Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Escape has problems where the engine shuts down while driving. Ford finally issued a September 2014 recall. Time will tell if the recall fix really solves the problem.

However the 2005 Escape also has a defect where the PCM (Power Control Module) fries at around 100k miles. Ford extended the PCM warranty to 80,000 miles, but only after most owners were past the mileage limit. Now owners are on the hook for the average repair cost of over $2,000 (!!)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,402 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Escape brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Escape Owner Comments

problem #12

Apr 202012

Escape

  • 96,406 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that she was attempting to exit from a parking space when the brake pedal depressed all the way down to the floor. The contact was unable to bring the vehicle to a complete stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the front brake linse broke and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and filed a report. The manufacturer then referred the contact to NHTSA. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 96,406 and the current mileage was 96,506. Updated 05/31/12

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #11

Feb 012012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
The front brake hose that connects the brake line to the brake calliper on the passenger side bearst a hole in the brake hose causing the SUV to loose all brake fluid and to smash into to van infront of us. The hose broke at the top half of the hose between the brake line and the brake hose strut mount. The outer rubber brake hose coating looks to have dry rotted and the inner line then broke sometime later. The hose looks to have several other spots that also look rotted. I replaced front brake line and was bleeding the brake lines when I found the drivers side looked like it was ready to bearst at any time including several rotted spots at the upper part of the hose. I replaced both front brake lines in the front. Two days after buying the brake lines, I returned to the auto parts store to purchase parts for another truck when the salesperson told me the next day after I bought the brake lines that another person had the same problem with his Escape. The salesman was not sure of the year that Ford Escape was. I saved the brake lines for further inspection/investigation as to the reason they failed. I feel brake brake hose failure in a 05 SUV is a major safety hazzard and should be recalled before someone is killed.

- Farmington, MN, USA

problem #10

Dec 142007

Escape

  • 50,000 miles
The ABS sensor rings on my front brakes keep getting cracks in them. This is disabling the ABS on my vehicle. I get it fixed and then a year and 2 months later it cracks again.

- Williamsburg, MA, USA

problem #9

Oct 102011

Escape 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Left forward rubber brake line failed. Mechanic had to rplace them all due to severe wear. Immenant failure.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #8

Mar 302007

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles
Purchased 2005 Ford Escape in March 2007 with about 80K miles. Within the month, the ABS light began to intermittently come on. It is now September 2011 and the problem still occurs and has not been solved. Had obd II diagnostic codes tested. No codes found while light is on or off. Manually turning off the light is only temporary. There are no physical problems with the brakes. Ford should have this recalled. Please note that when ABS light is on, there is clicking that can be heard and felt through the brake pedal while braking. The vehicle is slow to stop.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #7

Apr 132011

Escape 4-cyl

  • 88,890 miles
2005 Ford Escape "tone ring" on the axel throws off the ABS and it engages at the tap of the brakes. Grabbing the brakes, either slamming on brakes or no brakes at all. I have researched this and there are many many complaints from 01-10 Escapes. Dealers are charging for axel and ring to be replaced when all that needs replaced is the 15$ ring. I feel this should be recalled because it causes vehicles to flip over and also to not stop. My vehicle has 90, xxx miles on it and the ABS light comes on and goes off. The vehicle will often not brake at all! I have had to put it in neutral and pull off of road. This has happened when ABS light was not on! I feel this is a perfect defect to be recalled because it has to do with a major problem the brakes. Please someone look into this. I have just spent 800 dollars fixing this and the mechanic said its very very common. Googled it and found this to be very very common. Thank you.

- Cameron, MO, USA

problem #6

Mar 032011

Escape

  • 97,350 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While pulling into my driveway, my breaks suddenly failed, which caused me to (thankfully no more than) run into the tree at the end of my driveway. Upon inspection, I realized that my passenger side brake line that connects to the wheel cylinder had failed due to deterioration. After replacing, and inspection of the driver side, that brake line too was deteriorated to the point of imminent failure.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #5

Mar 032011

Escape

  • 97,350 miles
While pulling into my driveway, my breaks suddenly failed, which caused me to (thankfully no more than) run into the tree at the end of my driveway. Upon inspection, I realized that my passenger side brake line that connects to the wheel cylinder had failed due to deterioration. After replacing, and inspection of the driver side, that brake line too was deteriorated to the point of imminent failure.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #4

Feb 202011

Escape

  • 52,000 miles
2005 Ford Escape.the toner rings located on the cv axles are breaking which causes the ABS braking system to fail, which affects the braking system when applying the brakes. It is a very common problem which I think should be recalled due to safety.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #3

Mar 012011

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 95,067 miles
Left front brake line failure. Near 100% loss of braking action. Pedal to the floor with very little stopping power. Needed to shift vehicle into low gear and neutral to be able to stop vehicle. Could not travel over 30mph, as there was not enough stopping force to bring the vehicle to a stop.

- Byron, MN, USA

problem #2

Jul 092004

Escape

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. On two occasions, the ABS spontaneously malfunctioned. Prior to the failures, the contact noticed that the ABS and four wheel drive warning indicators were illuminated on the instrument panel. The risk of a crash was increased. The dealer stated that the front brake needed to be replaced at the cost of $1,200. The vehicle has not been repaired. The contact is in the process of notifying the manufacturer in reference to NHTSA campaign id number 07V156000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock:control unit/module). The failure mileage was 40,000 and current mileage was 80,000.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #1

Oct 042008

Escape

  • 72,760 miles
On 9-9-08 I was in a front end collision, approximately 40mph, airbag did deploy, however the powder that came out with the airbag made my face and eyes burn. My 2005 Ford Escape 4cyl. Sustained minimal damage ($5000). It took 3 weeks to fix, which was no big deal. Yesterday, 10-4-08, while driving home from work, my Escape was running fine until I turned and started to accelerate to get up to speed (40mph), my Escape took the pedal from my foot and locked it to the floor, I have been asked by several people if I accidentally hit the cruise, and all I reply with is "it doesn't have cruise!" as my car started to speed up I tried to stop, my brakes would only kick back out at me and since I was just in a wreck I was a little scared. I turned into a parking lot and drove in circles until I could figure out how to stop it. I tried my ebrake but it didn't work, I tried pulling the pedal up, no good, I tried punching the pedal with my foot, no good. I didn't want to do any damage to the tranny so I didn't take it out of gear, finally I decided to try shutting it off, it shut off and is running fine now. I am certain that this is a huge problem mainly because I have read all of the postings for this car and found that many people are having problems in this area. You can be certain that if this happens again and there isn't anything done to fix it, I will get rid of it and stop buying Ford all together. I am very disappointed that no real action has been taken with so many of these complaints.

- Newton, IA, USA

Not what you are looking for?