Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
98,104 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 9 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #415

Nov 182013

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 25 mph, the steering wheel seized. The contact lost control of the vehicle, crashed into an embankment, and collided with a tree. A police report was filed. The contact sustained a fractured tibia and a blood trauma to the face, which required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 4/13/15 updated 11/12/2015

- Bumpass, VA, USA

problem #414

Jan 152015

Escape

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V284000 (steering); however, the dealer diagnosed that there was nothing was wrong with the vehicle and stated that the recall was closed. The contact stated that after the recall was closed, the vehicle had to be jumpstarted and the steering wheel seized. The failure occurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the battery would fail after three days and that the power steering control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 66,000.

- El Dorado Springs, MO, USA

problem #413

Nov 182013

Escape

  • miles
The contact owned a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel independently veered to the right causing the contact to crash. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and the contact sustained injuries to her legs, back, neck and face that required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was unavailable. 4/15/15

- Bumpass , VA, USA

problem #412

Jan 302015

Escape

  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is no steering assist in the 2008 Ford Escape. The wheel is very hard to turn even while the vehicle is in motion. There was a recall performed in November (NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000) on the vehicle in which Ford updated the software on the power steering control module, but less than 2 months later the vehicle is very unsafe and nearly inoperable. I did open a case # with Ford directly. The case # is [xxx] and they are unwilling to assist. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Newborn, GA, USA

problem #411

Dec 042014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 103,440 miles
Vehicle was brought in for warranty repair at village Ford, dearborn (313-565-3900). Invoice reads electric power steering, cause 14S05; check for dtcs and reprogram the pscm and the ic module; 997595 work was started/finished on 2 Dec 2014. A couple days later, after the warranty repair, steering wheel began to vibrate and unless wheel is held tightly at all times the vehicle veers to the right. The problem has continued and seems to be getting worse with steering wheel problems seemingly due to the warranty repair. Updated 4/12/2016

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #410

Feb 042015

Escape

  • miles
2008 Ford Escape had the recall done for the power steering in September then in November I had everything checked because my gas pedal got stuck. Then I got the readout they gave me a list of all of the problems that were wrong with my vehicle which nothing appeared when they did the recall the torque sensor was one of them something that they should have replaced but told me since it didn't read at the time the software was the only thing that they could do and I had to pay for it now.now in February the power steering went back in to manual they will not fix it at the dealership they tell me to call Ford. Ford tells me that there's nothing that they can do that there's an independent company that handles recalls the dealership tells me to call Ford so from September till now I put about 5000 miles on the vehicle I don't think I should have to pay for this the only thing I can think of is to take them to court along with Ford Motor Company I don't understand how they can find so many things wrong with my vehicle now when they had to do a diagnostic check and check the entire vehicle and did not find anything wrong at that time.all they did was software update I dropped it off and had it back in one hour and two months later they want me to pay for all these things wrong with my vehicle when I definitely suspect that everything was wrong with it at the time they just don't want to pay for anything and I definitely feel like the government should go after them.

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #409

Feb 022015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall 14S05 was performed but faulty sensor showed up 4 months afterwards and now Ford refuses to fix the problem as they claim the recall addressed the problem.

- Canfield, OH, USA

problem #408

Jan 272015

Escape

  • 138,000 miles
I submitted a complaint on February 2, 2015 in reference to the steering column locking up while driving my car to work. The car was towed to the repair shop and the service technician informed me that the codes were cleared and the car was tested and was drivable. He also told me that I would have to replace the steering column at the cost of $2,600. It was my understanding that after the recall repair was made back in August 2014, that there should be no other issues pertaining to the electronic steering assist or torque sensor module. After doing some research and reading a letter dated July 1, 2014 pertaining to safety recall 14S05 from the office of [xxx], director of service engineering operations, this letter instructed dealerships to "reprogram the power steering control module if no code was present, replace the torque sensor if code B2278 was present or replace the steering column assembly if code B1342 or B2277 is present". what the reprogramming of the power steering control module actually did was to program the steering column sensor to illuminate the wrench icon on the dashboard to let the driver know that the power steering assist was about to be disabled on the vehicle. This is still a safety issue! this is not a fix! when the vast majority of drivers take their vehicle to the dealership to be repaired, that is what they expect. The sick part of this reprogramming the module is that once this notification is made, the car is inoperable and Ford wants you to bring the truck back to the dealership to have that same steering issue repaired at your cost for $2,600. It is still a safety issue that Ford should have fixed, not reprogrammed your car to notify you that your power steering is about to disable. A recall should be issued to replace the steering columns on all 2008 Ford Escapes that experience this issue. That was a quick fix information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lanham, MD, USA

problem #407

Feb 022015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 106,500 miles
The power steering quit working. I have since discovered this is a common problem with this make and model. Ford Motor Company refuses to honor their recall #14S05.

- Lake Ozark, MO, USA

problem #406

Jan 302015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 86,625 miles
Power steering failed - had recall in August performed by Ford to prevent this but steering when out anyway. Took to Ford dealer who had to replace steering column any said I had to pay which they said it wasn't covered under safety recall (14S05). Fortunately she wasn't driving down highway when it went out!

- Grass Lake, MI, USA

problem #405

Jan 262015

Escape 4-cyl

  • 105,956 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took my Ford Escape to dealer for the steering torque sensor, recall by Ford #14S05 in August 2014. The dealer did not get any "bad" codes, so they did a software update. On January 26, I could not steer my car. Fortunately, I was at a stop and not driving on the freeway. I had to have it towed to the local dealership. They said the steering torque sensor failed and I had to replace the entire steering assembly which is going to cost me $1200. Ford will not cover the repair because they said the "software update" was done. I have seen several other records of the same issue not being covered by Ford.

