Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Escape has problems where the engine shuts down while driving. Ford finally issued a September 2014 recall. Time will tell if the recall fix really solves the problem.

However the 2005 Escape also has a defect where the PCM (Power Control Module) fries at around 100k miles. Ford extended the PCM warranty to 80,000 miles, but only after most owners were past the mileage limit. Now owners are on the hook for the average repair cost of over $2,000 (!!)

1.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
97,002 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Escape electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 5 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #41

Feb 282012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 88,555 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The check engine light came out on dashboard, I took the car to dealer, and I was told that the fuel rail pressure needed to be changed, few months ago I took my car to the dealer and they did a complete diagnose and nothing was wrong, I search about this problem, and found out that so many owners of the same type of car have exactly the same complaint, it seems that Ford motor had the same problem with other type of cars on the same item(fuel rail pressure) and had a recall on these cars, why not on Ford Escapes"?"

- Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #40

Feb 102012

Escape

  • 115,550 miles
The engine control module on my 2005 Ford Escape failed, along with the coils. This happened while sitting in a busy intersection.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #39

Feb 112012

Escape

  • 158,000 miles
My wife went to on a trip and the vehicle started to misfire, went to a Ford dealer, mechanic identified the problem; ignition coil #4 failed. She asked what needed done to fix properly so she would be safe and have no more trouble. He said to replace coil, plugs, and wires. That was done. On the way home it happened again, car shut off w/O warning on I95 @65 mph. Problem persisted and finally would not start and had to be towed. My mechanic discovered Ford srb 09-2-6. a problem identified by Ford but not made public. I contacted dealer; he was aware of srb but did not act on it or inform us about it. We are now faced with a bill 2X larger than it would have been if dealer would have followed srb. He put my wife at risk (nearly had a few accidents) and Ford and the NHTSA are putting people at undue risk by not making this info. Public and specific to owners of these vehicles. A failure of this magnitude, identified as a problem from the factory should be recalled and Ford should complete repairs at no cost to the owner.

- York, PA, USA

problem #38

Jan 132012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife got into her Escape to return home and it would not run properly. It was missing badly and lacked adequate power to pull itself. I took my Escape to the repair shop and was appauled by their findings. I am going to quote directly from the diagnostic report I received. "some Escape/mariner vehicles built on or before 10/3/2005, equipped with a 3.0L engine may exhibit a malfunction indicator lamp (mil) on with two or more diagnostic trouble codes (dtc's) for coil on plug (cop) primary circuit faults (P0351-P0356). This may be due to the cop and powertrain control module (PCM) reacting to radio frequency interference from the spark plugs." My repair technician told me that this was a common problem with vehicles like mine. After searching the web, I found one person whose Escape died while on the interstate and during heavy traffic and plenty of others with similar circumstances. I suppose I was lucky because my problem happened in a parking lot. I had to replace my powertrain control module and all six coils at a cost of over $1200. I saved labor costs by doing the work myself, but others I read about didn't have the same fate. My technician also told me they have seen this problem numerous times and that I should save my receipts because Ford may issue a recall. My vehicle went from running perfectly to not running at all without any warning. I had to replace the transmission in this same vehicle at only 37000 miles, but that's another story. Needless to say I am extremely dissappointed.

- Elizabethtown, KY, USA

problem #37

Dec 132010

Escape

  • 110,000 miles
The first issue I had with my car was in December of 2010. I immediately took my car to a repair place and they told me that the coils and the plugs were out and that they needed to be replaced. I assumed that this was just time to get this repaired because my car was right over the 100,000 mile mark. Everything seemed fine until may of 2011 when the problem returned. This time I took my car to a Ford service center. This time I noticed that my car would run ok up to about 35 mph and then after that speed it would start jerking. If I take my foot off the gas it stops, but if I leave my foot on the gas and continue to accelerate, the car shuts off completely. I haven't taken my car anywhere that I have to drive over 45mph but recently I noticed that if I try to accelerate past 35, that instead of jerking to turn my car off, the harder I push the gas, it feels like I am pushing the brake with that same intensity when I haven't even touched the brake. Im afraid that while pushing the gas, the car is going to brake and that someone else is going to slam into the back of my car and hurt my 2 yr old son in his carseat in the back. I avoid driving this car unless I absolutely have to because it is dangerous. It seems that many other owners of the same car I have are having the same or a similar issue. This really needs to be checked into because Ford is aware that this is a common issue but will do nothing about it. It seems like they are waiting for someone to get hurt before the assume responsibility.

