Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
98,104 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 3 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #535

Mar 212016

Escape

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 45 mph, the steering wheel made a clicking sound and shook without warning. Approximately 30 seconds later, the steering wheel became very difficult to turn and failed. The next morning, when the vehicle was started, the maintenance warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was previously repaired per a recall in August of 2014 for the same issue, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering torque sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 52,000.

- Twin Falls, ID, USA

problem #534

Mar 292016

Escape

  • 144,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 60 mph, the power steering suddenly malfunctioned and the steering wheel became very difficult to turn. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manfacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was informed that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V28400 (steering) in 2015, but the failure recurred in 2016. The failure mileage was 144,000.

- Waterbury, CT, USA

problem #533

Mar 082016

Escape

  • 144,000 miles
July 2014 I received a recall notice regarding torque sensor/steering column, I took it in to the dealership (stivers Ford/Lincoln in waukee Iowa) where they took approx. 5 mins to do whatever it was they were to do regarding the recall. I was not having any issues with my car at that time. Approx. 3 weeks ago (March 2016) I started having problems with my steering wheel shaking and moving back/forth at all times when driving the vehicle and when idling, on highway and streets and being parked, along with odd noises when driving. I took my vehicle in to the dealership (stivers Ford/Lincoln in waukee Iowa) yesterday (March 29, 2016) to find out what was wrong, they did a diagnostic test and found that I needed a new torque sensor and steering column. I told them about the recall of the exact same issue from July 2014, the guy in the service dept (steve) called Ford motors and they told him they would not cover the costs. I called Ford motors today (March 30, 2016) at their retail number, the female told me they would not cover the costs and said that the recall had expired and I should of had it fixed then. (there was no issues at the time of the recall with my vehicle and I did take it in to the dealership at the time I received the recall letter). Ford motors knew/knows of the defaulting parts (hence the recall in 2014), they should cover these parts now. Most cars do not go out right at the time of a recall. My vehicle took over a year to go out since the recall, I have found Ford motors to be very dishonest. The service man I spoke with told me he was with me on this issue and believed that Ford motors should cover these costs for repairs of the torque sensor and steering column. Recall letter states: Alternatively, the dealer may need to replace the torque sensor or the steering column. This service will be performed free of charge (parts and labor.

- Stuart, IA, USA

problem #532

Mar 142016

Escape

  • 101,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle was driving fine when it started chiming. I didn't have any idea why it was making the noise. It did this 3 times and then a small wrench signal showed up on the panel. I was driving home when all of this happened. All of a sudden I had no steering! scared me to death. I was able to make it home, thank goodness! there are recalls on this problem, but not my VIN number!

- Moscow, IA, USA

problem #531

Mar 062016

Escape

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While operating the vehicle, the power steering became inoperable and the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The maintenance sensor warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering torque sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact indicated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (power steering); however, the failure recurred the same day. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 74,000.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #530

Mar 212016

Escape

  • 130,000 miles
We took our Ford Motor Company 2008 Escape to the dealer for recall NHTSA 14V284000 or Ford #14S05. The dealer reprogrammed the power steering module. Prior to that we had no problems whatsoever with the steering. 4 months later the steering has failed. From what I am reading at several locations on the internet this is a common problem. I am asking the NHTSA to look at this problem closer. My opinion is there should be an additional recall that addresses this issue. If you've had a similar issue I urge you to contact Ford and file a complaint and contact the NHTSA and voice your concern. I was told by Ford it is my responsibility to fix the vehicle and they are offering no assistance.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #529

Mar 042016

Escape

  • 148,377 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 65 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column failed and needed to be replaced. The failure occurred after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 148,377.

