Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
98,104 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 10 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #395

Jan 202015

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the steering wheel was stiff and difficult to turn. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 81,000. Updated 4/13/15 the consumer stated upon putting the vehicle in reverse, he discovered there was no power steering. A diagnosis revealed the torque sensor needed to be replaced. Updated 06/04/15

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #394

Jul 012014

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving at 70 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply excessive force to the steering wheel in order to turn and the throttle control warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician serviced the vehicle under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the power steering torque sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Collinsville, OK, USA

problem #393

Nov 172014

Escape

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving at various speeds, the steering wheel was extremely difficult to turn. The recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (power steering) was received in August of 2014. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who updated the power steering software but the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the contact was informed that the failure was no longer covered under the recall due to the failure codes not being previously present when performing the recall remedy. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 66,000.

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #392

Nov 052014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 146,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the steering wheel seized. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 146,000.......updated 03/31/15

- Diberville, MS, USA

problem #391

Jan 202014

Escape

  • 86,000 miles
Despite performing Ford's safety recall 14S05, my vehicle's power steering continues to fail, ceasing to operate for hours or days, along with loss of traction control. The unpredictable failures seem to be associated with torque sensor (wheel angle) faults at low outdoor temperatures (<10F). The last failure occurred with a guest at the wheel (in the driveway, thank goodness) resulting in her backing into a snow bank and damaging the tail pipe. Despite the clear documentation of this problem in NHTSA recall 14V-284, after two full days at the dealer, the service manager indicates Ford will not authorize any action until they can replicate the failure in real time. Does that mean they need to keep the car until the next cold front" or should I contact someone from Ford to come immediately to wherever I am when the steering next fails? will that be from a ditch on the side of an icy road when steering suddenly activates or deactivates without warning" given the very well documented problems with the Ford Escape electronic power steering system, I would expect Ford to authorize at least the next step in repairing this problem immediately. I would also expect a very reasonably priced repair of the damaged tail pipe connection. Unfortunately, according to [xxx], a second tier Ford customer relations manager, "there is absolutely nothing Ford can do to correct this problem unless is occurs while at the dealer." Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- White Bear Lake, MN, USA

problem #390

Jan 142015

Escape

  • 70,000 miles
Approximately in March of 2014, we had an issue with the ABS light coming on and traction control coming on for no reason at all. This made driving/steering extremely difficult. We took it to the shop where the tone ring and speed sensor were replaced. In December 2014, we had similar issues and we took it to the Ford dealership. We were told it was a speed sensor issue again. The work was done at the independent shop though since they did the original work. Yet again, in January 2015 we were experiencing the same issues again and had the car towed to the shop. The left front speed sensor was diagnosed as the problem. There is obviously some sort of failure that is occurring to trigger this issue. If you do a google search, there are several complaints similar to mine. I believe this should be investigated for a possible recall. This is crating a safety issue that can lead to accidents.

- Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #389

Jun 112014

Escape

  • 106,883 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2008 Ford Escape started having power steering failures in 6/11/2014 said they wouldn't have the program to fix it until July. 2014. So in November 2014 I took it in to have the recall fixed.. they said it was a reprogram fix. And after 2 weeks it was doing the same thing again so I have it towed on a flat bed and they say another reprogram fix.. this is the 3rd time it's been to the dealer for the same problem. So just yesterday January 14,2015 it started doing the same thing again!! obviously they never fixed the recall in the first place.!!! they tell me it's the steering column that has to be replaced and it's not covered!!! omg the first letter stated either they would do the reprogram fix, the steering column or the torque sensor.and it would be covered parts and labor. So here I sit with a piece of junk that the recall never fixed in the first place. I will never buy a Ford again!! I called Ford Motor Company and they told pretty much that I was out of luck and I could file legal papers!! if I had the money to fight Ford Motor Company I would have already junked the piece of crap and bought a new Chevy..

- Black River, NY, USA

problem #388

Jan 022015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
On several occasions my steering wheel would shake and shut off. This problem started right over my 40,000 mile mark. Strangely this problem would happen for four months out of the year, then would come back on. I reported it several times to the dealer when I took it in for my lifetime oil change. In July 2014 I received a letter stating that Ford Motor Company has issued a recall to fix the problem with the steering. In the same paragraph it said replacement of torque sensor or steering column replacement may be needed. I took the car in Aug. And a reboot was done to the computer so the error for the steering fault would alarm. I thought this problem was fixed. Well I was driving last week, and my steering alarm went off then my steering shut off. I called the dealer and tried to get the car back in to fix the steering problem, I was told that Ford decided to not pay for the replacement of the entire steering column that we were going to have to pay for it ourselves. I called the Ford help line, and they created a case# and I spoke with a couple of different people, they then told me that unless the steering was out at the exact time of the recall that the don't have to fix it. I continued to argue my letter stating that it said, that either item column or sensor were covered and going to be replaced. Nowhere does it say only the first time you take it in for the recall, either or would be replaced. The woman then kept reiterating that Ford doesn't have the financial recourses to fix the problem. Wow apparently everyone else has $2000 laying around to fix it too. I am so disappointed in this slimy business practice by this company. I expected more from such a reputable company. I will never buy another vehicle from Ford again! they are not guaranteeing their recall!

