Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,343 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Escape miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Mar 122015


  • miles


I bought the car in 2015, back passenger door would not open from inside or outside, about 2 months ago same thing as happened to the front passenger door. This is very dangerous, need it fixed.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #24

Oct 122015


  • miles
I was making a ride an maple road when all of a sudden I hear a sort of popping noise almost like a flat tire. Thats what I thought it was so I kept drive to where I live.on the way home all I heard was a screeching. When I got home home I check and the suspension had snapped because of rusting

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #23

Sep 302015


  • 118,000 miles
My car jerks when driving very badly hed many repairs done to no avail 118,000 miles have a disabled husband car is unrieabledriving on highway and local streets to get home.

- Stratford, CT, USA

problem #22

Jun 172011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles


On or about June 17, 2011, my 2002 Ford Escape was parked and the ignitition was in the off position when my car alarm went off. When I looked outside I observed smoke bellowing out from under the hood. The next day, I was able to get my vehicle to dealer, where they diagnosed the ABS module has overheated and needs to be replaced. I was given an estimate of $720 to repair the problem. Upon further investigation I have discovered that the service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock; control unit module was recalled by Ford (#07S51)on April 23, 2007 and continues to be open. I was in contact with service manager for dealer on or about June 30th to follow up on the work they had done in May 2007 concerning this problem. He informed me that when they inspected the vehicle in 5/07, there was no problem and that it was properly inspected, and they placed grease on it, and are not willing to pay for this repair. On or about July 1, 2011, submitted a claim to the Ford Motor Co. Regarding this repair at no cost to me. Upon further inspection, has also discovered another recall problem (NHTSA #07E023000)service brakes, hydraulic: Foundation components: Master cylinder and that brake fluid has leaked from the rear of master cylinder and has leaked on the vehicle into the power brake booster. I have been experiencing no brakes when I put my foot on the brake pedel. Despite these recall problems being invesitgated, neither Ford Motor Company feel that they are not responsible for the repairs and have told me I must bare the enormous costs for these repairs on my own and/or drive the vehicle unsafely. I have been stranded in prescott, AZ for over 3 weeks, and am tired of wrangling with all three dealership/companies and need your help in investigating this situation! thank you!

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #21

May 302011


  • 160,000 miles
I drove my vehicle home from work (less than 5 miles). When I pulled into my driveway and parked my vehicle, smoke began to pour out from the engine compartment. When I opened the hood there were flames directly in front of the driver side near the fire wall. These flames were originating from the ABS module location.

- Jamestown, NY, USA

problem #20

May 252011


  • 96,505 miles
While accelerating on an on-ramp entering a state highway, traffic ahead of me came to a stop. I went from applying pressure on the gas pedal to immediately moving my right foot to the brake pedal to apply pressure. The brake pedal gave very little resistance. I depressed the pedal all the way to the floor of the vehicle. My vehicle came to a very slow stop as if I was only lightly depressing the brake. My tires did not skid as I would expect and the vehicle took several seconds to finally come to a very slow and gradual stop. The stop was so slow and gradual that I could not even feel momentum pushing my body forward as usually experienced when suddenly braking.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #19

May 012011


  • 155,000 miles


Front lower sub-frame is rotted out and the vehicle is unsafe to drive. (my service garage, who have maintained my vehicle continuously since I bought it, says this is very premature for this condition to occur.)

- Duxbury, MA, USA

problem #18

Jan 312011


  • 90,871 miles
The vehicle was parked in the driveway. While turning the ignition to start, there was a catastrophic engine explosion. The hood largely contained the fire. Luckily no one was injured and the fire did not last long and did not spread to the surroundings. A tow truck was called and the repair shop technician found the "intake manifold had blown to pieces". a code on the system indicated a misfire on cylinder 5. the vehicle was repaired for $1720, including cam position sensor, intake manifold, and ignition coil, relating to the incident.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #17

Dec 012010


  • miles
2002 Ford Escape XLT caught fire while parked. Vehicle was totaled.

- Ferndale, WA, USA

problem #16

Apr 282010

Escape 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
My 2002 Ford Escape caught fire while parked and was recorded as a total loss. The consumer stated the fire started under the hood. Updated 06/23/10

- Chesterfield, MO, USA

problem #15

May 302009


  • 103,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. Thirty minutes after fuel was placed in the vehicle, it caught fire in the contact's driveway. The fire department arrived and extinguished the fire. A report was filed. There were no injuries and the vehicle was destroyed. The cause of the failure was unknown. The failure mileage was 103,000.

