Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
98,104 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 8 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #435

Mar 102015

Escape 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Daughter was driving and when parking the vehicle, the power steering failed and power steering assist fault message displayed. Was told by dealership that my vehicle was not covered by recall of 2014 (purchased vehicle Nov 2014). Seems the same issue as was covered in recall.

- Peoria Heights, IL, USA

problem #434

Jan 302015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
Initially, the vehicle was taken to a dealership to investigate a pop in the steering column when turned to the left and an acceleration issue causing sputtering during climbs to higher speeds on the freeway. The acceleration issue was addressed and repaired at an out of pocket expense of $720. The steering issue was advised that it was caused from a defect that had prompted a recall that was not made known to the vehicle owner. The dealer ran diagnostics and determined that the vehicle steering programming was to be updated and that all issues would cease. Months later, first of the year, the vehicle was started at the owner's place of employment, proceeded out of parking space to the surprise of no power assisted steering, causing the current direction of the front wheels to guide the vehicle into a parking garage column and dislodging the front right bumper cover at the cover/fender seam. Owner returned vehicle to the park gear, disengaged the ignition, assessed the damage, and once again restarted the vehicle to the additional surprise of working power assisted steering. Owner has experienced this issue for a continuing four months, at random intervals, with seemingly increasingly frequency. Repair estimates are at the $1500. Range and once alerted to the similar experiences of same model owners, believes this is a defect of the recall solution for a defect.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #433

Jul 122013

Escape

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 30 mph, the power steering seized without warning. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was turned off. After restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the failure recurred seven months after the remedy was performed. The vehicle was repaired a second time by the dealer. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #432

Apr 142015

Escape

  • 144,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving at a low speed, the contact heard a beeping noise. The contact turned off and restarted the vehicle. After restarting the vehicle, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 144,000.

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #431

Apr 112015

Escape 4WD 4-cyl

  • 78,900 miles
While driving 2008 Ford Escape April 11, 2015 received a message light stating "power steering assist fault". now steering wheel shakes except when turning to the left. Steering wheel also randomly moves whiles driving. When driving over 35mph there is constant shake in steering wheel. In July 2014 the car was not having any power steering issues, but Ford recall notice Ford 14S05 was received and car was serviced by dealer for the recall on Sept 30, 2014 to change what the car does when the problem with the power steering assist occurs. I will need to take this a dealer to see if they will fix the root problem with power steering assist. In researching this problem, I see this is the most common problem on this vehicle. My complaint is that Ford did not fix the root problem with the power steering assist failure with their remedy for recall 14S05, but they only reprogrammed the car to report the problem differently. This is also same issue reported in official NHTSA investigation #DP15001.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #430

Mar 022015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 225,000 miles
Wife lost power steering and we took Escape to Ford dealer. There were no codes in the car's computer. Ford dealer updated software per Ford recall instructions. Approximately two months later, steering wheel was vibrating even while standing still and we received power steering warning from dashboard message center. Ford dealer said the car could lose steering entirely (not just power steering) if not repaired. We replaced steering column as described in recall. Again, there were no codes in the car's memory. Because there were no "codes" in the car's computer memory, Ford refused to pay for repairs as described in Ford's direction to dealers for the recall. I called Ford customer support multiple times to complain. Three calls to william Ford were unanswered. Ford made the process to obtain payment for the replacement of the recalled part very difficult. NHTSA should investigate Ford's process. How many steering columns were replaced", how many were paid for by Ford as part of the recall" they all should have been paid for by the recall!

- Stamford, CT, USA

problem #429

Apr 022015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving from pa to NY when the car said "power steering assist fault. The car drove fine while I was getting to my destination. Once there I parked it. Went out to start it again to go somewhere, and the steering was like driving a mac truck. I had to flat bed it back to Pennsylvania from New York. I got on line to see if there was a recall for the year make and model. There was, but not at the factory my car was assembled, so I wasn't notified on the recall. Speaking to my mechanic at wentworth auto sales in guys mills pa, he said that the factories were different, I feel that even though I have high mileage it should not have anything to do with the power steering. I found it disturbing that mine was not covered. This doesn't sound like a typical thing to happen to your car. The garage put a new steering angle torque sensor in. Parts and labor cost $347.71. They did not have to remove my steering wheel and do anything to the motor. I have my car back, but if something else happens to it, it may cost me up to $1,300. I called the Ford Motor Company and filed a formal complaint today, so they have record of the situation. I just would like to know if any other cars from the plant mine was assembled in have any issues. It was built in clay como Michigan. Some one suggested, I send out this complaint to you also. Sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Meadville, PA, USA

problem #428

Mar 172015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 97,001 miles
Total loss of power steering, wrench lamp came on dash, took to local Ford dealer, [ recall on reprogramming of this system was done within the last year] dealer had to replace electronic power steering assy[ steering column assy ] no warranty. $ $886.32 out of pocket. Note; seems to be a large problem on Ford side, 2008-2010 Escapes, they are not helping with costs, seems that every one who had the update [recall ] done, Ford Motor Company now will not even consider this issue. Need to be investigated, on line there are a lot of people who are in the same situation.

