Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,917 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 19 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #102

May 282013

Escape

  • 41,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been a Ford owner for years, and this is the first complaint I am filing. My 2010 Ford Escape suddenly lost all power and I had to pull it to the side of the road. It restarted and resumed driving normally. The next day I took it to the dealer and was told it was the electronic throttle body. Since I was on the interstate outside a major city, I feel this is a real safety hazard. I had no ability to power the vehicle other than its own momentum. I really want to see this part recalled!

- Killeen , TX, USA

problem #101

May 292013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
I was driving and my vehicle just stopped working at least I was able to coast to the side of the road. The part is not in stock at any Ford dealer and has been back ordered so to me that means it is a regular problem on this vehicle. I need to know if other cars had this problem.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #100

Apr 172013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 56,800 miles
Traveling in the left lane at 70mph down I696 in oakland county Michigan, vehicle went dead. "wrench" light came on. I pulled over to the right shoulder. Car was running, however no power. I turned the car off and re-started. It ran fine after that. One month later the same issue occurred. This time traveling 45mph down the road, vehicle went dead, I pulled over, re-started. Travelled another 100ft, same issue. Tried again, this time went about 200ft, died. The wrench light and amber engine light came on. This time the engine light remained on and the Escape was towed to the Ford dealer on May 18, 2013. As of May 31, 2013, the throttle body has been on back order. Vehicle sits in their lot awaiting part.

- Commerce, MI, USA

problem #99

May 292013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 67,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While I was driving, the car started stalling : the speed indicator started coming down and even pressing on the accelerator, there was no pick up and the wrench sign lit up indicating the power train defect.I moved the car to the shoulder and waited for some assistance. I mechanic friend of mine came after about 45 min. He started the car and the wrench sign was no longer there. Rode the car for about 10 miles to get to my house. Ran some errands (about 20 round trip miles) later and the car rode fine. On 5/30/2013 morning (today) on my way to work, the truck stalled again with the lit up wrench sign. Pulled on to the shoulder, turned off engine and got the truck towed to the closest Ford dealer - bob davidson Ford, , parkville, Maryland 21234 (410-661-6400). They performed diagnostics for a fee of $123 and said that the throttle body assembly need to be replaced. The service dept indicated that they were out of these parts and is backordered. They were not sure when they will get the part. I drove the SUV home with no further problems. I called Ford Motor Co. Customer relations and complained. They issued a claim number cas[xxx]. I am unable to rent a car as I don't know how long it would be until they get the part to fix. I searched and found that this had been a recurring problem for the Escape 2010. Ford should be responsible to repair this problem, I asked the customer service representative "is Ford waiting until people get killed to fix this dangerous defect?". it is quite dangerous if it happens while driving in the express way at 55-60 mph in an inside lane. God help the Escape owners. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Freeland, MD, USA

problem #98

Apr 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
When I'm driving my car, it will suddenly stop accelerating as though someone threw the car into neutral. When this happens, the wrench light comes on and I have to coast over to a safe area to turn the car off and turn it back on. This happened on the freeway at speeds over 70mph, on streets, after a red light, turning corners. Over and over again this happens and it started happening at about 50-thousand miles and has gotten worse. Today this happened more than six times in a twenty mile radius.

- Pickerington, OH, USA

problem #97

Apr 252013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 61,500 miles
Monkey wrench warning light illuminates on the dash accompanied by a loss of functionality of the gas pedal. I was able to coast to the side of the road since the car did not respond at all to any pressure on the gas pedal. Turned the car off. Restarted the car after a few moments, light was off and car functioned normally. 2nd incident happened 5/22 on the freeway at 65 mph. Again, I was lucky enough to be able to coast to the emergency lane. Turned the car off, waited, back on and continued driving. 3rd incident happened a mile further down the road. I was already in the slow lane so again it was easy to maneuver into the emergency lane. Mechanic indicates the throttle body is faulty and needs to be replaced.

- Danville , CA, USA

problem #96

Apr 172013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 47,567 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle decelerated to 10 mph, "wrench" service light appeared. I pulled over, put vehicle into park, at which time it began shuddering. Turned off engine, waited a few moments, and turned ignition. Vehicle restarted with some effort. Incident has re-occurred 7 times since then, now with "engine" service light on. Mechanic has identified issue as worn throttle body, on 2-week back order as of May 10, 2013. Time for a recall, Ford.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #95

May 142013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
As I was driving down the road the car just lost acceleration and the wrench light came on. I was able to get off the road and shut off the engine. I restarted the car and was able to drive home. Just today we had the same thing happen again. Ford dealer tells me there was no code so they can't order the part. However, they believe the throttle body is bad but need the code to be sure. From what I have read it sounds like they know what it is but are unwilling to fix this. They tell to just restart and keep going sooner or later it will to start and they can fix it. I am going on vacation tomorrow just what I need is this to fail at the wrong time. Does someone need to die before something is done. Sure seems Toyota wasn't given this much leeway a couple of years ago.

