Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Escape has problems where the engine shuts down while driving. Ford finally issued a September 2014 recall. Time will tell if the recall fix really solves the problem.

However the 2005 Escape also has a defect where the PCM (Power Control Module) fries at around 100k miles. Ford extended the PCM warranty to 80,000 miles, but only after most owners were past the mileage limit. Now owners are on the hook for the average repair cost of over $2,000 (!!)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,797 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

May 202011

Escape

  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am a wedding photographer and while traveling about 4.5 hours away from home to shoot a wedding I had problems about 2 hours into my trip. I was on interstate 20 just outside of columbia, SC. I was in the left hand lane behind a semi truck, there was another semi truck in the right lane beside me and behind me I had a large van. I was going about 65-70 when suddenly, the car lost all power including the steering and all the warning lights blinked on. I somehow regained control of the car by shifting in neutral and restarting. I hate to think what would have happened had I not been able to react as fast as I did as the van behind me had to slam on his breaks to keep from hitting me. Once the semi truck was cleared of the right lane I got over and turned on my flashers. Since I had it running I was too scared to pull over on the side. I got to my nearest exit and pulled over. I turned off the vehicle and all the warning lights went off except the ABS and the check engine light. I restarted and drove about a mile to a mechanic. They could not see anything wrong but heard the misfire. The car was towed to classic Ford in columbia, SC. I had to rent a car to finish my trip as I couldn't let down a couple about to be married. I just got the estimate to the tune of over $2700. It's the PCM module along with coil, spark plugs and a few other things. I am now debating about weather to fix it or not as all the reviews I have read it seems like people continue to have problems after it's fixed. It sounds like Ford really needs to figure out a way to fix this chronic problem before someone dies in an accident.

- Little River, SC, USA

problem #27

Mar 232011

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Email from senator on behalf of constituent re concerns with her 2005 Ford Escape automobile (design of the powertrain control module computer). The consumer stated while driving, all the lights on the dashboard illuminated. When she arrived at the repair shop, the mechanic performed a diagnostics test where it was determined that a cylinder was not firing. After further examination, it was discovered the power control module was damaged.

- Williamsport, PA, USA

problem #26

Jul 072010

Escape

  • 90,000 miles
The computer short, because a water leak in the computer, the vehicle stalled on the bridge.

- Quebec, 00, USA

problem #25

May 112010

Escape

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle would lose power while attempting to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who performed a diagnostic that located the failure at the electronic control module. In addition, the spark plugs were defective. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 100,000.

- Lewis Run , PA, USA

problem #24

May 022011

Escape

  • miles
Email from the office of congressman reid ribble on behalf of constituent, re problems with her 2005 Ford Escape the consumer stated the vehicle stalled while driving on the highway.

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #23

Apr 092011

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 25 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. Whenever the failure recurred, the gear was shifted into neutral or park in order to restart the engine. The failure recurred thirty times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and they were unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Wyandotte, MI, USA

problem #22

Jan 202010

Escape

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The problem is when driving 2005 Ford Escape the engine cuts out. When driving on interstate 5 at 60 mph the engine will shut off and then start back up. The theft light lights up when this happens. Also, at any speeds the engine will cut out. Example is when at stop sign at intersection or cross street, while in drive and proceeding across intersection the cars engine and all electrical will turn off. I will then have to shift car into neutral and restart car and then shift into drive and proceed across intersection hopefully without getting hit from other cars. This has happened with a car full of grandchildren on several occasions. The cars engine cut out happens at greater occurrences when driving up inclines.

- Aberdeen, WA, USA

problem #21

Feb 212011

Escape

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 30 mph up a hill the check engine light began illuminating before the vehicle stalled. Within a few minutes the contact was able to restart the vehicle but the vehicle would accelerate with minimal speed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where three ignition coils were replaced. The vehicle continued to drive with minimal speed and the contact was then told that the engine computer needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 117,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Lenox, MA, USA

problem #20

Dec 142010

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
In December 2010, my 2005 Ford Escape limited starting misfiring at 79,000 miles and the service emissions system message came on. I took it to a Ford dealership and they couldn't get the light to come back on or any error codes to appear. The next day, the misfiring happened again and the Ford dealership diagnosed it as a bad prc computer. Ford replaced the main computer, under warranty, at about 79,900 miles. The misfire went away for about 3 weeks and then recurred at 82,000 miles. This time, the car dramatically lost power, will not properly shift into gear, shakes when idling and maxes out at about 30 mph on any hill. The service emissions message and check engine light are constantly on. I took it to the same Ford dealership and they stated the coil packs are all misfiring and causing the main computer to fry. They stated that all 6 coils need replaced at a cost of $900, and the main computer also needs replaced again. The computer replacement will be free, because it was just replaced 3 weeks ago when the part was still covered under an 80,000 mile warranty. The regular cost to replace the computer would have been around $950.

