Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
98,104 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 22 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #155

Jul 202013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 109,858 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While sitting in the parking lot I went to drive and I had no power steering. Nothing seemed to be wrong but I turned off the ignition and restarted then power steering worked fine. This has since happened again on 11/4/2013 with my wife driving. She was able to pull over and shut off the vehicle then restart and everything began to work again. Investigating this problem there are many others with the same problem and Ford doesn't seem to be doing anything about this problem. It's a huge safety issue because if your driving down the highway you cannot turn the steering wheel.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #154

Jan 282013

Escape

  • 110,000 miles
My daughter has her car on a college campus and driving around the drill field at 20 mph the power steering locked up. She was able to pull over, turn the car off and restart. The date listed was the first time that the steering locked up but has done it a several times since. I myself was in a kroger parking lot and put the car in park and it locked up. In the past 3 weeks the power steering has locked up on my daughter 3 times while on campus - nearly causing a 10 car pileup behind her. As a college student, on a college campus this is a huge concern for us. I have read many many many complaints to Ford on the power steering issue and can not believe they are continuing to put peoples lives in danger by not recalling and fixing this power steering problem.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #153

Oct 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 70,610 miles
Sunday October 20th, 2013. While driving my 2008 Ford Escape the electric power steering failed. This was like trying to drive a tank. When I got to a safe place to pull off the road I turned off the engine and restarted the car. The steering worked ok at that time. I took my car to a repair shop to have the steering checked and was told the only pace to get this fixed was at a Ford dealer and that this type failure on the 2008 Escape was a common occurrence. Looking on line I confirmed that this problem was very frequent with the 2008 Ford Escape and could happen at any time. Fortunately it happened to me on a quite Sunday morning when there was little traffic and I was able to pull off the road without endangering myself or other drivers. I feel this is a major safety issue that could result in a serious accident with potential personal injury and/or a loss of life accident. I feel Ford should be required to recall the 2008 Ford Escapes equipped with this type steering and make the necessary repairs to protect the lives of both the Ford drivers and others that might be encountered on the road should the steering fail.

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #152

Oct 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 157,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My steering column would shake while I was at a stop and within a few days I have lost the electrical steering (power steering). I now have no electrical assist for the steering and have been informed that they have to replace the entire steering column in order to fix the problem.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #151

Oct 182013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 48,227 miles
While setting at a handicap space after eating. I started my car and the steering was hard to steer going into reverse or forward. It still hasn't come back to me yet after setting for a whole day. The only thing that I did before parking was go over a speed bump with one side of the car and making one turn after 50 yards of straight driving to the space.

- Midland, TX, USA

problem #150

Oct 062013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 100,400 miles
The incident reported is only one of many similar -in 2012 reported to Ford-dealership where purchased car did work on their own to fix-(no-charge-and only have the parts numbers used to repair-do not know the fix for the problem then) in 2013 the steering electronic assist has failed both my wife and I on more than multiple times! all except one time at low mph in parking lots-malls-and back yard. The one exception time was on a highway at normal 45 to 50 mph -cologne ave, mays landing NJ only solution to get power steering back to normal is to stop -shut engine down-restart engine-and the electronic assist is back and ok again. All except one time -had to restart and run around the back yard -shut down and restart again. These incidences of actual times and events reported to Ford customer relations--no action except to advise return to dealership for diagnosis. At our cost>we know and Ford knows -why should we pay another $100 for another diagnosis as in 2012" this is a life threatening situation if it happens on highway-not only to driver of subject vehicle, but to others on the highway. Our Escape a 2008 -but actually bought in March 2007; also we understand thru so many other complaints similar to ours that the 'electronic assist power steering first put on the Escape model in the 2008 year. Possible that Ford found out the problems and later corrected--but they are not acknowledging even that a problem ever existed! with so many complaints of exactly same as ours on so many forums as Ford forums, car complaints, edmunds, and two or three other places that can not recall as write this--how can it just be passed off as a rare incident to just a few"

- Mays Landing , NJ, USA

problem #149

Sep 232013

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 36,618 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the steering just lost all power, this vehicle has electric steering control, was able to pull over and shut down. Restarted and steering came back. Upon research online, there seems to be quite a few of these steering incidents and Ford is not doing any recall.

