Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,165 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Ford Escape drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 6 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #152

Aug 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 79,121 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down the highway when suddenly my Ford Escape began shaking and felt as if something fell out from under it (speed at this time was 55 mph). I lost gas pedal responsiveness. I coasted into a parking lot. The check engine light was on. It was spitting and sputtering. I sat there a few minutes, put it in gear, and pressed the gas pedal. It was as if the gas pedal was not being applied at all. I called my husband who suggested I put it in park, turn off the switch, and he would tell me when to restart the engine. When I started it back up the check engine light was on but it drove like nothing had happened. I had a diagnostic test ran (not at a Ford co.). no problems were detected and the light went off later. I had no more problems until 8/20/2013. The powertrain warning light came on. I was on the way to the local Ford service center. I had to coast to the side of the road multiple times, stop, put the vehicle in park, turn it off, and restart the engine. I had to do this at least 35-40 times enroute to the service center which was only 3 miles from my starting point (speed was 5 mph-45 mph). I got to the service center, parked the vehicle, and walked in. Service tech asked if he could help me. I said, "I'm having problems with my car shaking and loosing power. It's like it's in neutral. The check engine light is on and the powertrain light came on. I coast to the side of the road, put it in park, turn it off, and restart it. Then I can go again." The service tech said, "your vehicle is either a Ford Explorer or a Ford Escape." I said, "that tells me this happens a lot. It's an Escape. Is there a recall on it"" he said, "no." I said, "I have an extended warranty on my vehicle check to see if the problem is covered"" he checked and said, "you have coverage (warranty is 72/100,000 cpo powertraincare wty w/roadside) but it doesn't cover the problem."

- Morehead City, NC, USA

problem #151

Sep 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
I drove at a constant speed (approx 30-35 mph) and all of a sudden wrench light came on and I could not accelerate. Rpms did weird things, gas pedal didn't do anything, putting it in neutral in a drift down speed did nothing, park did nothing. Engine never stopped, ac and radio worked...just couldn't accelerate. I finally made it to the side of the road, put it in park and shut off the engine. Started it again (started right up), light was gone and vehicle ran fine the rest of the way home. Was very dangerous because I lost power in an intersection. Scary because my 7 year old was with me.

- Hillsboro, MO, USA

problem #150

Aug 212013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Since I purchased my 2009 Ford Escape in November 2011, my car would occasionally just as I began to move after a stop sign or make a turn after stopping. About a year ago, my car had stalled in the middle of a street with the electricity out. This August, the car completely stalled (the electricity was still on) an onramp to interstate 81. I was able to restart it and attempt to go home, but when I turned left after stopping at a light, the car stalled again. The local Ford dealership said, " verified concern, pulled code P2112 throttle body stuck closed, performed all of the pinpoint tests and the throttle body failed the functionality test, removed air tube and found the throttle is very slow to respond to commands."

- Mechanicsburg, PA, USA

problem #149

Sep 072013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Randomly the orange wrench light will come on and the car will lose power and shut off. I have to stop the car and then it restarts. This has happened in the middle of a freeway and was lucky to get to the side pull off. Very random as it once happened twice in a day and then again a week later. This has been a recurring problem in multiple Ford in doing research on line. Why has this not been recalled? problem seems to be the throttle body. Very dangerous. I have car at the dealership now and waiting their response.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #148

Aug 272013

Escape

  • 89,600 miles
On August 16 I was driving into work on the highway when all of a sudden my Ford Escape lost gas pedal responsiveness and the power train warning light came on. I coasted to the side of the road and stopped. Restarted and everything was ok. Took it into my mechanic the next day and he couldn't find anything wrong with it. Over the next week the same issue happened 5 more times in random places while driving. Each of these times it would make a sudden shake and then the engine light would come on, gas pedal won't work till I stopped and restarted the engine. I was unable to take it back to my mechanic till the end of the following week and was hoping I could survive till then but on August 27 while I was turning left in a busy intersection it happened again. The person behind me rear ended me causing major damage to their car and minor damage to mine. I was luckily able to get out of the intersection by slowly inching across it with everyone honking at me. That was the final straw. I did some research online and figured out that this was actually a known problem with an open investigation (PE13003) and multiple known complaints. My mechanic confirmed that my research was right when he ran a diagnostic check and got error code P2112. He replaced the throttle body for $650. This is a serious issue that caused an accident. Ford needs to issue a recall before someone gets seriously injured or killed.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #147

