Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: With solid trends of engine failure — $4,500 to fix at 85,000 miles avg — AND transmission failure — $3,000 to fix at 75,000 miles avg — we can't recommend the 2006 Ford Escape to anyone except your worst enemy.

1.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,858 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Sep 182016

Escape

  • 170,423 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2005 Ford Escape just suddenly started surging and stalling while in motion and when stopped. The wrench/ security light flashes than problem occurs. This is totally unsafe can and will cause accident or death if it has not already. I read about other Escapes having the same problem, is there any answer from Ford as to fix such problem. Thanks joe and mary gulick

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #37

Jun 202016

Escape

  • 97,500 miles
Engine lost all oil. There is no oil spot on the road no leak detected each oil change at 3K miles. I had gone to lunch, no problem, no noise, no warning lights. I got in the vehicle to go home and heard a loud banging sound. I immediately turned off the vehicle and towed it home. I checked the oil and it was gone. I had just had to have the transmission replaced and within 2 weeks the oil is just gone. There are 36 other reported incidents of oil being lost in the engine and Ford will do nothing. The cost of a replaced engine is any where from 5ooo to 9000 dollars. If you are lucky enough to have your engine quit when you are are at work like me you can get a tow. Some have reported that the engine just stopped on the highway. Here in southern California that is deadly for several people. Ford and dot need to look into this and replace these engines. The day prior to my engine issue I had checked the oil and it was full. But the next day it disappeared. Without a trace.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #36

Dec 172015

Escape

  • 127,000 miles
On several occasions after getting off the highway onto an exit ramp my vehicle has died with no check engine lights, it also shuts down when making a hard turn at slower speeds. I have had issues with the accelerator sticking when it is cold outside (several times having to manually shut off engine and coast to a stop in snow). I have currently started experiencing a #3 misfire and am currently waiting for parts to come. I have already replaced all spark plugs and number 3 ignition coil. I am waiting for other 3 coils to come in. If still shooting will try replacing seals. It also was "burning" oil then started to have an actual oil leak from main seal. I do the repairs myself and apparently these are known issues. I complained to Ford about the sticky accelerator and got no reply. It also makes a tapping sound from the cam shaft which I found out is typical of Ford Escapes.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #35

Dec 072015

Escape

  • 127,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down the freeway and my vehicle shuts off without warning. There is a loud knocking and shuttering noise like my whole engine is going to drop onto the freeway. I get to the shoulder and put it in park. As I try to start the vehicle again the engine/motor starts shaking yet again with a loud knocking noise and wont turn over. I had to get my car towed. My children were extremely scared and being on the freeway this issue is very dangerous and has been complained about multiple times.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #34

Oct 032015

Escape

  • miles
I bought the vehicle on September 4,2015 all these problem started 1 month after. Manuel transmission gets to rough at times when being shifted into 1st gear and reverse gets stuck and hard to shift, might be part of the recall no# 15S28 the engine oil seems to use 1qt a week, recently had a changed oil but continues to use the same every week, mileage is at 132467. The air bag for passenger light continues to light up and goes off when driven. A banging noise when driven on the road at rear shock absorbers are located, the shocks are still new.

- Crownpoint, NM, USA

problem #33

Mar 152015

Escape

  • 93,000 miles
I purchased my 06 Ford Escape in January of this year. It has 92,000 miles on it. I test drove the car and had it inspected by a mechanic after purchase to make sure that there wasnt an issue the dealer " forgot " to mention, about 3 weeks after purchase my oil light came on. I added oil but did not get an oil change because I wasn't due one for 1400 miles. After that the car was fine.... for about a week when the oil light came on again, in the mean time I was diligent about checking the oil and also inspecting beneath the vehicle to make sure there was no oil on the ground. There wasn't. the oil light stopped coming on but I confined to check the oil daily. And I'm glad I did because, the oil in my car continued to disappear. I have now had the car 9 months and the problem has progressively gotten worse. The car barely drives now and the check engine light is indicating a cylinder is misfiring. I'm going they a qt of oil a day and driving only 30 miles round trip to work and back.I've researched this issue and I know that this is a consistent and ongoing problem with this vehicle. Ford has left me with 4,000 dollars left of a loan, no way for my husband and I to get to work or bring our children to school and with xmas coming, not one extra dime to put towards a new vehicle. I know Ford has been informed of these problems. What will it take for them to issue a recall" when the 06 Escapes engine fails on a busy high way and god forbid people are hurt ? or worse" and Ford can't say they weren't well aware of the problem because they had it with the 05 Escape too and still used the same engine in the 06. Now I'm past the lemon law time frame and I have no options but to pay for a 6500 dollar lawn ornament.

