Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,360 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments

problem #14

Jun 062011

Escape

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the ABS tone ring became fractured. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and repaired however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Englewood, OH, USA

problem #13

Mar 242014

Escape

  • 108,000 miles
For the last couple of days, whenever I put my car in reverse and begin to back up, I lose my steering ability. The only way I can get my steering wheel to work again is if I turn my car off and then turn it back on again. Well, today, it happened again, but this time I tried multiple times to turn my car off and turn it back on and my power steering would not kick back in. I have read through many complaints on here as well as other sites and see that a lot of people are having the same issue with their 2008 Escape. I have seen that it can cost over $1400 to get it fixed!! I do not have that kind of money right now!! the fact that there was no warning light to tell me that something in the power steering was going is ridiculous!! in the past 2 years I have had to replace the transmission, get a new battery, get brakes, tires, new gas tank, new sensor for the heating control, and the list continues. This car is only 6 years old and just past 100,000 miles!!! I should not have had to replace all these things already!! I am not about to put another $1400+ in this vehicle especially since it seems to be an ongoing problem with many other Escapes. Time to do a recall people or you can gladly take this car back!!

- Franklin, PA, USA

problem #12

Aug 252012

Escape

  • 45,000 miles
I was driving my 2008 Ford Escape in a mall parking lot, and when I approach a stop sign the vehicle was extremely hard to stop. I had to use the full force of the brake all the way down to maintain the vehicle from surging/ crashing into cars in front of me. The engine was staying accelerated and would continue to climb in rpms even thou the gas pedal was not being pressed. I pulled off to the side away from other cars and put the car into parked. At this time the vehicle accelerated on its own to about 8000 rpms. The only way to stop the engine was to completely turn the car off with the key. Upon turning on the vehicle again the problem did not continue.

- Warrington, PA, USA

problem #11

Feb 232012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 44,144 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tires problem.... 04/09/2011-purchased (used) Ford Escape 2008-XLT 4 wheel- mileage 37583. 07/08/2011-mileage- 40668- driven 3085 miles* the dealer replaced rotors, brakes in - (no cost to me), due to rusting & corrosion, dealer claimed probably sat on lot too long without being moved. Tires at this time were reported in "green" code- 08/11/2011-mileage- 41229- driven 561 miles* oil change, tires at this time were reported in "green" code. 02/23/2012- mileage- 44144- driven 2915 miles* inspection failed- due to tires dry rot! total miles driven in 10 months* 6561. Tires are Goodyear/Michelin X cross terrain 225/65R17 dotb93T.

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #10

May 202011

Escape

  • 70,000 miles
ABS tone ring cracks because of rust on the axle and then it spins on the axle and causes the ABS to activate and the traction control to activate because it believes you are skidding. Then the ABS and traction control warning light activate to say there is something wrong with the system. After much research, this is a very common problem, is a design flaw, and is a safety feature for the vehicle.

- Washington, PA, USA

problem #9

Apr 272011

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
At about 50,000 miles my 2008 Ford Escape developed the following symptoms: Both the ABS and traction control lights in the dash instrument display come on a few minutes after starting out on a journey and stay on until the engine is turned off. From a few instances of quick stops, it is apparent that the ABS system is not operative. This is a potential accident waiting to happen. I did not notice any effect on driveability as a result of the traction light being illuminated. Upon investigation on the internet, I found that the most likely cause of these lights being lit was a failure of a "ABS tone ring"; sure enough when I jacked up the car and looked carefully at these toothed rings just inside the wheel bearing/steering knuckle housing, I found that the front driver side ring was broken with about a 1/16 to 3/32" gap. The most likely cause of this failure is reported to be corrosion of the steel hub that the ring is pressed onto. The corrosion causes the ring to be stressed by the expansion of the area under the ring as the iron turns to rust, probably enhanced by the copious amount of road salt used in pa in the winter for ice and snow melting. Reported costs to repair this poorly designed engineering fiasco are in the $500-700 range at a dealers shop and ironically the ring itself is available for about $7-15.

