Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: With questionable safety ratings, a faulty power control module (PCM) and a rear subframe that can rust out, the first model year Escape is known for problems. But the worst one of all? A design flaw that carried through multiple model years and caused dangerous unintended acceleration.

A lack of clearance between the engine cover and the speed control cable connector meant the throttle could get stick open when the accelerator was fully depressed. Following a petition from the Center for Auto Safety, NHTSA opened an investigation and eventually issued a recall to fix the sticky throttles in the 2001–2004 model years.

Even with the throttles fixed, the 2001 model year could still have trouble stopping due to multiple problems with leaking brakes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,935 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Escape brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Jan 022008

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Escape. The contact stated that brake fluid leaked around the master cylinder, which caused the brake lights to illuminate. The manufacturer sent a memo to vehicle owners stating to purchase a replacement cap. The current mileage was 78,190 and failure mileage was 40,000. The vehicle purchase date was unavailable. Updated 01-29-08. The consumer stated bought a new cap at the cost of $17.61. Updated 01/29/08

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #22

Mar 232007

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,508 miles
- the contact stated that the 2001 Ford Escape XLT wires under the hood burned while sitting in the garage of her home. She drove the vehicle one hour prior to the fire. The alarms in her house warned her of the fire. She called the local fire department, and they found no fire in the house. They then checked the garage and they smelled something burning. The fireman opened and noticed the wires that were burning under the hood of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to town and country, and they informed her that old brake fluid leaked on the ABS, which was the cause of the wires burning. The vehicle was serviced for the ABS light coming on, and off at the local Firestone, they replaced the master cylinder. The wires burned within 24 hours of the repair. The town and country dealership gave the contact a loaner vehicle, and she felt this was odd. The contact stated that the dealership informed her that it would cost $2,416.12 to repair the wires and the ABS. The current and failure mileage were both 67,508. The consumer states that she wants to be reimbursed for all repairs done to her vehicle and has provided all invoices for repair and the report from the fire dept. Update 4/25/07

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #21

Feb 202007

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,006 miles
The morning of 2/20/07 I went out to start my 2001 Ford Escape to go to work and as I was walking out to the garage I saw smoke billowing out of my hood. I ran over and popped the hood and there was smoke coming from my anti-lock braking system electronic control system. I pushed the car out of my garage fearing a house fire and a friend unhooked my battery. When the smoking and sparking subsided the ABS control box was melted and all the wires were burned and melted. I called the dealership to see if there were any recalls at this time and they told me no. I googled consumer reports and saw an article that this was not an isolated incident and that you were investigating 8 other similar incidents. It has not been repaired as it has just happened and honestly is seems to be quite expensive to remedy. This is a very dangerous problem and hopefully your investigation will result in some sort of recall.

- Monroe, MI, USA

problem #20

May 092005

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am the original owner of a 2001 Ford Escape XLT V6, 4 wheel drive. My truck currently has 75000 miles of use. I feel the incident I chose to write about is a significant safety issue as it involves a malfunction of the anit-lock braking system (ABS) which significantly reduces braking action (on dry pavement!) when it occurs. I am also aware of at least two other Ford Escape owners that have experienced the same failure. The failure causes the ABS to activate on dry pavement, when absolutely no slippage is occurring at any wheel. The activity of the ABS system actually significantly reduces braking capacity and causes the brake pedal to go down noticeably further than normal when attempting to stop. Only a quick avoidance maneuver allowed me to avoid rear-ending the car in front of me. Pumping the brakes does not help since the ABS hydraulic control module is modulating the brakes at such a rate, pumping the brake does not produce a firmer pedal. I have traced the problem to a faulty ABS system rotation transducer design on the front wheels of the Escape. The transducer is basically a splined ring about 8mm wide. The ring is apparently friction fit onto the half-shaft near the front cv joints just inside of the front hub assembly. A sensor apparently picks up the peaks or valleys in the splined ring as it rotates past the sensor to determine wheel rotation speed. It is the splined ring that fails, mine actually split across its width causing it to loosen and move away from the sensor. This apparently causes the ABS system to operate erratically and actually cause a significant reduction in braking capacity on dry pavement! this erratic behavior will occur 5-10 times before the ABS controller determines there is something wrong and switches off the ABS system. This illuminates the ABS indicator light on the instrument panel and does restore normal braking performance. This cycle will repeat itself each time the truck is shut off and restarted!!

- Franklin Park, NJ, USA

problem #19

Dec 152004

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
While driving the brakes at 38000 miles were completely worn out, so were the rotors. Took the vehicle to dealer to be repaired. The consumer took the vehicle in to find out why so much black an silver dust was on the front wheels. The consumer was told that it was normal wear an tear. The consumer was told that the dust was on the front tires within 200 miles after cleaning. Front brake pads and rotors were replaced at no charge to the consumer.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #18

Feb 112004

(reported on)

Escape

  • 10,000 miles
Consumer complained about a brake system problem. Consumer had to replace the brakes, rotors, and tie rods every 10,000 miles.

