Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,879 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Edge fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Edge Owner Comments

problem #16

Jan 042015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 40,241 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After fueling the vehicle up, was heading home for the evening and traffic light turned green, went to go and the cars behind me became inpatient. The Ford Edge was rolling through the traffic light at less than @ 5 mph. After clearing the traffic light intersection I was able to get the 2011 Ford Edge into a the nearest neighborhood. This was at night time with my three(3) year old grandson with me. Tow truck was dispatched and taken to the nearest dealership which happen to be the one the Ford Edge was purchased from on August 8, 2015. Vehicle was purchased for my daughter so that she could have a reliable mode of transportation for her and my grandson.work order # 98983 from "dick smith Ford" dated January 5, 2015 at a cost of $95, and this is with me having an extended warranty. I notified Ford Motor Corporation as to the "throttle body" being defective. I was informed via E-mail that (no recalls) have been issued for this problem on the 2011 Ford Edge. On January 6, 2015 when my daughter was on her way to work at fort jackson during the 7:00 am traffic again dead pedal with throttle body. I notified Ford Motor Corporation again, via E-mail and telephone. I made it clear that I value the life of my daughter and grandson and if they should have a dead pedal while on the highway at greater speeds, what would happen if the vehicle behind them was not paying attention, then what. That's when corporation will find that it cost effective to pay out for a defect item on a vehicle instead of fixing as needed since it is a safety issue. Case number with Ford Motor Corporation is # { [xxx]}. vehicle is currently in my driveway with a new "throttle body" that I had ordered from a dealership in Carolina, puerto-rico. Part number is as follows (at4Z-9E926B) at my expense. At a cost of $125.gds... information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #15

Aug 132014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
I was driving down a busy city street with my daughter when my car started to lose power and proceeded to stall in the middle of the road. A warning light (the wrench) popped up while this happened. I was luckily in the right hand lane and was able to steer the vehicle off of the road into a private drive. The vehicle then completely lost power. I was able to start the vehicle and tried to drive down the private road when the vehicle again started to lose power and stall. I then called aaa and had a tow truck pick up my vehicle and tow it to a local Ford dealership. I was told the next day by the dealership that is was a faulty throttle body and that the part just happened to not be covered under my extended warranty. Why is a part that can cause a car to stall out while driving not covered under an extended warranty that the Ford dealerships are selling to their customers" furthermore, after seeing so many posts about this particular part on this website as well as numerous others why is there not a recall on these faulty throttle bodies" this a lot like what Chevy did with their ignition switches (which we happen to own a cobalt and are going through that mess right now) allowing faulty parts to be placed into these vehicles which can cause the potential for serious accidents. I just thank god that we were not on a major highway in the middle of rush hour traffic. Something needs to be done about these parts and Ford needs to look into the "extended warranties" that they are allowing their dealerships to sell. I am furious with my dealership right now and have a call into the East coast regional office regarding this situation.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #14

Aug 202014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
As I was driving out of my neighborhood, I pressed the accelerator, felt a jerk, and then no response from the accelerator. The car was just in idle, with nothing I could do. The "wrench" light (check engine) came on. Luckily, I could easily pull over, since I had no control over my speed, except for braking. I shut the vehicle off, and turned it back on, and it seemed to be fine. 5 minutes later, driving on a four lane road, the accelerator went unresponsive again. I was able to pull onto a side street with my existing momentum (there was no shoulder or space on the main road). I contacted my dealership and made an appointment for the next day. The next morning, the same thing occurred while driving my daughter to school (I was able to pull off the road), and again, about 50 feet from the Ford dealership. After evaluation, they said that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The part would take 2-3 days to order. They did not offer me a rental to use instead of my unsafe vehicle, but after I pushed, I was able to obtain a rental vehicle. I was not about to spend 5 days driving a vehicle I could not trust to be responsive when I needed it. Numerous other Ford vehicles have had issues with the electronic throttle body, resulting in an extension of the warranty for this part. After doing more research, I believe Ford needs to add the Edge to this list: www.fordproblems.com/problems/electronic-throttle-body.shtml.

