Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
92,151 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 5 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #118

May 232015

Escape

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my vehicle in for the power steering calibration update in March 2015. In may I was driving down a muddy road when my power steering just went out. I was on the edge of the road near a cliff and was trying to maneuver around another vehicle stuck in the mud. It could have been disastrous if I was not going so slowly. I took it to a mechanic who diagnosed it as a computer problem with the torque sensor or power steering module. All fuses, wires, and fluids were good. I was not near a Ford dealer so had to drive over 300 miles without power steering to get to a dealer. The dealer told me that there were no problems when they did the update in March and that while there is currently a safety recall on the power steering system it is not for this problem (P2274) and therefore I have to pay for the repair. I did not have any problems prior to completing the recall calibration. Ford needs to address this before someone gets killed.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #117

May 032015

Escape

  • 124,524 miles
"power steering assist fault" message appeared on dashboard. Vehicle was unable to steer left/right due to power steering malfunctioning.

- Lyndhurst, OH, USA

problem #116

Apr 012015

Escape

  • 149,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While attempting to start the vehicle, the power steering assist fault was displayed across the message board. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the steering shaft torque sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was previously serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 149,000.

- Bueno Vista, CO, USA

problem #115

Apr 172015

Escape 4-cyl

  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In July of 2014 I had the recall performed on my Escape for the power steering. A few months later the power steering went out again and I returned it to the dealership that had performed the recall work and was told that if it went out again I would need to have the power steering sensor replaced. A couple of days later the power steering went out again. In April of 2015 I took it back to the dealership to have the sensor replaced and after replacing the sensor he discovered it didn't fix the problem. He spent a couple of days working with Ford to figure out what was wrong as all the computers were saying it was the sensor. Ford finally said it was the electronic steering column that needed replaced which was over double the price. After talking with the service manager about concerns I had with replacing that at such a high cost I learned that Ford knew about issues with the original steering column components and they have changed them in the replacement parts. Ford refused to work with the service manager on fixing it for me or working with the cost even though everything pointed too the sensor. Ford is at serious fault knowing there are problems with the steering column and just tried to put a band aid on it with the recall that they did issue.

- Vassar, MI, USA

problem #114

Dec 282014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
On December 28,2014 I was pulling out of a parking lot onto a busy main street when my power steering suddenly went out almost causing an accident. I took it into my mechanic the next day and was told it was my battery, which was replaced. On March 25, 2015 I was turning onto a side street when the power steering went out again. This time my alternator was replaced. I am suspicious that everytime something electrical goes, the power steering goes out. I am not convinced the battery or the alternator were defective now. There is a recall for this issue, but my VIN says mine is not recalled.

- Dewitt, MI, USA

problem #113

Mar 122015

Escape

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While driving at approximately 50 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning and caused the vehicle to strike a pothole. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the front passenger rim and the front suspension fractured. As result, both needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 120,000.

- Carrollton , TX, USA

problem #112

Feb 152014

Escape

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the steering wheel was unable to turn left. The contact stated that power steering assist fault was displayed across the message board. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #111

Jan 012015

Escape

  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the steering column and the torque sensors needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 116,000.

- Granville , IL, USA

problem #110

Feb 232015

Escape

  • 109,000 miles
When I received the recall on the powersteering in the fall of 2014, I took it into a Ford dealer where they said it wasn't showing any "codes" but they re-programmed it this was 9/2014. In 2/2015 I started to notice occasionally jerking of the steering wheel while idling. On 2/23/15 it because severe jerking and shaking when the vehicle was in park or idling, I stopped by the Ford dealer on 2/25 and they told me it had nothing to do with the warranty. On 3/2/15 I lost all power steering and am now paying $1000 to have the entire power steering column replaced. I have seen numerous similar comments of this problem -- what is Ford going to do about it?!

- Paynesville, MN, USA

problem #109

Feb 242014

Escape

  • 155,420 miles
At first steering wheel would vibrate on its own when car was started. I called Ford customer care and they said they had never received a complaint about this. I made an appt. To take car to len stoler dealership in owings mills, md. Today 3/2/15. When I started the car to take it in my message panel read " power steering assist fault" and the power steering was completely gone! the dealership says the steering angle sensor needs to be replaced and that it requires replacing the entire steering column! I went online and there are many, many complaints regarding this from other Ford Escape owners. The Ford dealerships charged from $1200- almost $1900 to fix this. In May 2014 there was a recall of some Ford Escapes regarding the power steering issue. I was told my car was not included. There should be some additional recalls for this issue..if you check the internet you will find I am not alone! there are so many complaints I would think that Ford would honor a recall and fix this problem before someone is seriously hurt. I was lucky enough to have my husband drive my car to the dealership because I could not navigate turning the steering wheel to get there. Thank you.

