Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 17
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,227 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Escape brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

Jan 012012

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V005000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Anti-lock: Control unit/module) was received January 2012. The dealer stated that the part would not become available until the end of June. The manufacturer also advised the contact that the part was not readily available. The contact stated that the recall had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The approximate failure and the current mileage was 98,000. The consumer would like the seal replaced on the master cylinder. Updated 07/12/12

- South Wingham , CT, USA

problem #32

May 012012

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Ford Escape. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle recall the consumer stated he has not received any type of correspondence as to when he can have the recall performed on his vehicle. Recall # 07V156000

- Waterford, CT, USA

problem #31

Jan 022012

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Dear NHTSA: I received a recall notice in January 2012 for my 2002 Ford Escape. A possible electrical short could occur in the anti-lock brake system which could result in a fire. Because of this safety issue, owners were instructed to park their cars away from structures to prevent possible fire from spreading..for the last four months Ford has been telling us that parts are unavailable and they do not know when the parts will be available. It seems that Ford has no regard for the safety of their customers. They certainly do not care about the inconvenience this is causing their customers. I have been unable to use my garage since January and have been parking my car away from structures and other vehicles. I cannot sell or trade my vehicle. Yesterday, Ford customer service told me that parts should be available by the second quarter of this year, although they cannot guarantee it. Please note, I spoke to Ford two months ago and was told parts would be available by April. I am getting the impression this is not at all a priority for Ford. Please contact Ford and find out why nothing is being done to fix this safety issue. Please feel free to contact me if you would like any additional information. Thank you... updated 05/31/12 consumer states they haven't been able to park in their garage since January and their patience has run its course. Consumer had spoken to their insurance company and insurance company may not payout if car catches fire because of Ford's negligence. Updated 6/6/12

- Rocky Hill, CT, USA

problem #30

Mar 212012

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles


The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated Ford told her that the parts for NHTSA recall campaign id number: 12V005000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Anti-lock: Control unit/module) were not available and the manufacturer did not give a time frame for when the parts would be available. The manufacturer stated that even though it states in the recall that the vehicle may catch fire, it was safe to drive. The current mileage was 100,000. Updated 07/06/12 updated 08/02/12

- Bluefield, WV, USA

problem #29

Apr 232012


  • 118,390 miles
Received a recall notice in Feb from Ford (recall id 12V00500 - issued Jan 2012). Indicated potential problems with brake fluids leaks that could cause shorts in the ABS electronics. We contacted dealer. No parts available yet. Our ABS and brake indicators came on in March as described in the recall notice. Ford still said that recall shows safe to drive, just don't park in the garage due to potential fires. Last night, drove home and parked (in the driveway). Unloaded some stuff from car... no problems noticed. Came out of house about 15 minutes later to unload stuff from car and found it smelling of hot electrical system, and smoke coming from hood. Used hose to cool down under hood, while I found wrench and unhooked the battery. Smoke was coming from all sides under and behind engine block. Once battery disconnected the smoking stopped. Calling Ford corporate, local dealer, and insurance this morning to see what to do next.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #28

Jan 232012

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles
Cpsc#I1220674A. 2002 Ford Escape. Consumer stated she received a letter informing here there was a safety recall 11S24 on her car. The consumer stated the recall was for a faulty ABS relay. The consumer was informed the parts would not be available until late spring 2012. The consumer was advised to park the vehicle outdoors away from structures, as the defect could result in a fire even after the vehicle was turned off. Updated voq 03/15/12

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #27

Feb 012012

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles


2002 Ford Escape. Consumer writes in regards to safety recall after 10 years.

- West Caldwell, NJ, USA

problem #26

Jan 052012

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated the manufacturer told them that the parts for NHTSA recall campaign id number: 12V005000 (survive brakes, hydraulic: Anti-lock: Control unit module) will not be available until April and does not know if the parts will be available or not. The contact stated this was not satisfactory because the recall stated the vehicle could catch fire. The current mileage was 95,000. Updated 03/14/12

- Ringoes, NJ, USA

problem #25

Sep 152011

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked in a residential garage when it became engulfed in flames. There was damage to the contact's home as a result of the fire. The owner received minor burns to his hands from trying to exit the residence safely. The fire and police departments were called and advised that the fire had originated from the anti-lock braking system. The manufacturer was contacted and they sent an investigator to access the damages. There was no response from the manufacturer as of yet. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000. Updated 01/13/12 updated 01/20/12

- Wappingers Falls, NY, USA

problem #24

Nov 092010


  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The vehicle was parked and then shut off when he noticed that the wiring harness for the ABS brake module was melting. The vehicle was not repaired nor was the failure diagnosed. An authorized dealer was notified and was also informed that his vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 07V156000, service brakes, hydraulic:antilock:control unit/module. The failure and current mileages were 96,000.