- Eagle, ID, USA

problem #387

Jan 072015

Escape

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 45 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the power steering assist light illuminated. The contact had to apply excessive force to the steering wheel in order to turn the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Rushylvania, OH, USA

problem #386

Jan 072015

Escape

  • miles
After they did the recall on the 2008 Ford Escape went and got it fix then in January 7 2015 the power steering just completely went out while in mid turn on a highway.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #385

Jan 052015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford issued a recall in July 2014 for steering torque sensor issues. Remedies included reprogramming the pcsm or repairing/replacing the entire steering column. I took my vehicle in to get repairs under the recall in November 2014. Apparently, the dealership only found it necessary to reprogram the pcsm. In the immediate weeks following, I started to have steering problems and was getting fault codes for power steering sensor failure. I thus took my vehicle in again to get it checked out. The torque sensor needed to be replaced, which incidentally required that the entire steering column be replaced.. this is the exact issue Ford issued a recall for, and agreed to fix, but has refused to repair because they said the "repair" was performed when they reprogrammed the pcsm. This was not a repair. (incidentally, it may have been what accelerated or caused the ultimate torque sensor failure.) a quick online search reveals I am not alone in this problem. This forum has numerous 2008 Ford Escape owners describing exactly what happened to me: www.Escape-city.com/viewtopic.php?F=24&T=25610. Please request that Ford actually repair the steering column issues in its vehicles, instead of using the guise of reprogramming in an attempt to limit its liability.

- Boulder, CO, USA

problem #384

Sep 012014

Escape 4WD 4-cyl

  • miles
We purchased the 2008 Ford Escape XLS in May 2014. Soon afterwards the power steering would randomly cease functioning making it difficult to steer. There were multiple failures between May 2014 to December 2014. This prompted me to do some research into the issue. I discovered that there was a factory recall (14S05) that dealt with the faulty software/hardware. On Friday 12/05/2014, in the am, brought 2008 Ford Escape XLS, to the ken garff Ford in american fork for them to perform the necessary action to resolve Ford Escape recall 14S05. I dropped off the vehicle and assuming the Ford service department would take all the necessary actions to fully complete the work called for in the recall. My wife picked up the vehicle that evening and we assumed that all steps in the recall were completed. On Thursday 12/11/2014, in the am, the electric power steering went out on the vehicle twice while driving the vehicle. We returned to the dealership on that date (12/11/2014). They were not able to look at the vehicle until the following day, Friday 12/12/2014. On that date, we were told that the steering column parts were not replaced and that all the did was perform a software update. I asked them why they had not replaced part that was called for in the recall. They told me that when they checked that there were no error codes recorded. I told them that was not possible because it had just failed the previous week. They told me that they would not replace the steering column per the recall as they had fulfilled their obligation the previous week and that Ford Motor Company had deemed the recall as completed. I am writing this letter as it is my belief that Ford Motor Company and ken garff Ford in american fork did not properly execute this recall and they are responsible for the parts and labor to make my 2008 Ford Escape safe to drive.

- Eagle Mountain, UT, USA

problem #383

Aug 282014

Escape

  • 139,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the power steering failed and the steering wheel became extremely difficult to maneuver. Also, the air bag and traction control lights intermittently illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose a failure and no repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 139,000.

- Union Town , OH, USA

problem #382

Jul 142014

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) but the failure recurred. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized on several occasions. Additionally, the contact was unable to turn the steering wheel and was not able to start the vehicle due to the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #381

Dec 282014

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles
Took the vehicle in for the 14S05 recall, which is intended to correct a steering issue. This occurred on 12/10/2014. The repair supposedly reprogrammed the power steering torque sensor to prevent the power steering from turning off while driving. On 12/28/2014 the power steering failed, which seems to be the reason for the recall. We took the vehicle in for repair on 12/29/2014. The Ford Motor Company denied repairing the vehicle because the recall work was already done on the vehicle. My complaint is that the service action completed on 12/10/2014 by the lawley Ford, silver city dealership, directed by the Ford Motor Company, did nothing to actually fix a known safety issue. In addition, it provided my family with a false sense of safety because it is reasonable to assume the steering issue was resolved.

- Silver City, NM, USA

problem #380

Dec 222014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
This is the second time in two years that the electronic power steering has failed in the vehicle. The fist was in 2012 and caused the steering to lock up while my wife was driving. At that time I had the entire steering column replaced at the dealership for a considerable expense. The vehicle is currently loosing steering sensation in a way the vehicle feels as if it is slipping on ice. The steering wheel will turn at highway speed with no response from the vehicle. Needless to say this is a nightmare. The vehicle feels unsafe and out of control when it exhibits these characteristics. I checked recall info and have found that this is a common complaint on these vehicles. There is a recall, but my VIN is not included. I hope this gets handled quickly before there are more accidents and injuries.

- Maple Grove, MN, USA

problem #379

Oct 012014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 28,311 miles
The condenser is combined with power steering and transmission. This vehicle should not of had a leak as it only has 28311 miles on it. This is bad for ground water as fluid leaks goes on street and into storm drains. Cost to fix is about $700.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #378

Dec 102014

Escape

  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 40 mph, the steering wheel seized and the vehicle stalled. The contact had to apply excessive force to the steering wheel in order to maneuver the vehicle. The vehicle was able to restart after multiple attempts. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) but the recall remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 116,000.

- Orem, UT, USA

problem #377

Dec 092014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 95,092 miles
Since owning vehicle problems with steering would happen once in a while ( once a month ) on 10/09/14 took car in for re-call. Two months later no power steering again...company who worked on car the first time said it was a different issue.not possible, doing same thing before they so-called fixed it..(12/10/14) the cost was over 500 dollars..

- St.Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #376

Dec 152014

Escape

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated when starting the vehicle, the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Silver City , NM, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?