Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 17
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,883 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Oct 142003

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,911 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Check engine light came on; took vehicle into dealer; found a faulty catalytic converter monitor sensor; ordered part (10/02/03) took vehicle in again about a week later to have new sensor installed, and an engine oil leak was found; rack and pinion unit was leaking; unit was replaced, and was still found to be leaking so a third unit was installed (10/14/03).

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #21

Jul 192004

Escape

  • miles
The vehicle still stalls after automatic transmission recall, 04V176000, repair was performed. The dealership was contacted and indicated that did all they can do.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #20

Mar 312004

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,997 miles
Model: 2002 Ford excape XLT.engine stall without warning around 40 miles per hour. Power steering and brake failed to fundtion.the latest one happened on 3/31/2004. The last one was in late 2002. I purchased this vehicle from Michigan (village Ford at dearborn), and use it in Texas currently.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #19

Mar 082004

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle has suddenly and without warning stalled while driving. Loss ofpower steering, brakes, etc. I nearly hit another vehicle as I could not control the car. This happend at speeds arount 30 mph as early as 6000 miles on the car. It has happened a few times at slow speeds or while backing out of the driveway but was not as scary as the ones that happened while travelling on a busy road at 30 mph. First time I brought the car to the dealer they updated the PCM and reset the relay switch. This was supposed to fix the problem. The stalling happened a few more times but then again at high speeds at 37000 miles. Brought car to dealer again and they updated the PCM(again) and now say I need a new iac valve. They are not even sure this will correct the sudden engine stalling. I read through the hundreds of complaints on the NHTSA website and discovered this is a very common problem. There is something very wrong with the computer and needs to be replaced/recalled immediately.

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #18

Feb 242004

Escape

  • miles
Engine stalled coming out of driveway. I could not steer or use brakes. All the engine lights came on. I put the truck in park and it started back up with no problems. I am taking the truck to the dealership tomarrow. I wish I knew about the stalling complaints before I put my two children in the back seat.

- Hope Mills, NC, USA

problem #17

Jan 172004

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Ford Escape only 2 years old and Ford will not honor warranty because rear wipers not working and engine makes and jerk at 3K RPM, not part of warranty.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #16

Jan 092004

(reported on)

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stalled without warning. When this occurred the engine was still running, but the power steering and brakes were lost. Also, vehicle failed to accelerate.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #15

Dec 172003

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,351 miles
While commuting to work at very busy intersection, traveling at 20 mph, vehicle completely stalled losing all power utilities engine completely shut down. A number of passing motorists attempted to assist in moving vehicle out of intersection but could not get vehicle out of park key would not turn as well. After a number of attempts vehicle was restarted, and driven to local Ford dealership. They stated they were not aware of difficulty--after reviewing the number of complaints on this web site that is very hard to believe--dealer worked on vehicle for 1.70 hrs replacing over 13 parts, such as eec relay, dpfe, airbypassvalve, throtle body, maf, vmv, throttle body gasket per: Tsb-02-11-6. recheck ok. According to this web site this situation has occured at least 50 times. This is potentially a very dangerous situation. Owners of Escapes should be informed as this can& has happened to others at higher rates of speeds with potentially fatal outcomes if the vehicle cannot be coasted to a shoulder...

- Holliston, MA, USA

problem #14

Oct 032003

Escape

  • miles
Between July and August of 2003 vehicle has stalled several times intermittently. The dealer kept the vehicle for one week but the problem re-occurred.

- Todd, NC, USA

problem #13

Jul 142002

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,450 miles
On two occasions, my 2002 Ford Escape has stalled for no apparent reason. The first time the vehicle stalled I was slowing down from approximately 45 miles an hour. The second time it happened I was exiting the interstate. Both times the vehicle stalled I lost the power steering capablilites, but was able to immediately restart it. This matter needs an immediate investigation before injuries or fatalities are reported. I had heard numberous complaints being filed with the NHTSA about this problem, and I have contacted Ford about the problem only to be told Ford is not aware of any problems.

- Dacula, GA, USA

problem #12

Jul 092003

(reported on)

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Consumer states while driving and without any indication vehicle traveled 40 mph. Dealer has been contacted.

- Grayson, GA, USA

problem #11

Jun 272003

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,150 miles
2002 Escape XLT stalled at 40 mph. Loss of brakes and steering. Very scary - fortunately I was not in major traffic. Took to Ford dealership -bulletin found on it and "repair" made.

- Netcong, NJ, USA

problem #10

Mar 152003

Escape

  • miles
Consumer states that while driving at any speed and with no warning the vehicle will shut off, causing consumer to pull over, and it will be hard to get the vehicle back started.dealer notified.

- Charlotte Amalie, VI, USA

problem #9

Jan 012002

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles
2002 Ford Escape XLT - our vehicle has experienced numerous stalls on the expressway. It takes out power steering and the brakes. Each time it starts back up after I can get the vehicle stopped.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #8

Apr 032003

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,798 miles
While driving about 35 - 40 mph the vehicle would simply stall or shut down for no reason. This caused the brake pedal and accelerator pedal to become very difficult to press. There was a lot of resistance to the brake pedal. All warning lights on the dashboard came on. The steering wheel also became very difficult to turn when the stall occurred.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #7

Jan 082003

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,500 miles
Vehicle quit running while entering a freeway bridge, resulting in a partial loss of vehicle control. Vehicle stopped in the middle of the freeway, resulting in a very unsafe and potentially life threatening situation. Vehicle restarted after placing it in park and cycling the key. I contacted Ford (800-392-3673), inquired if this is known problem and what should be done. Ford indicated there was not a known problem, (in other words they lied), but I should take it to the dealer to have it checked out. I took vehicle to the dealer the following morning, so they could check for trouble codes. They claimed to have found no codes, and that no technical service bulletins exist for this issue, and that everything else checked out okay. I believe a safety defect exists, as Ford has issued at least three tsb┐'s (#15434 ┐┐ 11/1/2001; #15589 ┐┐ 1/1/2002; #0286 - 4/1/2002), on this issue and many consumers have registered complaints with NHTSA.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #6

Jan 012003

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On two separate occassions vehicle stalled while driving on a clear road, at a minimal speed. Difficult to pull off road, steering and driving were difficult, all warning light on dashboard illuminated.

- Norwood, PA, USA

problem #5

Dec 312002

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,400 miles
Ford Escape XLT 2002 stalled while driving downhill, I was going 35 mph on a clear day. This was a frightening experience, my brakes and steering was difficult.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #4

Feb 062002

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,081 miles
The vehicle has repeated engine stalling while vehicle is in motion or at a stop, then it will immediately restart. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they replaced the air flow sensor, and reprogrammed computer. Ts when the vehicle reached the operating temperature in gear at the idle, in park, the RPM would fluctuate and the vehicle would stall. The vehicle will then restart. Scc

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #3

Jul 022002

Escape

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Consumer stated on July 2, 2002 the vehicle was taken back to the dealer for a broken headlight and missing equipment from the vehicle, on July 23, 2002 the vehicle began experiencing stalling, brake and odometer problems, the brakes were replaced due to a flaw, the stalling and the odometer problems could not be duplicated, also there were problems with the speakers and the clutch sticking, consumer stated while the vehicle was parked, the parking brake disengaged and the vehicle rolled into a hotel.

- Washtenaw, MI, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?