- Gardner, MA, USA

problem #32

Jan 012013

Escape

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 50 mph, a warning indicator to shut the vehicle down illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where it was diagnosed that the vehicle needed to be reprogrammed. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Moss Point, MS, USA

problem #31

Jun 052015

Escape

  • 72,632 miles
After traveling for approximately 1 mile at 35 mph, the engine suddenly shut off. Upon safely stopping the vehicle in a parking lot. The engine re-started with no issues. Drove the vehicle for approximately another mile at 35 mph when it shut off again. Re-started with no issues. Have not driven the vehicle since then. No fault codes were generated & no apparent problems have been detected.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #30

Jan 022015

Escape

  • 95,000 miles
I own a 2006 Ford Escape XLT with 100,000 miles. 90% highway miles, well maintained with dealer or independent mechanic. Have all paper work. "my biggest worry is the stalling for no reason and an accident happening and this should be a recall issue". Jan. 2015 I had a intake and valve oil leak that was fixed 3 times, Jan, Feb and March. When I took it to the dealer in March, I mentioned that my vehicle had stalled in my driveway after a 30 minute highway drive from work. They put it on the computer and said there was no code for a stall. Dealer said Ford sent them notice describing my same issue but couldn't confirm it was the torque converter. April 10th 2015 I was out of extended warranty. The stalling happened again late April, took to dealer again. Dealer said no codes again. Took straight to uncle after leaving dealer for him to look at and couldn't get the vehicle to stall after a week of having it. I've read online forums of people replacing transmission multiple times for torque converter and other issues within the transmission. Also, after 3 deer ran out in front of me 2 years ago, repairs done to physical damage and passenger seatbelt replaced twice during repairs, passenger seatbelt and airbag lights come on and seatbelt alert beeps while driving even know the passenger has the seatbelt on. I have to park, shut down, buckle seatbelt and then start again and this worked except for one time I had to repeat this a second time. Dealer said there was no codes for airbags or seat belts. Ford has not been notified yet. Also, when I bought the vehicle brand new I had the underbody sprayed but the rear wheel wells are rusting from underneath to outer body and rusting under front doors too.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #29

Aug 092013

Escape

  • miles
As I was traveling across interstate 86 in New York state, at 65 miles per hour, my Ford Escape completely lost power. Fortunately for me I was right next to an off ramp and a convenient market. When I checked the engine for signs of what could have gone wrong I found that my engine was completely out of oil. I maintain my own vehicles due to the costs of the repair shops and check my vehicles fluids regularly. There were no signs of oil loss where I had been parking my vehicle as well. When I had the vehicle checked at my local repair shop they told me it was out of time. How does a chain driven vehicle become out of time? as I researched the problem on car forums on the internet I realized that I am not the only one facing this issue. Many individuals have replaced engines in this model year at very unreasonable prices some only to have the same issue reoccur. I was fortunate that I was not in heavy traffic where this sudden loss of power could have created an accident. I hope more individuals take the time to complain so something may be done about this issue. This is not an isolated issue and the vehicle has a reputation for failure which unfortunately I did not know about before I purchased this vehicle. I work part time and can not afford to repair the only vehicle I own. I am without a vehicle due to a major company unwilling to take accountability of their inferior product. I purchased this vehicle due to the fact it was american made and assembled in the U.S. next time I guess I buy a foreign product that at least I will receive a product that is worth my investment.

- Arnot, PA, USA

problem #28

Jan 152015

Escape

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My engine seized, there were no warning lights(oil, check engine, temp) nothing. My mechanic said that there was no oil in the car. But there was no odor of burning oil. My car had less than90 thousand miles on it and it was well maintained. What can I do?

- Andover, MA, USA

problem #27

Dec 242014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
On 12/23/14, vehicle cut out after backing out of parking to enter moving traffic on highway. The second time it cut out,12/24/14, the vehicle was being driven down the roadway. That time, the vehicle sputtered, sounded like a winded horse, running on three legs. My car was always well maintained, including oil changes every 3,000 miles, transmission flushes every year, fuel injection cleaning every other year. With the double timing chain, I was assured at purchase, that they rarely break. I could not understand what had caused this. Then, I am told it is a PCM failure caused by spark plugs, coils, that were not compatible with the PCM, or where the resistor was ineffective to combat the feedback from the coils/ spark plugs, and therefore caused the computer to shut down three cylinders of my engine. Apparently there were tsb bulletins to dealerships on this issue, but no recalls, because Ford determined that the PCM failure would probably occur post-warranty. However, car owners should have been notified, there should have been a recall. I was in the last few months of paying for this vehicle, and am faced with a $2500 bill, that I do not deserve, because it is in no way linked to my own negligence of vehicle maintenance! to me, it is a form of built-in obsolescence, that might be ok with small-cost items like watches, but should never be allowed with high-cost items, such as cars!

