Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,483 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Escape brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Sep 012010


  • 150,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. While the vehicle was parked the contact heard the alarm, looked under the hood and saw a fire in the ABS area. The mechanic diagnosis located the failure as the ABS wiring harness. The manufacturer will be contacted. The failure and the current mileages were 150,000.

- Harvey , IL, USA

problem #26

Apr 142007

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,830 miles
I own a 2002 Ford Escape and I heard of the recall regarding the ABS module. I right away took the car to montebello Ford on April 14,2007 to get it checked. Later that afternoon they told me that the car was ready to be picked up, but they could not do anything regarding the ABS module because the parts were back ordered. When I picked up the car on Monday April 16, 2007 another service tech nician asked me if everything was okay, and if I had any concerns. I told him I did. I was worried about the recall and the car was not fixed. He then checked my records and history of the car, and told me thatthe ABS module was out already and it needed to get it replaced. He told me that there would be a shipment in at the end of the month, and that I should call him to follow up, and when the part was in it would be repaired at no charge to me. I have since the end of April tried to get a hold of him at montebello Ford, but he failed to return any of my phone calls. I did let him know on one of my messagess that I would be going out of town at the end of may and I would like my car to be fixed so that I could feel safe driving long distance. I was very dissatisfied with the service and felt that my safety was not important. If the ABS module was on recall, and I wastold that my was out, I expected to get the service I deserved as a consumer.

- La Puente, CA, USA

problem #25

May 022007

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2002 Ford, Escape. The vehicle has a call back for the ABS module. I took the vehicle to a Ford dealer in lebanon, nh. I was then informed that the car was one of those that did have the problem and will need to be repaired. In the meantime, I was advised by the mechanic at flanders & patch that the car was considered too dangerous to be parked inside or even up close to a building as it could catch on fire. However, I was also informed that Ford will not be able to fix this problem for at least two, maybe even three months. In the meantime, I am not to park this car inside a garage or near my home. I live in an area where we had several break ins and never left my car parked outside at night for that reason. Also, I shared a driveway, so parking iwas very limited in my area. Again, leaving the car parked outside was a problem. All I asked from Ford wasto fix the problem now. Ford /needed to be held responsible for any problem I encountered due to this failure on their part to fix this.

- Lebanon, NH, USA

problem #24

Jan 092007


  • miles


This is to report another suspected 2002 Ford Escape ABS control module fire. The vehicle fire occurred Jan. 9, 2007 at client's home. The vehicle is a 2002 Ford Escape XLT, and is currently stored at insurance auto auctions (iaa), 1710 starita road, charlotte, nc 28206-1286, phone: 704-596-5854, fax: 704-596-7492, stock number: 2799576. The house and car are insured by state farm, which has retained me as its subrogation counsel. The fire occurred while the car was parked in the garage in the "key off" position. Larry helton for Ford has already examined the vehicle and the scene on January 17, 2007. No one was injured, but the property damages could exceed $50,000.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #23

Jan 052007

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,500 miles
- the contact stated that on 01/05/06 while driving her 2002 Ford Escape at 10 mph. The vehicle made a loud noise. When she tried to stop the vehicle she applied the brakes, but the vehicle didn't come to an immediate stop. The contact stated that the brake pedal had to be pushed to the floor. The vehicle continued to make a loud noise that sounded like the something loose. The contact did take the vehicle to her mechanic, but before reaching the mechanic her ABS light turned on. The contact stated that the mechanic told her that the reluctor ring had failed and that the vehicle needed the left front axle assembly replaced. Updated 03/19/07.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #22

Feb 032004


  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,188 miles
In 2004, my 2002 Ford Escape, after being parked overnight, caught fire. The fire was traced by the dealer to the ABS computer. The vehicle was past warranty and Ford Motor Company denied repeatedly that there was any possibility of any defect, or that there was any manufacturer responsibility. Calls to Ford's customer hot line were handled in an unsatisfactory manner. The vehicle was repaired using new parts.

- Staunton, VA, USA

problem #21

Oct 202006

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles


: the contact stated while parked in the driveway for one day, the vehicle caught on fire. The fire extinguished itself. The vehicle was driven to the dealer who replaced the ABS module and a wiring harness. Updated 01/17/07. The consumer stated the ABS light illuminated and stayed on until the ABS module was replaced. The right front wheel bearing was replaced.

- Jackson, CA, USA

problem #20

Apr 242006

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles
I took my car in for repair on 4/22/06 because my ABS light had been on for a few days. I was told that my right drive axle needed to be replaced and that replacing that could possibly solve the problem with my ABS light. It did not. I was then told that I might need a new ABS module. I was advised that the repair shop would call the following Monday with a price and that my car was safe to drive.

- North Royalton, OH, USA

problem #19

Jul 222006

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My car had been parked for hours and all of sudden the alarm started going off. I went outside to get it to go off and realized there was smoke coming out from under the hood. The alarm wouldn't go off and eventually quit but the smoke kept coming and I realized there were actual flames. The fire department came and disconnected the battery so the car wouldn't have another chance of sparking up. Presently, I have the vehicle in a Ford dealership shop. They said that the fire started at the wiring harness that plugs into the ABS modular. The wiring harness and some other part are being ordered to be replaced. As far as they know that needs replaced and there may be more once they actually start taking the car apart and seeing what else was damaged. The fire probably burned for a good 10 minutes.

