Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 17
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,227 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Escape brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Oct 192008

Escape

  • 113,987 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There was a recall on 2002 Ford Escape last year(2007) on the ABS unit. Campaign number 07V156000. My problem is that one dealership turned in the recall as being completed on 4/24/07. They stated they put grease on the ABS module. On 10/19/2008 I was driving home and the module caught on fire. The original dealership that supposedly did the recall is now no longer in business. So I called the Ford Motor Company and was told that I would have to have the vehicle inspected by a Ford service dept and if they determined the cause to be a defective module then it would be covered. So I took my car to another dealership and they told me that it was definitely a defect in the module. So they called Ford Motor Company to verify the claim and then Ford turns it down. The reason was that it had been more than 12 months since recall was done. They said that parts and labor are covered for only 12 months. But I have the receipt that shows all the first dealership done was inspect and apply grease. No parts were replaced. If they had actually replaced the module then I could understand. The recall came out after the car was already 5 years old. So the recall didn't state anything about the age of the part and I don't see how grease could fix a 5 year old part. Even so if all they replaced was grease then how does the 5 year old part fall under a 12 month part and labor warranty? I think the part should be replaced since it has been diagnosed as defective. I would gladly pay for the grease since it is over 12 months old.( that's they only part they replaced) what do I do now? Ford admitted the problem when they issued the recall, and now they do not want to fix it because of some grease (band-aide) they put on it?

- Vale, NC, USA

problem #12

Sep 242008

Escape

  • 57,350 miles
A Ford recall notice (#07S51) had been mailed informing me of a recall to our 2002 Escape. The recall, as the letter states, had to do with dislodged wire seals that could effect the ABS module. The recall notice went on to state that if left unfixed, the ABS module could overheat due to the recall part and cause, in some cases, the car to catch on fire even when off. This description fit our car's problem, since our car's ABS light and brake light was on unexplainable. Logically, we took our car to the dealership to have the repair done on the car. After having the repair done, we checked the car and the ABS light and the brake light were still on. I confronted the service manager who had administered the repair and he assured me that they had repaired the problem to the extent that Ford had allowed them. He had told me that all he had done was change was a connector and nothing else. They had not fixed the problem; their report ended with telling me that the ABS light and parking light were still on and a diagnostics was still needed. The mechanics did not only leave the problem unfixed, but were unwilling to admit that the problem was from the recall part. Incidentally, three days later after the mechanics had worked on my car, the Ford Escape caught fire while parked on the corner of cenher drive in chula vista ca. Fortunately, my spouse was not inside the car. The fireman were called to the scene in order to put out the fire and a police report was made. The fire left my car a total loss. I contacted Ford costumer service of the incident and they informed me it would take 10 business days to answer my request.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #11

Mar 022008

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,300 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact's vehicle caught fire while parked in Mexico. The contact was in the United States at the time of the fire and he received a recall notice regarding the cruise control. When he returned to Mexico, he notified a Ford dealer and they were unaware of the failure. The contact was about to pay to have the vehicle repaired, but the vehicle caught fire before any repairs could be made. The recall number was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 72,300. Updated 05/19/08 the recall was regarding the ABS module. Before the consumer could get the vehicle fixed, it caught ton fire. The consumer stated the ABS light was on before he purchased the vehicle. Updated 05/19/08

- Brownstone, MI, USA

problem #10

Feb 292008

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. In June of 2007, the contact took her vehicle to a Ford dealer regarding recall number 07S51. The dealer applied electrical grease to the ABS module cavity. On February 29, 2008, the vehicle caught fire under the hood near the ABS module. The vehicle was damaged, but there were no injuries. The powertrain was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 78,500.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #9

Dec 162007

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The vehicle caught fire after it had been parked for nine hours. Prior to parking the vehicle, the ABS warning indicator light illuminated. The fire was extinguished by using snow. No repairs were made. There was no property damage. The contact has pictures. The vehicle was inspected in March of 2007, but not repaired for NHTSA campaign id number 07V156000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock:control unit/module). The current and failure mileages were 130,000.

