Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: With solid trends of engine failure — $4,500 to fix at 85,000 miles avg — AND transmission failure — $3,000 to fix at 75,000 miles avg — we can't recommend the 2006 Ford Escape to anyone except your worst enemy.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,504 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Escape fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Escape Owner Comments

problem #17

Oct 142009

Escape 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving approximately 45-50 mph & could no longer accelerate. Gas pedal was stuck. I realized I was able to release it by stepping on brakes or hitting the gas pedal really hard. This was under warranty in Oct 2009 & the throttle body was replaced (supposedly) then again in Nov 2011 I had to have it replaced but it was not under warranty & had to pay for it. It was icy out & it's pretty dangerous to slam on your brakes to release the gas pedal. Luckily there were no cars behind me. I wrote a letter to Ford but they would not refund me nor was there a recall. I just had the same problem July 2014 & the dealer (supposedly) cleaned the throttle body but charged me & I called Ford but again they said there's no recall. I also spent 7K in Feb 2013 for a new engine.....beginning to wonder if that was a wise decision.

- Yorkville, IL, USA

problem #16

Jan 282014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
While driving, I went to accelerate, but the gas pedal was stuck in the idle position - like it froze up. I stepped on the gas pedal a few times until it loosened up. This has happened multiple times in the past few years about once every 2 months and typically on colder days less than 32 degrees F. after a throttle body cleanout by a licensed mechanic, it got worse. I looked on line for reviews on 2006 Ford Escapes, and saw that many, many other Ford Escape owners have had the same problem. There are currently no recalls on the throttle body, but this is the common problem.

- Delaware, OH, USA

problem #15

Jan 242011

Escape 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Complaint of not being able to start the car in very cold weather/ gas pedal sticks intermittently although frequency of condition increases as temperatures decrease < 25F. Ford dealer diagnoses issue as a failed air bypass valve (part number: 3S6Z-9F715-aa), replaced valve. Condition not cleared. Engine pedal sticks, engine RPM increases without driver input. Manual transmission only reason that driver was able to maintain control (jockeying clutch pedal to limit engine RPM). Throttle body was removed, cleaned and reinstalled. Condition not cleared. Suspect failed throttle body.

- Cranberry Twp, PA, USA

problem #14

Jan 182013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 92,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving, my throttle or gas pedal sticks. It will not depress. I have to turn the car off and back on again. Sometimes I have to let the car sit a few minutes before it will unstick. This is very dangerous trying to merge into traffic!!! this has happened several times, and usually when the weather is cold or the engine is cold. That is the only pattern I have been able to figure out.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #13

Nov 062013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 50,078 miles
While driving to work at about 43 miles per hour, I went to accelerate, but the gas pedal was stuck - like it froze up. I was able to pull into a parking lot, stopped the car, and slammed on the gas pedal a few times until it loosened up. This happened again a couple of days later, but I was able to stop at a red light, and again slammed on the gas pedal until it gave in. Again this happened 2 days ago on my way to work, and had to pull off the street into a parking lot and slammed on the gas pedal until it loosened up. I looked on line for reviews on 2006 Ford Escapes, and saw that many, many other Ford Escape owners have had the same problem. I brought it yesterday morning to autonation Ford in brooksville, Florida and it was determined that the body asy - carburetor throttle, cable asy - throttle control needed to be replaced. The service manager stated that there were no recalls on this, and that this was common in Ford Escapes. He stated that this was a safety hazard and advised that I shouldn't be driving the car the way it was. The repairs are costing me over $600, and with all the complaints that I read about on line, I feel that this should be a Ford recall, and customers should be reimbursed their costs to have this repaired.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #12

