Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,819 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #67

Feb 092010


  • 21,000 miles


Tccf transmission cooler condenser failure- July 16,2008 repaired; -leaking -slipping on shifting-had very little transmission oil on dip stick when repaired at dealership under the 36,000 limited warranty--after 4 days July 20, 2008 wife was rear ended by a dwi traveling at estimated more than 75 to 80 mph(my wife traveling on a state highway at normal regulated speed of 50 mph) -damages of over $13,500 to our car-all shop and repairs done by Ford dealership, our only shop and service place for this Escape 2008. On February 9, 2010(at 21,000 miles later the 2nd tccf-leaking fluid seen in snow-dealership after contact with replaced and repaired under good will customer plan of the dealership. They also replaced on our complaint of a "clacking" type noise, a steering right front assembly at no cost to us) there evidently a tsb on it. In addition we have a heating-cooling flow of air from our heat and air vents problem-temperatures not as we regulate them.. the dealership had replaced a actuator in behind dash(have record of that along with all service dates on Ford ownership home page-believe it about on previous service for oil change) on completion of recent repairs and our vehicle returned to us on February 18, 2010 we advised the service manager of the continuing air-heat regulator problem-advised they would reexamine it on next service or at our convenience. The dealership has stood behind the Ford, we must admit that-but our inconvenience and the so many that have seen by others on the internet seem to warrant a recall as to all three related problems--some of which seem to be related to the same tcc problems.

- Mayslanding, NJ, USA

problem #66

Feb 262010


  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the transmission fluid was leaking and caused the transmission to fail. The contact was driving 3 mph when the vehicle stalled in middle of the road while she continued to depress the accelerator pedal. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer to be repaired. The contact was concerned that she was responsible for paying the repair cost since she has a power train warranty up to 60,000 miles on the vehicle. The vehicle surged forward while engaging the brakes at a traffic light. The vehicle has also rolled backward when she was driving uphill. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 42000 and the current mileage was 42000.

- Wayne, WV, USA

problem #65

Feb 152010


  • 92,000 miles
2008 Ford Escape - transmission line / condenser leak causes car to stall. This is all over the web and is a common problem. Ford has tsb's on this (#08-5-7, #08-16-12, #09-9-4). This a serious safety issue and should be the subject of a recall before people get killed when this occurs on the highway! see

- Fallbrook, CA, USA

problem #64

Feb 182010


  • 48,000 miles


2008 Ford. Escape transmission cooler. It is leaking fluid and is very dangerous. It causes the transmission to fail. I am surprised Ford has not done anything about this matter. I have read hundreds of complaints and failures.

- Cornelius, NC, USA

problem #63

Feb 182010


  • 37,500 miles
Automatic transmission fluid cooler faulty. Causes vehicle to jerk forward suddenly while accelerating. Vehicle has 37,000 miles and has followed all regular service. Ford dealer states the part is not covered under warranty.

- Minnetonka, MN, USA

problem #62

Feb 132010


  • 43,000 miles
Over the last several weeks I noticed my car running sluggish and jerky with no pep at all going up hills either. On 2 occasions my car almost stalled as I was pulling from a stop sign which almost caused 2 accidents. I also began noticing oil spots on my driveway. I thought I might have an oil leak since I just had an oil change about a month ago. When I called the dealer to explain my situation the Ford tech. Advised it had nothing to do with my oil change but rather a problem with my transmission fluid and A/C condenser. I questioned the tech on how he can diagnosis the problem so quickly with out even looking at the vehicle and he advised Ford has tsb for this. I brought the car in for service and asked if this is a recall or covered under my warranty. I was advised it was neither and that I needed to pay for the repairs directly. The dealer replaced part # 818Z19712J. I did some research on line and found numerous complaints with the same vehicle year and make dealing with the same problem I'm dealing with ie: Transmission & ac condenser.

- Sussex , NJ, USA

problem #61

Feb 082010


  • 49,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while at a stop light before entering the freeway. When he tried to move forward after the light, the vehicle completely shut down. The contact shifted to neutral and re-started the vehicle and the problem seemed to correct itself. He noticed the problem again and was able to re-start the vehicle almost immediately. There were no warning lights on the dashboard indicating a possible reason for failure. He took the vehicle to the dealership and the dealer told him that there was a flaw in the design of the vehicle and a leak in the transmission fluid compartment and the radiator was also destroyed. He was also told that the radiator, air conditioning condenser, the transmission fluid compartment and other components (not known to the contact) needed to be replaced. He called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The manufacturer offered to cover half of the repairs if he signed a contract stating that he would no longer complain about the problem. The vehicle was being repaired at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 49,000.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #60

Feb 012010


  • 27,412 miles
Leased 2008 Ford Escape in March 2008. Mileage is 27,412. Noticed atf fluid leak on driveway right side of car near front. Opened the hood to find the entire right front side of the engine compartment was covered in atf fluid. Trans fluid level at very bottom of dip-stick. Washed out the area to check for leak and found at trans cooler. Took vehicle to dealer for repair. They said they couldn't find source of leak and kept for 3 days eventually replacing the trans cooler per tsb 09-09-04 and overhauling the trans. Forward clutches burnt from low fluid level. Fortunately this happened while still under 36mo/36K mile warranty. Did some quick internet searches to find this is a very common problem with this vehicle with most happening around 40K miles and out of warranty. This is absurd that Ford knows about the problem with two or three tsb's yet chooses not to recall/repair.

- Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, USA

problem #59

Jan 252010


  • 38,500 miles
I have a 2008 Ford Escape just past warranty at approx. 38,500 miles. First I noticed a jerk upon take off at a stop sign. Then it did it again another time. Then we noticed a puddle of transmission fluid in my garage. My husband (a mechanic) has diagnosed that the transmission fluid cooler is leaking. Currently making arrangements to get it fixed. This vehicle is way too new to have a big repair bill like this. I see that many other owners are having the same problem.

- Browns, IL, USA

problem #58

Dec 142009


  • 38,117 miles
2008 Ford Escape - : drove vehicle without any problems for 10 months. All of a sudden vehicle would not go into any gear with the exception of park. Had experienced no problems with this whatsoever prior to this incident. Had vehicle towed to dealership that it was purchased. Transmission repaired under drivetrain warranty, service department said the inside had blown apart. Warranty did not replace but did repair. Trans. Condenser and cooler assembly replaced, not under warranty, (missed bumper to bumper warranty by 2,000mls). This part 8L8Z19712J is the new part replacing the cooler. Ford service bulletin on this problem #tsb 09-9-4. fluid leaked under hood, could have been a real problem if I had not chosen to have it towed.

- Salem, AR, USA

problem #57

Jan 302010


  • 51,400 miles


We own a 2008 Ford Escape XLT. The transmission cooler suddenly began to leak and leaked out all of the fluid. The vehicle is still under the 100K power train warranty. We researched on-line and discovered that this is a common problem with this vehicle and has been going on for over 3 years. Ford would not honor repairs under the power train warranty saying it is "not an internal part." This defect is very dangerous since it can cause a total failure of the transmission which could cause a crash. We ended up having to pay Ford $675.34 to make the needed repair.

- Wimberley, TX, USA

problem #56

Jan 302010


  • 29,750 miles
Transmission fluid leak, making transmission fluid leak. Causing little to no fluid. I was told this was the 4th or 5th vehicle, in the past month. That the dealership has seen with the same problem.

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #55

Jan 292010


  • 40,000 miles
Purchased new in 06/2007, 2008 Ford Escape. Transmission cooling system leaking due to rust. Discovered at 40,000. This was due to defect in cooling system, not wear and tear as explained by Ford service manager. Warranty expired at 36,000. Cost for repair $800. Problem may have occurred during warranty period, but not discovered until 40,000. Feel this should be covered, initial service bulletin issued 03/01/08.

- Laurens, NY, USA

problem #54

Jan 142010


  • 51,703 miles
Developed leak in automatic transmission cooler on 2008 Ford Escape. Led to no shift in traffic condition.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #53

Oct 102009


  • miles
I have a 2008 Ford Escape was sitting at a stop light and when I started to go forward it just rolled back and then lunged forward barley missing the car in front of me. I finally noticed a leak coming from the from end of the car took it to Ford and they said it was a common problem there are 100S of people with the same prob Ford refuses to fix the issue saying it wasn't covered after 36K there should be a recall Ford should own up to there poor workmanship too many people with same problem.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #52

Jan 052010


  • 44,000 miles
The transmission/ A/C cooler is bad (per the my local Ford dealer) and leaking transmission fluid at a rapid rate which could cause transmission failure. My wife and kids travel in this vehicle and do not want to them to be injured or worst, killed because Ford want own up and replace this part. The cooler has transmission fluid running thru it and it keeps the transmission from overheating and failing, so it is part of the transmission and Ford needs to replace it free of charge. My vehicle only has 44,500 miles on it; this is way to soon to have a transmission problem, unless it has had abuse, which it hasn't. my local Ford dealer wants $ $800 to fix the problem and I am not paying it. I am going to keep the fluid topped off until they recall it. It's is not right to have this many complaints and not do something about the problem. Unfortunately it will probably take someone getting killed before anything is done!

- Wendell, NC, USA

problem #51

Dec 262009


  • 37,500 miles
Leaking transaxle fluid from condenser.

- Trussville, AL, USA

problem #50

Jan 042010


  • 37,800 miles
My 2008 Ford Escape had experienced major transmission slippage due to a faulty transmission oil cooler. There appear to be numerous complaints about faulty transmission oil coolers for 2008 Escapes. I understand that a tsb has been issued by Ford to its service technicians; however, the general public is unaware of the problem that creates a major safety concern. In my case, the cooler developed a leak shortly after 37,800 miles of use. The leak caused the transmission oil to drop below an acceptable level for the transmission to function properly. I noticed the slip when entering onto a highway (us rt 22). The slip caused a major delay in the acceleration of the vehicle and almost resulted in major accident. I had my 2 young children in the vehicle at the time. The transmission oil cooler is currently being replaced. Although the part appears to be an integral part of the transmission it is not covered under the manufacturer's 5yr/50,000 mile powertrain warranty. Instead, the part is covered under the vehicles general 3yr/36,000 mile warranty. The cost of my repair was $930. Ford appears to be aware of this common occurrence as evidenced by the tsb but there has yet to be a recall. Although a crash and/or death were not my end result, it easily could have been. Please take the time to investigate and ensure that the problem is resolved. Thank you.

- Maplewood, NJ, USA

problem #49

Dec 212009


  • miles
Transmission fluid leaking from transmission cooler. Have to replace the transmission / ac cooler with new one. Part # 8L8Z-19712-J.

- Chatham, LA, USA

problem #48

Dec 072009


  • miles
2008 Escape needing major transmission repair, only 16,000 miles with light city driving.

- Beverly Hills, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?