- Southbend, IN, USA

problem #528

Mar 072016

Escape

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 5 mph, the power steering failed without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. Prior to the second repair, the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000. Updated 05/04/16.....updated 05-12/16

- Linn, MO, USA

problem #527

Mar 072016

Escape

  • miles
Had Ford recall #14V284000 (Ford #14S05) performed in April 2015 - which covered power steering control module. Was told "nothing wrong, updated software". March 2016 steering failed. Dealer diagnosed as failed torque sensor which supposedly is one of the items covered under recall. However was told this was no longer covered under recall - because the recall was "closed out" on our vehicle the day they found nothing wrong. Called Ford customer service 1-800-392-3673 who said same thing. Total scam! if it's not broke the day you take it in then they don't replace anything. Side stepping potentially defective steering components with a bogus software fix. Then later exposed to the safety risk of driving with steering components that may (and in this case) did fail. Again I feel this is a total sham!

- Ortonville, MI, USA

problem #526

Feb 012016

Escape

  • 137,900 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle made an abnormal noise from the steering column. The failure occurred without warning. The vehcle was taken to the dealer wher it was remedied under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering), but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 137,900.

- Waverly, TN, USA

problem #525

Mar 072016

Escape

  • 111,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We had our vehicle recalled. We took it to taylor Ford in chandler Oklahoma, to have it serviced for the steering problem. I went to drive the car and now there is no power steering. I have read several complaints about this, that after Ford had so called updated the programing on the steering system, they fail. So instead of replacing the parts that needed to be fixed they update the computer and then when down the road, you have to pay for the problem yourself. Taylor Ford told my wife that there was noting wrong with the vehicle. They have since gone out of business. How do I get this problem taken care right this time. They should have taken care of it right the first time. So Ford is just putting band aids on their problems and then saying it was fixed and charging the comsumer later to fix it correctly. Ford needs to fix this problem. The vehicle was put in drive and that is when the power steering did not work. I had just dropped my 6 year old son off at school.

- Wellston, OK, USA

problem #524

Apr 042015

Escape

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering while rattled. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was then diagnosed that the steering column assembly needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 150,000.

- Plymouth, WI, USA

problem #523

Mar 022016

Escape

  • miles
I took my 2008 Ford Escape in for a recall on the electric powering steering on October 28, 2015. The Ford dealer reprogrammed the electric power steering. Lss..when I took the 2008 Ford Escape in for the recall I was under the impression that the sensor was going to be replaced. However the Ford dealer said they only had to reprogram it. February 26, 2016 I took my 2008 Ford Escape to be checked at a auto repair shop. I was told I needed a sensor for the electic power steering. The reason I took it to be checked was the steering wheel would shake and it was very hard to turn. Also it is hard to start. When you turn it over, it want do anything. Then when you try again it would start. I feel Ford took advantage of me. They had to know just reprogramming the electric power steering was not enough. Now I am left to pay for the repairs that should have been taken care of when I took it in for the recall. It seems like 2 or 3 months after I got this Escape paid for it went downhill. I have had it in and out of theshop every ssince.it is repair after repair on this vehicle. Its heartbreaking! especially when you have to pay out hundreds and even over a thousand for continuous repairs. The current issue with the steering wheel shaken would happen sitting still at a light, etc. Also the problem with the vehicle not wanting to start and having to retry to start the vehicle happened when you would try to start the vehicle to go somewhere. The issue being hard to turn happens when you are turning left or right on the road.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #522

Jan 152016

Escape

  • 77,382 miles
I was at a gas station and with absolutely no warning the steering wheel would not move. I had to leave the car and call a tow. When I called my dealer and told them that the recall they had fixed in August of 2014 was defective and I could have been killed there response was they fixed the problem (obviously they did not) as this was the same problem. They informed me I could not tow the car there as they did not have room and they could not take my car till mid March. The car was at a gas station they ran a test charged me $200 and could not fix it said only Ford could. I finally got a Ford dealer to take the car and was charged $1500 this is insane for almost getting killed on their neglect in the first place..