- Mars, PA, USA

problem #8

Apr 232011

Escape 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My daughter (who drives the van) complained for 6 months that her ABS on her brakes was causing the brakes to let go then grab even at very low speeds. I took the Escape to the dealer for additional tire problems plus an alignment, since the tires had cupped, and was told that nothing was wrong with the brakes. After continued problems I had new breaks installed at an express brakes place in South part of Kansas City, ks. They also inspected the ABS and found nothing wrong. But the problem continued with additional loud squealing. Finally I took it to bob allen Ford in overland park, ks. Where they charged me $652.17 for replacing the broken rf tone ring(s), unfroze the front end alignment bars (or something like that) then put another set of brake pads on, turned the rotors then did another alignment. They said that the express brake place had failed to turn the rotors that the brand-new brakes were eaten up. The Escape has 53K miles on it but we have been having this problem for over a year. In addition, I was forced to put new tires on prior to all of this because two of the factory tires had cupped and all of them had turned to (something like) plastic causing them to skid and slide on take off and on stopping, creating a very dangerous potential for my daughter. I kept the old tires. The replaced tires are almost new with little tread wear. Note: That I tried to also add a complaint about the tires but that section demanded information that I couldn't provide therefore it simply refused the entire complaint.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #7

Apr 112011

Escape 4-cyl

  • 48,883 miles
Anti-lock brakes activate at both city and highway driving speeds. The ABS and traction control light turn on and off intermittently. Road conditions at the time of the activation were dry.

- Sharonville, OH, USA

problem #6

Oct 302010

Escape 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
Brakes has been squealing and soft, pedal going all the way to the floor off and on since vehicle purchase a year ago. Took in for service to dealership did not find anything wrong. On 10/30/2010, was driving on highway, traffic was heavy therefore going only about 40mph. The car in front, braked hard and as I applied my brakes they went all the way to the floor and the only way I stopped was because I rear-ended the car in front of me, airbag was deployed. I'm afraid if I would have been traveling any faster, the accident would have been tragic, considering my twin 4 yr old nephews were in the back seat. As soon as vehicle is repaired, I will follow-up with the dealership.

- Mansfield, TX, USA

problem #5

Jul 012010

Escape

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving at approximately 55 mph the anti lock brake light and traction control light illuminated on the dashboard. The vehicle was not taken to be examined for the cause of failure but he replaced the brakes himself. The lights continued to illuminate so he continued to examine the vehicle. He noticed the sensing ring on the front passenger side of the axle was broken. He repaired the vehicle. While driving at approximately 70 mph the anti lock brake light and traction control light began to illuminate on the dashboard. Upon examination he noticed the sensing ring on the front drivers side of the axle was broken. He again repaired the vehicle himself. The failure has not recurred. The failure mileage was 39,000 and the current mileage was 41,600.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

problem #4

Jul 102010

Escape

  • 56,121 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

ABS failure while driving due to 2 broken tone rings. This seems to be a common problem on all year Escapes. Sudden lose of anti lock causes longer stopping distances and can cause lock up which can cause loss of control.

- Manhattan, IL, USA

problem #3

May 152010

Escape

  • 487,889 miles
Just lucky we pulled over for gas. Our vehicle keep running even when it was turned off. 2008 Ford Escape 4dr 2wd XLS with 48,0087 miles would not turn off. We stopped, purchased new battery $90 and continued 15 miles to charlotte parking lot. We were advise to pull out gas module, disconnect the cable to battery and we would get home. Wrong, after aaa tow 109 miles back to SC budd's delivered it to benson's Ford for review. After 5 hours no clue by co. Next day after 12 pm. Co said Ford engineering told them how to fix my anti-lock brake system with $589 module, F80 fuse and $39 rubber hose leaking.hose had hole in it. This car never in collision yet. We were saved by tow from aaa in charlotte nc to easley area. They say charges $1300 for sure. I know this must be the first report. But I wanted to let our national Agency know about the defect. Please call if needed. Email is [xxx]. we got lucky, we stopped before we lost brakes. There was however reported leaking rubber hose to replace. We were lucky, other may not be. I have always been cautious with cars..also reported 091B10 recall not advertised by Ford. That's leaky coolant. Not fixed yet. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Piedmont, SC, USA

problem #2

Nov 082007

Escape 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While exiting the driveway in reverse at 10 mph, the contact depressed the brake pedal, but the vehicle would not stop. There were no warning lights illuminated prior to the failure. Several months later, the failure recurred while approaching a stop sign. The contact's vehicle struck another vehicle and the damages exceeded $2,400. The dealer stated that nothing was wrong with the vehicle. Several weeks later, the failure recurred and the contact was involved in another crash. The air bags failed to deploy. The damages exceeded $8,000. During each failure, the contact depressed the brake pedal all the way down to the floor. He still has possession of the vehicle. The failure mileage was 6,000 and current mileage was 13,000 updated 06/16/08

- Bassett, VA, USA

problem #1

Feb 182008

Escape 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
The brakes failed on my 2008 Ford Escape hybrid while traveling at 50mph on rt. 3 in clifton NJ. Vehicle was able to be stopped on the shoulder by shifting in to neutral and putting the brake all the way to the floor, which provided very little stopping power. Both the ABS light and brake warning lights came on the dash, in addition to a message that said something along the lines of brakes require service. The car has roughly 7000 miles on it and was purchased in Sept. 2007.

- Montclair, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?