Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: With questionable safety ratings, a faulty power control module (PCM) and a rear subframe that can rust out, the first model year Escape is known for problems. But the worst one of all? A design flaw that carried through multiple model years and caused dangerous unintended acceleration.

A lack of clearance between the engine cover and the speed control cable connector meant the throttle could get stick open when the accelerator was fully depressed. Following a petition from the Center for Auto Safety, NHTSA opened an investigation and eventually issued a recall to fix the sticky throttles in the 2001–2004 model years.

Even with the throttles fixed, the 2001 model year could still have trouble stopping due to multiple problems with leaking brakes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,365 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 5 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #78

Dec 222001

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have spoken with a Ford rep. For a new car, too many things have gone wrong. It is currently in the shop have the window and ABS brakes fixed. Every time it's somehting new! nlm

- Avon, OH, USA

problem #77

Mar 302002

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When the vehicle is going 35-45mph under slight deceleration engine stalls out with no warning or hestitation of any kind. Vehicle immdediately restarts, but problem is sporadic. Dealer notified. Please add more information.

- Garrett Park, MD, USA

problem #76

Oct 152001

Escape

  • miles
Ongoing problem at 12,000 miles with engine 3.0 V6 stalling, while driving. Vehicle been to dealer on three occasions, and problem reoccurring. Feel free to provide any further information.

- Fort Washington, NY, USA

problem #75

Mar 262002

(reported on)

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at any speed the vehicle stalls without warning and all intrument panel light begin to flash, the dealer has been contacted but has been unable to duplicate the problem. Nlm

- Ft. Ashby, WV, USA

problem #74

Feb 222002

Escape 4WD

  • miles
Escape was in 4 times for gas smell-could not duplicate. Finally repaired but smell is coming back. Truck has not started repeatedly-been in to dealer-can not replicate problem. Engine stalled.

- Woodbury, MN, USA

problem #73

Mar 202002

Escape

  • miles
Car would not start in October 2001. Engine shut off while driving at approx. 50 mph. Loss of steering and braking abilities.

- Mount Joy, PA, USA

problem #72

Mar 172002

(reported on)

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Issue of engine stalling has happened for the fourth time. Indications are loss of power steering, gas, and breaks. No sounds to indicate failer. Check engine, oil, and battery lights come on. When vehicle hood is lifted one can hear an audible sound of electric current. When the key is turned off and on again vehicle starts promptly. Situation occurs when driving down a hill at approximatly 35 - 45 mph. For me they have all been damp or rainy days.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #71

Jul 282001

Escape 4WD

  • miles
My Escape stalled 4 different times while driving down the street. My speed was 40 mph or less. There is the tightness in the steering and the engine light goes on and all power is lost.it starts up with no problem.

- Hilo, HI, USA

problem #70

Feb 272002

Escape

  • miles
Engine stalled on july3, 2001 while driving 45 mph without warning and vehicle lost all power. Vehicle has stalled at least 10 times under the same conditions. Returned vehicle 6 times for service but no fix is currently available. Most recent engine failure on 2/27/02. Contacted Ford moter company and filed a grievance. Trying to get money back but the process is long and dificult. Ford not being very cooperative.

- Stephens City, VA, USA

problem #69

Mar 032002

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When applying accelerator, it did not get gas and vehicle stalled. Engine check light came on. Took vehicle to dealer who replaced relay switch and iac motor. The vehicle stalled again after the relay switch was replaced. The consumer was requesting to receive a replacement vehicle or money back equivalent to the purchase price.

- Kings Hill, VI, USA

problem #68

May 042001

Escape 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Without warning the engine stalls going about 35 mph. All steering and braking became impossible. After car was pulled to side of the road, an attempt to start was made and it seemed normal. This happened at about 450 miles after purchase. Car taken to dealer who was unable to duplicate problem and had no additional information. The second occurrence has just happened at about 11500 miles (about 11 months old). The circumstances were the same - 35mph, all sterring and braking impossible. The car was able to be restarted after a few minutes. Dealer has been notified again and service is scheduled. Both occurrences have no warnings prior to the engine stall. The situation is extremely dangerous.

