Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
98,395 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 5 of 31)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #523

Mar 022016

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my 2008 Ford Escape in for a recall on the electric powering steering on October 28, 2015. The Ford dealer reprogrammed the electric power steering. Lss..when I took the 2008 Ford Escape in for the recall I was under the impression that the sensor was going to be replaced. However the Ford dealer said they only had to reprogram it. February 26, 2016 I took my 2008 Ford Escape to be checked at a auto repair shop. I was told I needed a sensor for the electic power steering. The reason I took it to be checked was the steering wheel would shake and it was very hard to turn. Also it is hard to start. When you turn it over, it want do anything. Then when you try again it would start. I feel Ford took advantage of me. They had to know just reprogramming the electric power steering was not enough. Now I am left to pay for the repairs that should have been taken care of when I took it in for the recall. It seems like 2 or 3 months after I got this Escape paid for it went downhill. I have had it in and out of theshop every ssince.it is repair after repair on this vehicle. Its heartbreaking! especially when you have to pay out hundreds and even over a thousand for continuous repairs. The current issue with the steering wheel shaken would happen sitting still at a light, etc. Also the problem with the vehicle not wanting to start and having to retry to start the vehicle happened when you would try to start the vehicle to go somewhere. The issue being hard to turn happens when you are turning left or right on the road.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #522

Jan 152016

Escape

  • 77,382 miles
I was at a gas station and with absolutely no warning the steering wheel would not move. I had to leave the car and call a tow. When I called my dealer and told them that the recall they had fixed in August of 2014 was defective and I could have been killed there response was they fixed the problem (obviously they did not) as this was the same problem. They informed me I could not tow the car there as they did not have room and they could not take my car till mid March. The car was at a gas station they ran a test charged me $200 and could not fix it said only Ford could. I finally got a Ford dealer to take the car and was charged $1500 this is insane for almost getting killed on their neglect in the first place..

- Mt. Vernon, NY, USA

problem #521

Feb 262016

Escape

  • 120,000 miles
Power steering went out while stationary as I was fixing to leave on an in town trip

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #520

Nov 192015

Escape

  • 175,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have my vehicle in to have recall 14S05 corrected. The dealer stated they only needed to update the software and send me on my way. Then as I was driving into work three weeks later, I lost all power steering control. I brought the vehicle back to the dealer and was told that I needed to pay out of pocket to have the torque sensor and steering column replaced to correct the issue. The two parts that I am being told that I have to pay out of pocket for are parts that are included in recall 14S05. After numerous calls to the dealer and Ford, I'm still being told that the recall for my VIN has been closed. If you need any other information to my situation, please let me know.

- Mount Vernon, ME, USA

problem #519

Feb 082016

Escape

  • miles
The steering wheel motor is not working

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #518

Feb 202016

Escape

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. When the contact started the vehicle, the steering wheel became extremely difficult to maneuver and the warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was driven without power steering capability. The vehicle was taken to two independent mechanics and both confirmed that the power steering motor and housing would need to be replaced. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #517

Jan 212016

Escape

  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car lost all power steering with no warning while crossing 3 lanes of traffic turning onto a side street. We determined this issue was include in recall 14S05 and took vehicle to dealer to have it fixed. Dealer says Ford reprogrammed the power steering control module and considered the recall closed on my vehicle. The supposed reprogramming of the module was supposed to warn us if the power steering had a failure. No warning light or sound appeared before, during or after the complete loss of power steering. Ford would have replaced the torque sensor or the steering column had there been a power steering issue at the time the vehicle was taken in to address the recall. So basically if we had ignored the recall we would have been much better off. We would've been able to have the parts replaced by Ford but a year and a half later the parts they knew were going to fail are not covered by the recall. The only diagnostic trouble code showing up was B2278. Ford's service action document sent to dealers says if code B2278 appears you only replace the torque sensor. Our mechanic followed Ford's instructions and we had a dealership calibrate the steering sensor. Unfortunately the power steering still does not work. No diagnostic trouble codes are present at this time and the steering wheel is now turning all the way to one side without any input. The dealership that calibrated the sensor has charged us $110 to calibrate a sensor which did absolutely nothing, wants another $110 to diagnose what else could be wrong, and if we need to replace the $955 steering column will charge $275 to install it. How can this possibly be legal for Ford to issue a recall for over 700,000 vehicles and not fix the issue? and the fix they say they did on my vehicle failed to give any warning of the power steering failure.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #516

