10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,317 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Edge miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Edge Owner Comments (Page 3 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #172

Aug 012016

Edge

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Door is closed and yet it showing that doors are open unable to lock car alarm beeping all true the drive

- Woodcliff Lake, NJ, USA

problem #171

Sep 012016

Edge

  • 53,000 miles
Driver door latch assembly became faulty at 53000 miles. Car doors would not lock automatically as designed when the vehicle reached 15 to 20 mph.. the vehicle had to be driven with doors unlocked at all times. Stopping at an intersection with doors unlocked created a safety situation. Audio alarms kept going off as the vehicle was in motion. The audio alarms indicated the driver door was ajar which was not true. Instrument panel displayed false visual alarms while vehicle was being driven resulting in driver distraction. Driver was instructed to place the vehicle in park while vehicle was in motion. Engaging the brake pedal at a stop light or stop sign resulted in the vehicle audio alarms going off once the brake was released. Audio alarms were annoying, distracting and frustrating to driver. Vehicle latch was replaced by private mechanic, computer was reprogrammed for a total cost of $454 out of owner's pocket. Owner was informed by mechanic that Ford had issued a technical service bulletin so Ford was aware the issue was common.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #170

Sep 202016

Edge

  • 70,000 miles
The driver door is ajar light comes on and the door is completely shut.

- Sultan, WA, USA

problem #169

Sep 022016

Edge

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The sensor for the driver door ajar keeps popping up. I have to close the door numerous times before it will allow me to lock the car. If I don't then the interior dome light will remain on. This happens while driving or when parked. If I am driving then the dome light remains on until I can get the sensor to turn off.

- Kennewick, WA, USA

problem #168

Jul 202016

Edge

  • 50,000 miles
Door ajar light stays on and won't register when the front driver's side door is shut. Lights will not dim while driving or parked, locks will not work properly either. Battery is being drained because of the faulty sensor. Ford will not cover repairs, even though my vehicle is still under warranty.

- Jefferson City, TN, USA

problem #167

Feb 012016

Edge

  • 47,000 miles
When closing the door the door ajar message comes up on the instrument panel. Interior lights will not go off causing problems with night driving. Doors will not lock when this happens. When turning vehicle off the interior lights stay on and in turn puts a drain on the battery. There should be a recall on this as it has become an unsafe problem for night driving. This started Feb. 2016 and has been a continuous problem since then. Speed makes no difference for this problem.

- Remsen, IA, USA

problem #166

Sep 012016

Edge

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Left door sensor/latch is not working properly after 65,000 miles. Affects door locks while driving and parked. The door locks go up and down intermittently and unexpectantly. Affects overhead lighting and the remote start. Dangerous to have the doors not locked especially if young kids are in back seat.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #165

Sep 112016

Edge

  • 33,300 miles
The rear driver side door ajar light stays on all the time and the door is not open. The interior lights stay on at least 5 minutes after turning the car off, therefore running down the battery. We just had to put in a new battery. The doors won't automatically lock while driving because it thinks the rear door is open. It doesn't matter how many times you shut the door, the door ajar light stays on. Very frustrating!! so many other complaints about this same problem, it needs to be recalled!!!

- Enid, OK, USA

problem #164

Sep 012016

Edge

  • 29,000 miles
About a year ago had issue with car battery and car not starting. Told dealership of issue with dome light coming on and the door ajar alarm noise but not the ajar light. They said this sometimes happens with bad battery. Now the door ajar light comes on, the interior light comes on, the door ajar alarm sounds, my doors will not lock, and an alarm on my dash tells me to stop and put my car into park. This started over a year ago with the battery and now a year later we have had constant issues with the door ajar light that is now progressing. Light and alarms out of nowhere, doors not being able to lock, and the probability of car batteries going dead because interior lights won't stay off is a hazard not to mention trying to see at night with the interior lights unable to go off. Something needs done. All of this can happen when in motion or at a stand still. It started off being just when you first got in to start the car, now it can be while you are driving.

