Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,280 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Ford Escape fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #84

Jan 082013


  • 130,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While exiting the vehicle, the contact noticed a vapor leak from the fuel tank that evaporated. The contact also stated that the fuel system warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000. The VIN was not provided....updated 02/03/16..updated 03/15/16

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #83

Jun 032014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
It laid over and was powerless. It also was sputtering before the car laid over.

- Nashville, GA, USA

problem #82

Jun 142014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
While driving down the road at 45 mph the car lost power and began to coast to a stop even with the gas peddle to the floor.

- Frederick , MD, USA

problem #81

Jun 112014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles


Driving when suddenly check engine light flashed, battery light, and oil light all blinked after which engine was running but unable to accelerate. Was able to pull off to side of road placed in park again tried to rev engine nothing happened. Turned car off then turned back on and car ran as usual check engine light remains on taking to dealership tomorrow.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #80

Jun 062014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 101,040 miles
Going to left turn lane. No response from accelerator. Engine still running. Switched of, then switched back running again. Got home, it switched of again.then same as 1st time.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #79

Jun 012013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 60,100 miles
Was driving then felt "back fire" then the wrench light and check engine light came on and I couldn't accelerate at all. Never lost control just hit brakes to turn on road and pull over. Turned off car and restarted it and revved the engine. Went another mile and it did the same thing again. Took it to a local mechanic to have it checked out because I thought maybe I had gotten bad gas but was told it was the throttle body. Taking it too dealership Friday June 6th.

- Hutchinson, KS, USA

problem #78

Nov 282013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles


I was on hov lane on lie driving to my parents. As I was coming off to reg lane, my engine stalled. Fortunately, the other car was far away able to stop. I changed gear into park and restarted the car.

- Flushing, NY, USA

problem #77

Mar 062013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 45,547 miles
Driving down the road at approximately 45 mph and truck had a momentary loss of power, like it was not getting fuel. Did not stall and we continued down the road. It happens at various speeds and sometimes once and other times multiple times. Gear and speed do not appear to be a factor. On two of the worst cases the power train / throttle control "wrench" light was illuminated, but of course after turning off vehicle and starting it back up and driving to dealership, the light was off and the truck ran fine. Nothing was found the first time it was taken in. The second time I pressed them about it and they came back with over $975 worth of needed replacement parts (throttle body, mass air flow sensor, fuel injector flush and spark plug replacement @ 56,000 miles.

- Bettendorf, IA, USA

problem #76

Mar 012014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 69,500 miles
While coming to a stop at a major intersection with a car in front of me, my 2009 Ford Escape suddenly accelerated and would not stop, despite my frantic efforts to brake the car; I swerved to my right, went through 6 inches of snow on grass curb and then went up a 5 ft. Ice bank, where my wheels jammed in the ice and I stopped, sitting at nearly a 45 degree angle, 5 ft. Above the road. My front bumper was mangled in the ice bank and my passenger-side mirror was broken off by a stop sign. If not for the snow bank, I would have continued into the very busy intersection, where I and other drivers would have undoubtedly been injured or killed. I want to emphasize that despite hitting the brake, the car with unintended acceleration problem, did not stop, it kept going until hitting the snow-ice bank.

- Wayne, PA, USA

problem #75

Sep 302011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
I first purchased this vehicle in Sep 2010. The problem was when I was stopped or made a turn coasting slowly, when I attempted to accelerate the engine did not kick in for a second or two. When it did it jerked hard and felt like it slammed into gear. The dealer could never id the problem and put it off as normal. Then very recently I have had the vehicle not respond to the gas pedal. It keeps the RPM's at an idling level but does not respond to the accelerator pedal-like you put it in neutral. This has happened twice now. When I shut the engine off and restart it appears to self correct. This happens while I'm driving slowly once and again when I was at a stop and tried to accelerate. I have not yet taken to a dealer yet.

- Ojai, CA, USA

problem #74

Mar 042014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles


Car lost power. Pulled off to side of road, engine would idle only. Throttle body had gone bad.