Nov 062013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 150,078 miles
While driving to work at about 43 miles per hour, I went to accelerate, but the gas pedal was stuck - like it froze up. I was able to pull into a parking lot, stopped the car, and slammed on the gas pedal a few times until it loosened up. This happened again a couple of days later, but I was able to stop at a red light, and again slammed on the gas pedal until it gave in. Again this happened 2 days ago on my way to work, and had to pull off the street into a parking lot and slammed on the gas pedal until it loosened up. I looked on line for reviews on 2006 Ford Escapes, and saw that many, many other Ford Escape owners have had the same problem. I brought it yesterday morning to autonation Ford in brooksville, Florida and it was determined that the body asy - carburetor throttle, cable asy - throttle control needed to be replaced. The service manager stated that there were no recalls on this, and that this was common in Ford Escapes. He stated that this was a safety hazard and advised that I shouldn't be driving the car the way it was. The repairs are costing me over $600, and with all the complaints that I read about on line, I feel that this should be a Ford recall, and customers should be reimbursed their costs to have this repaired.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #11

Aug 302013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The first incident occurred while I was driving 65 mph on the expressway. I went to change lanes and hit the accelerator and the car would not accelerate and was shuddering. I had pull off the expressway and turn the car off. I tried restarting and it just shuddered again. I waited five minutes and tried again and finally it started and was able to shift. Two days ago I was getting off the expressway and making a left turn when the car died and I lost steering power. I was able to fortunately get to the side of the road and put it into park. I tried restarting the car and it would not start. I waited 3 mins and was able to finally get it going. Both times there was no check engine light. I had the Escape read by a code reader device multiple times and there are no error codes displayed from the computer. This is a very serious and potentially life threatening issue, and would like Ford to act upon it for its customers immediately. I am filing this because I have read that the issue is with a defective throttle body, and there is already an investigation into Ford on this issue (PE13-003). I would like my vehicle to be added to this investigation for my families safety and all others experiencing the problem.

- Midlothian, IL, USA

problem #10

Jan 022006

Escape 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
I have a 2006 Ford Escape. The gas pedal is sticking all the time. It's not a sticking because it is stuck or needs lubed. It is a hard mechanical lock! no matter what you do you can not press down on the gas pedal. It's locked! you have to wait until it unlocks to do anything. This has been going on for a very long time. The other day it locked up on me as I was pulling out in traffic and was almost in an accident. It wouldn't move. I had to pull over on the side of the road and sit there until it decided to work again. My husband drives around with cruise control on so he doesn't get put in a position like this one even in town! someone is going to get killed- the driver and passengers of a car like this! Ford recalled the same problem for 2004 and 2005 models but will not acknowledge the 2006 models. I shouldn't have to pay out money for a failure they are aware of. Someone shouldn't be killed for this to be looked into and taken serious. If I could I would get another car but I would lose a lot of money doing that. Ford needs to fix this and a recall needs to be demanded. If you search the internet people are complaining about this all over the place. Not everyone knows the steps of action to take to be heard. We need the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to step up and protect our drivers and our roads. This is really serious! there is no way of knowing when the car decides to do this. When you take it in and it doesn't do it, they say there is no problem. Please help us!

- Leesburg, GA, USA

problem #9

Jun 192011

Escape 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I have a 2006 Ford Escape that the accelerator pedal will periodically lock up. Ford will not address the problem. I have read that people either clean or replace the throttle body but the problem resurfaces. It would seem to me to be a defect in that part. It has always happened with me when I am in motion. Like you may take off to cross an intersection or make a right turn and it will get you just far enough to get in traffic and then the pedal freezes and you're stuck. I have become very fearful driving not knowing when it might happen.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #8

Oct 012010

Escape 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
My gas pedal began to stick back around the 1st of October 2010 when the weather began to cool. It happened every now and then, at that time. As the winter progressed the gas pedal would stick more often, until the car warmed. I called a local Ford dealership to inquire if they had any recalls on the gas pedal sticking and I was told no. It has been very hot in Texas so I have had little problems. This date 9-6-2011 was the first cool morning in a long time and immediately my pedal stuck as soon as I backed out of my driveway. I was stuck in the middle of the street and the pedal would not bulge. I got out of the car and tried to lift the pedal up, hoping to get it to work. I kept pushing on the pedal and I was finally able to move the car. When I stop at the red light I have to start pushing quickly so I won't get hit from behind. This is very scary and serious. After some research I found that other owners of the 2006 Escape suffered with the same problems. I am hopeful I will make it home from work to try to get some help. Ford needs to look more closely at this issue.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #7

May 012010

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Can not fill gas tank, pump shuts off every 30 seconds. Does not matter if tank is empty or not. This problem has continued to get worse over time.