- Florence, AL, USA

problem #163

Jan 012016

Edge

  • 90,000 miles
Door latch sensor says the doors are open. Even after repeated shutting/slamming of door. First it started with the driver side rear passenger door. Recently it is also happening with the drivers door. With both doors the dash board sensor 'door ajar' comes on, some light stays on for a few minutes(which at night is a huge problem). When the driver door sensor malfunctions the auto locks aslo won't engage, which is another safety issue when you're driving or parked at certain locations. The driver door sensor will also issue a warning to 'shirt in park'. repeated slamming of doors does not fix this issue. Rear door issue occurred fall/winter 2015 driver door issue occurred 8/30/16

- Bloomburg, TX, USA

problem #162

Aug 242016

Edge

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The door open warning light stays on even when its closed, this is not allowing the doors to close properly, this also causes the panic alarm to go off and it keeps the dome light on while driving causing glare at night due to the bright dome light staying on. This also drains the batter due to the constant intirior lights staying on when the car is parked and closed

- Pomona, CA, USA

problem #161

Aug 132016

Edge

  • 53,000 miles
Door ajar light staying on even after door has been completely shut.

- Frankfort, KY, USA

problem #160

Aug 012016

Edge

  • miles
Door ajar light

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #159

Jun 162016

Edge

  • 49,000 miles
The door sensor is faulty saying the door is ajar and keeping the dome lights on. I have already put in a new battery because of this the lights stay on all night and day. It doesn't matter if the car is stationary or moving the problem is the same

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #158

Jul 012016

Edge

  • 36,200 miles
Driver door will not lock while car is running. I get door ajar message even though door is securely closed. When I stop I get shift vehicle to park message. In addition, the interior lights remain on for an extended period of time. This is a big distraction at night time.

- Piscataway, NJ, USA

problem #157

Aug 112016

Edge

  • miles
Past year car warns to shift into park; although in park. Warning that drivers door is ajar, when it is closed. This causes the interior lights to stay on, cant lock the doors and causes my car alarm to go off at any given time. The dealer has been unable to fix. Please recall this. There and tons of complaints on this site and all over the internet. How can Ford ignore this"?"

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #156

Jun 032016

Edge

  • 70,000 miles
For the past 4 months the door ajar signal stays on when door is closed. Interior light stays on. Not able to lock doors while in or outside of the vehicle. While driving (streets or highway) the shift to park indicator lights up, the door ajar indicator comes on, interior lights turn on, all the doors unlock and the door open chimes are heard. This is a serious safety and operation issued with the passengers and vehicle.

- Fox River Grove, IL, USA

problem #155

Aug 062016

Edge

  • 52,000 miles
For about a month the door ajar signal stays on when door is closed. Interior light stays on. Not able to lock doors while in or outside of the vehicle. While driving (streets or highway) the shift to park indicator lights up, the door ajar indicator comes on, interior lights turn on, all the doors unlock and the door open chimes are heard. When I initially checked for recalls there are several internet stories from 2014 related to this issue on the Ford Edge. I was told about a recall that had been issued on Ford vehicles so I took my Edge to South bay Ford on Saturday, August 5, 2016. I was told that my Edge was not on the recall list. On August 4, 2016 cnbc reported the recall of about 830,000 Ford vehicles (www.cnbc.com/2016/08/04/Ford-recalls-830000-2012-2016-Ford-and-Lincoln-vehicles-to-fix-latches.html). to my surprise the 2013 Ford Edge is not listed.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #154

Jul 312016

Edge

  • 62,000 miles
Driver's door alerting as not closed. Dome light stays on, door open alert stays on while driving. I have to manually move the door latch to get it to work correctly. Sometimes it does not lock, and sometimes it remains locked so I can't close my door. Since this started, as I'm driving, the alert comes on to shift my car in park, because the door is open!! I am very concerned for I drive my kids around frequently, and I don't know whether it will close, lock or open!! when I manually move the latch, the alerts go off completely.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #153

Jan 012016

Edge

  • 50,000 miles
Door latch malfunction. Door is properly closed but sensor doesn't communicate to computer. Dome lights stays on, door ajar warning- drains battery when not being driven. Doors will not lock/stay locked when vehicle is in motion. Poor visibility when reversing in the dark as dome light stays on and reflects on windows. Online research shows this is a very common problem with this vehicle- it is a safety issue that the doors will not stay locked when the car is in motion

- Spofford, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?