Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
97,712 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 8 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #423

Aug 202014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 93,000 miles


My 2008 Ford Escape has been acting up lately. The power steering keeps on shaking on me all the time evening on the highway. I almost hit someone's car yesterday. I had a recall regarding power steering issue, after the recall which was about six months ago. I started experiencing my power steering shaking, I call Ford and complain about it and even take the car in for them to check the problem, since there was a recall regarding power steering, they where not helpful, they say it was a mechanical issue, now I am scared to drive the car because I have a 2 years old and I don't think it is save for me to drive the car. Please I need help regarding this issue. Lot of complains online regarding the same issue. There was no accident. I try to submit the form but the incident information ideas required.

- Brooklyn Park, MN, USA

problem #422

Feb 202015


  • 123,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving at various speeds, the steering wheel started to shake without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where it was diagnosed that the power steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The failure mileage was 123,000.

- Bowling Green, KY, USA

problem #421

Feb 222015


  • 77,424 miles
I was driving home when I suddenly lost power steering in my 08 Ford Escape. I did get a recall notice in the mail from fomoco in August for the problem. I took the vehicle to the Ford dealership in August 2014 to have the recall on the power steering taken care of. I now need to change the whole steering column due to failure of the electrical components that were supposed to be corrected by the recall. Ford Motor Company is now telling me a am responsible for all costs and they did their part. I feel that if they did their part correctly, I would not be in this predicament. Apparently their recall was not worth the time it took me to take it to the Ford garage. I am also reading on numerous forums that this is becoming a common problem with Ford Escapes that have had this recall done.

- Apollo, PA, USA

problem #420

Feb 232015

Escape 4-cyl

  • 96,000 miles


I was driving home turning into my subdivision and my power steering went out and I had to use all of my might to make the turn. I previously had the power steering recall performed 4 months prior. I called up the Ford dealership and they said it is not covered by Ford, only the software update they did on the recall. This is awful of Ford Motor Company especially after what has happened with General Motors. If I was on the highway, it could have been fatal.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #419

Dec 312014


  • 145,000 miles
My steering wheel has a shake while idling or while driving at a low rate of speed. This shake began just days after taking it in for the power steering recall issue. Which they supposedly fixed the steering shakes enough that it moves my arms while driving.

- Mount Pleasant, MI, USA

problem #418

Feb 172015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 25 mph and making a left turn, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was restarted and functioned as normal. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The failure mileage was 130,000. Updated 4/29/15

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #417

Feb 122015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles


This is a letter related to safety and quality. I am a 55 year old chemical engineer and am a longstanding customer of Ford cars. I presently own a 2008 Ford Escape and a 2014 Ford fiesta. Both vehicles were purchased new from dealerships in Illinois. Last week I was driving the Ford Escape on interstate 69 in Indiana, when the lower steering column universal joint failed. The "knuckle" completely disengaged, resulting in complete loss of steering. I was lucky to be able to brake and stop without incident, albeit coming to rest at a 45 degree angle on the shoulder. I feel I am lucky to be alive. I had the vehicle repaired at a ft. Wayne, in Ford dealership. I have the part if you are interested in seeing photos or would be happy to elaborate further on the circumstances. I would hate to think that this could occur to another vehicle with results far more catastrophic. Feel free to contact me.

- Bourbonnais, IL, USA

problem #416

Jan 222015

Escape 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
We took our Escape in on 12/10/14 for a recall for a possible power steering failure. There was no issues before the "fix" was done, after the dealership did the fix the steering wheel would move on its own and vibrate when sitting at a stop. Took it in for a battery and the steering wheel issue into the dealership informing them whatever they "fixed" need to be redone or reversed had no problem before they did recall reprogram. The dealership informed me that they did what was suppose to be for recall must be another issue. Took it home and a week later power steering went out on my husband when he was driving to work.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #415

Nov 182013

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owned a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 25 mph, the steering wheel seized. The contact lost control of the vehicle, crashed into an embankment, and collided with a tree. A police report was filed. The contact sustained a fractured tibia and a blood trauma to the face, which required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 4/13/15 updated 11/12/2015

- Bumpass, VA, USA

problem #414

Jan 152015


  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V284000 (steering); however, the dealer diagnosed that there was nothing was wrong with the vehicle and stated that the recall was closed. The contact stated that after the recall was closed, the vehicle had to be jumpstarted and the steering wheel seized. The failure occurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the battery would fail after three days and that the power steering control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 66,000.

- El Dorado Springs, MO, USA

problem #413

Nov 182013


  • miles


The contact owned a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel independently veered to the right causing the contact to crash. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and the contact sustained injuries to her legs, back, neck and face that required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was unavailable. 4/15/15

- Bumpass , VA, USA

problem #412

Jan 302015


  • 200,000 miles
There is no steering assist in the 2008 Ford Escape. The wheel is very hard to turn even while the vehicle is in motion. There was a recall performed in November (NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000) on the vehicle in which Ford updated the software on the power steering control module, but less than 2 months later the vehicle is very unsafe and nearly inoperable. I did open a case # with Ford directly. The case # is [xxx] and they are unwilling to assist. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Newborn, GA, USA

problem #411

Dec 042014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 103,440 miles
Vehicle was brought in for warranty repair at village Ford, dearborn (313-565-3900). Invoice reads electric power steering, cause 14S05; check for dtcs and reprogram the pscm and the ic module; 997595 work was started/finished on 2 Dec 2014. A couple days later, after the warranty repair, steering wheel began to vibrate and unless wheel is held tightly at all times the vehicle veers to the right. The problem has continued and seems to be getting worse with steering wheel problems seemingly due to the warranty repair. Updated 4/12/2016

