Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004 Ford Escape looks pretty good compared to other Ford Escape model years, but still has a trend of transmission problems, and engine problems from the NHTSA complaint data — so it's not a model year we can recommend.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,523 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford Escape Owner Comments

problem #11

Feb 112011

Escape

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Ford Escape. The contact was pulling into a parking space when the brakes were applied and the vehicle surged forward causing a crash. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle until it crashed into a barrier. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop. The mechanic stated that they could not confirm if the crash was caused by the accelerator cable. The vehicle was repaired for NHTSA campaign 04V574000, vehicle speed control cables on 2/7/2005; however, it has now failed. The VIN was unknown. The failure and current mileage was 60,000. Updated 5/2/11 updated 05/11/11

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #10

May 302010

Escape

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Escape. While driving at speeds of 35 mph, the vehicle abnormally accelerated without warrant. The contact was able to stop the vehicle, with the engine still revving, by placing the gear in neutral and applying the brakes. The dealer advised the contact that the vehicle was included in NHTSA recall campaign id number: 04V574000 (vehicle speed control: Cables) and that repairs would be covered at the manufacturers expense. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 90,000.

- Springfield , MA, USA

problem #9

May 242008

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,800 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Escape. While driving 35 mph, the accelerator cable linkage snapped and the vehicle was left with the engine throttle wide open. The contact had to shift into neutral, shut off the engine, and coast to a stop. The vehicle was towed to a dealer and the accelerator cable, cruise control, throttle body, and roll cable were replaced at the cost of $430. NHTSA campaign id number 04V574000 (vehicle speed control: Cables) was referenced. The current mileage was 43,900 and failure mileage was 43,800. Updated 07/08/08. The consumer stated the recall was not done correctly back in Jan 2005, because of the failure he experienced in May 2008. The consumer was informed the recall was completed. Updated.

- Fairborn, OH, USA

problem #8

Jan 012008

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Ford Escape. When approaching a red light or stop sign at 15 mph, the vehicle accelerates. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for NHTSA campaign id number 04V574000 (vehicle speed control:cables). After the repair, the failure recurred and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer. They test drove the vehicle, but were unable to duplicate the failure. The dealer informed the manufacturer that the failure could not be duplicated and the recall is only repaired once; therefore, the contact would need to pay for any additional repairs. The current mileage was 62,000 and failure mileage was 60,000.

- Waldo, AR, USA

problem #7

Jul 012007

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Escape. While attempting to accelerate from a stop, the vehicle failed to accelerate for 30 seconds. The dealer stated that the butterfly caused the accelerator cable to stick. The vehicle was repaired in July of 2007 for NHTSA campaign id number 04V574000 (accelerator cable). The failure mileage was 95,000 and current mileage was 100,000. Updated 01/09/08. The consumer stated shortly after the recall was performed, the vehicle started to exhibited the same problems prior to the recall being performed. Updated

- Bouton, IA, USA

problem #6

Mar 062007

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
As I pulled off I88 into a gas station in chenango forks, NY, I attempted to brake. The car felt as if it did not want to brake and wanted to speed up. The car "pulled" me and would not stop. The engine started to "rev" as if someone had their foot down on the gas. The brake gave and I put the car in park. I checked to see if the gas pedal was "stuck", creating the "rev". it was not. I started it 3 more times and each time I did it would "rev" loud. I turned the car off. I was towed by aaa to coreys northgate Ford/Mazda in binghamton, NY. They checked it out, drove it, said it was fine. Was there from 10:00 am-12:00 pm. Left at 12:00 pm via I-88.10 minutes prior to exit 23 (the exit for route 30), I felt the car accelerating w/O my foot on the gas. The car felt like it was on cruise, and continuing to accelerate. I could take my foot off the gas and it would accelerate. I had to brake to keep the car from going over 80 down a hill. Braking did not feel right. I felt very out of control. I reached exit (route 30), pulled off, tried to brake and pull over to the shoulder. The car did not want to brake and was accelerating. Very scary. The brake "gave",the car slowed down. I put it into neutral, park, and turned it off. Very scary. I called aaa (again) they towed me to aero-Ford Mercury - cobleskill, NY. Got there at 2:30 pm. Was told the throttle body was rusted, water was leaking in. This made the separator not "seal" well, which left it open. When it is open, the car accelerates out of control. They found a chunk of ice wedged into the separator keeping it open. They said this is unusual. On 3-18-05 I brought my car in due to the recall & was given a new accelerator cable. What happened today was what the recall described would happen with the old cable. Scary. The 1st service team should not have let me go. This is a safety issue. After they fix it tomorrow I will still be nervous to drive. The first service team let me go and said the car was fine.

- Johnson City , NY, USA

problem #5

Jul 272006

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,355 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the vehicle accelerator failed to deactivate when pressure was released from the pedal, while passing another vehicle at 40 mph. The contact shifted the vehicle into neutral, broke to a stop and turned the engine off. The vehicle was driven to a service dealer and inspected for the failure. The vehicle speed control, cable assembly was replaced. The manufacturer was not contacted. Updated 08/25/06. 8jb

- Marshall, VA, USA

problem #4

Aug 022006

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,551 miles
: the contact stated while driving on the interstate at 50 mph on smooth dry pavement, the vehicle had sudden acceleration. The contact pulled over and shut the vehicle off. The dealership determined the accelerator cable fractured and wrapped itself around the housing, which caused the sudden acceleration. There was an NHTSA recall, # 04V574000, regarding the vehicle speed control: Cables. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. Updated 9/15/2006 - the consumer has the old parts in his possession.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #3

May 242006

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,551 miles
: the contact stated while entering the vehicle, it was noticed the throttle cable was in the floor board. The vehicle was taken to the dealership and the throttle cable was replaced. A NHTSA recall, #04V574000 was performed on the vehicle concerning, the cables however, the recall did not remedy the problem. The dealership would not offer a second repair without charge under the recall.

- Camden, NC, USA

problem #2

Feb 012005

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Ford Escape developed a problem with the accelerator sticking. Prior to the recall notification, the consumer had already experienced the problem and it was determined to be a sticking gas linkage cable. Recall#04V5774000

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #1

Jan 252005

Escape 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,500 miles
NHTSA campaign 04V574000/accelerator cable. The owner received notification from the manufacturer on 13 Jan 2005 regarding this recall. The owner immediately made an appointment. Upon arrival and after waiting most of the day, the service manager informed the owner that parts needed for the repair were unavailable. Provide further details.

- New Haven, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?