Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Escape has problems where the engine shuts down while driving. Ford finally issued a September 2014 recall. Time will tell if the recall fix really solves the problem.

However the 2005 Escape also has a defect where the PCM (Power Control Module) fries at around 100k miles. Ford extended the PCM warranty to 80,000 miles, but only after most owners were past the mileage limit. Now owners are on the hook for the average repair cost of over $2,000 (!!)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,212 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #100

Apr 142014

Escape

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated the while she drove at 35 mph the accelerator pedal stick to the floor board. The accelerator pedal had to be depressed several times to release the pedal. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage were 48,000.

- Lacrosse , WI, USA

problem #99

Mar 072012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I had to have the throttle cable replaced had it done at D patrick Ford Ford recalled 2001 thru 2004 models for same replacement. I contacted Ford and even though I purchased my 2005 in April of 2004they pretty much said sorry about your luck. I still think they should have reimbursed me for this due to it being the same issue with the same vehicle made at the same time frame the said they had not had enough complaints for it to be a recall. My daughter and grandchildren could have been seriously injured or worse. Please check this issue on 2005 Escapes [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Updated 9/25/2014

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #98

Feb 202013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
My pregnant girl friend was driving the Ford Escape to work, when the gas pedal got stuck to the floor and would not release for about 30 seconds then about two miles down the road it did it again for the same amount of time. After that she parked and had it towed to find out we had a defective throttle body that Ford will not cover under there recall.

- New Middletown, OH, USA

problem #97

Sep 012008

Escape 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We first experienced the sticking gas pedal in maybe 2008. We brought it to hawk Ford in oak lawn, ill and they said there was nothing wrong with our truck.. this problem continued on and off for years. The last straw was when my husband had to drive approximately 50 miles with his foot on the brake and the gas pedal to get to our house. I had previously reported this life-threatening situation to your database a few years ago. I followed up with several letters/E-mails to Ford, all of which were unsympathetic and met with veiled sarcasm and lack of interest. I still wonder how they sleep at night knowing this terrible and dangerous defect is real.

- Bridgeview, IL, USA

problem #96

Dec 202012

Escape

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the accelerator pedal seized and failed to release. The vehicle failed to slow down. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the gear was shifted into park and the engine was turned off. After restarting, the failure persisted. The vehicle was towed to the residence. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #95

Jul 042012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I have experienced several cases over the years with the 2005 Ford Escape seeming to idle very-very low and when attempting to accelerate (for instance from a stop sign) the acceleration is very very slow and then ramps up after a few seconds.this occurs intermittently but regularly and despite taking it to several repair shops, none have managed to provide a reasonable explanation but have all recognized it. Recently I have noticed issues, especially at highways speeds, of the vehicle "shuddering" as if the brakes are having trouble slowing the vehicle which im concerned may be from the throttle not disengaging properly when released (almost like its stuck or frozen). We have recently in my region of the country been experiencing a few cold snaps and that brings me to the most recent issue. When attempting to use the vehicle today, I noticed that the accelerator seemed "stuck" or frozen. I depressed it a few times, no luck as it seemed "frozen". I took it to mean that the cold (it got down below 15* F. in Georgia) and let it run for a bit to warm. I pushed accelerator and it seemed unstuck. I put in reverse and attempted to accelerate backwards. I found the pedal would not come off the floorboard. I stopped the vehicle and after looking at the pedal, I was able to move it freely and looking at the connection I thought it had broken or became disconnected. I came back from work after getting ride from wife and went to inspect it. The pedal this time acted as expected although I could hear squeaking and it thumped when I hit the brakes. It seems that the cod had frozen something or exacerbated whatever was causing issues in general. I called Ford and they mentioned something had been done in 06 and then I read article about 17 year old who died after her Escape throttle became stuck in a similar way after having a recent repair.

- Dublin, GA, USA

problem #94

Dec 172013

Escape

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 60 mph, the accelerator pedal seized and caused the vehicle to erroneously accelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Belmont, MA, USA

problem #93

Dec 142013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 141,565 miles
Backing out of garage car died. Trying to accelerate at stop lights tries to die hesitates jerks theft light cones on. Upon trying to accelerate to enter freeway same thing and when trying to pass a car. Came upon S hill and it almost died N would not go over 50 mph almost causing wrecks very scary day. Earlier in week died a couple times while idling but this accelerating problem is hazardous. If it is throttle body which it probably is from what I'm reading on the internet. Please do a recall and fix this!!!!!!!!

- Fort Worth , TX, USA

problem #92

Aug 082013

Escape

  • 120,000 miles
The gas pedal was stuck after mashing on it hard it broke loose when approching a stop sign I stopped and try to go again but gas pedal was stuck why is there not a recall. I also have transmission and rearend problems but they both are costly repairs I am concerned about the gas pedal please fix it before someone gets hurt there really should be a recall on

- West Point, VA, USA

problem #91

Dec 132006

Escape 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
From a stop this vehicle has a problem with the throttle. It is intermittent, but when it occurs you unable to press the throttle. It is jammed. It seems if I place the gear shift back into park then to drive it will be free again and drive normally. This started happening once in a while years ago, but seems to be occurring a lot more frequently now.

