Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
92,151 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 4 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #138

Nov 222015

Escape

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the steering wheel seized as the electric power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 160,000. Updated 09/30/16

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #137

Nov 202015

Escape

  • 95,000 miles
A few times in the past week I have driven my vehicle straight from a parked location only to find I have no power steering 40-50 yards into the trip. This has almost caused an accident. When I pull over and shut off the vehicle, the problems usually goes away, or goes away after several shutdown cycles. My vehicle was part of recall 14S05, and received a software update in 2014. Since then the steering has been noticeably different and sometimes shaky when braking at highway speeds. Even worse, Ford is not honoring the recall. I went into a dealership today and they informed me the recall was closed out and there was nothing they could do free of charge, even though much of what I've read from this investigation is that the software update only pushed off the problem and did not fix it. I am very certain the problem is a torque sensor based on the discussion here. It appears Ford has no care in fixing a critical safety problem, and is in fact, trying to cover it up with software and passing it off as usual wear and tear.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #136

Nov 182015

Escape

  • miles
My Ford Escape electronic power steering has been acting erratically. It seems to work fine sometimes, but then turns off at other times. This makes it extremely hard to turn the vehicle.

- The Dalles, OR, USA

problem #135

Nov 022015

Escape

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Ford Escape power steering failure. This occurs while driving at all speeds with no warning and also on start up of the vehicle. Vehicle was serviced under Ford safety recall 14S05 and torque sensor was replaced and the epas software reprogrammed. Exact same symptoms of power steering failure have recurred, this time diagnosing as power steering control module needing replacement and thus the entire steering column. Ford has declined to service vehicle under safety recall 14S05 due to the torque sensor already being replaced. The power steering control module is, however, listed under the safety recall. I was told by the local dealership that did the original recall work and Ford customer representatives that this is now not covered under the recall because of the torque sensor already being replaced under the same recall. However, prior work done under the recall was inadequate in solving the issues.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #134

Nov 042015

Escape

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 60 mph, the steering ability seized. The contact pulled over to the side of the road. The vehicle was started again and the power steering returned to normal. The contact called the dealer who performed a software update on the vehicle and was advised to call headquarters. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was invalid. The approximate failure mileage was 87,000.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #133

Nov 012015

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While making a right turn at approximately 10 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The failure mileage was unknown.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #132

Oct 202015

Escape

  • 138,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). After the recall repair, the vehicle experienced a failure in the power steering assist system. Prior to the recall repair, the vehicle was diagnosed with having no fault code prior to the remedy being performed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 138,000.

- Winterville, NC, USA

problem #131

May 102015

Escape

  • 95,000 miles
Loss of power steering at highway speeds

- St Johns, FL, USA

problem #130

Oct 032015

Escape

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While driving at an unknown speed, the power steering failed without warning, which made it difficult to steer the vehicle. The vehicle had to be turned off and restarted in order to resume normal operation. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 79,000.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #129

Oct 142015

Escape

  • 95,000 miles
Vehicle was subject to Ford recall #14S05 which dealt with a torque sensor in the steering column. At the time we took it in there were no codes reported so the dealer performed the recommended service and reprogrammed the software. Approximately a month later my wife experienced a power steering failure on the way to work. We took the vehicle to the dealer who found the code for the torque sensor and replaced it but this did not resolve the issue. After consulting Ford it was recommended to replace the entire steering column. I was advised by my dealer that the initial recall work did not fix the issue and this was the needed repair but that it would not be covered since they had performed the initial recommended repair(reprogramming of the software). At this point even my dealer agrees that the initial fix is inadequate and it should be a complete replacement of the steering column but Ford will no longer honor the recall since it was "fixed" once.

- Columbia, PA, USA

problem #128

Oct 192015

Escape

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While reversing the vehicle and shifting into drive, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #127

Oct 172015

Escape

  • 114,000 miles
Power steering has gone out have replace front inner bearing, transmission lines, keep up on all my maintained records since I bought the vehicle in Sept 2014' and have all other maintain economic records.

