Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,174 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 10 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #83

Jun 272013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 31,750 miles


While traveling at 60 mph on the highway I suddenly lost all power. I coasted the car across a lane of traffic to the right lane of the highway. I could not pull out of traffic because this part of the highway has no shoulder and is bordered by a concrete wall or fence. The right-lane traffic came to a stop while I restarted the car. After I restarted the car, I proceeded down the freeway, but before I arrived at the next exit, the car stalled again. I feared for my safety and for the safety of other drivers. I experienced a similar incident on 6/20/13 and reported it to At that time, I took my car to the local Ford dealer who services my car. The dealer stated that the problem is related to the throttle body. The problem is so common to Ford Escapes that there is a 3 week backlog for ordering a replacement part. In the meantime, the dealer reprogrammed the PCM (power control module?) for $118 as a temporary fix. Apparently, the fix was very temporary. My car is too dangerous to be driven until the throttle body is replaced. For the safety of myself and other drivers, I cannot risk driving the car to work. How many lives must be placed at risk before a recall is issued to correct this defect?

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #82

May 072013

Escape 6-cyl Diesel

  • 79,818 miles
I purchased a 2009 Ford Escape from suncoast Chrysler Jeep Dodge on 5/7/13. My salesman [xxx]took me on test drive in the vehicle, which had 79818 miles on it. Right away, the vehicle began to putt-putt, and act like it doesn't want to accelerate, yet the RPM shot up. It ended up cutting off on us around the corner from the dealership. Rob managed to get it back started and told me he will have service dept check it out while I worked on paperwork with finance guy. From May 7th until the vehicle finally broken down for good on June 27th, the vehicle has continued to have problems, and cut off 5X since my purchase. I called [xxx] and told him that car is still not running well and he came to my job and pick up vehicle for service. He brought it back with a clean bill of health and even said don't worry, it has a warranty. Two weeks ago I called and spoke to [xxx], the used vehicle manager and told him that the vehicle had cut off on me at least (4) times and although they gave it a clean bill of health, I am still convinced that something is wrong. He told me to bring vehicle back in. I know that a vehicle should not get up to 4-5rpm's, especially a newer model vehicle, so I decided that I wanted to take the vehicle to a Ford dealer or anybody else because I didn't trust them to tell me the truth about what was really wrong with the vehicle. Unfortunately, I didn't make the time to get the car checked out and the result is that the vehicle is broke down, incapable of not moving except for a few feet before cutting off. I had the vehicle towed into the dealership on 6/27 I was told by the service dept that the throttle body was defective, and a new throttle body was not available and they are on back order with a month wait and that over 900 of them were being requested at this time and they don't understand why Ford has not put a recall on them. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #81

Jun 032013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 64,638 miles
Electronic throttle body failure - 2009 Ford Escape [xxx] first time: Driving 35 mph and all of a sudden power, no acceleration. Luckily I was not rear ended when the vehicle lost power. I had to coast into a parking lot, shut off the truck for 5 minutes, restart and drove home which was less than 1 mile away. Next day ran okay, next day no power, no acceleration. Took to dealer on June 7, 2013 and they did a diagnostic test and gas fuel induction flush because the electronic throttle body part was unavailable for replacement. Second/third time: Leaving for vacation. Got about 5 miles from home and nothing, no power, no acceleration. Coasted into a parking lot and the car lurched...luckily I had my foot on the brake. Took vehicle to dealer and the truck is still there because they do not have the part to fix it. It has been parked at the dealership waiting for the electronic throttle body part to fix the issue for over a week. So far I have spend $278.37 for a diagnostic test and gas fuel induction flush and still have an unsafe vehicle due to an electronic throttle body failure. Ford you need to fix this and reimburse our expenses related to this dangerous safety issue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lorain, OH, USA

problem #80

Jun 242013


  • 72,000 miles


I was driving and came to a stop sign, turned left and pressed the gas and my car wouldn't go, all lights and gauges were normal but the gas pedal all the way to the floor wouldn't make the car go so I coasted off to the shoulder and almost made it out of the road. I tried calling several tow truck company's for roadside assistance and didn't get an answer. After about 20 mins, I tried cranking the car. All parts ran normal, all gauges normal, so I drove it to work and then called the Ford dealership where they told me that is was the throttle body.