- Churchhill, TN, USA

problem #23

Nov 122010


  • 90,900 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. While driving the contact smelled smoke, and noticed that the smoke initiated under the hood. The contact examined the vehicle and noticed that the ABS module was burned. The dealer was contacted and stated that the VIN wasn't included in recall 07V156000 service brakes, hydraulic: Anti-lock, control unit/module. The manufacturer will be notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 90,900.

- Chandler, IN, USA

problem #22

Sep 292010


  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that when he went to get in the vehicle, he smelled an odor of burning plastic. When he started the vehicle, the ABS light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle had previously been repaired according to recall 07V156000 (ABS control unit module). The wiring harness connector was examing and a lubricant was injected at that time. The contact did not had no failures with the vehicle until after the repairs were performed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who identified the failure and stated that the repair expenses would have to be paid at the owner's expense. The contact planned to call the manufacturer. The current and failure mileages were approximately 102,000.

- Martinsburg , WV, USA

problem #21

Aug 172010


  • 200,130 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated the vehicle was being serviced by an independent mechanic when he as advised that the ABS needed replacing. The contact stated the ABS was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 07V156000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock: Control unit/module). The manufacturer advised that because the vehicle was previously repaired under recall, and further repairs would be at the contact's expense. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 200,130.

- San Rafael, CA, USA

problem #20

Aug 072010

Escape 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
Recall on 2002 Ford Escape for the anti-lock brake recall number 07V-156 I had this recall done at long Ford in eureka, mo. October 13, 2008. On August 7, 2010 the wire burnt on this and was taken to a repair shop where they had to replace the module. Ford said that they had already fulfilled their obligation and would not fix the problem. The consumer stated the vehicle started smoking. Updated IVOQ 09./08/10

- Ballwin, MO, USA

problem #19

Jun 072010


  • 108,000 miles
My 2002 Ford Escape caught fire while I was asleep. Luckily a neighbor saw the fire and started to wet down my house and we then both attempted to put the fire out. We were not able to and had to call the fire department. I asked for an investigation and the fire marshall pointed me to Ford recall (# 07S51) of which I was not informed of. I had an appointment at the Ford dealership for my ABS/brake light on.

- Del Rio, TX, USA

problem #18

May 202010


  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. While the vehicle was parked with the engine off, the vehicle caught on fire. The contact stated the fire started from under the hood and spread to a second vehicle. Both vehicles were destroyed by the fire. A police and fire report were filed accordingly. The contact located a NHTSA recall campaign id number 07V156000 (brakes, hydraulic: Anti lock: Control unit/module) that could potentially cause a fire in his vehicle and contacted the manufacturer. The manufacturer advised the recall repairs were performed on the vehicle by the previous owner. The failure and current mileages were 140,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #17

Oct 032009


  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. While the vehicle was parked he smelled an electrical burning odor. While driving he saw smoke coming from the ABS unit in the engine. After exiting the vehicle it caught on fire. The fire department extinguished the flames. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The manufacturer confirmed that ABS module caused the failure. The current and failure mileages were 115,000.

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #16

Aug 152009

Escape 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
ABS light came on as I was parking to have dinner and an hour later upon returning I noticed smoke coming from the engine on the drivers side from under the hood... smelled wires or electrical type burning smell and had to disconnect the battery from the terminal to stop further damage... it was a wiring housing attached close to the ABS module... I looked on the internet and found this to be a recall on over 446460 vehicles and description matched mine exactly... I have pictures to verify this claim... upon further review of the other 4 recalls im experiencing the following numbers: 04S2S NHTSA:04V574000/ 04C09 NHTSA: 04V602000//NHTSA: 07E023000 which is thru cardone industries so im contacting them.... my vehicle was diagnosed when brake red brake light came on and was low brake fluid but no hydraulic leaks.. but showing fluid to be on reservoir and master cylinder... 2002 Ford Escape V6 engine.... the only eligible recall im listed for is NHTSA: 04V165000 PCM recalibrating... all other recalls im not eligible for all state under defect consequences as may result in vehicle crash or fire which I've just encountered and the tailgate one states may open when a crash occurs... im concerned and wondering why my vehicle wasn't included in those recalls....

- Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, USA

problem #15

Jul 162009


  • 80,000 miles
I was alerted to a problem with my 2002 Ford Escape when I heard the car alarm sound. I turned off the alarm by unlocking the doors, but noticed smoke rising from under the hood. I opened the hood, and ran water in the area where the smoke originated. After discovering that water wasn't stopping the smoke, I disconnected the battery. The smoke cleared and it appeared that the problem had originated in the area of the ABS system/master cylinder. The problem was diagnosed by a Ford dealership as a short in the ABS module, causing a wiring harness to burn. These two parts are being replaced, and the old parts may be available from the dealership or from the insurance company, pemco.

- Salkum, WA, USA

problem #14

Mar 202007


  • miles
I had a recall on my car for ABS module. I called the Ford dealer in los lunas and they said my car wasn't on the list to be fixed. Two months later my caught on fire while I was driving it. What can I do to get this taken care of now?

- Los Lunas, NM, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?