. In addition, there was smoke in the cabin. The fire department extinguished the fire. A police and a fire report were filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000....updated 04/08/15

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #67

Mar 012015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 46,082 miles
I was driving vehicle up a slight grade at 30mph. Engine power suddenly dropped to an idle RPM. It felt like it was running on 1 cylinder and very rough. I was able to "creep" the car to the side of road. Pressing on the accelerator in neutral or drive had no effect. A "wrench" warning icon appeared on the indicator panel. Shutting off and restarting the car allowed us to drive home. This occurred two times within 2 miles. The car will be taken to the dealer today for repairs. This same scenario (less than 270 miles prior) occurred as my wife accelerated away from our home 3 weeks prior. The owners manual indicated it was an AWD issue. My car does not have that feature.the car was taken to the dealer who indicated it was a transmission problem covered by a service bulletin and reprogrammed the transmission computer. Prior to these engine incidents the car had acted odd when shifting, as though it popped in and out of gear. This is a safety concern and so far we have been lucky because it happened each time in low traffic conditions.

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #66

Feb 132015

Edge

  • 58,200 miles
I was driving and all of a sudden the vehicle started idling high and sputtering. Then the check engine light came on. The engine just shut off. Luckily there was no one behind me. I could have been rear-ended. This is third time this has happened. The first time it happened I took it to Ford and they said there was no code to tell them what was wrong with it. They replace the throttle body sensor and check engine light was gone, but a few hours later it came back on and it stalled on me again. I wasted a couple of hundred dollars to end up right back where I was before with a very unsafe vehicle. If I could afford to get another vehicle, I would. I am afraid to drive this vehicle. Something has to be done before someone is injured or killed.

- Accokeek, MD, USA

problem #65

Jan 212015

Edge

  • 53,435 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Edge. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 53,435.

- Harrison City, PA, USA

problem #64

Aug 082014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 30,190 miles
Base model: In first week of August 2014, it experienced sudden loss of speed and severe vibration while driving on major thouroughfare street. It was unable to be driven and could not be moved out of the way. The "wrench" sign came up. After turning it off and waiting for about a 2-3 mins, it did start like normal. We brought to the dealership the same day. First we were told that it just needs computer reset and would cost $75, then they ultimately did it for free, while performing 30K miles services same day. Three month later I started experiencing the same issue again. I called the dealership and was told to bring it in. I did not have time for about a week due to tight work schedule, but during that week it kept occurring again, happened 3-4 times. Finally when it went for service at the dealership, they told me that it is throttle issue and quoted me about $800 to fix it. Upon further inquiring with technician, he told that this is not an uncommon issue on Ford vehicles. Ford escape and Fusion have been recalled to fix it under extended warranty for the similar problem, but Ford Edge has not been still covered for this issues. There is a fundamental problem with how Ford has been handling the issue for the Edge. What I have found that Ford has not allowing / giving out service center to use the code to explore the black box right away if this issue comes up which leads to delay in finding out what exactly is wrong with it. This is very dangerous situation. If you are driving on major interstate or making a turn, sudden deceleration and stalling could be life threatening for the all passengers in the car. NHTSA has dropped the ball by not forcing Ford to recall Ford Edge and have just enforced customer satisfaction program instead of recall. I hope the NHTSA does not wait till the fatalities are reported. ( car is under my wife's name).

- Metairie, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?