Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
98,395 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 7 of 31)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #483

Sep 102015

Escape

  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2008 Ford Escape that had a recall on it. After I took it in to the local Ford dealership, my car started having problems relating to the recall. After taking it to two different Ford companies and proving that the recall fix did not work and is causing problems, Ford refuses to authorize the other repairs that is covered under the recall, because one repair shop did the initial update. Now my car is having major problems, and I cannot afford to fix it. It is a safety issue. I have talked to 5 different people about the issue at Ford but they keep saying that the case number I provide the dealership should take care of it however it does not. Im a single mother of 3 with low income and if my cars power steering goes out at a crucial time I could potentially cause a serious accident.

- Pittsburg, CA, USA

problem #482

Jan 142016

Escape

  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was acknowledged that the failure was related to a recall however, the dealer refused to repair the vehicle because they were informed by the manufacturer that the recall had expired and the contact exceeded the time limit for the repair. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 133,000. The VIN was not available.

- Norton, MA, USA

problem #481

Dec 292015

Escape

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at 20 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 87,000.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #480

Jan 122016

Escape

  • 139,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver as the power steering assist fault warning light displayed. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to steer the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 139,000. Updated 04/14/16

- Alexandria, LA, USA

problem #479

Jan 112016

Escape

  • 103,136 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at 20 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the sensor and steering column failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 103,136.

- Woodbury, MN, USA

problem #478

Jan 042016

Escape

  • miles
My 2008 Ford Escape has lost power steering. It no longer works.

- Birch Run, MI, USA

problem #477

Jan 052016

Escape

  • 147,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 25 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. While accelerating from a stop and making a turn, the steering failed. After the vehicle was parked for a while, the steering returned to normal. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic where it was diagnosed that the torque sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 147,000.

- Millburn, NJ, USA

problem #476

Dec 312015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
On December 11, 2015 I had taken my 2008 Ford Escape to dealer for the 14S05 recall being that two days before my power steering had locked up. They did the software update now on December 31, 2015 I have no power steering at all. Took it back to dealer said torque sensor went out and is not part of recall. Its pretty unsafe that they recall this part but wont honor to fix it when they know its a problem with all these vehicles between 2008-2011. Why send a recall letter if the dealer isn't going to fix the problem and expect you to pay put of pocket for something they know is being recalled?? makes me very upset and unhappy with Ford and their vehicles if they can't make them safe for people to drive, they are picking the cheapest way to fix the problem with just the software update when the issue is more to do with the torque sensor in the vehicles. People are driving these vehicles thinking they are fixed when they are not, thinking we are in a safe vehicle and we are not because Ford doesn't want to honor the recall. Its ridiculous how Ford is doing this and not safe for drivers. Please help me and everyone who has had this issue with the recall dealing with the torque sensor get replaced...thank you.

- Sturgis, MI, USA

problem #475

Dec 292015

Escape

  • 150,000 miles
The car is equipped with electronic power steering. The vehicle started experiencing intermittent power steering issues where the steering wheel would shutter while driving normally at any speed (stationary or in motion, and on city streets or highways, while braking, etc - everything) and sometimes completely shut off power assisted steering all together making the vehicle extremely difficult to steer. The vehicle was taken to Ford for the recall procedure approximately a year ago from this posting, however, only a software update was performed. This seemed to temporarily fix the issues we were describing, but about 10 months to 1 year later the same issues started occurring. The vehicle has no power steering available and we were told that the torque sensor in the power steering unit needed to be replaced (implying that the pscm module was reporting a faulty sensor), but the procedure was not going to be covered by them since the car was previously 'serviced' by Ford for the recall. Had we waited about 10 months to 1 year before performing the first recall, everything would have been replaced as it should have been. Now, we are forced to replace the torque sensor for a quoted $550 - which they tell us may not solve the problem (although that is the only code that is being reported) and might have to replace the entire column. Identifying a recall procedure by only checking if the codes were present at the time of recall is not a guaranteed way to replace all faulty sensors. A more accurate way to find the faulty part is for Ford to analyze their data of faulty power steering vehicles and replace vehicles equipped with sensor serial numbers from specific ranges, manufacturing dates, and manufacturing locations.

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #474

Nov 302015

Escape

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the steering wheel seized. The contact had to maneuver to the side of the road. The vehicle was driven to an independent mechanic. The diagnosis was that the torque sensor of the steering column was damaged and needed replacement. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact also stated that the vehicle was repaired under a software manufacturers recall in 2014. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #473

Dec 182015

Escape

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 55 mph, the power steering seized without warning. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and then to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Prosper, TX, USA

problem #472

Dec 172015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure and the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The failure mileage was approximately 106,000. Updated 06/15/16 updated 06/15/16.

- Miami, OK, USA

problem #471

Nov 302015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the steering wheel seized. The contact had to maneuver to the side of the road. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the lower torque sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was ot repaired. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired under a manufacturer recall related to the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000. Updated 04/06/16 the consumer experienced two steering failures. The consumer was informed lower torque sensor needed to be replaced at a cost of $ $1500. Updated 04/20/16.

- Ortonville, MI, USA

problem #470

Nov 092015

Escape

  • 99,348 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning light indicator illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column and the power assist needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 99,348.

- Jacksonville, AR, USA

problem #469

Dec 022015

Escape

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving at various speeds or even at the initial start of the ignition, the steering wheel would lock. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the power steering would fail intermittently following the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Natrona Heights, PA, USA

problem #468

Dec 022015

Escape

  • 115,000 miles
Lost power steering. Vehicle was stationary. Dealer is claiming that B/C I brought it in to them 10 months ago and had the codes checked (none found at the time), that my recall coverage is now null and void. I would have been better off never taking it in for the recall, as the charges are around $1000 and are exactly what my car is recalled for (electric power steering assist failure.)

- Natrona Heights, PA, USA

problem #467

Nov 142015

Escape

  • 133,700 miles
I was driving around a corner (on a residential street) going about 20 miles per hour and the power steering went out and I almost ran into a brick mailbox--when it went out, a yellow wrench light came up on the dashboard. I had to have the car towed because the steering was completely locked up and the car was not driveable. Based on my discussion with the repair shop, this is related to NHTSA campaign #14V-284 -- Ford recall #14S05. The repair shop (midas) said it was a faulty torque sensor and indicated that it would need to be replaced at a cost of $889.30. I had the repair made, but I had to schedule a follow-up appointment with Ford because they had to do software updates because the steering wasn't completely right after the first repair. The vehicle has 133,700 miles on it.

- Lisle, IL, USA

problem #466

Oct 232015

Escape

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 20 mph, there was a vibration coming from the steering column without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions while driving at various speeds. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) but the vehicle failed to start after the recall repairs were performed. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 82,000.

- Germantown, TN, USA

problem #465

Dec 012015

Escape

  • 131,119 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle experienced a power steering failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 131,119.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #464

Nov 302015

Escape

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact mentioned that the dealer completed the recall for NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). Within 8,000 miles, the eps failed. The contact indicated that the steering wheel was extremely tight and difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who replaced the torque control sensor for the second repair and the third repair was the steering column, but the failure continued randomly. The manufacturer was notified of the failures and provided no permanent remedy to repair the condition. The contact indicated that the remedy for the recall was not sufficient and the failure could recur without warning. The approximate failure mileage was 87,000.

- San Diego, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?