- Welch, WV, USA

problem #126

Oct 152015

Escape

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While driving 35 mph, the power steering failed without warning. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #125

Sep 302015

Escape

  • miles
Power steering has gone out three times without any warning. The car was in motion each time the power steering went out. Twice on the highway and once backing out of the driveway. Service center at mullinix Ford in mobile, al said it was an electronic problem and would cost $698 plus tax to fix the problem. Doing research, I see there are several complaints concerning this same problem and Ford is not concerned with the safety of its car owners. I have been a Ford car owner my entire life and this makes me wonder why!

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #124

Aug 162015

Escape

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While in reverse, the power steering failed. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 73,000.

- Horse Shoe , NC, USA

problem #123

Aug 132015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 68,655 miles
Power steering failure: Following the first occurrence (14 Aug 2015) there were several other instances within the next couple of days whereby I lost power steering again and had to revert to manual steering. Nine months ago ( 10 Dec 2014) I had my car serviced at Ford's expense for their recall 14S05 that related to their "electrical power steering" defect which only amounted to a computer code reprogram. Then on August 26, 2015, after several more failures, I had my car serviced for the power steering failure in which case the steering column assembly and the housing had to be replaced at my expense which I didn't think was fair. Recall 14S05, to me, was a quick fix which did not address the root of the problem. An attempt to have Ford accept responsibility was not successful and I had to pay for the service which was quite expensive. I am hoping for a recall concerning this defect since I have read many more complaints (same problem) from other drivers with the same make and model and if so, qualify for reimbursement. Thank you for your time

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #122

Aug 152015

Escape

  • 105,123 miles
In February of 2015 I took my vehicle into al piemonte's arlington heights Ford in arlington heights, Illinois because our power steering had been going out intermittently while driving. They said it just needed a computer update relating to recall 14S05. Last weekend the power steering went out completely and never came back on. There was no warning, no indicator light or sound as referenced in recall 14S05. I reluctantly drove it into the closest dealership, golf mill Ford in niles, Illinois. To be proactive, I called Ford customer care at 800-392-3673 and explained what was going on. They created a "case for me" and said to wait to hear from the service manager at the dealership. He called me last evening and said that Ford won't honor the recall because it had been "cleared" and they wouldn't cover any portion of the repair which will be around $1200 (to replace the steering column assembly). I've had to get a rental vehicle as well. I called Ford customer care last night and asked how they made that decision. The agent said it was the warranty department but they only will speak with the dealership. I asked for a supervisor or manager and they said no was was available. I asked if I could get a call back from one and the agent said his system went down so there was nowhere to save the information. Today I called Ford customer care again and explained in detail specifically that if I hadn't brought it in back in February they would be honoring this recall. Also the update done in February did not even work.there was no indicator light or sound when power steering went out.

- Skokie, IL, USA

problem #121

Jun 252015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 54,342 miles
TL the contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the power steering failed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the steering column malfunctioned and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (power steering). The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 54,342. The consumer stated he took the vehicle to the dealer anyway to have it inspected, even though he wasn't experiencing any problems. However, a year later, the steering failed while driving. There were no chimes or trouble lights before the power steering failed. The vehicle is currently displaying trouble code B1342. The consumer reminded the dealer about the recall. However, the dealer stated the vehicle was not listed on the NHTSA website as being recalled. The consumer was informed the vehicle was previously looked at, during the time of the recall. The cost to fix the vehicle was $1327.90

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #120

Jun 202014

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they indicated that the repair was not required. The dealer did not indicate if the software was updated for the power steering control module (pscm) and the instrument cluster module nor did they specify if the torque sensor signal had a failure. Months later, the power steering failed and the steering wheel became extremely tight and difficult to turn left or right. The failure had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to turn. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was indicated that the steering column needed to be replaced. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #119

Jun 012015

Escape 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While traveling approximately 30 mph, there was a sudden loss of power steering without warning. The contact had to merge to the side of the road, where the vehicle was turned off and restarted, which reset the computer. The failure recurred. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 8/10/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. A new steering column was installed on 6/11/15. The consumer requested to be reimbursed for the repairs. Updated 11/24/2015

- Westfield, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?