- Denton, TX, USA

problem #18

Nov 232005

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 106,904 miles
The contact drove through a patch of snow in the road and the vehicle's rear end spun around and hit another vehicle. The contact believed that the ABS sensor, that was replaced by the dealership, caused this accident. The contact sustained injuries do to the seat beat buckle breaking during the accident.

- Homer, AK, USA

problem #17

Nov 132004

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,675 miles


I own a 2002 Ford Escape with 42,600 miles. My problem that I am having is a spongy brake pedal at first, then pedal goes to the floor, and then you get a pulsating, grinding noise in the front brakes and also in the brake pedal. Rotors are new; brakes are in good condition, no brake fluid leaks. Brakes were bled with no change in problem. When the brake pedal is depressed it sounds like it is sucking air.

- Dubois, PA, USA

problem #16

Oct 272004

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The ABS braking light appeared on the dashboard and remained on. Consumer applied the brakes and pedal went to the floor. Consumer was able to stop while pumping the brake three times, and drove vehicle to the dealer for inspection. However, mechanic could not duplicate the problem.

- Chicago Heights, IL, USA

problem #15

Jun 082004

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,700 miles
This concerns a 2002 Ford Escape with 10,700 miles on it. I was traveling down a very slight grade at less than 20 mph on a clear day approaching a red light at an intersection. When I applied the brakes, the car did not stop. Instead, the front of the car just started to uncontrollably jump, bounce and hop up and down. Since the car did not slow down, I applied the brakes again and it continued to uncontrollably bounce up and down. There was a car crossing through the intersection in front of me driven by a mother with her young child in the car. In order to avoid hitting that car, I steered my bouncing car to the right, off the road, and into a light pole to stop it. The mother with her 5 year old daughter, who witnessed the whole event, pulled over to see if I was ok and thanked me for not killing them. I have her name and number. A police report was filed. There is a defect in the braking system on this car and I am scared to death to ever drive it again lest I kill or maim myself or someone else. I contacted Ford Motor Co. Directly many times, but they gave me the runaround. They said the antilock braking did not need to be checked. When my insurance company, nationwide, became involved Ford said that I should now deal with them, nationwide. Nationwide is now paying to have my car repaired, but said that there is no need to check the braking system because there is nothing wrong with it, it is my fault and all they can do about it is raise my insurance premium. This is the second time there has been a mechanical failure in this defective braking system and no one seems to care to look into it.

- Kingsley, PA, USA

problem #14

Jun 142004

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
Driving on freeway and started to slow down...moved foot off gas pedal to slow (was going about 50 mph at the time and about 65 mph before getting any brakes to work) and it kept going down and stuck on high exceleration...went to put on brakes and brake pedal would not push down, barely had any brakes. Ford service said recall this morning on accelerator sticking...but brakes were my problem..I have not had any problem with brakes prior to this. At 33000 miles, granted there is wear but I had experienced stuck paying for complete replacement..said they were shot and unsafe....all I can say is I was extremly fortunate to get under control and no accident. And Ford should accept some of the responsibility for the brakes.

- Rex, GA, USA

problem #13

May 292003

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
Excessive brake dust on front tires - rims are black within 3 days of cleaning - dealer reports this is 'normal'..

- Ware, MA, USA

problem #12

Jun 142003

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,155 miles
I was pulling into a parking space at a shopping center. As I took my foot off the accelerator preparing to stop, the vehicle suddenly lunged forward, hopping the curb and continuing forward into the patio area. I applied the brakes, but the car did not stop. It hit a trash can and tables and finally crashed into a pillar. In applying the brake, I had managed to slow the vehicle down so the impact was not severe and the airbags did not deploy. I was not injured but two people lunching in the patio area received minor injuries (a scratched/swollen leg and sore elbow). The vehicle has since been repaired and the cause of accident is being investigated by the insurance company. Since I am paranoid about driving the vehicle, I am planning to have a diagnostic test conducted.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #11

Sep 042002

(reported on)


  • miles
No summary listed for above vehicle.

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #10

Jun 022002


  • miles
Vehicle will shut off at any speed without any notice. Everything will go out like power steering and brakes and accelerator, etc. Contacted dealer, and the dealer was not willing to do anything.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #9

Jun 262002

Escape 4WD

  • miles
As I was descending down a hill, traveling about 35 mph, and turning a bend, I noticed that my power steering was not working and then that my brakes were not working and that one of my indicator lights was lit on my dashboard. I put the car in neutral, and turned the key back on and it started. Fortunately, no one was around because my brakes were not working. I have reported this to my dealer who did not even write my concern down. I have since sent them a formal letter. This has not happened since, but it could be dangerous while traveling on busy roads.

- North Royalton, OH, USA

problem #8

May 172002

Escape 4WD

  • miles
All functions suddenly locked up. I had no functionality in steering, brakes, and acceleration. I had no control of the car and car slowly died. After a few minutes I was able to restart car with no problems. But this could potentially have caused a fatal accident if environment, speed, etc., were just slightly different.

- Burke, VA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?