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #36

Dec 172011

Escape

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While attempting to decelerate at 55 mph, the vehicle lost all power. The contact noticed that the check engine, oil, and ABS warning lights were illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the contact was advised that the coils and PCM failed and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. No repairs were performed. The current and the failure mileages were 100,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Witchita, KS, USA

problem #35

Oct 012011

Escape 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dashboard back lighting failed causing left side dash blackout of temperature gauge & left side of speedometer. Radio back lighting failed causing a blackout of the left side radio buttons.

- Cudahy, WI, USA

problem #34

Nov 162011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 112,670 miles
In my 2005 Ford Escape XLT V6 3.0L on 11/16/11, I was driving East bound on I55 towards Chicago at approximately 55 mph when the engine started bad misfiring and the completely died (no power or engine). With no power steering and no brakes, I attempted to steered toward the shoulder. I waited about 10 minutes and tried to restart and was unable. I had the vehicle towed to roesch Ford 333 w grand ave bensenville, il 60106. I was advised by the service manager that the engine was misfiring on 4 of the 6 cylinders and that they would need to replace the PCM, 6 coils, 6 plugs and calibrate, total $2,114.21. I decided to do some research online and found numerous people experiencing the same problem. There are multiple tsb: Tsb 05-11-1, tsb 09-02-06 tsb 09-02-06 and tsb 10-18-10. The problem is: The wrong spark plugs were installed at the factory. This combo of wrong plugs causes the coils to send emi/rfi back to the PCM (powertrain control module) burning out the PCM.emi/rfi is emitted from sparking device, in this case a set of bad spark plugs. This causes the vehicle to miss-fire, lose power, or in many cases, have total engine failure. Wrong spark plugs/bad cop's/un-shielded PCM box/poorly engineered & un-tested, multi-changed, rare PCM and it's the $12.50 radio frequency interference device. Multiple online complaints/problems: www.carcomplaints.com/Ford/Escape/2005/electrical/powertrain_control_module_pcm_failure.shtml www.fordforumsonline.com/forum/Ford-Escape/643-2005-Ford-Escape-PCM-ECM-computer-failure.html www.yellowbullet.com/forum/showthread.php?T=199403 repaired. Then check engine light. Now it needs 2 catalytic converters $2,500 because of PCM/coil. Total $4,500 numerous complaints extreme safety issue! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #33

Mar 092007

Escape 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
My 2005 Ford Escape was bought new. The first situation occurred in 2007. Car started misfiring on major nyc highway at 50 miles an hour at night and finally stalled out. Made it to side of highway and waited for tow truck. That situation cost me a new computer coils and whatever else was necessary in order to repair car adding up to 1300. After that and at the present time, November 20011 I have experienced several stallings on highways leaving me in unsafe scenarios that could have been extremely dangerous. I have replaced countless coils, plugs, had catalytic converter issues, along with alarm tripping, the interior lights going off for no reason and now after a trip from NY to va my car let me down again. Delaying my travel home and having to stay in va for repair finding out I need another computer. Major disappointment and a money pit. Attention has to be brought to this matter and the hundreds of other customers who have experienced the same situation. Ford has to acknowledge these major problems and move in a direction to remedy them. This is a huge safety issue. It's not one car failing on the highway it's multiple and the evidence is in the reviews. The car has 92,000 miles and with the amount of money I have dumped into it I should have a luxury automobile sitting in my drive way. I can no longer put up with this and have no other choice but to Escape from my Ford Escape. It's not safe! and I demand action be taken and want to be acknowledged and contacted.