Sep 052013

Escape

  • 51,000 miles
I was driving down the street and stopped at a stop sign. My car began to sputter a bit then lost power - did not shut off completely but the gas pedal would not respond. Wrench light came on. Shut the car off and started it back up again without a problem. About a 1/4 mile down the road, same thing happened and check engine light came on. I was low on gas, so I thought that might be the problem. Filled the tank the next morning and the check engine light went off, drove fine to work. Left work, went to pick my son up, and on the way home (about an hour of driving), the car did the same thing it had done before. This time, I was going a lot faster and in the middle of traffic. Very scary and very dangerous. It took me about 6 times of shutting the car off and starting it up again to get home (which was only about 4 miles away).

- Beaufort, SC, USA

problem #146

Sep 042013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On the morning of Sept 4, 2013- I was making a turn at about 20 miles an hour. I had just about completed the turn when I was engaging the gas peddle to continue on, but the car was running and it wasn't going. I was able to coast off the road. I turned the car off. I started the car back up and had power from the peddle again, so I proceeded up the street only to have the same thing happen to me again, as I was turning at the next very busy intersection. I was lucky that there happened to be a gas station on the right side of the road. I pulled in and turned the car off. I contacted the Ford dealership where I purchased my car to have them come tow my vehicle, and verify the reason for the incidents. I was informed that it is the throttle body, and it will need to be replaced. The part is on back order, but I am paying an extra fee to have it expedited. I am very lucky that on both times this happened, another vehicle was not right behind me, because I would have been rear ended and possibly injured.

- Greenwood , IN, USA

problem #145

Aug 312013

Escape

  • miles
We were driving along at a steady pace of 60 mph all of sudden there was a shudder felt by everyone in the vehicle and the wrench light came on. The car would not accelerate and dropped speed very quickly, and also making a jerking motion. Luckily, there was no one behind us, we pulled over to the side of the road, and shut off the vehicle. Popped the hood to see what was wrong and could not find anything. We turned the car back on and the wrench light was on and the vehicle ran just fine. Doing research online found that this is a throttle body issue. I just want to say that if this would have happened while someone was behind us, there would have been an accident as we would have been rear ended. Something should be done about this.

- Slayton, MN, USA

problem #144

Sep 012013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
While driving home with family on Sept 1st, 2013, our 2009 Ford Escape decelerated quite rapidly from 45-50 mph to 0 mph within 10 seconds and wrench warning light came on. We were able to safely pull over and turn off engine. We waited a minute and it started back up again (no wrench warning light was no longer on) and we were able to make it home. It appears to be a faulty throttle body.

- West Linn, OR, USA

problem #143

Aug 212013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 42,925 miles
I was accelerating & at approx 50 mph the car jerked, a wrench symbol came on & I started loosing speed. I coasted to the shoulder of the road & cut the car off. I let it sit a few minutes & restarted it. The car drove fine to my destination but when I left to return home, it did the same thing again. The next day my mechanic ran the scanner but no codes showed up. About 3 days later I experienced another incident & not only did the wrench symbol come on but an engine symbol also. My owners manual said this meant "service engine soon". I had just had the oil changed and everything checked a few days before all this started! this happens at different speeds and on flat land or inclines. This is scary because you never know when or where your car is going to lose power & cut off. I took my car back to my mechanic & he cleaned the throttle body. He said it was extremely "gunked up" for a vehicle that only had 43,000 miles on it. $186.85 later I prayed this would fix the problem. On my way home I lost power twice. Once was on a very busy highway. I was in the right lane & traffic was speeding towards my right side coming from an exit ramp. I had to Dodge the traffic with my power failing & "limp" to the shoulder of the road. I'm still not sure how I made it to the side of the highway without getting hit! my mechanic was upset as well because the problem was not obvious and he felt responsible for putting me in danger. After more investigation we stumbled upon the fact that I am not alone! several people have had this problem! so much so that the throttle body is a very hard part to locate. After much searching, I was informed that a throttle body had been found and my car could be repaired for $588.26. I hope this recall will soon be approved because this is a very dangerous problem and I would hate for people to be killed before the severity is recognized.