- Owings Mills, MD, USA

problem #108

Oct 222014

Escape

  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V284 (steering) was received in October of 2014. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed an inspection and updated the software as listed in the recall. The contact indicated that on February 21, 2015, while driving approximately 3 mph pulling into a parking space, a wrench icon sensor suddenly appeared and the power steering suddenly failed causing the steering wheel to become very difficult to turn. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer, the contact was informed that no additional services would be provided to the vehicle as part of the recall. The approximate failure mileage was 93,000.

- Osceola, IN, USA

problem #107

Apr 012014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Hard to turn at low speeds.

- Killen, AL, USA

problem #106

Jan 072015

Escape

  • 174,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. While driving at any speed, the steering wheel made an abnormal noise without warning. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was diagnosed that the steering sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 174,000.

- Crivitz, WI, USA

problem #105

Jan 262015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Ford issued a recall on Escapes (recall # 14S05). The recall was related to a problem with the power steering. I brought my car to the dealer to address the recall. At the time I brought it in I was told that because there were no current problems with my power steering they were only required to calibrate it (if there had been problems they would have been required to replace it). Less than one month later my power steering stopped working. My car was towed to Ford. Ford told me that the part had to be replaced and it had to be at my own expense because I had already brought my car in once for the recall (even though it was not replaced then, it was only calibrated). They told me that had I not brought the car in a month before, to address the recall, the replacement part would have been covered under the recall. This policy encourages drivers to not bring their car in if they get a recall in the mail, instead they should wait for the part to fail while they are driving so Ford will cover the cost as part of the recall. I also feel like the only reason I ended up having a problem with the steering was because of their calibration. My Escape is a 2009 so it's been on the road for 5+ years and less than one month after I bring it in for calibration the fault light comes on and it does not work. I wish I had not brought my car in for the recall and I will reconsider any future recalls. I am not the only one who has had this issue. Please make Ford issue a second recall so people will do the right thing, which means bringing their car in to make it safer, and getting the faulty part replaced at Ford's expense as it should be.

- Marlborough, MA, USA

problem #104

Jan 012015

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated while driving 45-55 mph the power system assist failure light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the torque sensor needed to be replaced. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V2840000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. However, the contact was made aware that the vehicle had been previously serviced under the recall and was no longer eligible for any repairs. The approximate failure mileage was unknown. Updated 03/30/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. The consumer requests to be reimbursed the cost of the repairs. Updated 6/23/2015 updated 02/01/16.

- Jennings, LA, USA

problem #103

Jan 152015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
I brought the car to the marcotte Ford. They said the part that failed was the part that was recalled. The service department called Ford and they told them they did their part on the recall when they reprogrammed it and will not cover the part. I then called Ford and spoke with them. Customer relations said they would not be able to do anything either. They would send an email to the service manager and see if he would be able to do anything to help with the cost. The service manager told me he "exhausted all his efforts". I know that I am not the only person who this has happened to and I am now out $1200 to fix a part that should have been fixed by the recall. This is unethical at best.

- Longmeadow, MA, USA

problem #102

Jan 092015

Escape 4-cyl

  • 227,222 miles
Power steering went completely out.while driving. Car had been recall in July 2014, when a update was done for power steering assist unit. That did not correct issue Ford dealership in lugoff SC that did service offered no warranty, they inspected it and stated steering parts need to be replaced at a price of $2400 I just purchased vehicle less than 30 days when this occurred. From the research I did I am not the only one that has gotten ripped by these faulty vehicles. Something needs to be done and a recall needs to be on the steering column and other related parts that cause this issue.

- Greenwood, SC, USA

problem #101

Jan 162015

Escape

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) but the failure persisted. The specifics of the failure were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 88,000. Updated 2/24/15

- Callicoon, NY, USA

problem #100

Jan 132015

Escape

  • 44,300 miles
Complete loss of power steering. Several incidents. Restarting the car sometimes fixes the problem. Hard to do while driving!

- Falls Church, VA, USA

problem #99

May 152014

Escape

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that when making a left or right turn, the steering wheel became difficult to turn without warning. In addition, the contact stated that there was an abnormal noise and vibration coming from the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Omaha, NE, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?