- Salem , MA, USA

problem #148

Sep 152013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 100,400 miles
This occurred in 2012 also. Loss of powersteering -when pulling into our yard. Had son check the belts-fluid levels-all ok;restarted and it was ok. Took around back yard and it immediately loss the power assist again. Actually steered it as was for about 400 yards around the large back field of our farm as it was-it never became normal again during that approximate 400 yards --until I shut off engine-restarted again and til today September 19, no re occurrence. Have been on many forums and seen so many others with same problems. A steering assist electric module or something similar seems to be the problem. This has happened to my wife two times -one in the back yard and one in mall parking lot area. We know what to do now-shut down engine and restart; however, if this happens while on highway in traffic while attempting to either pass or get back in you lane --it could be life threatening to not only us but the others on highway. Please, there have been enough complaints for a remedy -or at least an acknowledgement by Ford -not as our E-mail to Ford customer relations and a reply by a representative, [xxx], who stated they have done what they feel necessary and as to their responsibility of this problem, by telling us to take to Ford dealership for an analysis test by their professional mechanics and technicians. We as do so many Ford owners know the problem-cause-and why must we pay a large analysis problem for same. Thank you NHTSA-we are fortunate to have some one that is concerned. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mayslanding, NJ, USA

problem #147

Sep 192013

Escape

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the power steering failed without warning. The contact merged shut off and restarted the engine, and the vehicle resumed normal function. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000.

- Richmond , VA, USA

problem #146

Sep 142013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 140,355 miles
The vehicle's power steering system suddenly failed without warning. This occurred while the vehicle was stopped so there was no risk of accident at the time. This issue has never occurred before. I turned off and restarted the vehicle and the power steering returned. I did an on online search and discovered this is far from an isolated problem. I found literally hundreds of other 2008 Escape owners reporting sudden steering loss problems with characteristics matching precisely what I experienced. These complaints seemed to begin to surface within the last 2 years. It appears the electronic control unit (ECU) mounted in the steering column is to blame for the failures. I believe 2008 was the first year Ford introduced the ECU to replace conventional power steering pumps. Well it looks like they have a problem which Ford has apparently ignored so far. I am submitting this complaint in the hopes that the NHTSA will compel Ford to issue a recall. This is not an inconvenience, this a life threatening defect. If power steering fails at highway speeds someone is going to get hurt and quite possibly die. Please investigate this. And please do it soon.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #145

Sep 142013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 116,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car has randomly started loosing power steering.

- Palmyra, VA, USA

problem #144

Sep 062013

Escape

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while waiting at a traffic light, the steering wheel seized without warning. The contact mentioned that after turning off the engine and restarting, the vehicle resumed normal function. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 86,000.

- Bayville, NJ, USA

problem #143

Aug 242013

Escape

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the vehicle became difficult to steer as the steering wheel became very loose. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the cap of the U-joint had become detached and would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileage was 118,000.

- La Place, LA, USA

problem #142

Aug 222013

Escape

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact was stopped at an intersection when the power steering failed. The engine was restarted and the vehicle continued without an issue. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 111,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Hanson , MA, USA

problem #141

Jul 152013

Escape

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that when attempting a turn, the vehicle would exhibit an abnormal noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated that the steering shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 84,000.

- Milwalkee, WI, USA

problem #140

Apr 012013

Escape

  • 65,000 miles
Very dangerous issue with this car. The electronic power steering goes out sometime without warning making the car difficult to steer. If this happened during a high rate of speed during a turn it would 100% cause a serious accident.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #139

Jun 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 114,800 miles
I was taking a left hand turn and the power steering/steering column failed and I crashed into a curb,

- Tewksbury, MA, USA

problem #138

Mar 012013

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that when starting the vehicle, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was shut off and once restarted, the vehicle resumed normal operation. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the steering column would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 80,000. Updated 07/30/13 the consumer stated it was extremely difficult to steer the vehicle and she had to use both hands to control the vehicle.

- West End, WI, USA

problem #137

May 042013

Escape

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while reversing from a residential driveway, the steering wheel seized without warning. The failure recurred three times. The contact was able to restart vehicle to resume proper steering capabilities. The vehicle was taken to dealer for diagnosis however, the diagnosis had not been provided. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000. The VIN was not available.

- Alley Springs, SD, USA

problem #136

Mar 112013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 171,200 miles
I was driving and the power steering went out! I struggled to maintain the Escape on the curve. I pulled off the road and shut off the car, when I turned it back on I was able to turn the wheel but that didn't last very long. I parked it for awhile and borrowed a car but I had to return it so now I'm driving and just praying I don't loose all control. Today it was diagnosed, need a new power steering electric motor, cost between 1300-1500 dollars! that is something that shouldn't be happening, Ford needs to fix this problem. I see how many complaints there are when I checked it out at all locations online.

- Pinckney, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?