- Beecher, IL, USA

problem #90

Dec 122007

Escape 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased car in January 2005, first time of this incident was in 2007, November, but it has been an ongoing problem during the winter months more so than summer. I am so nervous about having an accident I just want it fixed. I have it at a Ford dealer right now and it is going to cost me $650 to have this repaired. I certainly hope this will fix the problem, but I do not have faith here.

- Smyrna, DE, USA

problem #89

Nov 232013

Escape

  • 78,000 miles
Saturday, November 23, 2013 I left home to do errands as I drove down to the first intersection and stopped when the light turned green the gas pedal with not move it was stuck, I tried to push it down with both feet but that didn't work either, finally after pumping the pedal the car lunged forward and I made it through the intersection. I decided to go back home and not drive this car. As I travel through the intersection and down the road I tried to accelerate again the pedal stuck. I'm on a 35 mph highway and I slowed to a terrifying 3mph before the pedal would work again. This is a safety issue! from what I have been reading this is a problem for many and there should be some sort of investigation or recall before someone get seriously injured or a fatal accident happens!

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #88

Aug 142013

Escape

  • 87,000 miles
The gas pedal sticks some time, both when starting out and or trying to accelerate. The gas pedal sticks and if you apply a little more pressure it then kind of click past the place where it sticks, often causing the engine to race. It is uncomfortable trying to start-up in traffic, or keeping a constant speed, as the pedal seems to have that resistance just when you need to give it just a little gas, but suddenly you have given it too much in overcoming the sticking. It actually started at about 30,000 miles, and seems to get worse when it is colder.

- Greenfield, IN, USA

problem #87

Jul 052013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
1. while driving on freeway using cruise control, I tapped the brake to disengage. Cruise control did not disengage but instead the car accelerated and I almost hit the car in front of me. Very scary and dangerous. 2. two days later when I got in my car to leave, the gas pedal was completely stuck like there was an invisible rock under the pedal. My friend followed the gas pedal cable under the hood and removed the black cover and un-froze (un-stuck) the end of the cable so I can at least get the car back home. I was up-North at that time and very scared driving the car home because what if this happens when I'm going at a freeway speed. I promptly leased a new car because these two issues scared the heck out of me. I still have the car but would like it to get repaired. I contacted Ford hqs on 10/25/2013 to communicate the issues I experienced and to assist in resolution as I do know there were re-calls on other Escapes with the same issue. They stated my car was not one of the cars under re-call for this issue. I further expressed that the car should as there are many others with a 2005 Escape with the same complaints as I researched the web. She stated if there is a recall in the future I would receive a letter in the mail. I asked is there anyone else I could accelerate this issue to and she stated my issue is documented in the system. The repair for this issue is very expensive. Why is the re-call not covered on 2005 Escapes but on 2004 Escapes" my 2005 Escape was actually built in 2004. According to Ford hqs, my VIN# does not come up for the re-call!!! can you help me out on this and for others with the same issue" just search the web and you will see many people with the same complaints and dangers of this. Thank you.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #86

Aug 012013

Escape

  • 79,000 miles
I have had problems with my Ford Escape for a few months. Generally when at a stop my engine would rev really high. After this went on for awhile now when applying the brake or at a stop the idling goes so low I'm afraid it's going to stall. I have had a mechanic test it and put it on an analyzer but the analyzer doesn't show a problem. I finally had the throttle motor replaced but it is still idling too low at times. This problem is intermittent and seems to be no rhyme or reason when it will start doing it. I'm at a loss on how to fix it but it's pretty unsafe to be driving at times.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #85

Apr 012012

Escape

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the accelerator pedal became stuck to the floor board when parking or in reverse. The contact had to depress the accelerator pedal several times for it to release. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000 and the current mileage was 123,000.

- Pembrooke Pines, FL, USA

problem #84

Aug 072013

Escape

  • 152,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle suddenly lost acceleration power. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was found that the throttle body needed to be cleaned. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 152,000.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #83

Apr 022012

Escape

  • miles
I sometimes can not get my gas pedal unstuck. I have to keep tapping it and then press really hard. It gets stuck usually when the weather is colder out. Sometimes it takes me a minute or two to get it going and then when I do I almost get whip lash taking off.

- Pinckneyville, IL, USA

problem #82

May 252013

Escape

  • 100,738 miles
My wife was driving all of sudden vehicle kept accelerating without her foot being on the gas pedal. She was traveling at 25mph when vehicle accelerated to 45mph on its own. She had to take action to avoid having an accident. The vehicle now will rev high when first turning on vehicle. The longer vehicle runs the higher the engine revs and increases speed on its own.

- Tarboro, NC, USA

problem #81

Dec 302010

Escape 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
When the weather is cold, the gas pedal sticks when you try to accelerate from standing still. When it does kick in the car jumps and could cause an accident. I have looked this up and it seems to be a recurring problem, however, Ford has stated that it is based on VIN and March - April of 2004 was a problem but June 04 (my man date?) was not. This has happened repeatedly since about a year or two after I got the car. It appears to be a carbon build up problem, however, it is ridiculous to have to go in once a month to have it cleaned.

- Marietta, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?