Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
97,712 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 18 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #223

Dec 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles


The power steering would not engage when starting the vehicle. I would have to turn off the vehicle and restart until in engaged. When it was operating, the steering wheel would shutter back and forth. I took it in to the Ford dealer and scan code B2278 confirmed that the torque sensor was bad in the electronic power steering assist. Required the steering column to be replaced at a cost of $1,439.68.

- Midland , MI, USA

problem #222

Jan 162014


  • 58,000 miles
TL-the contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated when he turned the vehicle ignition switch on. The power steering failed without any warning. The vehicle had not been taken to an dealer or an independent mechanic for diagnosis or repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.lj

- Lombard, IL, USA

problem #221

Sep 102013

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles
Serious vibration, lot of cracking noise, steering wheel locking up, have to adjust steering wheel to start vehicle.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #220

Feb 022014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles


Steering wheel initially started to pulsate at stop light.. next incident I started the vehicle and there was no power steering, turned vehicle off and restarted and had steering incident steering wheel pulsates while driving and loses power steering while at speed.. pull vehicle to roadside and restart and regain steering.. not having this vehicle recalled to fix this issue is the most insane thing I have ever heard of.. if a frail person or elderly has this happen to them, people will die.. its not a matter of if this happens but when it will.. if it hasn't already.. anybody reading this I hope you or your children or family or friends or anybody for that matter does not die as a result of this matter going unresolved... it is mindboggling that Ford turns its back on this not alone in this, there are complaints all over the internet.. can you imagine a loss or multiple losses of lives after so many complaints being registered? please help

- Lynbrook, NY, USA

problem #219

Apr 102013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 57,960 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact started the ignition and the noticed that the steering wheel had seized. Additionally, the steering wheel would shake whenever the contact was driving 35 mph or more or when accelerating from a complete stop. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection. The technician stated that the steering column would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 57,960. Updated 8/11/14 updated 08/22/2014

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #218

Feb 012014


  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the driver was backing the vehicle out of the garage when the power steering suddenly malfunctioned causing the steering wheel to become very difficult to turn. When the vehicle was restarted the steering wheel functioned normally. The failure was not diagnosed nor was the vehicle repaired. The manufacturer was notified and no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 68,000.

- Hamilton , OH, USA

problem #217

Dec 252013


  • 146,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated while driving approximately 20 mph, a loud clicking noise emitted from the dashboard in addition to a loss of power steering. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was turned off. The vehicle resumed normally upon restarting. The failure recurred when the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and the steering column was replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 146,000.

- West Newton, PA, USA

problem #216

Jan 292014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
Power steering sporadically fails. This can happen at startup or while driving. It can cause a serious accident resulting in injury or fatality. There are hundreds of complaints logged online, even on the Ford website. Every dealership/auto body states that this should be a manufacturer recall.

- Oakville, MO, USA

problem #215

Feb 012014


  • 66,300 miles
I was driving in the neighbor hood and my electronic steering failed. I was able to drive it to the nearest car shop and they took a look at it. They informed me the electronic steering chip was going bad. So it will work at times and then it will fail again. This is a major safety concern. I am a bigger guy so I can handle not having steering assist. However if this happens when not expecting it, it could easily cause an accident. There is a growing list of complaints online with people having the same problem.

- Farmingtion, MN, USA

problem #214

Jan 302014


  • 132,000 miles
Clicking noise followed by loss of power steering assist. Restarting the engine allows for restoration of power to steering. Hundreds of reports of other electric assist units failing. Ours has not recurred, but we drive two lane roads to and from work. If this happens again at some points it could lead to bad crash. Ford knows of the issue, and it only a matter of time until someone is killed.

- Pleasant Grove, AR, USA

problem #213

Jan 202014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the power steering assist failed to operate without warning. The contact shut off and restarted the vehicle to allow the system to reset. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic power steering module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 100,000. Updated 03/12/14

- May View, MO, USA

problem #212

Jan 222014


  • 130,000 miles
Vehicle started with a jerking motion in steering wheel. Then progressed into sporadic loss of power steering. No warning lights. Turning the engine off then back on released the steering wheel. If so many people are complaining about this Ford needs to recall it. It is not about regular vehicle maintenance this is a product of failure.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #211

Jan 052014

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 175,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, he attempted to make a right turn when the power steering assist malfunctioned and the steering wheel started pulling in the opposite direction. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the power steering assist module was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 175,000. Updated 04/14/14 updated 04/22/14

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #210

Jan 252014


  • 160,250 miles
As I was yielding the right away from oncoming highway traffic, I turned into the turning lane and felt something didn't feel right. As I straighten out my wheel to proceed to go forward the power steering was out. At this time I was heading out town and thankful I was not that far from home. I began to head back home and grab another vehicle so I was able to meet my appointment. After researching this problem I noticed there were several complaints on this exact issue. It infuriates me because we just bought this vehicle for our 16 year old daughter as her first car. How many deaths will have to occur before they recall this" all I"M seeing on this vehicle for recall are seat covers, how ridiculous does that sound. They know that if you have the heat on in the vehicle that the sensor overheats that it will cause this then why are they not coming up with something to correct it. A concerned mother of a teenage daughter.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #209

Jan 282014


  • miles
As many other customer complaints have stated, my power assist has gone out, and it is very difficult to steer the car. During the prior two-three days I have noticed that when the car is stopped, I could occasionally feel a pulling shake in the steering wheel. My family went out to dinner (fortunately just minutes from home!) and when we came out, the problem began. Obviously with more than 200 people noting the same thing, Ford needs to issue a recall on this electric steering system!

- Wright City, MO, USA

problem #208

Jan 262014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
Upon start-up the steering lacked assist. It drove fine, but took additional effort to turn at slow speeds. At highway speeds steering was fine but it was still apparent that assist was gone. During drive home, I stopped once and restarted car at which point the power assist returned.

- Roseville, MN, USA

problem #207

Jan 242014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while sitting at a red light, the power steering assist failed to operate without warning. The contact shut off and restarted the vehicle to allow the system to reset. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed for the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 54,000. Updated 2/26/14

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #206

Jan 232014


  • 112,000 miles
My wife was driving her Escape down the freeway and the power steering stopped working. She was able to get it to the emergency shoulder and call me. When I got there I shut the car off and could not find anything that would tell me a major failure had happened. I started the Escape and the power steering started to work again. I called the dealership where we bought the car and they told me that some of the Escapes have a problem with the power steering sensor. They quoted me $1200-1400.00 to fix it. This makes this car dangerous. Ford should fix this problem.

- West Jordan , UT, USA

problem #205

Jan 182014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
On 1-18-2014 my 2008 Ford Escape experienced shaking and pulling on the steering wheel when I was sitting idle in my driveway, then it just stopped. Drove about 1/2 block and started pulling; took it to the mechanic and it is the electronic power steering $1200-1500 to repair and according to my mechanic when he talked to the local Ford parts house they told him this part# has been changed 17 times because they keep failing. This is not acceptable! how can a problem with your steering not possible be a recall item?

- Ardmore, OK, USA

problem #204

Jan 202014


  • 97,000 miles
My 2008 Ford Escape has a bad steering sensor that caused issues with steering and had pulling to the left. Ford informs me that they have to replace entire steering column to fix failed sensor and are quoting $1675. After searching online I see hundreds of similar complaints about Ford Escapes 2008-2010. This is a safety issue that must be addressed by Ford.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?