- Lugoff, SC, USA

problem #79

May 232013


  • 80,000 miles
I was on the interstate, approximately 6:30am, going 70 in a 65 zone. The radio was on, so I heard nothing strange, but suddenly, with no warning, my car lost the power moving it forward. I did not lose control of my 09 Escape. The steering remained ok, as did the brakes, but my car suddenly lost power in the engine to keep my car moving forward. As if maybe I had run out of gas - but there was no sputtering and I was not low on gas. I kept pressing the gas pedal thinking maybe there was trash in my gas line, but there was no change in the way my vehicle behaved. I was slowing down fast, but could steer myself to the shoulder of the highway. I turned the engine off, waited a minute or 2, and tried to start again. It took a minute to catch, but it finally did and I drove off. 5 miles down the highway, it did it again. Again, I struggled to the shoulder in heavy traffic, turned the engine off and waited. I was 50 miles from home in a rather remote area and I was scared. Again, I started my Escape - again it took a minute, but it did start and I made it all the way home without another problem. I drove directly to my local Ford dealership and my car his been there 36 days. I call every other week to check on the status of the part. They never have any news of the part coming. They have given me an excellent loaner car to drive, but this is not right. They tell me 1000's of people had the same part go bad across the us. We're all waiting. Just this morning, they say they now have a shipping number for the part we all need. They tell me 7 of us are waiting for the same part here in my small town. They hope the part will be here today or tomorrow. My local Ford estimates the repair cost to be $450. Surely this should be a recall item.

- Goldsboro, NC, USA

problem #78

Jun 222013


  • 69,115 miles
While traveling at 45 mph on a busy road, the engine stopped responding to the accelerator and began decelerating. The throttle/power-train warning light was activated. I had to pull over the the shoulder of the road to avoid being hit by other traffic. The car began jerking forward as though it was trying to accelerate on its own. I shut off the engine for a minute and once I restarted the car, the warning light was no longer illuminated. The next day (6/23/2013) I drove to my closest Ford dealer and they diagnosed the problem as a faulty throttle body. The service advisor informed me that the part was currently backordered and that they had 15 other Ford vehicles currently waiting for inventory to arrive. The cost of repair is $473. The mechanic cleaned out the carbon from my throttle body as a temporary fix until the part arrived. Two days later (6/25/2013), as I was driving 55 mph, the same problem occured and I was forced to pull over and restart my vehicle. While driving back to the Ford dealership the next morning to get a rental car, my car stopped responding as I was crossing train tracks (and I was able to restart the vehicle). Now my car is currenly sitting at the Ford dealership and I am paying an additional $33 a day for a rental car while I wait for the part to arrive (estimated to be 10-13 days). NHTSA action # DP12006.

- St. Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #77

Jun 062013


  • 61,256 miles


While driving the engine suddenly would no longer respond to the gas pedal and would not accelerate. After pulling over and restarting the car, the problem went away. However, after a few days the problem happened twice more, this time with the engine completely shutting off while idling at a stop light and while driving slowly down a neighborhood street. The garage determined there to be a problem with the throttle body and it needed to be replaced.