- Lumsden, 00, USA

problem #6

Nov 062010

Escape

  • 63,350 miles
At approximately 5:50 am, while driving to work I experienced a problem with the accelerator pedal of my 2006 Ford Escape. The pedal, while attempting to accelerate out of an intersection after the light turned green, began sticking badly. After working with it for a short period of time I was finally able to get the pedal to depress. During this time my vehicle was essentially 'coasting' through traffic, I was unable to accelerate. After getting home this evening I searched online and discovered literally hundreds of similar complaints about the Ford Escape gas pedal sticking. This could have been much worse for me if it had been later in the day during rush hour traffic. All of the other complaints I researched stated the same situation that I had, low air temperature (it was approximately 50 F) and attempting to accelerate out of an intersection or merging with traffic. For the failed component I am selecting 'fuel system' but I am not certain if this is the correct one. The actual component is the gas pedal sticking badly, I am not certain if it is the pedal, the cable or the throttle-body that is the culprit.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #5

Aug 272010

Escape

  • 50,000 miles
Fuel tank vent system does not function properly. Fuel filler nozzle does not shut off, resulting in fuel overfilling from the fill tube and spilling out around the vehicle... seems like this could result in a fire.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #4

Nov 062009

Escape

  • 62,564 miles
When I take off from a dead stop at times the gas pedal will stick. It feels as if I'm stepping on to a block of wood. I will continue to press on the gas pedal. Having to press rather hard, on to the pedal almost stomping on it. For it to finally 'release'. but now the problem seems to be getting worse. Now I will be driving (vehicle in motion) and the gas pedal will stick. It varies with the speed, so I can't pin it onto a specific speed limit. I will still be in motion but the pedal will be a "block of wood' as I call it. I will have to stomp onto the pedal for it to release. Since lightly stepping on the pedal seems to do nothing. That is why I have to 'stomp' on the pedal to order for it to give. As for correcting the problem I plan on taking into my local Ford dealership to have it looked at. But researching this problem I have notice other Escape owners are having the same problem. So it seems that I'm not only one having these problems. It also weather isn't a factor since it acts up in the summer also in the freezing winter temperatures.

- Rockton, IL, USA

problem #3

Jul 092009

Escape

  • 46,000 miles
I own a 2006 Ford Escape XLT. For the past month or so, whenever I try to fill up my gas tank with gas, the gas pump turns off, preventing me from fueling up. I have tried different gasoline companies and the problem still exists. Everywhere I go, the gas pump will click off on me as if the gas tank is full. I have to pull out the gas nozzle, place it back in and it then turns off again. Happens over and over. Takes me approx. 15 minutes to fill up tank.I have contacted Ford & they claim that they have never heard of such a thing & that there is no recall for gasoline fill-up problems. Yet, if you research the internet you will see tons of people who are having the same gasoline fill-up problem.

- Farmingdale, NY, USA

problem #2

Apr 132009

Escape

  • 33,000 miles
The foot pedal to accelerate freezes up and will not release. I will be driving down the road and all of a sudden it will freeze up and I can not accelerate. I have to try and get off to the side of the road and start pounding my foot on the pedal to try and get it to release. I have had near misses of 18 wheelers and other vehicles running into the back of me on the hwy 114 I drive home every day from work. Sometimes I have to get out open the hood and try to push the lever up and down to get it to release. Ford needs to recall this part.

- Paradise, TX, USA

problem #1

Oct 222008

Escape

  • 41,000 miles
2006 Ford Escape gas fills very slowly. Gas backs out the tank. Ford refuses to fix it because I am 5000 miles over warranty. Known issue since 2006.....4 technical service bulletins regarding the issue. Wants to charge me $87 to "diagnose" it, plus labor, parts, etc. Dangerous to me to have gas spilling out of vehicle because the drainage is clogged; the gas cap cover is missing, so I can only assume that it's in the tube.....poor construction.

- Grandview, MO, USA

Not what you are looking for?