- Lake Helen, FL, USA

problem #26

Dec 182014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 142,180 miles
On my home from the grocery store driving approximately 55 to 60 mph in our 2006 Ford Escape 4 cyl SUV. The vehicle made a loud pop and then caught on fire. Freaked out I pulled off in a driveway. We poured soda pop from 2 litres on the fire to extinguish the flame. The mesh pipe before the last catalytic converter was glowing red. I have read many stories of people with the same problem on all years of Ford Escape. It is in my opinion the rear converter stopped up causing this damage to our once lovely ride.now I am not even sure if it will run. The heat from things like this causes major stress on internal engine parts as the exhaust has no where to go. Then when the engine explodes as it should fire starts. We are now out of a ride until we can pay an extreme amount for this defective SUV.

- Richwoods , MO, USA

problem #25

Oct 272014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
I was sitting at a drive through and vehicle started sputtering. Had to keep foot on gas to keep the vehicle running. When I went to pull out on the street, the vehicle stalled out. After 4 or 5 attempts at restarting, it started about 20 min later.

- Galloway, OH, USA

problem #24

May 292014

Escape

  • 52,000 miles
I have one question. Why are 06 Ford Escapes still on the road" what bugs me more is the fact Ford and everyone is turning their heads to the issue. Not only have I read hundreds of complaints of engine failure, I have not seen one person say Ford made any effort to fix the problem instead I only see continuous problem dating up to now involving this same issue. My grandfather who purchased this vehicle new in 06 is now on disability and now without a car after only 52,000 miles. The cause. Engine failure like the rest. No warning, no nothing. Instead a $6,000 quote for a new engine. A month before that we realized the vehicle was burning oil faster then normal but when checked there was no leak. Following that the engine blew one morning after being started and hearing a loud banging. The vehicle was turned off and would not turn back on. After having it checked they said the engine was fired and oil started leaking into the engine. Lucky we were parked but unlike most complaints iv read people were driving or on the highway when the same thing occurred. I don't think I have to tell you have extremely dangerous that is and could be. Its a problem to many Ford owners are experiencing and no one has taking action. That vehicle is a death waiting to happen. How many more people need to loss money or possible their life for someone to stop this"

- Newport, RI, USA

problem #23

Oct 142009

Escape 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I was driving approximately 45-50 mph & could no longer accelerate. Gas pedal was stuck. I realized I was able to release it by stepping on brakes or hitting the gas pedal really hard. This was under warranty in Oct 2009 & the throttle body was replaced (supposedly) then again in Nov 2011 I had to have it replaced but it was not under warranty & had to pay for it. It was icy out & it's pretty dangerous to slam on your brakes to release the gas pedal. Luckily there were no cars behind me. I wrote a letter to Ford but they would not refund me nor was there a recall. I just had the same problem July 2014 & the dealer (supposedly) cleaned the throttle body but charged me & I called Ford but again they said there's no recall. I also spent 7K in Feb 2013 for a new engine.....beginning to wonder if that was a wise decision.

- Yorkville, IL, USA

problem #22

Jun 172014

Escape

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the engine stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, who diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the water pump was needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 135,000.

- Spring Grove, PA, USA

problem #21

Jun 042014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 78,043 miles
2006 Ford Escape. Consumer writes in regards to unexpected engine failure. The consumer stated the timing chain broke with no warning, while driving on a busy highway. Updated 08/20/14.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #20

Apr 032014

Escape

  • 78,000 miles
A total and complete loss of power regardless of travel speed. This is accompanied with vehicle shaking and lurching just before the engine dies. Sometimes it will start again - sometimes not. There have multiple incidents and their frequency is increasing I.e. almost daily.this vehicle has spent time in the shop ( not cheap) where the mechanics find no trouble/diagnostic codes and report not knowing what the problem is nor having ever encountered a similar problem before.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #19

Jun 042012

Escape 4WD 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the rear passenger side shocks were corroded. Additionally, the contact mentioned the vehicle was burning oil excessively. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic however, the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 120,000. Updated 08/27/2014 updated 09/4/2014

- Superior, WI, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?