Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Escape has problems where the engine shuts down while driving. Ford finally issued a September 2014 recall. Time will tell if the recall fix really solves the problem.

However the 2005 Escape also has a defect where the PCM (Power Control Module) fries at around 100k miles. Ford extended the PCM warranty to 80,000 miles, but only after most owners were past the mileage limit. Now owners are on the hook for the average repair cost of over $2,000 (!!)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,797 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #48

Mar 022012

Escape

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph and without warning, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and took the vehicle to a private mechanic where it was inspected. The mechanic advised that the coil pack failed due to computer failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 150,000.

- Shelby, NC, USA

problem #47

Feb 252012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 187,000 miles
Sudden engine failure while driving approximately 50 mph. Told by mechanic it was a "fried" computer caused by incorrect spark plugs (original factory-installed). Will have to replace PCM, coils and plugs.

- Elma, WA, USA

problem #46

Feb 112012

Escape

  • 158,000 miles
My wife went to on a trip and the vehicle started to misfire, went to a Ford dealer, mechanic identified the problem; ignition coil #4 failed. She asked what needed done to fix properly so she would be safe and have no more trouble. He said to replace coil, plugs, and wires. That was done. On the way home it happened again, car shut off w/O warning on I95 @65 mph. Problem persisted and finally would not start and had to be towed. My mechanic discovered Ford srb 09-2-6. a problem identified by Ford but not made public. I contacted dealer; he was aware of srb but did not act on it or inform us about it. We are now faced with a bill 2X larger than it would have been if dealer would have followed srb. He put my wife at risk (nearly had a few accidents) and Ford and the NHTSA are putting people at undue risk by not making this info. Public and specific to owners of these vehicles. A failure of this magnitude, identified as a problem from the factory should be recalled and Ford should complete repairs at no cost to the owner.

- York, PA, USA

problem #45

Feb 062012

Escape

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while driving 65 mph. The vehicle vibrated and the check engine light illuminated while the failure occurred. The contact also noticed smoke rising from under the hood. The vehicle was then towed to an authorized dealer. The dealer stated that metal particles penetrated the engine and the engine would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and the current mileages were. 80,000.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #44

Feb 062012

Escape

  • 123,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle would misfire at any time. The dealer diagnosed that the spark plugs, coil and computer failed and would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 123,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Elks Grove, CA, USA

problem #43

Feb 062012

Escape

  • 53,423 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle would vibrate violently while driving at various speeds. The dealer diagnosed that the motor mounts would need replacing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but denied any assistance with repairs to the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and he current mileage was 53,423.

- San Diemas, CA, USA

problem #42

Jan 242012

Escape

  • 127,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact was driving 50 mph when the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic for a diagnostic test. The mechanic stated that the spark plugs were installed incorrectly and affected the electronic control module. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 127,000.

- Houston, MN, USA

problem #41

Nov 232011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
#5 spark plug blew out of cyl head causing minor fire from fuel in cylinder when injector fired. Could have been major, have heard many other Ford owners with same problem.

- Trinidad, CA, USA

problem #40

Oct 212009

Escape

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. After coasting to the side of the road the vehicle was able to be restarted within a few moments. The vehicle stalled approximately three additional times as the contact proceeded driving and after the third stall, the vehicle could not be restarted. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who advised that the coils in the engine failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired for the coils. Approximately 20,000 miles later, the failure recurred and the vehicle was towed back to the dealer where they advised the contact that the coils had failed once again. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000.

- Honokaa, HI, USA

problem #39

Jan 012011

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,064 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While stopped at a traffic stop, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred sporadically. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics where the technician stated that the torque converter would have to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 67,064. Updated 02/15/12 updated 03/16/12

- Avon, OH, USA

problem #38

Dec 132010

Escape

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The first issue I had with my car was in December of 2010. I immediately took my car to a repair place and they told me that the coils and the plugs were out and that they needed to be replaced. I assumed that this was just time to get this repaired because my car was right over the 100,000 mile mark. Everything seemed fine until may of 2011 when the problem returned. This time I took my car to a Ford service center. This time I noticed that my car would run ok up to about 35 mph and then after that speed it would start jerking. If I take my foot off the gas it stops, but if I leave my foot on the gas and continue to accelerate, the car shuts off completely. I haven't taken my car anywhere that I have to drive over 45mph but recently I noticed that if I try to accelerate past 35, that instead of jerking to turn my car off, the harder I push the gas, it feels like I am pushing the brake with that same intensity when I haven't even touched the brake. Im afraid that while pushing the gas, the car is going to brake and that someone else is going to slam into the back of my car and hurt my 2 yr old son in his carseat in the back. I avoid driving this car unless I absolutely have to because it is dangerous. It seems that many other owners of the same car I have are having the same or a similar issue. This really needs to be checked into because Ford is aware that this is a common issue but will do nothing about it. It seems like they are waiting for someone to get hurt before the assume responsibility.