- Trabuco Canyon, CA, USA

problem #404

Jan 272015

Escape 4-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
While driving my vehicle into the parking garage at work, the power steering went out. My steering wheel locked making it difficult to pull into a parking space. I had the vehicle towed to my Ford dealership to find out why the steering wheel had locked up since I did have the recall repair done on the truck in August of 2014. The service rep told me that the torque sensor was bad and that they cleared the codes, test drove it and told me that it was ready to be picked up. The service rep told me that I would have to get my steering column replaced to the tune of $2,600. I drove the car to work that morning and the wrench lit up on the dashboard and the steering wheel locked once again. I find it hard to believe that I am going to have to come out of my pocket to pay for a repair for something I believe should have been covered by the initial recall especially since it was less than 6 months since I had the recall done. This vehicle is only 7 years old and it is ridiculous to believe that I should have to pay for a malfunction due to no fault of my own. So, as for now, the car is going to sit in a garage inoperable. Ford has got to do better.

- Lanham, MD, USA

problem #403

Mar 012014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
I was driving to work and the steering column started to vibrate and then the power steering went completely out. My vehicle was doing the same thing last summer and I received a mailed postcard with a power steering recall. I took it to my local dealer and they reset a sensor. It had been working fine until two weeks ago. The power steering has gone out several more times for short periods. I called Ford regarding the issue and they told me they could do nothing for me this time & that the repairs would be at my expense. I feel as if the power steering going out is a safety issue and because of the recall from last summer, Ford should be responsible for fixing it. Updated 09/23/15.

- Galena, OH, USA

problem #402

Jan 222015

Escape

  • 128,000 miles
I went to my Ford garage at about 100,000 miles complaining that the power assist steering stops working sporadically. With no warning the car steers manually, with no lights that go on. After starting the car sometimes it would drive fine and sometimes it would revert to manual steering. Took it to the garage knowing something was wrong and they tested it and told me there was nothing wrong with it. Again it happened at about 115,000 miles and when they tested it they said nothing was wrong with it. I told them there is something wrong with it, whether the code is showing up or not. About 2 months and 123,000 miles the vehicle was recalled for power steering assist fail, which I knew was the problem with the car from the beginning. At that time, they said again, they performed the recall and nothing needs to be fixed. Now at 128,000 miles the power assist fail light comes on and stays on and I only have manual steering. I took it to the garage for which I thought would be covered repairs and they stated that Ford will not cover the steering column replace, which is needed, because the recall sensor was replaced the last time I was in. To me that is not fixing the problem at all, it is simply now able to tell me there is something wrong with the vehicle, which I knew about over 28,000 miles ago. The garage says it is totally up to Ford to decide if they will pay for the recall and they say that they are not responsible. This is not how a recall should be repaired. They are not covering what is actually wrong with the vehicle, just the sensor that tells you something is wrong. According to my paperwork when I received the recall, if repeated problems the steering column should be a covered recall by Ford.

- Whitelaw, WI, USA

problem #401

Jan 082015

Escape

  • 145,000 miles
2008 Ford Escape. While driving, the steering wheel would start to shake and the steering was slightly drifting to the right. Made an appointment with the Ford chapman dealership in warminster, pa who wouldn't 'see' the car and schedule an appointment for 2 weeks away. Driving into work Thursday morning, 22-Jan-2015, the "power steering assistant failure" light came on. After work, when I went to leave, my car wheel wouldn't turn at all so I called the dealership. Steering wheel was now in 'manual' mode. Dealership said to drive it to the shop. Dealership said the steering sensor has failed again, the column needs to be fully replaced, but isn't covering it, which costs ~$1,500 plus a rental car. Ford Escape had an initial steering sensor fail in 2014.

- Warrington, PA, USA

problem #400

Jan 152015

Escape

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was remedied under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) but the problem has recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Butler , PA, USA

problem #399

Jan 242015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 110,898 miles
My car was serviced at century Ford mt. Airy on 11/14/2014 at 110,472 miles for Ford recall 14S05. Ticket showed recall work was "completed". on 1/24/15 at 110,898 miles, the power steering failed and almost caused me to crash. Luckily, I was able to force the steering wheel to avoid the accident. Obviously, the work being conducted by Ford to correct this steering failure issue under recall 14S05 is not working. The NHTSA needs to investigate what type of work Ford has done on my car and others that is not correcting the problem. Ford may just be completing a "software update" to update the software for the power steering control module (pscm) and the instrument cluster module system that is not correcting the problem and the entire steering system my need to be replaced to avoid such system failures in the future. Updated 04/13/15......updated 10/15/15

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #398

Jan 092015

Escape

  • 105,493 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician was unable to determine the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 105,493.

- Odessa , TX, USA

problem #397

Jan 232015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
After the recall on the power steering for the 2008 Ford Escape we have had numerous issues. Moses Ford of St. Albans, wv said the computer must re-set. At 7:30 a.M. on 1/23/15 the power steering went out. Ford Motor Company states we must pay for all repairs even though a problem has existed. Was told that some cars had to have complete system replaced because of problems. This comment was made when I contacted Ford Motor Company. The computer was just re-programmed on mine.

- Poca, WV, USA

problem #396

Jan 142015

Escape

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the steering wheel began shaking uncontrollably. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that steering column electric motor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Hadley, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?