Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,686 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 13 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #220

Jul 272013

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles


While driving from Michigan to Missouri with daughter and granddaughter on expressway at 70 mph my vehicle had a wrench light come on dash board along with engine light. I was unable to accelerate. Pulled over to side of road and turned vehicle off and then restarted and proceeded to drive. It did this repeatedly. I pulled off freeway and went to autoparts store that told me that it had to do with throttle body sensor and needed to take to dealer, which I did today. I am on vacation and car is at Ford dealership in camdenton, mo. I don't know outcome yet as dealer not able to look at vehicle until tomorrow.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #219

Jul 242013

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles
My husband was driving out of a parking lot when all of a sudden the orange wrench light came on. The car started to decrease in acceleration even though his foot was on the gas pedal. He then applied pressure to the brakes to pull over to the side and the car pulsed to a stop. He put the car in park and shut it off. When trying to restart the car would not turn over right away, and took at least 5 seconds or more for it to start. Since this issue has occurred, it has happened 7 more times in a matter of 5 days. Luckily this happened while my husband was driving my car and he continues to drive it until we get it fixed. I primarily drive this car 99% of the time and I am 7 months pregnant. I can't even imagine what I would do if this happened to me on the highway or in the middle of a busy intersection. We are very lucky that no one got hurt during these instances. I can't believe Ford has not done a major recall on this issue. My sister in-law had the same issues with her 2009 Escape and just recently had her throttle body replaced as well. The lack of caring about its customers will definitely make me rethink about ever buying a Ford again.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #218

Jul 102013

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle became resistant to acceleration attempts over 10 mph. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for repairs. The manufacturer was notified about the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 54,000. Updated 08/27/13 the dealer replaced the throttle body. Updated 08/29/13

- Port Washington, NY, USA

problem #217

Jul 182013


  • 41,478 miles


Driving along 5-lane interstate at approximately 70-75 mph when my 2010 Ford Escape's engine essentially cut out on me. A yellow wrench light came on as well. I avoided several passing cars and semis on this very busy thoroughfare outside our nation's capital and luckily found safety on the right shoulder. After powering down the vehicle, thinking that it may be a computer error, I restarted and everything seemed find. Again, no more than a couple miles down the road the same issue happened. Found a Ford dealer eventually and replaced the throttle body. $600 out of pocket cost for something that should be under powertrain warranty.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #216

Jun 142013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 45,015 miles
While driving the engine lost power. The engine continued to run but would not add any rpms when applying the accelerator. The engine light also came on. I was able to keep the vehicle moving at an idle to get out of traffic. Top speed was only about 5 mph. Vehicle had to be towed to dealership. Service department was unable to find anything wrong with my vehicle. About one month later the same problem occurred while driving on roadway approximately 50 mph. Same symptoms with same results. Service department did replace the throttle housing this time.

- Van Wert, OH, USA

problem #215

Jul 262013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
I was driving down the interstate heading to work when I lost all power. The vehicle did not die or stall, it lost power and the gas pedal would not work. As my speed started declining, I had to immediately turn on my emergency lights and move off the side of the road. Which was hard at the time with other traffic in that lane. And the decreasing speed while I was in my lane had me nervous as other vehicles came up flying behind me. As soon as I pulled over on the side of the road, my car immediately died. I tried to turn it on after about ten minutes and the engine just rolled but would not come on. After about 25 minutes, my car started up again. I was able to get it to a dealership and they said right away that it was probably the throttle body, but that the part was on back order and would take up to a week to get in. After they checked it out, it was in fact the throttle body. I ended up lucking out because they did have a part for me. Upon paying for my repair, I was told by the Ford service department, that they had seen a major spike in this repair. They even said they once had 15 cars in one day that all needed the throttle body repaired. And that is why the part had originally been on back order. They also stated that they were not the only dealership noticing this spike. I was informed to keep all my paperwork because with this kind of spike, it could lead to a recall.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #214

Jul 152013


  • 45,562 miles


When driving, the wrench light would come and the engine would stall. The gas medal goes limp and you cant give it gas. I had to pull over and turn it off than back on it began to work. It has been doing it for a week and then I got a diagnostic and code P2112 came up. It said that the throttle actuator control system stuck closed.