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #142

Sep 012013

Escape

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2009 Ford Escape with 55,000mi started stalling at lower speeds along with a jerky idle. Just recently the car began stalling at freeway speeds, twice in one day. Well after researching my problem and reading countless complaints that were in the exact nature as mine came to believe it was the throttle body. I called my dealership and asked if they've replaced a lot of these parts and the response was "ohh yea". you can't buy this part anywhere but at the dealership which is about $300. If you want it installed I saw an avg. Between $500-$600. If your in my position and need your car to run safely, buy the part and install it yourself. It literally took my 15min to install very simple, look on youtube or whatever and at least save yourself $200-$300. I got the throttle body for $250 shopping around. And to rub salt in my wound the guy who sells me the part was like" if you would've bought this part 2mos ago it was $100-$150 cheaper"!" great...after removing the part the new one is different, slightly, so they tried to fix the problem. My real concern is a serious accident can happen when your car totally dies on the freeway, frequently! and after all the complaints I've read about this matter that no recall was ordered. Also ppl keep your receipt if there is a recall we want our money.

- Euclid, OH, USA

problem #141

Aug 312013

Escape

  • 37,000 miles
As I was driving down the highway, my car surges and then starts to slow down. I push the gas but nothing happens. The wrench sign pops up and I immediately exit and try to make it to the side of the road. Putting the car in neutral and pushing the gas pedal does nothing now either. Shut the car off and continue driving. Drive for not even a mile and it happens again. Shut it off and drove home without an issue. Searched the web and I can see this happens a lot. Just bought the car certified pre owned the day of the incident. Hoping its covered under powertrain warranty, if not I don't know what ill do. This is a dangerous issue and needs to be fixed. Its happening to so many people. Very very upset dealership would sell me a car knowing that this issue existed.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #140

Aug 302013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
I will suddenly lose all throttle power while driving down the road. It doesn't matter what my speed is when this happens, and it happens every time I drive my vehicle but at random times. My power steering and power brakes will be fine, but I will have no throttle at all. I can push the gas pedal all the way to the floor and I feel no response and get no response from the vehicle. After a computer check, the displayed code showed that there was a problem with the throttle body. I have had the throttle body cleaned but the problem persists. It appears to be the same problem that many other owners have had and the same problem covered by recalls, just not on my model year.

- Somerset, KY, USA

problem #139

Aug 302013

Escape

  • 46,500 miles
Two times today, while I was driving, my 2009 Ford Escape stalled while I was driving. The first time I was in the middle of an intersection around noon on a six lane road, and the second time luckily I was in my neighborhood. This is ridiculously unsafe, and Ford has taken no responsibility.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #138

Aug 262013

Escape

  • 58,500 miles
I was driving approx 60 mph when my car jumped down to approx 25 mph and wrench light came on. I had to coast to side of road to get off highway. When I shut the car off and restarted it I was able to drive to saftey but then it happened again and car had to be towed to the Ford dealer for them to charge me $585 and replace the throttle body. I have read this has happened to many people and this really should be a recall.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #137

Aug 272013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 72,888 miles
On 8-27-13, I was driving on the interstate to work, traveling 65mph, when my vehicle made a sudden surge and then lost speed. The RPM gauge went completely down and my vehicle would not accelerate. I was almost rear ended due to the sudden decrease in speed and not being able to do anything but swerve into the median. I turned the vehicle off and let it set for a second or two and when I cranked it up, it was fine. I am now terrified to drive this vehicle. This was probably the single scariest thing I have ever been thru.

