Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.3

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,299 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Edge electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Edge Owner Comments (Page 10 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #154

Jul 222015

Edge

  • 50,750 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving home from work and the driver information center displayed "driver door ajar" when the door was definatly shut and locked. After a few minutes this alarm went away and it returned a few days later on my way to the store. The frequency of this problem has been increasing and now my car alarm sounds off seemingly at will, mid-day or midnight because the computer thinks someone opened the door without the key. Last night it was going off at 4am. I am concerned that interelated safety equipment might not function because the computer thinks the door is open. This problem also prevents the auto-lock function from working, so someone could open my door at a redlight or in traffic. The repair bill for this problem is just over five hundred dollars. This is clearly an example of inferior parts costing the defenseless consumer money and Ford Motor Co. Repeat customers. If you do an online search, you will see that this is a common problem.

- Eagleville, TN, USA

problem #153

Jul 222015

Edge

  • 65,000 miles
Warning light for drivers side door is on with door completely closed. Shift into park warning flashes while vehicle is under way. Radio presets went to default. Updated 09/08/15 updated 12/16/2015

- Rotonda West, FL, USA

problem #152

Jul 032015

Edge

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Edge. While backing out of a parking lot, the front driver side door ajar warning light illuminated even when the door was securely closed. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 44,000. Updated 09/21/15

- Holmem, WI, USA

problem #151

Jun 102015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2fmdk4jcxcba79557 without injury or change by us to the car, the "door ajar" warning began showing up in the instrument panel. The door is securely closed. The warning is on the panel, the warning beep is sounding, and the interior light remains on until you drive forward about 30 feet. This makes backing out of parking spaces, driveways, etc difficult because there is no way to see where you are going because of the bright light. Lubricating the door latch assembly does nothing to help. Updated 10/9/15.......updated 10/19/15 updated 12/21/15

- Menomonie, WI, USA

problem #150

Jun 082015

Edge

  • miles
Door latch sensor driver side front

- Carleton, MI, USA

problem #149

Nov 032014

Edge

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Edge. While the vehicle was parked, the door warning light illuminated when the door was closed securely. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000. The VIN was not available.

- Moorhead, MN, USA

problem #148

Sep 142014

Edge

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford Edge. While the vehicle was parked, the front driver side door warning light illuminated, indicating the door was open when it was securely closed. The failure recurred constantly. The dealer diagnosed that the door latch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was serviced, but the remedy failed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 33,000.

- Libby, MT, USA

problem #147

Jun 292015

Edge

  • 48,000 miles
Intermittent, the door ajar light comes on-when the door is really closed-it makes the dome lights stay on and the doors will not lock. This is referring the passenger door behind the driver. No matter how many times I open and shut-it still shows that it is open...updated 10/06/15

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #146

May 012014

Edge

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Edge. The contact stated that the front driver side door ajar warning light continuously illuminated when the door was completely closed. The failure caused the internal dome lights to remain illuminated and caused the battery to drain. Also, the contact noticed that the doors failed to stay locked while driving. The failure recurred multiple times. The dealer stated that the sensor inside the door might need to be replaced; however, the vehicle had not been taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #145

Nov 192014

Edge

  • miles
The door ajar light continually comes on in my 2012 Ford Edge. We have shut the door repeatedly several times and it will not shut. It is unsafe because the interior light stay on.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #144

Mar 102015

Edge

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After closing the driver's door, I get a door ajar message in the dashboard screen. When parked, interior dome lights remain on and doors will not lock since the vehicle thinks the door is still open. While driving, doors do not lock and notifications repeat after each stop as I release the brake to start accelerating. Repeated door closings may cause the computer to realize that the door is closed and the message may go away, but that solution works less and less often. My Edge is now 5 months out of warranty, but first occurrence was 2 months out of warranty. Ford hq tells me there is no recall on this issue and my dealership wants to charge me $400 to replace the door switch or $500+ if I want a diagnostic to determine if that solution will work, or if there is a larger problem. Online research reveals this problem is rampant across many Ford models and years. They know it's a flaw and refuse to make it right.

- Mount Juliet, TN, USA

problem #143

Jun 112015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 37,200 miles
The door latch light stays on durning drive time, it prevents locked doors and light on mirrors and interior light stay on. I have read there is multiple Ford Edge drivers with same saftety issue. This needs to be resolved its very dangerouse driving hazard it prevents door from locking during high speeds....updated 08-06/15 updated 9/29/2015

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #142

Apr 022015

Edge

  • 58,000 miles
The door ajar warning stays on. Unable to lock door while driving. Vehicle constantly says to shift into park and the close the door. A huge problem while driving, distraction and may cause crashes.

- Cortland, IL, USA

problem #141

Jun 122015

Edge

  • 35,000 miles
Door ajar light stays illuminated when door is closed. This causes a distraction to the drive because the interior lights stay illumined when driving. Very serious and the dealer wants over 650 to fix the issue.

- Shoreview, MN, USA

problem #140

Jun 012015

Edge

  • miles
The door ajar message shows on the dash when door is closed. After many attempts the sensor does not read the door being closed. This seems to be a very big issue that requires a recall due to safety since it is part of the electrical system.

- Lumberton, NJ, USA

problem #139

Jun 052015

Edge

  • miles
Door sensor malfunctioning. Door alarm and lights continue to stay on after door is closed.

- Beaverton , MI, USA

problem #138

May 012015

Edge

  • 30,100 miles
Door ajar signal stay on when door is closed. Interior light stays on. Inability to lock doors while in vehicle. Faulty latch. Continuous door ajar chime sound on.

- Lawrence, KS, USA

problem #137

Nov 252014

Edge

  • 26,000 miles
"driver's door ajar" indicator is on all the time even though door is closed completely. Then the doors will not lock from inside the vehicle and the interior lights stay on (this is a safety hazard at night as the drivers vision is impaired by the interior lights). Also related to this problem: The "shift to park" audible and visual indicator operates at random while driving which is a significant distraction to the driver.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #136

May 152015

Edge

  • 32,154 miles
Door ajar signal stays on when door is shut. Interior light stays on. Doors cannot be locked when inside.

- Joelton, TN, USA

problem #135

May 152014

Edge

  • 32,154 miles
The door ajar signal stays on when door is shut. Interior light stays on. Door cannot be locked when inside.

- Joelton, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?