- The Colony, TX, USA

problem #14

May 152002


  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,200 miles
With no warning the automatic transmission on our Escape failed completely at 44,130 miles. So far, no financial assistance has been offered by Ford or the repairing dealer dispite attempts by me to get relief for the $2700 repair bill! we have had a loud noise coming from the drivetrain since about 18,000 miles and had it checked at 25,000 by our local Ford dealer. The dealer insisted that it was only tire noise...which while very sceptical, we accepted with the caveat that when we eventually replaced the tires, the noise would be gone our we expected the vehicle to be repaired at no charge. Since the transmission's very premature failure, we have revisited the powertrain noise as we now suspect its source may have caused the transmission failure. Both front wheel bearings have been changed, the wheels and tires have been substituted and the very loud noise continues. Two Ford dealers have inspected the vehicle and no one yet has an idea of what the source of the noise is now! this truck is a true lemon and I think Ford should be stepping up to the plate to fix and pay for this problem as well as all or most of the transmission repair!!!!

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #13

Sep 232003

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Stiff accelerator pedel. Cannot make a smooth acceleration from a complete stop. The pedal doesn't seem to "give" until it's pushed too much. When it's pushed too much. There is a surge of acceleration and usually the tires just spin, whether it's raining, snowing or just plain dry out.

- Twinsburg, OH, USA

problem #12

Oct 152002


  • miles
No summary.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #11

Aug 162002

Escape 4WD

  • miles
On three separate occasions while driving between 35-40 mph the car stalled in traffic. The engine light came on, the oil light came on and I lost power steering and power brakes. Each incident occured after the car had not been driven for a long period. The first time was after I had been at work all day and was going home. The second and third times were first thing in the morning after the car had been running approximately 10 minutes. The dealer and manufacturer have been notified.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #10

May 292002


  • miles
While driving my 2002 Escape stalls--no power--no brakes. The power steering goes out the the engine light come on.

- Austell, GA, USA

problem #9

May 292002


  • miles
I was driving in afternoon traffic yesterday when my car went from 40 mph to 20 mph. Oil light and emissions light came on, and then the car stalled and rolled to a stop. I turned the engine off, and it restarted after five minutes. I made it home. It was quite scary as I was sitting in traffic. I had heard from someone in a shopping center about this problem with their 2001 model. Upon research on your site today, I am alarmed at the number of occurrences and that this is a serious problem. I will be taking to the dealership today for repair. I am concerned that Ford has not done anything about this after reading how wide-spread this is. I am terrified to drive it now as I have a two year old daughter and am six months pregnant.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #8

Nov 132001


  • miles
Consumer stated that white gelatinous material was leaking from multiple areas of vehicles locks and crevices onto the interior upholstery of vehicle, dealer stated that lubricant was applied to the various internal locking mechanisms and that the excess was settling by leaking out of crevices and seams, dealer wiped off excess lubricant.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #7

Feb 042002


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On several occasions, while traveling on a steep curvy road at 25 mph, vehicle lost power brakes and power steering, consumer had to use both feet on brake pedal to control speed, oil and emission lights came on, consumer was able to turn off street onto parking lot and slow down enough to avoid crashing, engine was still on when vehicle came to a stop, dealer reflashed PCM and replaced mass airflow sensor, throttle body and iac solenoid.

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #6

Jan 262002

Escape 4WD

  • miles
I was driving @ about 40 mphon sat 1-26-2002 when the engine stopped and the dash lights for the engine and oil came on. I coasted to a stop and turned off the heater, radio, and ignition and put the car in park. Ir started again but I was concerned that there was a problem. I brought the car to williams Ford(739 front St. P.O. Box 220, berea, oh 44017) on Monday Jan 29, 2002 to report the engine failure. The service advisor looked under the hood and told me that "the car just burped". I asked if there was something I could do to prevent this from occurring again and he told me that "the car just had to learn the way I drive". I questioned how an inanimate object without a brain could learn. He told me "oh yes, it does have a brain". I called another service advisor (ed) at williams Ford on Tuesday Jan 30 to explain the situation. He too assured me that "the car just sort of hiccupped". he also told me that the car was learning the way I drove. When I asked me to explain he said it was termed "adaptive idle strategy" and that it was because the car was new. I told him I have had other new cars that this has not happened to and asked if there was anything I could do to prevent this from happening again because I thought it was a safety issue. He said the computer was adjusting to the way I accerlate and decelerate and there was not anything I should do. I have since read that the NHTSA is investigating other Ford Escapes that the engines have stalled while driving and have needed to have the engines repaired/replaced. I am dissappointed that they did not care enough to run a diagnostic check on the car to assure me of the car's safety and repair/replace the engine if needed.

- Columbia Station, OH, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?