- Salem , MA, USA

problem #427

Mar 062015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 81,999 miles
What is your vehicle sales or service issue":we experienced a problem with our Ford Escape steering column. Our dealer is absolutely wonderful. This is not a complaint against them. Even though we had a copy of the recall, the dealer told us that it was not covered under the recall. I believe it should be. What action has your dealer taken to address the issue?:our dealer repaired the vehicle correctly and promptly. This is not a complaint against the dealer. I believe Ford should cover the repair under the recall and reimburse us for it. What assistance are you seeking from Ford Motor Company":refund of $1159.13 for steering column recall. Are you the owner of the vehicle :yes

- Bethpage, NY, USA

problem #426

Mar 252015

Escape 4WD 4-cyl

  • 131,000 miles
The steering wheel had been shaking and making a grinding noise for a few days. This occurred both while idling, and later while driving. Last night and this morning when the car was started, the message center said "power steering assist failure". I took the car to the dealership and was told that I would need my steering column replaced. I already had the recall that was issued last July (2014) completed at another dealership. I was hoping that since this was clearly an issue with the power steering that was included in the information from the recall that this would be also be covered by the recall. It was not and now costs $1,052.29 to repair.

- Grand Haven, MI, USA

problem #425

Mar 192015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 154,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering completely froze...unable to steer vehicle.

- Newington, NH, USA

problem #424

Jan 082015

Escape

  • 141,054 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While traveling approximately 40 mph, there was a sudden loss of power steering and the steering wheel became extremely tight. The contact pulled the vehicle over to the side of the road, turned off and restarted the vehicle to reset the computer. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who recalibrated the PCM and replaced the angle sensor. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 141,054.

- Hot Springs, AR, USA

problem #423

Aug 202014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
My 2008 Ford Escape has been acting up lately. The power steering keeps on shaking on me all the time evening on the highway. I almost hit someone's car yesterday. I had a recall regarding power steering issue, after the recall which was about six months ago. I started experiencing my power steering shaking, I call Ford and complain about it and even take the car in for them to check the problem, since there was a recall regarding power steering, they where not helpful, they say it was a mechanical issue, now I am scared to drive the car because I have a 2 years old and I don't think it is save for me to drive the car. Please I need help regarding this issue. Lot of complains online regarding the same issue. There was no accident. I try to submit the form but the incident information ideas required.

- Brooklyn Park, MN, USA

problem #422

Feb 202015

Escape

  • 123,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving at various speeds, the steering wheel started to shake without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where it was diagnosed that the power steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The failure mileage was 123,000.

- Bowling Green, KY, USA

problem #421

Feb 222015

Escape

  • 77,424 miles
I was driving home when I suddenly lost power steering in my 08 Ford Escape. I did get a recall notice in the mail from fomoco in August for the problem. I took the vehicle to the Ford dealership in August 2014 to have the recall on the power steering taken care of. I now need to change the whole steering column due to failure of the electrical components that were supposed to be corrected by the recall. Ford Motor Company is now telling me a am responsible for all costs and they did their part. I feel that if they did their part correctly, I would not be in this predicament. Apparently their recall was not worth the time it took me to take it to the Ford garage. I am also reading on numerous forums that this is becoming a common problem with Ford Escapes that have had this recall done.

- Apollo, PA, USA

problem #420

Feb 232015

Escape 4-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
I was driving home turning into my subdivision and my power steering went out and I had to use all of my might to make the turn. I previously had the power steering recall performed 4 months prior. I called up the Ford dealership and they said it is not covered by Ford, only the software update they did on the recall. This is awful of Ford Motor Company especially after what has happened with General Motors. If I was on the highway, it could have been fatal.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #419

Dec 312014

Escape

  • 145,000 miles
My steering wheel has a shake while idling or while driving at a low rate of speed. This shake began just days after taking it in for the power steering recall issue. Which they supposedly fixed the steering shakes enough that it moves my arms while driving.

- Mount Pleasant, MI, USA

problem #418

Feb 172015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 25 mph and making a left turn, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was restarted and functioned as normal. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The failure mileage was 130,000. Updated 4/29/15

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #417

Feb 122015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
This is a letter related to safety and quality. I am a 55 year old chemical engineer and am a longstanding customer of Ford cars. I presently own a 2008 Ford Escape and a 2014 Ford fiesta. Both vehicles were purchased new from dealerships in Illinois. Last week I was driving the Ford Escape on interstate 69 in Indiana, when the lower steering column universal joint failed. The "knuckle" completely disengaged, resulting in complete loss of steering. I was lucky to be able to brake and stop without incident, albeit coming to rest at a 45 degree angle on the shoulder. I feel I am lucky to be alive. I had the vehicle repaired at a ft. Wayne, in Ford dealership. I have the part if you are interested in seeing photos or would be happy to elaborate further on the circumstances. I would hate to think that this could occur to another vehicle with results far more catastrophic. Feel free to contact me.

- Bourbonnais, IL, USA

problem #416

Jan 222015

Escape 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
We took our Escape in on 12/10/14 for a recall for a possible power steering failure. There was no issues before the "fix" was done, after the dealership did the fix the steering wheel would move on its own and vibrate when sitting at a stop. Took it in for a battery and the steering wheel issue into the dealership informing them whatever they "fixed" need to be redone or reversed had no problem before they did recall reprogram. The dealership informed me that they did what was suppose to be for recall must be another issue. Took it home and a week later power steering went out on my husband when he was driving to work.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?