- Haymarket, VA, USA

problem #76

Jun 162013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
On Sunday, June 16, 2013, I was driving near topeka, Kansas, in a Suburban area with my wife, 5 year old daughter & 6 month old son in our 2009 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 25 mph the vehicle stalled while driving. Luckily we were not on a high traffic street so we were able to pull over to the side of the road, shut off the vehicle, and restart the car successfully. The Escape continued on without issue back home to lawrence, Kansas. The vehicle was driven around lawrence without any issue until Friday, June 21, 2013. On this date my wife had to commute from lawrence to Kansas City, Kansas, for work-related training. On her trip to Kansas City (kc) the vehicle stalled while driving at highway speed (60+ mph). She was successful restarting the vehicle but it stalled once again while in kc. She drove the Escape to shawnee mission Ford to see if diagnostics could be run on the vehicle, but there was not enough time left in the day to perform the full diagnostics. A service technician test-drove the vehicle and while driving it stalled once again. Because carseats for our two children were located in the Escape, my wife had to drive from kc back to lawrence so our family would have these items on hand. While driving from kc to lawrence the vehicle stalled once again at highway speed (60+ mph). Once back in lawrence the vehicle was dropped off at laird noller Ford, and on Saturday, June 22, 2013, it was determined by their service staff that the throttle body was defective. This part is currently on national backorder, so we could be without our primary family vehicle for more than 3 weeks. This will result in hardship on the family and could result in major financial costs if a rental vehicle is needed for the entire period we are without our primary family vehicle and could have resulted in serious injury or death as a result of this defect.

- Lawrence, KS, USA

problem #75

Jun 222013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 86,500 miles
Driving in town and it just had nothing... pushed on accelerator and it would not do anything. Car did not stall out, sounded like it was going to but didn't. still had all power just would not move when giving it gas. ***took to mechanic error number shows bad throttle body part***

- Cave City , AR, USA

problem #74

Apr 192013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 22,028 miles
On April 19, 2013, I was driving out of the parking lot from my home. I stopped at the exit to wait for traffic to clear. I gave it gas it jerked and I was no longer able to accelerate the car. The wrench icon came on. I was able to basically crawl back to my home. It felt like it would if U put the car in neutral where it would just coast slowly. The next day I started the car and it went back to normal. It happened again a few days later & I took it to Ford. They said nothing was wrong (no code on computer). That visit cost me $497.89 this happened again on 06-20-13 again driving locally maybe 25 mi/hr.& took to Ford. After researching online I see it's a common prob. I had them chg the throttle body. (my bother is a mechanic) of course my warranty didn't cover this prob. That visit was another $368.49. This car has 23K mi on it. I hope this problem has been fixed.

- Jamaica, NY, USA

problem #73

Jun 232013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 83,590 miles


I was driving home from work and had driven about 3.5 miles when I was turning left going about 10-15 mph. My car suddenly lost acceleration and the wrench illuminated. I panic because I was on a street where there was no area to pull off the road. I looked in the rearview mirror to make sure that there were no other cars behind me and put on my hazard lights and turned off the engine. After about 30 seconds I turned the engine over and it sputtered to life, but then the wrench warning light illuminated again and I could not accelerate. Cars were coming behind me and I tried my best to give them room to drive by, which was hard as the right side of the street was bumper to bumper with parked cars. After the cars passed me, I turned off the engine again and waited about 30-45 seconds and the engine came to life and I was able to drive home without another incident.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #72

Jun 152013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated while driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle stalled and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 76,000.

- Dublin, GA, USA

problem #71

Jun 142013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
P2111 error per computer - throttle actuator stuck open. Vehicle will not accelerate and engine shakes violently, feels like it wants to stall, but does not. Needs to be shut off and restarted to accelerate again. Problem has now happened 6 times in the last 2 days.

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #70

May 152013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Approximately one month ago, while slowing to make a right-hand turn, the vehicle seemed to lose all power; no acceleration, etc. I managed to get on the side of the road, put the vehicle in park, and turned the engine off. When I restarted the engine, everything seemed fine. About 2 weeks later when pulling out onto a main highway, the same thing happened, except this time the "wrench" light came on, and the vehicle started lurching and shaking extremely hard. Again, I got to the side of the road (fortunately no volume of traffic), put vehicle in park, turned engine off, and restarted - wrench light gone and all seemed ok. Two days ago, same thing happened 4 times within a two mile trip, again fortunately no traffic volume. I had the vehicle towed to the local dealership, and no surprise it was the throttle body, which was replaced at my expense. I see this problem is widespread, and potentially very dangerous. Ford should be required to issue a recall before someone gets seriously hurt or killed.