- Doylestown, PA, USA

problem #67

Oct 012001

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Automobile stalls, and all power is lost, consumer has to put automobile in park and restart it before it goes. Consumer states vehicle stalls while driving, vehicle has been to dealer twice and the problem has not been resolved.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #66

Dec 022001

Escape 4WD

  • miles
Several incidents of vehicle stalling while driving: 1st incident occurred when rounding a bend and going down a slight grade, was able to pull off road and restart vehicle; 2nd occurrence when driving down slight grade, was not able to pull off road and had to slip car into neutral and restart engine while still controlling vehicle on road, 3rd occurrence happened twice on trip home from work, both instances going down a slight grade and not being able to pull off road having to slip car into neutral and restart engine while still driving. After first incident on Dec. 2, 2001 took the vehicle to the dealer who replaced the power relay. Stated it was repaired. The 2nd incident on December 6, 2001 the dealer contacted the Ford hotline and a valve was replaced. The 3rd incident occurred on January 29, 2002 and the vehicle is now at the dealer for 3 days. This is a serious problem with grave consequences awaiting Ford Motor Co. I can't believe after the problems with the Ford Explorer/Firestone that they won't take this more seriously with all the complaints I've already seen on this website alone.

- Elizabeth, PA, USA

problem #65

Jan 302002

Escape 4WD

  • miles
On wed. Evening Jan. 30, 2002 at 6:30 pm I was driving my 2001 Ford Escape home from the hicksville railroad station. While driving at 50 mph on route 106 the vehicle turned itself off with no warning of any kind. Fortunately I was able to get off to the side of the road and coast to a stop. This was tremendously difficult to do since there were no brakes and no power steering. There was no warning of any kind the engine just turned itself off. After coming to a stop I turned the key back to the off position, put the car in park, and tried to restart the car. It started right up just like nothing had occurred. I am now afraid to drive this vehicle. I was extremely lucky not to have been hurt or killed. If there had been a traffic light or stop sign I would not have been able to stop. Also, if the road happened to be a curve or turn when the stall occurred I would not have been able to steer the vehicle. The Ford dealer sales and service people tell me that they have never heard of this problem before.

- Bayville, NY, USA

problem #64

Oct 162001

Escape 4WD

  • miles
Stalling occurs without warning. Has occurred on a bridge. I must coast across bridge, pull over, and restart the car.

- Hewitt, NJ, USA

problem #63

Jan 312002

Escape 4WD

  • miles
Car will not start approximatlry 8 times and stalled while driving one time, brakes locked tow times, steering wheel locks every time, all lights on the dash comes on.

- Gulfport, MS, USA

problem #62

Jun 292001

Escape 4WD

  • miles
Vehicle experiences intermittent engine quit condition (stalls) without warning. Vehicle restarts immediately after each incident. Four such instances have occurred since the car was purchased 7 months ago. Vehicle taken to Ford after each occurrence. Ford still unable to fix. Problem appears widespread as Ford has internally issued a message on its internal site describing the problem and recommending a solution to service departments. This site (oasis) is not open to the public. Quote from site as follows: "some 2001/2002 3.0L Escapes may exhibit an intermittent engine quit condition. This will be typically a 1 time event, usually during a decel, with no dtc's and no mil. The engine will restart immediately." The site then recommends how to fix. The fix was tried to no avail by lithia Ford service department. In summary, Ford is aware that a significant life threatening defect exists. They also do not know how to fix it, yet they keep releasing the vehicles back to owners saying they are ok to drive.

- Brentwood, CA, USA

problem #61

Jan 292002

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle stalls intermittently dealer has been contacted, but is unable to locate source of problem..

- Brentwood, CA, USA

problem #60

Nov 272001

Escape

  • miles
Engine stalled while driving approximately 25 to 40 mph on 27-Nov-2001 and 27-Jan-2002. Dealership examined vehicle for first incident, and was unable to determine a cause for problem. Vehicle has not been examined for second incident. Please provide any additional information / documentation.

- Massillon, OH, USA

problem #59

Mar 302001

Escape

  • miles
The engine stalled again in September of 2001. I was going approximately 25mph when it stalled and had to pull the emergency brake to get the vehicle to stop. The vehicle went sideways and the vehicle behind barely avoided hitting me. The dealership again told me that they could not determine what was wrong with the vehicle. I then contacted Ford customer service center and was told that they had not had any problems of this nature reported and that if the dealership could not determine what the problem was, there was nothing that could be done. This is a very serious problem. I was extremely lucky that I was not hit either time.

- Hoover, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?