- Southfield, MI, USA

problem #17

Jun 072002

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle suffered brake failure.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #16

May 032002

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle was in reverse and brakes locked up, not allowing vehicle to move. Wheels would not turn in any direction. Dealer was notified and could not find anything abnormal. Consumer is concerned that brakes can lock up while driving..

- Clarkston, GA, USA

problem #15

Apr 292002

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
ABS light illuminated at all times. Master cylinder replaced twice. Brakes' shoes and master cylinder cap sealed 3 times. Problem has reoccurred the same way. Dealer was notified.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #14

Jul 202001

Escape

  • miles
ABS system will intermittently work. But, usually consumer has to press brakes pedal all the way in before vehicle will stop. Contacted dealer.

- Avon, OH, USA

problem #13

Jul 172001

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The brakes make squeaking noise all the time. It gets louder when applying your foot on the brakes. Brake powder blackens the rims of the tires. Service department states this is completely normal.

- Canyon Country, CA, USA

problem #12

Dec 312001

Escape 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While traveling 15mph on the highway and approaching an intersection, another vehicle veered into consumers vehicle from right front. Upon impact, airbags did not deploy. Dealership was aware of problem. Consumer states that the ABS also failed. Two months after the accident, the vehicle was repaired and returned, consumer does not feel safe in this vehicle. Within 2 weeks of ownership, the dashboard pulled away from the windshield.

- Kingman, AZ, USA

problem #11

Jan 312002

Escape 4WD

  • miles
Car will not start approximatlry 8 times and stalled while driving one time, brakes locked tow times, steering wheel locks every time, all lights on the dash comes on.

- Gulfport, MS, USA

problem #10

Dec 062001

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving 30 mph vehicle stalled/lost power steering and braking ability. Consumer used park brake to stop vehicle. Also, on December 7, 2001 at 30 mph vehicle stalled again, consumer unable to stop vehicle due to no braking ability and rearended another vehicle. Damage unknown at this time. No injuries.

- Long Valley, NJ, USA

problem #9

Oct 262001

Escape 4WD

  • miles
Twice, the stall almost caused an accident. Due to loss of power brakes, we almst rearended the car in front of us the first time, and the second time we nearly went off the road into someones year -- across double yellow line on a backroad -- because of loss of power steering.

- Naugatuck, CT, USA

problem #8

Nov 012001

Escape

  • miles
Was approaching a stop light and applied brakes and pedal went down to the floor, and it didn't grab or hold for braking.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #7

Mar 012001

Escape 4WD

  • miles
Driving around 40mph, and car has stalled three times on me now with loss of steering and brakes, most recently on 10/11/2001. Ford says they don't know what is wrong.

- Norristown, PA, USA

problem #6

Aug 072001

Escape 4WD

  • miles
While the Escape is driving at no particular speed, the steering wheel tugs a little then it locks completely up, then the brakes fail, the engine light comes on and the only way to get the car to stop is to use the emergency brake. My Escape has done this three times since I bought it in may of this year. Two of the incidents almost resulted in car accidents because the car can not be steered. The car totally freezes up with all engines lights coming on. The speed doesn't seem to be a factor. All three occassions my cd player has been on, the air has been on low and my lights have been on. After the car finally stops by using the emergengy brake, I shut everything off and it starts right back up again.

- Fairfax Station, VA, USA

problem #5

Aug 102001

Escape

  • miles
Consume R was traveling about 45mph on a mountain road, and without prior warning, engine check light came on the dashboard. Then, there were no brakes or power steering. Also, speed pedal went all the way to the floor. Consumer was able to control vehicle. Dealership was aware of problems.

- Shermansdale, PA, USA

problem #4

Aug 022001

(reported on)

Escape 4WD

  • miles
Engine has shut off 3 times while driving, since car bought 6 weeks ago. Always on hilly, curvey roads, doing 35-40 mph, coasting and braking lightly. Check engine light comes on. Power steering and brakes go. Have to muscle car to roadside. Turning off key and restarting seems to work. Have also put in neutral, turned key off and restarted, shifting back into drive. Been to dealer once last week for problem. They could not detect or recreate. Dealer contacted Ford hot-line, who made suggestions, to no avail. Dealer says they nor Ford have heard of this problem. Hard to believe this. Have spoken with Ford customer service twice, sympathetic reaction but with no advice or solution. Happened again yesterday. Car back to dealer now for week while on vacation. Very afraid I'm going to kill myself or someone else in accident. Expressed concerns to dealer and Ford. There are 16 like complaints on NHTSA sight. Is anything being done?

- Oakham, MA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?