Feb 192016

Escape

  • 131,000 miles
August 2014 took my 2008 Ford Escape into local Ford dealer for recall notice recall 14S05 - power steering assist fault issue with torque sensor replacement - lindquist Ford dealership just upgraded a program into my Escape for abt 20-30mins, didn't check any parts for replacement, told me no parts were replaced there was no warning light so they didn't physically take the time to look. February 2016 - no engine light comes on but when I turn the key over for the last 6wks sometimes my Escape starts up sometimes, sometimes it does not with a notice "power steering assist fault" - as weeks went by, the steering wheel is shaking more randomly while driving and stopping. The only way to start my Ford Escape is by remote start to bypass the starter. Recently, I took my car into my local mechanic, after thorough investigation the torque sensor is cracked. I was told by Ford employees, 2 other local Ford dealerships & the mechanic to take the Escape back to the dealership who opened up the original recall back in August 2014. That original dealership did make a claim, Ford warranty denied the claim- the dealership didn't "choose" to tell Ford warranty they never looked at the recall parts in August 2014 they just did the upgrade, their liability "that's what the letter told them to do, no warning light no replacement parts". I paid $70+ for what the mechanic just did for free. That dealership did not check for any parts that needed replaced back on 2014. Not only did the dealership charge me $70, I took the Escape back to the local mechanic and paid $500 for a new torque sensor; same exact part falling under the recall "power steering assist fault". denied claim on 2/19/2016, reason- it's been over a year since my recall update was done the dealership should have been replaced the part back in 2014. I drive 2 cars, seriously?

- Rapids City, IL, USA

problem #515

Feb 182016

Escape

  • miles
Ford Escape was stationary turned it on couldnt turn the steering wheel. Dont know what to do now :( just reading lots of complains about the same safety issue.hope I can get if fixed soon

- Garfield Heights, OH, USA

problem #514

Jan 162016

Escape

  • 95,726 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. When the vehicle was started, the steering lost power and the vehicle became difficult to drive. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer who explained that the recall repair that was performed two years ago was to reboot the computer system and had nothing to do with the steering. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that there was no recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 95,726.

- Alliance, NE, USA

problem #513

Aug 012014

Escape

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While at a stop light, the steering wheel began to vibrate and became very difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to steer the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who repaired the vehicle under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Bluesprings, MO, USA

problem #512

Nov 132014

Escape

  • 109,175 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 35 mph, the steering wheel seized and the service vehicle soon warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who reprogrammed the power steering control module (pscm) under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the pscm needed to be reprogrammed. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 109,175.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #511

Feb 092016

Escape

  • 167,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle became difficult to steer. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing; however, the details could not be provided. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 167,000.

- Kearneysville, WV, USA

problem #510

Feb 012016

Escape

  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The contact had not experienced a failure prior to having the recall repair performed. While driving 65 mph, an abnormal grinding noise was heard and the steering wheel shook without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering torque sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 133,000.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #509

Oct 052015

Escape

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 30 mph, the power steering failed. The contact stated that it required excessive amount of effort to steer the vehicle. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #508

Feb 042016

Escape

  • 115,000 miles
The power steering failed. According to the Ford dealer it is the power steering sensor which needs to be replaced. I have read many similar stories online about the same problem where like I was also driving and the power steering stopped working and I almost crashed.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #507

Feb 062016

Escape

  • 70,700 miles
Recall 14V284 was ineffective. Per Ford, the recall was administered on me vehicle on 18sep14. This was when the software was updated. The power steering on the vehicle locked in a left turn, in the snow, in Dec 2014. The steering column shuttered, as if the ABS was working. It righted itself and there wasn't anything on the dash advising a fault. Shortly after that it became hard to steer, but only temporarily. The diagnosis was no problem found. The power steering went completely out and displayed a fault. See attached 27jan15. Diagnosis, battery at fault. This has continued intermittently. The solution, pull over and restart, this solves the problem. Until now. The power steering went out. It locked up, shuttered, released and no power steering. This occurred on 06feb16. This was in a hotel parking lot and no one was injured.the vehicle was taken into service and the torque sensors were identified as needing replaced. I advised the ongoing situation and was referred to Ford. I contacted Ford at 800-392-3673. I was denied coverage. They were polite but still denied. I was told that they discovered no problem when they tested the system on the recall and it had been too long. If there were any investigations identifying further recalls I would be able to submit for reimbursement. I called the next day and advised the power steering failure of 27jan15 and was again denied coverage. While everyone was polite, the concern is still not addressed. Twice since the recall was performed the steering has locked in a turn. At least six times since the recall the vehicle has lost power steering capabilities in motion. As no one was hurt and there wasn't any property damage, I believe the situation is being overlooked.

- Mishawaka, IN, USA

problem #506

Feb 052016

Escape

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 9 mph, the wrench illuminated and the power steering failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000. Updated 04/29/16

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #505

Feb 102015

Escape

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving at approximately 55 mph, the steering wheel started to vibrate violently. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V238000 (engine and engine cooling). The failure mileage was approximately 140,000.

- Marriottsville, MD, USA

problem #504

Feb 082016

Escape

  • 122,000 miles
2008 Ford Escape, 122,000 miles. While driving on a city street, I got a message on the display "power steering assist failure" and steering wheel started shaking like this https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=F-lzbzsbo3U and then I lost power steering. After quick research it looks like there was a huge recall (almost million cars) for 2008-2011 Escapes, but mine was not on the list.

- Wheeling, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?