- Chatham, LA, USA

problem #136

Aug 232013

Escape

  • 95,000 miles
I was driving about 45 miles per hour, felt a jolt in the vehicle and acceleration began to decrease rapidly, no matter how hard I pressed on the gas. I luckily was at a low-traffic spot with a veer-off area nearby that I was able to coast over to with my four-ways on. I was able to avoid traffic. The throttle/powertrain light came on as the vehicle came to a stop. I was able to turn the vehicle off as it was lightly shaking, turn it back on with no issue, and slowly drive the vehicle about 3 miles to the nearest Ford dealership. They were able to (next day) verify my fears that it was the pending recall issue, the throttle body had gone bad. They replaced it for $620 (including labor) within 2 hours and told me to hold onto my receipt because there would most likely be a recall. They told me that they've replaced many of these lately. I'm very lucky that I wasn't on the highway with many vehicles moving at a high speed around me, or else I could have been injured if I couldn't find a place to pull off.

- Allentown, NJ, USA

problem #135

Aug 142013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
On Aug 14, 2013, I was headed home from work driving approximately 40 mph on flat land, when I lost acceleration power, I pulled over into a parking lot placed it in park where it ran very rough, the wrench indicator appeared, then I turned the car off, waited a few seconds and cranked the car and everything was fine again. Approximately 4 miles later in my trip the same situation happened, I was traveling about 50 mph and a slight incline. Approximately 7 miles later in my trip, while at a slight decline, traveling approximately 45 mph the same thing happened again. I then took my Escape to the shop. They had it for two days driving it about 25 miles and they could not get it to duplicate the problem. I picked up my Escape Friday August 16, 2013, night (after the shop closed) didn't make it 3 miles from the shop, while traveling at about 60 mph, I lost acceleration power, the wrench light came on, I pulled over put it in park and again very rough idle, turned it off waited a few seconds, cranked it back up and it drove fine with no issue until this morning August 23, 2013, while traveling at approximately 40 mph on a slight incline in traffic, I lost acceleration power, the wrench indicator light appeared, I pulled into the center gore put it in park - while in park it runs extremely rough, sputtering and spitting, turned it off, waited a few seconds and cranked it up and came on into work with no issues.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #134

Aug 222013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 67,153 miles
[xxx] I was driving 25-30 mph when motor went to idle, gas pedal didn't work and no power to transmission. This caused me to almost wreck. My fast thinking saved my life. I was able to steer the vehicle to a safe place in a major intersection. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Ebensburg, PA, USA

problem #133

Aug 142013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
My wife owns a 2009 Ford Escape purchased new from a dealer and there have been so many issues with the vehicle I question if there wasn?T some type of flaw in the manufacturing process or at the very least, some type failure in the quality control process. Within weeks of purchasing this Ford Escape we had to take the vehicle back to the dealer for an oil leak and transmission problems. After 2 or 3 trips to the dealer, the oil leak was fixed but the transmission issues (2 overhauls and then replacement) continued for years. Thankfully, Ford covered and the dealer covered 2/3 of the cost of the second transmission overhaul and almost all of the cost for the transmission replacement. All of this work was completed at the Ford dealer ship in meter Georgia. Nice folks, we have no issue with the dealership. Approximately 6 months ago, due to low engine power and using oil, we had the vehicle worked on at a local shop. That total cost for repair was 1600 dollars. Last week due to a massive oil leak we had to have the vehicle towed in a local shop. The Ford Escape appears to have a cracked timing belt cover. Having never heard of a vehicle having a cracked timing belt cover, I decided to do some research; a cursory internet search reveals many, many complaints of 2009 Ford Escapes with cracked timing belt covers. For our vehicle this will make five major repairs and numerous minor issues in a vehicle not 4 years old!! there has to be some manufacturing process with these vehicles. VIN [xxx] 2009 Ford Escape XLS information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lyons, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?