- Beaufort , SC, USA

problem #213

Jul 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 79,500 miles
Was driving to work on local interstate @ 60mph, approx 5am (luckily very few cars on road at this hour). Lost all power, no acceleration possible, but engine dial still showing <1000rpm. Was able to coast to shoulder, yellow wrench symbol was lit up, turned off engine, re-started, continued to work. Happened again @ about 30 mph, 15 minutes later, on city street. Called Ford service later that morning and scheduled to drop vehicle off next business day (had to drive it for two more days). Happened several more times during all types of driving: Highway, rural, city; at speeds between 25-70 mph, both with and without cruise control being used. Got vehicle to dealer in afternoon. Service tech called around dinner time to say the throttle body would need to be replaced. Repairs made at a cost of about $450. Picked vehicle up later in evening. No problems so far. This appears to be a common problem as seen/read in several forums and news reports.

- Alden, NY, USA

problem #212

Jul 182013


  • 56,000 miles
Car is stalling while driving. Sitting at dealer, waiting to have throttle body replaced. Part is on back order not covered under power train warranty.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #211

Jul 212013


  • 47,570 miles
Driving and gas pedal lost all power. Pulled to side of road, engine continued to run about 700/800 RPM. I noticed the wrench symbol was lit in dashboard so I turned off A/C opened all windows & shut off engine. After about 30 seconds or so, I re-started the car & drove back home (approx. 35 miles). The following day I took the vehicle to a Ford dealer & explained my problem. Dealer said this was probably a throttle control / powertrain problem. They offered me some suggestions to help with this trouble, which I have done. As of today 7/25/2013 vehicle seems to be running fine. I hope this gets resolved because I really like this vehicle.

- Bear, DE, USA

problem #210

Jul 252013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 33,726 miles


I was traveling at apx 45 mph when the yellow wrench error message appeared on the dash. At the same time the vehicle ceased to respond to the gas pedal. The engine and electrical system remained on however there was no power coming from the engine. The vehicle coasted as it lost momentum. I was able to pull off the major road that I was on. The vehicle shuddered as I came to a stop and turned it off. When I restarted the vehicle, the yellow wrench error light went out and the vehicle started with no problems. The Ford dealership later diagnosed the problem as the throttle body component. There had been no previous indicators of any problems. Vehicle had been serviced following the manufacturers service requirements.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #209

Jul 022013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 64,652 miles
While driving my vehicle lost acceleration and then began to shake the wrench and engine lights came on. Recently went to a shop and the issue is because of a part called throttle body.

- Forestville, MD, USA

problem #208

Jul 202013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 29,406 miles
On July 20, 2013 I was driving my vehicle on the highway with my parents (63 & 67 respectively) when suddenly (out of the blue) I pushed the gas pedal but vehicle would not accelerate. The wrench light illuminated on the dashboard and the vehicle was jerking. I had a car behind me that almost crash on me. I managed to pull over to the shoulder. I turned off the vehicle and turned it on within 2-3 minutes and it worked perfectly (as if nothing has happened). I went home that night (10:30pm more or less). I went to a local pep boys store next day since the dealers were closed (Sunday). They checked it and said everything was ok. On Monday, July 21, same issue happened twice within 30 minute range. I called my local dealer and made an appointment for Tuesday. I've left it there for a check up. However, I was told that the warranty expired 5 months ago and the power train warranty is limited... losing power of gas and vehicle dying in the middle of the highway/road certainly seem to be a safety hazard!

- Guaynabo, PR, USA

problem #207

Jul 232013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 85,728 miles
I was driving my car, there was a noise and then a little wrench appeared on my control panel. The car started to decelerate and then I shut it down. I turned it back on, it seemed to be okay, as I drove down the road I heard the noise again and the car stayed at 40 mph. I could not accelerate. Once again I stopped, turned it off. I started it back up. I called the Ford dealer, they said to bring it in, they put it on the computer and said that the throttle body was bad.

- Munith, MI, USA

problem #206

Jul 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
While driving on highway around 70mph when car went into a "limp" mode and would not accelerate. Wrench light came on. After restarting the car, it performed as normal and no wrench light was lit. This has happened several times in one week at varying speeds. My Ford store did not find a problem. I've also felt a surge when the accelerating the vehicle.