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #410

Feb 042015


  • miles
2008 Ford Escape had the recall done for the power steering in September then in November I had everything checked because my gas pedal got stuck. Then I got the readout they gave me a list of all of the problems that were wrong with my vehicle which nothing appeared when they did the recall the torque sensor was one of them something that they should have replaced but told me since it didn't read at the time the software was the only thing that they could do and I had to pay for it in February the power steering went back in to manual they will not fix it at the dealership they tell me to call Ford. Ford tells me that there's nothing that they can do that there's an independent company that handles recalls the dealership tells me to call Ford so from September till now I put about 5000 miles on the vehicle I don't think I should have to pay for this the only thing I can think of is to take them to court along with Ford Motor Company I don't understand how they can find so many things wrong with my vehicle now when they had to do a diagnostic check and check the entire vehicle and did not find anything wrong at that time.all they did was software update I dropped it off and had it back in one hour and two months later they want me to pay for all these things wrong with my vehicle when I definitely suspect that everything was wrong with it at the time they just don't want to pay for anything and I definitely feel like the government should go after them.

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #409

Feb 022015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles
Recall 14S05 was performed but faulty sensor showed up 4 months afterwards and now Ford refuses to fix the problem as they claim the recall addressed the problem.

- Canfield, OH, USA

problem #408

Jan 272015


  • 138,000 miles
I submitted a complaint on February 2, 2015 in reference to the steering column locking up while driving my car to work. The car was towed to the repair shop and the service technician informed me that the codes were cleared and the car was tested and was drivable. He also told me that I would have to replace the steering column at the cost of $2,600. It was my understanding that after the recall repair was made back in August 2014, that there should be no other issues pertaining to the electronic steering assist or torque sensor module. After doing some research and reading a letter dated July 1, 2014 pertaining to safety recall 14S05 from the office of [xxx], director of service engineering operations, this letter instructed dealerships to "reprogram the power steering control module if no code was present, replace the torque sensor if code B2278 was present or replace the steering column assembly if code B1342 or B2277 is present". what the reprogramming of the power steering control module actually did was to program the steering column sensor to illuminate the wrench icon on the dashboard to let the driver know that the power steering assist was about to be disabled on the vehicle. This is still a safety issue! this is not a fix! when the vast majority of drivers take their vehicle to the dealership to be repaired, that is what they expect. The sick part of this reprogramming the module is that once this notification is made, the car is inoperable and Ford wants you to bring the truck back to the dealership to have that same steering issue repaired at your cost for $2,600. It is still a safety issue that Ford should have fixed, not reprogrammed your car to notify you that your power steering is about to disable. A recall should be issued to replace the steering columns on all 2008 Ford Escapes that experience this issue. That was a quick fix information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lanham, MD, USA

problem #407

Feb 022015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 106,500 miles
The power steering quit working. I have since discovered this is a common problem with this make and model. Ford Motor Company refuses to honor their recall #14S05.

- Lake Ozark, MO, USA

problem #406

Jan 302015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 86,625 miles
Power steering failed - had recall in August performed by Ford to prevent this but steering when out anyway. Took to Ford dealer who had to replace steering column any said I had to pay which they said it wasn't covered under safety recall (14S05). Fortunately she wasn't driving down highway when it went out!

- Grass Lake, MI, USA

problem #405

Jan 262015

Escape 4-cyl

  • 105,956 miles
Took my Ford Escape to dealer for the steering torque sensor, recall by Ford #14S05 in August 2014. The dealer did not get any "bad" codes, so they did a software update. On January 26, I could not steer my car. Fortunately, I was at a stop and not driving on the freeway. I had to have it towed to the local dealership. They said the steering torque sensor failed and I had to replace the entire steering assembly which is going to cost me $1200. Ford will not cover the repair because they said the "software update" was done. I have seen several other records of the same issue not being covered by Ford.

- Trabuco Canyon, CA, USA

problem #404

Jan 272015

Escape 4-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
While driving my vehicle into the parking garage at work, the power steering went out. My steering wheel locked making it difficult to pull into a parking space. I had the vehicle towed to my Ford dealership to find out why the steering wheel had locked up since I did have the recall repair done on the truck in August of 2014. The service rep told me that the torque sensor was bad and that they cleared the codes, test drove it and told me that it was ready to be picked up. The service rep told me that I would have to get my steering column replaced to the tune of $2,600. I drove the car to work that morning and the wrench lit up on the dashboard and the steering wheel locked once again. I find it hard to believe that I am going to have to come out of my pocket to pay for a repair for something I believe should have been covered by the initial recall especially since it was less than 6 months since I had the recall done. This vehicle is only 7 years old and it is ridiculous to believe that I should have to pay for a malfunction due to no fault of my own. So, as for now, the car is going to sit in a garage inoperable. Ford has got to do better.

- Lanham, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?