- Winstonsalem, NC, USA

problem #73

Jan 082014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
This was the third incident, vehicle stops running for no apparent reason, wrench light illuminates... power lost in engine. After stop, engine sometimes starts, sometimes requires longer wait time to start... vehicle still under 5 year 50 K warranty, taken to Ford dealership.... they want $ 440 to fix the problem.... before someone gets killed in this vehicle.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #72

Nov 182013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 45,700 miles
While driving the vehicle lost power and wrench light came on. When came to a stop the vehicle ran rough at idle and surged. Car taken immediately to Ford and they misdiagnosed. After that it continued to do it multiple times on city streets and interstates. The car would have no power and the engine would not accelerate when I would step on gas. Had to shut the engine off and restart to make anything work. After that I took it to Ford again. This time they replaced throttle body-air intake and also throttle body and motor assembly.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #71

Nov 292013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 39,998 miles
My car lost acceleration in an intersection going about 15 mph. The engine was running slow and rough. The throttle had no effect on engine speed. After about 10 minutes of rough idling, the vehicle was turned off and I was then able to immediately restart the engine and it was able to drive home. This appears to be a known fault with the Ford Escape and could result in accidents. My understanding is that this is a known design problem with the throttle control system on the Escape.

- Longwood, FL, USA

problem #70

Nov 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 30,268 miles
Traveling at approx 5-10 miles an hour. Pulling out of stop sign. Vehicle without warning felt like it stalled. Could not accelerate. I coasted to curb and put in park. A warning light on dashboard showed a yellow wrench. I turned car off. Waited 30 seconds. Started and light was off, car normal. Took to dealer. Diagnostic code said electronic throttle. Did not have fixed immediately. Next day did it two times in less than five miles. Now engine light on second time of occurrence. I am afraid to drive. Could be on highway. Could pull out in front of on coming cars and it stalls. Get broadsided.

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #69

Nov 212013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 87,210 miles
While driving on Monday 11/18/13 my wife was stopping then went to accelerate and the vehicle stalled. Upon turning it off it restarted just fine. This happen 3 more times from then to Tuesday evening. I drove it to work Wednesday 11/20/13 and while accelerating on to hwy 94 the vehicle stalled. It did hesitate upon restarting but started and ran. Wednesday evening on our way home doing approx 30mph the vehicle stalled and again hesitated to start but did and ran ok. Thursday morning 11/21/13 while on my way to work I was at cruising speed doing approx 60mph on hwy 94 the vehicle stalled. It hesitated to restart again but started after leaving the vehicle off for a few seconds.

- St.Paul, MN, USA

problem #68

Nov 042013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Was pulling out of gas station to merge onto busy street, car began to roll forward upon acceleration then lost all response and lurched into road stopping there. Engine shut off and check engine light came on. Attempted to restart vehicle, car would rev but not respond with any acceleration. During this time incredibly loud harsh shifting occurred, sounded as though transmission fell out of car. Dealership replaced defective throttle body, currently still investigating transmission issues.

- Wakefield , MA, USA

problem #67

Nov 152011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 48,220 miles
Drive South on I-95 at rush hour heading home. With no warning engine power just goes away, check engine light came on and no matter how much the gas pedal was push there was no power from engine, hurried as it slowed down to the right lane and was able to exit. Shut off engine for 5 minutes started it up and all was good. 2nd time was light came on and engine just fluttered, service tech stated that the codes in computer were throttle actuator open.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #66

Aug 012011

Escape 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I've had to replace the throttle body for my vehicle once before approximately in August 2011. The car would stall and then turn off. Fuel didn't seem to be passing thru while I was driving and when I was at stop lights. Often times, it turned off and I would have to wait a while for it to turn back on. When I was at stop lights and this happened, I would have to press on the brake and the gas at the same time to try to avoid the car turning off. My car was not safe to drive because I never knew when it was going to stall or turn off in the middle of the road. I finally was able to get this fixed. I am now having the same problem again with this car. It hasn't been that long ago when I had this fixed. I keep checking to see if there are any recalls for this vehicle and part and have not seen anything. I don't understand why there is no recall for this part. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to have the dealer pay for this repair.

- Mcallen, TX, USA

problem #65

Oct 242013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Initially driving down the road at approximately 55 mph and the check engine light came on and the vehicle went into a stall. I lost all power even though the engine was sputtering. I pulled over and turned the vehicle off and restarted it. I lost power about 2 more times on a 20 mile trip. This has since happened during every drive on various distances. Sometimes at highway speeds and sometimes from a standstill.

- Penix City, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?