- Huntington, NY, USA

problem #32

Jun 252011

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
The PCM module on the Ford Escape dies during operation. While driving in mid transit the car died, and would not restart in the middle of the road. I have heard other stories of people driving on the highway, and having this problem happen to them going 60,70, and even 80 mph. Mine was only going about 30, and no cars were behind me. The module has been replaced twice, and could be extremely dangerous if died on a busy highway or interstate.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #31

Jun 102011

Escape

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On several at least 12 occasions, while driving between 30-65 mph the car (2005 Ford Escape) stubbles and the theft light appears. In one case we were about to pass a vehicle on a two lane highway and had to brake and swerve suddenly to avoid a head-on collision. Vehicle has been taken to Ford several times and no codes were found and they have still not addressed the problem. I did some research which appears that the PCM is likely damaged due to a rf issue with the incorrect spark plugs being installed on the early manufactured 2005 Ford Escapes. Unfortunately Ford will not doing anything until the computer actually is destroyed, which also fries the coils (approx. $3,000). Dealerships will not do anything for us and the corporate office told us the same. We now have a low mileage vehicle that cannot be trusted safely that cannot be fixed without spending $3,000+ for a problem that Ford has known about for several years.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #30

May 202011

Escape

  • 104,000 miles
I am a wedding photographer and while traveling about 4.5 hours away from home to shoot a wedding I had problems about 2 hours into my trip. I was on interstate 20 just outside of columbia, SC. I was in the left hand lane behind a semi truck, there was another semi truck in the right lane beside me and behind me I had a large van. I was going about 65-70 when suddenly, the car lost all power including the steering and all the warning lights blinked on. I somehow regained control of the car by shifting in neutral and restarting. I hate to think what would have happened had I not been able to react as fast as I did as the van behind me had to slam on his breaks to keep from hitting me. Once the semi truck was cleared of the right lane I got over and turned on my flashers. Since I had it running I was too scared to pull over on the side. I got to my nearest exit and pulled over. I turned off the vehicle and all the warning lights went off except the ABS and the check engine light. I restarted and drove about a mile to a mechanic. They could not see anything wrong but heard the misfire. The car was towed to classic Ford in columbia, SC. I had to rent a car to finish my trip as I couldn't let down a couple about to be married. I just got the estimate to the tune of over $2700. It's the PCM module along with coil, spark plugs and a few other things. I am now debating about weather to fix it or not as all the reviews I have read it seems like people continue to have problems after it's fixed. It sounds like Ford really needs to figure out a way to fix this chronic problem before someone dies in an accident.

- Little River, SC, USA

problem #29

May 132011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 119,600 miles
2005 Ford Escape was driving down the road and the car cut out, causing a major safety concern. It was taken to the garage to be repaired. The diagnostic test said it was the coils. The coils were repaired and the car continued to misfire. It was later known that the computer was fried and needed to be replaced. After some internet research, it appears that this is a very common problem with the Ford Escape.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #28

May 022011

Escape

  • miles
Email from the office of congressman reid ribble on behalf of constituent, re problems with her 2005 Ford Escape the consumer stated the vehicle stalled while driving on the highway.