- North Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #69

Jun 172013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 26,035 miles
Electronic throttle body circuit board failed (Ford mechanic's diagnosis) while approaching a traffic light. Car had been having constant speed surges while driving in 3-4 gear powerband and was serviced. Everything seemed fine until a couple of weeks later when the throttle became unresponsive. Ford is replacing the TB assembly with what I fear is the exact same part; week and a half wait for the part, no loner car, no warranty coverage.

- Huntsville, TX, USA

problem #68

Oct 192012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 43,317 miles
On 10/19/2013 after picking up my car for the 3rd time at Ford for transmission problems I was driving on the interstate at approximately 55mph, vehicle lost power, all the lights on the dash turned on including a wrench symbol. I took it to back to the Ford dealer where they kept it and stated it was repaired, the second incident was on 06/10/2013 where I was almost involved in a terrible accident because it happened again while I was on the interstate at a speed of 55mph. The vehicles behind me where not aware I had lost power causing a back up until I was able to get the car to the side of the road. Ford says its a throttle problem which is now not covered because I am now over 60K miles, therefore I have to pay to get it fixed.

- Harriman, NY, USA

problem #67

Jun 042013


  • 87,000 miles
I was driving on a residential street at 30mph, when I lost speed control. The car lunged forward and while it was still on(the engine), I could not accelerate. I coasted into a gas station and put the car in park. The engine was at a very low idle and it sounded as if it were going to cut off. I also got the check engine light on the left side of the dash. A guy looked under the hood, there was no smoke, nothing leaking, or anything. He turned the car off, then back on and the light was gone and I could drive it again. I was going to take it out to westway Ford and it did it again before I got there. They told me they could not look at the code because when I turned the car off I reset it. They did inform me however that it was most likely the throttle body and among other things that they recommended it would cost me $1286 to fix. Do not have that kind of money!

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #66

Jun 132013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 53,361 miles
This has happened to me on 8 occasions in rapid succession. In all instances, I am driving along as usual, and all of a sudden, my accelerator becomes non-responsive. The car is still running, but I am quickly losing speed, I cannot accelerate, and the engine does not rev when I press on the accelerator. I must stop the car, put it in park, turn it off, and restart the car in order to "fix" the problem and continue driving. Simply putting the car in neutral, turning it off and restarting it will not remedy the situation.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #65

Jun 052013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 59,975 miles
I accelerated from a stopped position and in approximately 100 feet the accelerator stop working. The engine did not die but the vehicle would only idle at a slow pace. I stopped the car, put in park, turned off the engine and then restarted. The accelerator worked at that time and I continued onto the highway with no problem. I was traveling at 75 mph for about 10 miles when the accelerator stopped working again and the vehicle slowed to an idle. I repeated the same process as before, stop, put in park, turned off engine and restarted. The accelerator worked again and I continued on 10 miles and made it home. The next available day the vehicle was taken to the Ford dealership. I experienced (2) of the same scenerios listed above along my 6 mile route to the dealership. After (2) days the problem was diagnosed as a defective throttle body with a $574 price tag to repair. The service person stated this was not covered under warranty or a recall item. She then stated that the part was on a "national backorder" and would not be available for another month. This leads me to believe this is happening alot!! I have read several articles on the internet about this same type of issue happening to other Ford Escapes, varying years and was surprised there has not been a recall. The incident started when I was out of town, headed toward home at approimately 11:00 pm. It could have been an even more dangerous situation if I had lost power trying to turn across traffic or was on a much busier highway when this happened. I hope others are aware of this website.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #64

Nov 212012


  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled as the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice where the failure was unable to be replicated. On the third occasion, it was diagnosed that the electronic throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 56,000 and the current mileage was 70,000.

- Houston , TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?