- Williamsport, PA, USA

problem #19

Aug 032010

Escape

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the check engine warning light was illuminated and the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the failure was diagnosed. The technician advised that the spark plug, coils and manifold would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired but was later towed to a second auto repair shop where the contact was informed that the catalytic converter and computer would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted but provided no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 84,000. The VIN was not available.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #18

Oct 012010

Escape

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While at a traffic light, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact made several attempts to restart the vehicle, then it finally started. The failure began two months ago. The dealer was notified and informed the contact that there were no related recalls. The dealer also performed a diagnostic test which concluded that the coil failed and that the power control module needed to be repaired. The contact did not inform the manufacturer nor was the vehicle repaired due to the cost. The current mileage was approximately 77,958. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #17

Jun 272010

Escape

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 55 mph, the check engine light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop but the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure occurred again and the vehicle jerked when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer but the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. A few months later, the failure occurred again and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken back to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that an engine coil failed and the PCM needed to be replaced. The vehicle was being repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 90,000 and the current mileage was approximately 105,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Matthews, NC, USA

problem #16

Oct 232010

Escape

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle suddenly shut down; there were no power brakes or steering. She was able to restart the vehicle but it continued to stall on her way home. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the power control module was the cause of the failure and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was being repaired. The manufacturer had not been notified. The current and failure mileages were approximately 105,000.

- Independence, MO, USA

problem #15

Oct 262010

Escape

  • 104,362 miles
Ignition spark plug coils (6) shorted out; shorting out the computer as told by the Ford tech to the owner of the vechicle. The Ford technician told the vechicle owner to keep the receipts because this should have been a recall.

- West Memphis, AR, USA

problem #14

May 052009

Escape

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 55 mph, the check engine warning indicator illuminated and the engine completely stalled. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where one of the six coil packs was replaced in the engine. The failure continued after the repair. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three times. A total of eight engine coil packs had been replaced on the vehicle. Also, the main computer and one spark plug was replaced by the dealer. The contact had concern of the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Accord, NY, USA

problem #13

Jun 122010

Escape

  • 102,585 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While driving at speeds of 65 mph, the emission control warning light was illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to move the vehicle from the roadway without incident. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer advised the ignition coils, spark plugs and power train control module would need to be replaced. The manufacturer would not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileages are 102,585.

- South Point , OH, USA

problem #12

Mar 032010

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
2005 Ford Escape V-6 4WD stutters and stalls when it slows to a stop. At this time, able to restart again. Vehicle has 105,000 miles on it. Recent problem, appears to be worse in cold weather.

- Lewiston, NY, USA

problem #11

Mar 232010

Escape 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
Vehicle fire on 2005 Ford Escape (VIN [xxx]) on 3/23/2010, I noticed the vehicle suddenly (when driving) began to run rough. (like a spark plug had failed). We immediately pulled into a gas station and inspected the engine compartment (for broken belts and the like) no obvious issue was observed. When I started the vehicle again, I noticed the check engine light was on. Immediately I drove the vehicle home and contacted a service garage. I was on my way to take the vehicle into service when I noticed an electrical smell. I pulled into the next gas station, opened the hood, and noticed a small fire located at the #1 cylinder coil pack. I used the gas station fire extinguisher to put out the fire. Car was towed the rest of the way to the garage. Car had been driven no more than 10 miles after first sign of failure. Fire was small enough to not involve police or fire departments, so no fire or police report is available. No one was injured and no property damage occurred outside the vehicle. Garage said that if I had limited the damage by extinguishing the fire when I did. Garage replaced coil pack, wire pigtail (melted), and intake manifold (also melted by fire). Old parts are available for inspection. Car was repaired but check engine light came back on after 50 miles. Care was immediately shut off and will be towed back to garage. Failure code is P0351. (same coil that was replaced is showing bad again) car had approx 117,000 miles on it when fire took place. No other major service events in its lifetime. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 042008

Escape

  • miles
I have a 2005 Ford Escape XLT that has 46000 miles on it and I had both tone rings replaced and I think the one is bad again and it is only a year old. I only drive this vehicle on the paved roads and my short dirt road. I am not hard on the vehicle at all. The Ford dealership replaced them for almost $400 parts/labor. The part is only $55 and the rest is labor. Ridiculous! of course they are not covered by my warranty that came with the vehicle, which is a 6yr/75000. Am I going to have to fork out this money every year, because these things break under normal driving conditions? I think the for company should have to pay to have them replaced, because apparently they are cheaply made and lots of people are having the same problem... the 1st one was replaced on 8/4/08 with 36735 miles and the second one was replaced on 1/8/09 with 40560 miles and I think one is bad again, because the ABS light came on again and is flashing service brakes/4X4. Apparently these things are defective. They replaced the ABS sensing ring on the left and right axles..alot of good that did.

- Lake Pleasant, NY, USA

problem #9

Sep 112008

Escape

  • 100,000 miles
While driving 70mph on freeway on way to hospital, getting off freeway, the vehicle shut off by itself. Luckily I was able to pull off road to avoid getting hit. If still on freeway, would have been killed. Engine light came on and unable to restart. Had to have towed to dealership due to computer shutdown affecting spark plugs and coils. Cost to me from dealership is $2200.

- Mount Juliet, TN, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?