- Saint Peters, MO, USA

problem #13

Jun 022014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is my 2nd complaint about this same defect as it has occurred 2 additional times (3 total incidents). The 1st incident occurred on 4/11. The 2nd incident occurred on 6/2 when my wife was turning right from an intersection. At approximately 20mph she lost the ability to accelerate and had to quickly change lanes and coast to the side of the road while avoiding traffic. She put the car in park and turned the vehicle off. Once she turned the car back on, the car operated normally. The 3rd incident occurred on 6/3. my wife accelerated from a red light into an intersection and lost the ability to accelerate. She was stuck in the middle of a busy intersection with cars swerving around her. She again stopped her car from coasting, put it in park, and turned the car off. She restarted the car and it operated normally. I deemed her car too dangerous to drive and would not allow her to drive until repaired. I searched the internet and found the Ford escape, Fusion, mariner, and Milan had the exact same problem the Edges are having. Those owners received an extended warranty for a defective throttle body. Reference customer service program (csp) 13N03 and NHTSA action # PE13003. I took her car to the dealership and they could not find any error codes nor repeat the problem. He said he could not repair anything without this information. I mentioned csp 13N03 and he said he was aware of it but it didn't apply to the Edge. Since the problems were exactly the same, I asked if replacing the throttle body would fix the problem. He hesitated but after some prodding he said it would most likely fix the problem but he couldn't officially say so. I had them replace the throttle body on 6/6 ($698.06) and my wife has had zero problems as of 8/13, further proving it's the same defect. I hope Ford steps up as they did with the other Ford models and corrects this dangerous safety hazard.

- Flower Mound, TX, USA

problem #12

Aug 032014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
The vehicle shut down on the highway. It appeared that the vehicle had no fuel. The yellow wrench came on, and the vehicle died, as it came to a stop. After a few minutes, started as if nothing had happened. It has done it a few other times, today. I checked to see if there were any codes and on the first few times, there were not (autozone), but the last time it threw P2111.

- St Charles, MO, USA

problem #11

Jul 132014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
2011 Edge, 3.5 years old, with 41,000 miles. Car suddenly lost power to move forward, but car was still running, wrench appeared on screen, was able to coast and pull over. Turned engine off, restarted vehicle successfully. Problem repeated itself the next day, twice, was able to (fortunately) coast to a safe area and turn the car off. Car was restarted, engine light appeared after the third incident. Car was taken to dealership. Code P2111. Throttle body was replaced ($636), updated software - powertrain?? ($95), and performed a "highly recommended" fuel cleaning ($108). Total cost, with miscellaneous charges for environmental waste and tax, was $884. I have owned numerous vehicles, most from Ford, most older than 3.5 years old and having more than 41,000 miles, never had a problem like this before - very disappointing! high level of concern during incidents that the car would create a traffic problem. Fortunately it did not and was able to avoid high traffic and high speeds, and was able to get the vehicle to a dealership.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #10

Oct 222013

Edge

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While on an interstate highway going 65 mph. The car went limp-no power. Wrench symbol and AWD lights come on. After nearly getting rear ended trying to get to the berm, shut car off restarted it and it ran fine. Took car to dealer where they diagnosed it as a computer issue. On 7-12-14 while on interstate going 70 mph., exact same thing happened. On 7-13-14, 7-16-14, 7-20-14 and 7-21-14 at speeds between 25 and 35 mph. This happened a total of 8 separate times. Took car to Ford dealer where they diagnosed it as replace throttle body and reprogram computer for total cost of $788. Someone is going to die on a highway or making a left hand turn at an intersection if this problem is not properly addressed.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #9

Jun 292014

Edge

  • 35,300 miles
Driving 45 mph and vehicle lost power, the wrench dash warning light came on, pulled over shut it off and it was rough to start but it did, and ran ok. A week later did it again going about 25 mph. As others have mentioned scanner shows no codes. Fortunately for us the issues have happened on low volume roadways, not high speed, high traffic like some unlucky folks. Local dealer called Ford and it is not covered under the power train, we have 35K miles but 45 months. Hopefully Ford will stand up and do a recall without waiting for the deaths to multiply like GM!

