Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
97,712 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 19 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #203

Dec 292013


  • 60,000 miles


Hey back in December of 2013 I was driving home and I noticed the steering wheel started to shake. It wasn't a violent shake but it was noticeable. Now I knew I need my sway bar links replaced so I thought that was the issue. As we entered into 2014, (January) it was getting progressively worse. On 1/16/2014 (Thursday) that morning before I went to work, the steering wheel was stiff. So I had to cut the car off and cut it back on and it loosened up. I knew at that point that is wasn't the sway bar links. So that Friday (1/17/2014) I took it in to a car shop close to my house (wasn't a Ford dealership) and I was told that my electronic steering column was bad and that the sensor was dying. I couldn't understand why this was happening until I looked online and saw that I wasn't the only one with this problem. There are people all over this country and in Canada who have had similar problems. To be exact the same problem!! Ford has not recalled this issue. I'm sure Ford has tons of people that review all online comments, so they have to know about this issue. This is dangerous because just today(1/21/2014) my fiance was driving to work and she came to a red light. When it was time to go, the steering wheel got stiff and made it hard to turn. The sensor went out and it was manual turning. She got to work and when her shift was over, she started the car and the steering was loose again. We can not drive like this and know one else with an Ford Escape should have to drive like this either. I also found out through various websites that 2008 was the first year they went to this electronic steering column. They couldn't have done the proper testing on this vehicle, I only have 63000 miles on this car and this should not be an issue so soon! please email me back and tell me what I need to do to make Ford recall this. Thank you

- Shaker Heights, OH, USA

problem #202

Jan 202014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
Noticed a vibration in steering on the way home yesterday on the highway. Made a left turn onto street and steering wheel got extremely tight and hard to staighten. This morning started the 2008 Escape and had no power steering. I am a fairly large male and it is tough for me to steer it without power steering and really do not know how a female could. It was lucky I was driving it when the steering went out or else I guarantee there would have been an accident, if not with another car, into a house or business building. I have read numerous accounts online of instances just like mine and somebody will eventually be killed. Lets hope a recall happens before this happens!

- Odessa, TX, USA

problem #201

Jan 202014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 167,175 miles
My wife was backing out of the driveway and started driving down the street, when she got to the stop sign the power steering cut out and stopped working all together. I went out there and turned off the car and restarted it and it was working again. I'm very glad it did not happen on the freeway. She would have crashed. This needs to be recalled with how many incidents that have beed reported.

- Papillion, NE, USA

problem #200

Jan 022014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 78,989 miles


I bought my 2008 Ford Escape on January 15 2013 at 67,000 miles it has 78,000 miles and is doing what so many other complaints said are doing. When I go to turn left especially makes a loud bang click noise in the steering wheel/column. I do have a warranty but others don't. there is over 500 complaints on this issue on safe Please dont let a death be a deciding factor for a recall to be issued and to save a couple bucks. Evidently there is a problem. Like I said had my car for one year.

- Marysville, MI, USA

problem #199

Jan 132014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 89,345 miles
The vehicle's steering began to shutter. Then the power steering suddenly gave out. I was barely able to make turns to the right to exit the highway. The condition goes away after stopping and restarting but less than a minute after restarting, the condition returns. I have yet to be able to take the vehicle in for repair of this issue. This is dangerous.

- Portsmouth, NH, USA

problem #198

Jan 172014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 82,680 miles
After making a left turn and braking at a stop sign, I experienced a sudden loss of power steering.

- Pawleys Island, SC, USA

problem #197

Jan 022014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 153,220 miles


Just as many of the other complaints logged on this site about the 2008 Ford Escape my issues started with a rattling of the steering wheel when I was idling or breaking. Then a few days later I turned my car on and my power steering wasn't working. I turned the car off and restarted it which resulted in the steering working again. This happened a few times for about a week. I was starting to think maybe this is a serious problem an I should get it checked out. The next time I drove it my power steering completely failed while I was driving on ice. I am very glad I was being cautious and going slow. If I had been going faster I could have had a horrible accident. Now I've read endless complaints on line about this same problem and am hearing it could cost 1-2,000 to fix! please recall this before it becomes fatal!

- West Branch, MI, USA

problem #196

Dec 272013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
On Dec 27 2013 we were driving Escape. When trying go around curve Ford lost all power steering which caused us to almost hit wall. My husband drove to side road. Shut it off. Waited few minutes started it power steering was back. Took it to garage was told power steering sensor was going out. Was told it be $1123 cost. It happened again on January 3rd 2014. Was told that this is a safety issue and that Ford knows its not working right. Need a recall before someone gets hurt or killed. Our Escape is not only one doing it. The ones with electric power steering are failing. I'm scared drive it much.

- Monticello, KY, USA

problem #195

Jan 072014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 1,500,000 miles
My daughter was driving this car and the steering went out, ie: Steering wheel hard to turn.she was able to pull over and shut the car off. When she re-started, the steering was fine. This happened to me several times before in the exact same manner. Luckily, neither of us was going terribly fast but this could happen anytime and at any speed. This vehicle needs recalled, as I see many other people have had the same issue. I cannot allow my daughter to drive this car in this condition.taking it to mechanic for check today, but they told me on the phone that this is very common. I bought this car new in 2008, and have been very diligent in my maintenance. This repair could exceed $2000! this sounds like an issue that should be corrected by the manufacturer as a defect!

- Valencia, PA, USA

problem #194

Dec 312013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
Power steering went out, then reset itself. Has gone out again, and has not reset. Went out when highway driving. Serious safety issue. I have read numerous reports on this year make and model having the same issues. Ford needs to recall before someone gets killed.