- Mt. Vernon, NY, USA

problem #521

Feb 262016

Escape

  • 120,000 miles
Power steering went out while stationary as I was fixing to leave on an in town trip

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #520

Nov 192015

Escape

  • 175,000 miles
I have my vehicle in to have recall 14S05 corrected. The dealer stated they only needed to update the software and send me on my way. Then as I was driving into work three weeks later, I lost all power steering control. I brought the vehicle back to the dealer and was told that I needed to pay out of pocket to have the torque sensor and steering column replaced to correct the issue. The two parts that I am being told that I have to pay out of pocket for are parts that are included in recall 14S05. After numerous calls to the dealer and Ford, I'm still being told that the recall for my VIN has been closed. If you need any other information to my situation, please let me know.

- Mount Vernon, ME, USA

problem #519

Feb 082016

Escape

  • miles
The steering wheel motor is not working

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #518

Feb 202016

Escape

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. When the contact started the vehicle, the steering wheel became extremely difficult to maneuver and the warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was driven without power steering capability. The vehicle was taken to two independent mechanics and both confirmed that the power steering motor and housing would need to be replaced. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #517

Jan 212016

Escape

  • 102,000 miles
Car lost all power steering with no warning while crossing 3 lanes of traffic turning onto a side street. We determined this issue was include in recall 14S05 and took vehicle to dealer to have it fixed. Dealer says Ford reprogrammed the power steering control module and considered the recall closed on my vehicle. The supposed reprogramming of the module was supposed to warn us if the power steering had a failure. No warning light or sound appeared before, during or after the complete loss of power steering. Ford would have replaced the torque sensor or the steering column had there been a power steering issue at the time the vehicle was taken in to address the recall. So basically if we had ignored the recall we would have been much better off. We would've been able to have the parts replaced by Ford but a year and a half later the parts they knew were going to fail are not covered by the recall. The only diagnostic trouble code showing up was B2278. Ford's service action document sent to dealers says if code B2278 appears you only replace the torque sensor. Our mechanic followed Ford's instructions and we had a dealership calibrate the steering sensor. Unfortunately the power steering still does not work. No diagnostic trouble codes are present at this time and the steering wheel is now turning all the way to one side without any input. The dealership that calibrated the sensor has charged us $110 to calibrate a sensor which did absolutely nothing, wants another $110 to diagnose what else could be wrong, and if we need to replace the $955 steering column will charge $275 to install it. How can this possibly be legal for Ford to issue a recall for over 700,000 vehicles and not fix the issue? and the fix they say they did on my vehicle failed to give any warning of the power steering failure.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #516

Feb 192016

Escape

  • 131,000 miles
August 2014 took my 2008 Ford Escape into local Ford dealer for recall notice recall 14S05 - power steering assist fault issue with torque sensor replacement - lindquist Ford dealership just upgraded a program into my Escape for abt 20-30mins, didn't check any parts for replacement, told me no parts were replaced there was no warning light so they didn't physically take the time to look. February 2016 - no engine light comes on but when I turn the key over for the last 6wks sometimes my Escape starts up sometimes, sometimes it does not with a notice "power steering assist fault" - as weeks went by, the steering wheel is shaking more randomly while driving and stopping. The only way to start my Ford Escape is by remote start to bypass the starter. Recently, I took my car into my local mechanic, after thorough investigation the torque sensor is cracked. I was told by Ford employees, 2 other local Ford dealerships & the mechanic to take the Escape back to the dealership who opened up the original recall back in August 2014. That original dealership did make a claim, Ford warranty denied the claim- the dealership didn't "choose" to tell Ford warranty they never looked at the recall parts in August 2014 they just did the upgrade, their liability "that's what the letter told them to do, no warning light no replacement parts". I paid $70+ for what the mechanic just did for free. That dealership did not check for any parts that needed replaced back on 2014. Not only did the dealership charge me $70, I took the Escape back to the local mechanic and paid $500 for a new torque sensor; same exact part falling under the recall "power steering assist fault". denied claim on 2/19/2016, reason- it's been over a year since my recall update was done the dealership should have been replaced the part back in 2014. I drive 2 cars, seriously?

- Rapids City, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?