- N Ft Myers , FL, USA

problem #8

Dec 232013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 57,200 miles
While driving down the freeway in the left lane at 70 mph during rush hour traffic my Ford Edge went limp and no longer had acceleration. I had to safely maneuver myself off the freeway while the vehicle was decreasing in speed, shut the car off and sit for a minute before restarting the car and safely getting myself back on the freeway and on my way. This has happened numerous times while driving this vehicle. After doing research on the internet, I found multiple (hundreds) complaints from other Edge and other Ford model owners experiencing the same issue. I took my Edge to the Ford dealer where they confirmed the throttle body needed to be replaced. I contacted Ford customer care to see if this would be covered under my power train warranty, it was not. I paid out of pocket to have this issue fixed. Ford has since extended the warranty on the throttle body for escapes and Fusion due to those models experiencing the same symptoms, but have yet to include the Edge. Ford has now sent escape and Fusion owners another letter regarding the issue eluding that more work is needed. Again, the Edge has yet to be included in any of this. I would like Ford to be held responsible for this, especially since they have already acknowledged other Ford models have the same issue.

- Lisbon, WI, USA

problem #7

May 102014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
I was coming home from a soccer game and just lost power I pushed on the gas pedal nothing happened. Car loses power. Ford house had to replaced throttle body and recal PCM and allok. They explained it to me air was in it so it messed computer signal up. I don't know why I would have to pay to fix this issue. Ford needs to fix. 2011 Ford Edge has issues..updated 08/11/14

- Wichita Falls , TX, USA

problem #6

May 082014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 46,346 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the subject vehicle, on a major highway, at 25mph, it suddenly and completely lost power. The vehcle coasted to a stop along side the road. A tow truck was called to tow it to a Ford dealer to be repaired.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #5

Feb 172014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Re: 2011 Ford Edge limited: On way to dealer for requested service/repair re: Sudden and unexpected engine loss of power (stall - 3 episodes within 2 weeks) while underway the vehicle stalled 3 additional times. At time of stall (loss of engine power) the engine remained running; check engine light was on; "wrench" showed on dash instruments; all electrical power remained on and operating. Necessary to put hazard lights on, glide to stop off road, place transmission lever in neutral then in park and turn engine off. On restart, check engine light was on. I called advantage Ford dealership from road; they said ok to proceed to dealership. These incidents occurred in heavy traffic on us-1. no warning from car re: Engine rumbling or other before stall. Felt in danger but able to navigate safely. Internet search prior to dealer visit indicated "throttle body" problem with Ford escape primarily. Only 1-3 complaints re: Ford Edge.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #4

Nov 182013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
While traveling at approximately 30 miles per hour, the car suddenly stalled, although it would move at a very slow speed at a rough idle, maybe 1 mile per hour, no matter how hard the accelerator was depressed. Simultaneously, a yellow wrench warning light appeared. I pulled into a parking lot and let the engine run, it remained running rough at a very slow speed. I continued for about a minute, then shut the engine off. After restart, the car ran normally with no warning indicators. I took the car to a Ford dealer where they could not reproduce the problem, and was told that because I shut the car off, any error codes were cleared. They could also not perform a repair if they did not know the cause, although they said it is probably the throttle body. Without error codes, there was nothing they could do. This is a safety problem, I was fortunate to not be on the highway going 60 miles per hour.

- Kirkwood, MO, USA

problem #3

Aug 232013

Edge 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The throttle body of this car was defective. I understand Ford has this problem with this car and other cars with the same maker of the part. The car will suddenly lose all function of the accelerator. No power whatsoever. I see this as a safety issue as if this happened in an intersection, on the highway in a middle lane, the car and passengers are helpless to make the car accelerate until the car is stopped, put in park, turned off then restarted. Then everything resets and the car will go again. I just shiver at this happening in 70 mph rush hour traffic in the middle lane and you can't drift over to the side. And you are adrift, completely helpless. It happened 6 times to my car in the past 3 weeks, once on a 2 lane highway and each of the others in town and in traffic. Luckily I was able to maneuver to the right side of the road and stop.. the diagnosis was throttle body and, yes, Ford has had problems with these and other models.. on top of that it's a $500 repair that should never happen to begin with. I see it as a definite safety issue.

- Cookeville, TN, USA

problem #2

Feb 042013

Edge

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Edge. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that the check engine light illuminated when the failure occurred. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and it was determined that the throttle body valve needed to be replaced and the fuel system needed to be cleaned. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 44,000.

- Conway, TX, USA

problem #1

Apr 142011

Edge

  • 3,980 miles
1. leased car on 12/31/2010, the sync failed and screen went blank while driving. 2. backed out of driveway and rear camera froze. 3. doors and hood out of line 4. gas tank leak, dealer doesn't know when they can get a part.

- Manalapan, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?