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #27

Apr 292011

Escape

  • 65,000 miles
We were driving from pa to ga for a wedding in my 2005 Ford Escape. I have 65,000 miles on my Escape. The entire car lost all power...no power steering, gas, ABS, etc. All of the warning lights in the car came on and we lost everything going 75 on a highway in N.C. we were able to get to a service station who then replaced 2 coils and 2 spark plugs. Then they realized that the entire computer was dead, the "PCM". Ford said they were on backorder so it would be about a week, as they "moved us to the front of the line". we had to rent a car for a week while we waited for the part...finishing our trip to ga for the wedding, then back up to pa the next day (our home). We had to go back to N.C. in the rental car (another 114 hours round trip) to exchange cars back when mine was finally fixed. The Ford dealer replaced the PCM but at the same time said that there was another coil bad...another $350 on top of the $750 I already paid (plus $400 for the rental car). After looking online, I have realized that a lot of people have had this same issue...and to expect the coils and computer to go out again, even after replacing them. Apparently the 2005 Escape was made with a faulty coil pack, and they know about it. When calling Ford, they just say, "sorry about that, there isn't anything we can do". there are 6 coils in the Escape...I have now had 3 replaced...when the others go out, it is expected that the PCM will also go out. I am now afraid to drive my car, as I do not trust it...I never know when I may lose power. We were "lucky" that something worse did not happen, as my son was also in the car with us.

- Gettysburg, PA, USA

problem #26

Apr 042011

Escape

  • 76,000 miles
E.C.M. went out, and in my research to find a remanufactured brain I discovered alot of complaints about this part. I also found out that the part for my car is not available as remanufactured. My car is a 2005 Ford Escape sport. The cost for this part is very expensive...

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #25

Mar 142011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 84,312 miles
While driving our 2005 Ford Escape, we were on the highway, in the acceleration lane, traveling approximately 45 miles an hour accelerating up to 55, the vehicle suddenly shuttered, and then died, the check engine, overdrive, ABS, and airbag lights illuminated on the console. I had to hit the hazard lights and put the vehicle into neutral narrowly avoiding being hit by a tractor trailer truck. I was able to maneuver the vehicle to the shoulder. I attempted to restart the vehicle and while it restarted it was misfiring and check engine light was on. The vehicle was unable to move under its own power. We were on the side of a highway with our 4 year old daughter in the car during morning rush hour. Thankfully we were not hit and killed by this Ford engine failure.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #24

Jan 202010

Escape

  • 68,000 miles
The problem is when driving 2005 Ford Escape the engine cuts out. When driving on interstate 5 at 60 mph the engine will shut off and then start back up. The theft light lights up when this happens. Also, at any speeds the engine will cut out. Example is when at stop sign at intersection or cross street, while in drive and proceeding across intersection the cars engine and all electrical will turn off. I will then have to shift car into neutral and restart car and then shift into drive and proceed across intersection hopefully without getting hit from other cars. This has happened with a car full of grandchildren on several occasions. The cars engine cut out happens at greater occurrences when driving up inclines.

- Aberdeen, WA, USA

problem #23

Sep 302010

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
I have had recent problems with a rough running engine on my 2005 Ford Escape. Had the problem diagnosed as a faulty PCM computer. Repair shop tried to get the computer rebuilt, but could get no help. Ford informed us that computers are on backorder for 2 to 3 months. Ford released a bulletin describing the need to replace all spark plugs and ignition coils to prevent PCM damage. It seems to me Ford has admitted to this problem, yet offers no help. Many other owners have started to see the same problem. The problem seems to be occurring in many more 2005 models, resulting in many very costly repairs.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #22

Dec 142010

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
In December 2010, my 2005 Ford Escape limited starting misfiring at 79,000 miles and the service emissions system message came on. I took it to a Ford dealership and they couldn't get the light to come back on or any error codes to appear. The next day, the misfiring happened again and the Ford dealership diagnosed it as a bad prc computer. Ford replaced the main computer, under warranty, at about 79,900 miles. The misfire went away for about 3 weeks and then recurred at 82,000 miles. This time, the car dramatically lost power, will not properly shift into gear, shakes when idling and maxes out at about 30 mph on any hill. The service emissions message and check engine light are constantly on. I took it to the same Ford dealership and they stated the coil packs are all misfiring and causing the main computer to fry. They stated that all 6 coils need replaced at a cost of $900, and the main computer also needs replaced again. The computer replacement will be free, because it was just replaced 3 weeks ago when the part was still covered under an 80,000 mile warranty. The regular cost to replace the computer would have been around $950.

- Williamsport, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?