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #37

Jan 052012

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that in an attempt to start the vehicle, the vehicle would begin to smoke and stall without warning. The dealer diagnosed that there was a short in the spark plugs, causing the vehicle to stall. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000 and the current mileage was 68,200. Updated 02/09/12 the vehicle was reaired. Updated 02/13/12

- Haskell, OK, USA

problem #36

Jan 092012

Escape

  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle began to shake vigorously and stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician advised the contact that coil pack number one needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 71,000.

- Tunkhannock, PA, USA

problem #35

Nov 162011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 112,670 miles
In my 2005 Ford Escape XLT V6 3.0L on 11/16/11, I was driving East bound on I55 towards Chicago at approximately 55 mph when the engine started bad misfiring and the completely died (no power or engine). With no power steering and no brakes, I attempted to steered toward the shoulder. I waited about 10 minutes and tried to restart and was unable. I had the vehicle towed to roesch Ford 333 w grand ave bensenville, il 60106. I was advised by the service manager that the engine was misfiring on 4 of the 6 cylinders and that they would need to replace the PCM, 6 coils, 6 plugs and calibrate, total $2,114.21. I decided to do some research online and found numerous people experiencing the same problem. There are multiple tsb: Tsb 05-11-1, tsb 09-02-06 tsb 09-02-06 and tsb 10-18-10. The problem is: The wrong spark plugs were installed at the factory. This combo of wrong plugs causes the coils to send emi/rfi back to the PCM (powertrain control module) burning out the PCM.emi/rfi is emitted from sparking device, in this case a set of bad spark plugs. This causes the vehicle to miss-fire, lose power, or in many cases, have total engine failure. Wrong spark plugs/bad cop's/un-shielded PCM box/poorly engineered & un-tested, multi-changed, rare PCM and it's the $12.50 radio frequency interference device. Multiple online complaints/problems: www.carcomplaints.com/Ford/Escape/2005/electrical/powertrain_control_module_pcm_failure.shtml www.fordforumsonline.com/forum/Ford-Escape/643-2005-Ford-Escape-PCM-ECM-computer-failure.html www.yellowbullet.com/forum/showthread.php?T=199403 repaired. Then check engine light. Now it needs 2 catalytic converters $2,500 because of PCM/coil. Total $4,500 numerous complaints extreme safety issue! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #34

Dec 012006

Escape

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while driving 60 mph. The contact also stated that the failure occurred a total of at least four times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the computer system was replaced. The failure continued. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Huntington, NY, USA

problem #33

Oct 182011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 91,855 miles
This 2005 Escape failed when driving through the mountains in northern California. Ford has documented that spark plugs installed by Ford at the factory can cause all coils and the PCM to fail as they did in this case. Three tsb's have been generated related to this problem. My car was repaired under warranty at approximately 60000 miles and the plugs were not checked and replaced as required in the Ford tsb's. this was an expensive $2300 + repair that Ford should take responsibility for. Good faith was not demonstrated in solving this problem and Ford refuses to acknowledge their responsibility.

- Arcadia, CA, USA

problem #32

Nov 012011

Escape

  • miles
2005 Ford Escape. Consumer states problems with vehicle stalling while driving.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #31

Oct 292011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 84,503 miles
Driving along interstate engine suddenly lost power, would not go above 20mph, no check engine light. Took to repair shop and first catalytic converter completely clogged, number 2 converter partially clogged. Vehicle only has 84,000 miles. Warranty expired at 80,000 miles for exhaust. Repair shop this happens a lot for these vehicles.

- Norman, OK, USA

problem #30

Sep 012011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
Catalytic converters and flex pipe the catalytic converters have been diagnosed as having significant restriction to cause dramatic power loss to the vehicle while driving. This condition causes abnormal back pressures in the exhaust system which also causes multiple misfires and sets the check engine light. The flex pipe is also defective and leaks. I have owned many Ford vehicles through the years. One was a 1994 Lincoln town car with over 400,000 miles. Another was a 1998 town car with over 200,000 miles. Never once did I have to replace anything on the exhaust system, especially catalytic converters (the most expensive part in the system). This is unacceptable and a recall needs to be initiated to resolve this. Not only is this a safety and moral issue but an environmental on as well.

- Brentwood, NY, USA

problem #29

Jul 292011

Escape

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for diagnostics, where the mechanic stated that the hard drive in the engine control module failed and the engine control module would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- North Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?