- Marine City, MI, USA

problem #8

Apr 122007

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. On April 12, 2007, the contact received recall notice # 07V156000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock:control unit/module). The vehicle was taken to the dealer the same day. The dealer provided the contact with a rental vehicle and as of July 18, 2007, the vehicle has not been repaired. The dealer stated that they are waiting on a part to arrive. No failures have occurred at this time. The current mileage is 80,000 and the failure mileage was inapplicable.

- Fort Allen, LA, USA

problem #7

Apr 302006

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,056 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Wife had just gotten home from grocery store and about a half hour later the dog was barking. She looked into the garage and the 2002 Ford Escape was on fire. She broke a window to put water on the fire to keep it from spreading to other cars and boat in garage. Fire department arrived and finished putting out the fire. Escape was a total loss and garage had heavy soot and smoke damage. After getting the insurance companies notification of fire and getting wife's cuts stitched we got home about 7:00 P.M. went to get the mail and there was a safety recall notice from Ford mailed on April 24, 2007 from Michigan about the anti lock brake module. It stated the module could short out even with the key in the off position. Notified Ford the next morning of fire. They had it investigated, and said because of the severe damage in the engine compartment they were unable to determine the origin of the fire. I then asked could this safety recall cause this kind of fire, and the Ford representive said yes, but just submit it to your insurance company.

- Coarsegold, CA, USA

problem #6

Apr 032007

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,868 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. On May 3, 2007, the contacts vehicle was repaired under recall # 07V156000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock:control unit/module). The ABS module was inspected, lubed, and passed the ABS module test. On May 5, 2007, the ABS light illuminated. The dealer diagnosed the ABS module as being corroded and will not replace the module free of charge. The contact stated that no failures were present before the recall repair was performed. The vehicle's purchase date and engine size were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 119,868. Updated 06/15/07

- Clevland, OH, USA

problem #5

Apr 012007

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact received recall notice # 07V156000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock:control unit/module). The dealer stated that they did not have the recall repair part and it would not be available until July. The contact feels that the wait time for the part is too long. No failures have occurred at this time. The current mileage is 41,000 and the failure mileage was unknown.

- Closter, NJ, USA

problem #4

May 062007

Escape 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact received recall notice # 07V156000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock:control unit/module). The dealer stated that the part for the recall repair will not be available until June of 2007. The contact has not experienced any failures with the vehicle. The current mileage is 100,000 and the failure mileage was unknown.

- Warrick, RI, USA

problem #3

Mar 242007

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that two hours after driving the vehicle smoke was detected. The contact lifted the hood, and smoke began to rise from the engine. The contact called the local fire department, and they removed the battery from the vehicle. The smoke ceased, and the vehicle was towed to the dealer. Once the dealer inserted the battery back into the vehicle, it immediately started to smoke again. The dealer daignosed the failure as a burned out ABS module. The contact stated that NHTSA already hasdan investigation open, action # PE06048)for the same failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #2

Aug 282005

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles
Approx 1 year ago - our 2002 Ford Escape started to smoke while sitting in the garage. When we got it to the dealer is was found that the wiring harness where it connected to the ABS ECU unit had shorted due to brake fluid getting into connector. When the shop disconnected the wiring harness connector, the next day, the fluid ignited burning up the harness. The estimated cost to fix was $2000 dollars, replacement of the harness and ECU unit. Which since the majority of the damage was done in the shop Ford did cover the cost of the repair. I am just filling this as I have seen that this issue is under investigation, and thought that I should report our incident.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #1

May 012005

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Ford Escape 2002 - we have had an ongoing problem with the ABS and brake lights staying on. We have had it into a Ford dealership several times, who was not able to fix it, and an independent mechanic who was finally able to identify that it was the antilock braking system's electronic control module causing the issue. Just read an article concerning an ongoing investigation into engine fires possibly caused by this module and are very concerned that we could be next. We first took it into the dealer the month our warranty expired so I am putting the "incident date" in for that month.

- Reno, NV, USA

Not what you are looking for?