- West Barnstable, MA, USA

problem #193

Jan 072014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 137,000 miles


My wife encountered a steering failure on our vehicle yesterday. Upon review by my mechanic he reported a failure of code B2278 and the reported fix is the replacement by Ford of the entire steering column. He also suggested I look online because this appears to be a very common problem among the mid-2000's Ford Escape hybrids. There are dozens of webpages, each with dozens of entries such as this page ( ) detailing steering column failures with near tragic results. A clear pattern of steering failure is right in front of the NHTSA's eyes as evidenced in this email. I am imploring you to act. It is bad enough that the column costs $2,000 to replace. Does my son have to die before the Agency takes action? please take the necessary steps available to the Agency to ensure the reasonable safety of Ford Escape drivers. I will be happy to direct you to the other forums or assist in any manner the Agency requests. Take care.

- Dana Point, CA, USA

problem #192

Jan 082014


  • 169,200 miles
Steering wheel began to shake or shimmy when the vehicle was stopped and idling. Turned vehicle off and back on... the began to drive, power steering was out completely. The vehicle would steer - but was very hard to control. Pulled over shut vehicle off, power steering resumed, but steering wheel was shaking again at idle. Very dangerous if it were to happen at an speed. My daughter would not be able to control the vehicle, I am very strong and it was hard for me to control. This should be recalled - as so far I see 190+ complaints on this site, and many others on different sites, while trying to find a diagnosis for the problem. Ford should address this immediately.

- Newmarket , NH, USA

problem #191

Nov 232013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 140,200 miles
It first happened when you started the vehicle, no power steering !!!!! shut it off, , restart it and you had power steering again. This happened around 20 more times in the next month. Then the power steering would shut off while driving it, regardless of speed. It was worst than having old standard steering. As long as you were rolling you could steer it, but when you stopped it took both hands to turn the steering wheel. It was very scary and dangerous. My wife drives this vehicle to work Monday through Friday. She has been scared to drive it not knowing what might take place when the steering goes completely out. Well it finally went out today !!!!!!!! don"T know what it"S going to cost ? I think Ford should have to take care of this problem. It a very serious safety problem. Thank you

- Pinewood, SC, USA

problem #190

Jan 072014


  • 120,000 miles
Power steering completely went out going around the curve. Did not turn the car out because a test was done on the battery yesterday and it was good, but left work today and had to have it jumped. Bought a new battery. Started the vehicle again and still no power steering. Will be fixed tomorrow for a total of 1200. I could have been with my small son today, but luckily I stayed home from work and my husband took the car.

- Vicksburg, MI, USA

problem #189

Dec 212013


  • 87,800 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to function properly while making a turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the electronic power steering had failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 87,800.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #188

Jan 062014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
A few weeks ago my 2008 Ford Escapes steering wheel intermittently started vibrating and making clicking noises while idling. I researched this issue on the internet and discovered that this is an indicator the power steering will go out and it can happen while driving at anytime. People on freeways or while turning would loose there power steering which is a safety hazard and can cause a serious and potential deadly crash. I learned that aft first if you loose your power steering you can turn your engine off and back on again and the power steering will return. I called the local dealer regarding this serious problem and they said there isn't any recall. When I asked them why Ford hasn't stepped up to the plate and taken responsibility for this serious safety issue they suggested I call Ford Corp and ask them. When I did, all I was told was there isn't a recall; they wouldn't say anything further. My husband has since called and filed a formal complaint with Ford. In the mean time, my power steering has gone out many times while pulling away from a stop or parking spot. Yesterday while driving it to the dealership to be repaired it went out while actually driving down the road. What will it take for Ford to take responsibility for this issue, people to start dying?

- Placerville, CA, USA

problem #187

Jan 022014


  • 98,800 miles
Car stalled when driving on hwy in snow storm on two different occasions. Also, RPM's climb, just had the steering column replaced 2 months ago.

- Wilmington, MA, USA

problem #186

Dec 222012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
My husband and three young children were driving on the interstate from atlanta to miami when the steering instantly became close to impossible to control. With my husbands assistance in pulling the wheel with me we were able to pull to the shoulder. I immediately assumed that there was a leak/or low power steering fluid. After searching the internet on my phone, on the shoulder of the interstate, I learned soon enough that the vehicle actually had power assisted steering and that many people had run into this issue. I was able to restart the car and the steering was fixed, for the moment. Approximately every hour or so the wheel would lock again and while going 70 mph I would have to recrank the car while in neutral to gain back control. The repair cost me $1251.17 and had me unable to return home for 5 extra days longer than I planned. This could have killed my family had the traffic been heavy or had I needed to drive defensively.

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #185

Jan 032014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 153,000 miles
I was coming to a stop and the electronic assist steering locked up, proceeded to pull away from stop sign and continued to drive to my destination without any steering assist. Upon arrival, turned off car and restarted to get steering assist back. I'm glad nothing happened this time!!!!!, car is undrivable, and too expensive to fix. Ford needs to step up and stand behind their product, too many corporations leave the dealer and/or consumers with paying the bill for their neglect.

- Leechburg, PA, USA

problem #184

Dec 262013


  • 116,600 miles
Upon starting the vehicle, power steering was unable to work. There is no power steering liquid in this model, and instead uses a computer to assist with power steering. After sitting for several moments, a second attempt was made, and power steering successfully responded. There are hundreds of complaints of a similar nature regarding 2008 models and some for the 2009 model of the Ford Escape. Is there a recall of any form going on for these dangerous issues or do we have to shell out a few thousand dollars for something that we were unaware of when purchasing the vehicle?

- Mukwonago, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?