- Roselle, IL, USA

problem #205

Jul 142013


  • 46,130 miles
On July 14 2013, my vehicle 2010 Ford Escape XLT stalled in the middle of the highway. The vehicle was traveling at 60 mph when the incident occurred. After the stall, the vehicle did not respond to gas pedal. It slowed down. I was able to pull the vehicle to safety lane. During the incident, the wrench sign appeared on the dashboard indicator. After the vehicle came to complete stop, I was able to restart the vehicle. I drove the vehicle to the dealership service center at reduced speed of 25 mph. They diagnosed that the issue is with the throttle body and mentioned that the whole throttle body needs to be replaced.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #204

Jul 202013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 79,710 miles
While driving down the high way at approx. 65mpg the "check engine" light and the orange wrench light came on indicating an issue with the power train. At the same time the gas pedal became unresponsive while the engine rpms dropped to a rough idle the fluctuated between 800-1200 rpms. After turning the car off and then back on the "check engine" light was on but the orange wrench symbol was no longer lit. I continued to drive home, multiple times after that the wrench light came on, throttle became unresponsive and the engine dropped to a rough idle. Each time this happened I turned the engine off and then turned it back on and the engine operated as normal for a time till the wrench light came on and the throttle became unresponsive. Upon plugging the car to a diagnostic I had 3 error codes that indicated that the throttle actuator was stuck open.

- Raeford, NC, USA

problem #203

Jun 032013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 53,500 miles
The first incident occurred around June 3, 2013, but I don't remember the exact date. After backing out of my driveway and shifting into drive, as I accelerated through 2nd gear, it dropped out of gear into idle and I had no engine acceleration response from the gas pedal, no matter which gear I put it in. The wrench light also came on. After turning the engine off and restarting, the wrench light went out and the car worked normally. This happened approximately 5-7 times beginning around June 3, 2013 until I decided to take it to the dealership on June 18, 2013. I paid Ford $120 to diagnose the problem. They were unable to find anything wrong, but did reset the shift points. It did not happen again until July 12, 2013. While driving to work at approximately 60mph, the engine dropped out of gear and the wrench light came on. I had no engine response with the gas pedal and had to carefully coast over to the service/emergency lane. While on the side of the road, I called Ford and they told me after I brought my Escape in, multiple Escapes and Fusion had come in with the same problem which was troubleshoot down to the throttle body. They ordered the throttle body and said they would call me when it came in. I turned off the ignition, restarted, and continued driving. Approximately 2 minutes after getting back on the road it happened again, only this time the check engine light came on along with the wrench light. This time after restarting the engine, the check engine light stayed on. I drove to Ford and left it running so they could acquire any codes that were active. The throttle body was ordered on July 12, 2013 and Ford has no estimate of a shipment date. The car is currently with Ford awaiting the part while they pay for my rental. There are also two vehicles ahead of mine at the dealership waiting for the same part.

- Huntingtown, MD, USA

problem #202

Jun 122013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 60,200 miles
I was driving home going around 50 mph uphill when suddenly my car done a big lurch and began to lose power. Thankfully I was able to pull over. Vehicle was not under warranty so I took it to my repair guy who owns his own shop. The dealership charges too much. On 6-18-13 he informed me that the part was on backorder, possibly 3-4 weeks. Well guess what its now 7-20-13 and it still has not come in. Not only am I pissed but when I emailed Ford Motor Company about my concern and problem, they basically told me nothing useful, only that there were no open recalls or warranties open for my vehicle. I told a recall needs to be issued before someone gets killed. So many of these complaints I have read were of people driving on the interstate. And fortunately I am able to borrow my grandma's vehicle and not having to rent one. I had to rent, that would be a whole different story in itself. Fix the problem Ford. Take care of your customers!!! I just hope when the part does finally come, the problem will be fixed and won't reoccur.

- Etoile, KY, USA

problem #201

Jul 192013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 59,834 miles
I was driving to work and my car started to jerk. Then my power train light came on and my car totally stopped on me in the middle of the road. I took it to the shop that day and the told me it was my throttle body. My warranty didn't cover it, so I had to pay over 300 dollars for a new part.

- Whitwell, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?