- North Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #94

May 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
While driving the car suddenly started to sputter, shutter and lurch forward while losing speed and making a strange noise. The "wrench" light displayed which identifies a power train/throttle problem. Pulled over to the side of the road, turned off engine, restarted and all appeared fine, wrench light turned off and drove rest of way home. Researched online and there are hundreds and hundreds of complains regarding this problem which appears to be tied to the throttle body or electric system that controls the throttle input between the gas pedal and the throttle body. This is a very dangerous and scary problem and I'm very concerned it will occur again soon. Based on online reports this is a well known problem that Ford appears to be well aware of but will not cover expense to fix.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #93

May 152013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
2010 Ford Escape - several instances of dramatic loss of power resulting in 'limp mode' due to throttle body sticking closed. This requires restarting the car and has been occurring more frequently since first incident. Vehicle is currently at a Ford dealership to be repaired; however, dealership states that the throttle body cannot be replaced due to the part being on backorder 'indefinitely.' Dealership acknowledged that this is a known problem with late model Escapes, but was unable to offer any suggestion or time frame for repair.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #92

May 202012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was slowing down to turn, the entire system died and there was no power. Luckily, I was able to pull over and the vehicle started up again. This happened four times in the past year: May 2012, Sept. 2013, March 2013, and again on May 15 2013. Each time I took it to the dealership and was told there was no problem found. After doing some research on line, I discovered many people have experienced the same problem. Very dangerous and am afraid to drive it. Read that replacing the throttle might help. Is there a recall or what should I do?

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #91

May 122013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
When driving the car, car de-accelerated, idle was very rough, despite pressing on accelerator unable to make car advance. This has happened twice and is very unnerving and unsafe. After putting the car in park and turning it off, the car seemed to reset itself. Our mechanic said it was a throttle body problem. Ford Motor Co. Refused to do anything about it unless it came out of my pocket. This is so dangerous and these cars should be recalled and fixed. I will not drive this car until it is fixed. I feel like I could get killed in this car.

- Bolingbrook, IL, USA

problem #90

Apr 272013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
I was driving on the freeway and suddenly I lost power, the RPM's dropped to 1500-2000. I pulled over and the engine was sputtering like it was trying to die, the RPM's were fluctuating between 1000-2000. I turned the car off, waited a minute and started it again, seemed fine. I started driving again, it was ok for about 5 minutes then the same thing happened except this time the "wrench" light on the dash came on as well as the check engine light. The car had to be towed. I didn't drive the car for a few days, then tried driving it, the warning lights were off and it seemed fine. Worked great for about 2 weeks, then the same thing happened on the freeway again. I had it towed to my mechanic he said it was the throttle body and it needed to be replaced. He tried to order the part from Ford, but he was told that the part was being re-manufactured and may not be available for up to 3 months. I tried to drive my car home, but once again, the engine lost power. The only way I was able to drive it home was by driving 20 mph with my flashers on. I now have a car that I still have to make payments on that I can't drive because the part it needs hasn't been manufactured yet. Love my car, but this really sucks! there needs to be a recall!

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #89

Jan 152013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 14,047 miles
I was driving down a side street toward an intersection going about 40 mph when my car appeared to die--I was able to coast slowly across the intersection into a parking lot--after 10 minutes waiting for my husband I attempted to start the car and it started right up--I followed my husband to the dealership and the problem did not reoccur--the dealership said no code had registered so there was nothing to fix--my husband researched this issue and discovered a lot of info about the throttle body issue on Ford Escapes--on May 2 was leaving the parking lot where I work and the car appeared to die again and I was able to go down my street at an idle speed to my house --we went to the dealership again and the manager acknowledged the throttle body issue but said since it didn't leave a code Ford wouldn't fix it--after several hours the dealership called and said that they had gone ahead and replaced the throttle body stating on the invoice "during visual inspection found throttle plate binding and sticking closed. Replaced"--we acknowledge that the dealership went above and beyond to fix our problem but are very concerned about the number of complaints about this issue we found on the internet--it is potentially a dangerous problem and, had I been on a freeway or in heavy traffic, would have possibly caused injury to myself or car damage.

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #88

May 122013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 59,800 miles
I was driving the vehicle at approximately 40mph when with no warning, the car started to stutter like it was going to stall out and I lost all ability to accelerate. The monkey wrench warning light came on and I was able to pull off to the side of the before someone hit me from behind and turned off the vehicle. I called for assistance, but the vehicle started up again fine, and I was able to drive it to the nearest Ford dealer. They advised it was most likely a throttle train issue, and they replaced the throttle train.

- Auburn, AL, USA

problem #87

Apr 022013

Escape

  • 30,000 miles
While driving on the highway, the wrench light appeared and the car lost all power and was unable to move. I coasted to the shoulder. After turning the car off, it would then move. This has happened multiple times. The dealer could not located the problem. It occurred again yesterday and it is at the dealer again. This appears to be related to a common issue which is being reported and supposedly due to the throttle body but the dealer has not said that yet.

- Leawood, KS, USA

problem #86

Oct 202012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 39,110 miles
After driving the vehicle for a couple of hours on Saturday morning on the interstate I was driving in city traffic. I made a right turn from a stopped position. As I accelerated the engine began to sputter and acted like it was not in gear. The dashboard wrench light came on and I had no response from the gas peddle and the idle was extremely rough. I coasted to a stop and turned off the vehicle. After reading in the manual about the light (power train issue) I called and had the vehicle towed to my dealer for service. As it was Saturday I had to wait for service until Monday. Monday morning I rented a vehicle from the dealer. On Thursday, 10/25/12, my vehicle was ready for pickup. When I spoke to the service adviser I was told it was the throttle body was sticking for an unknown reason and they replaced it. I was informed that this was not a power train issue, but it was an emissions issue. They also said it was not covered under the power train warranty. According to my service ticket they also charged me an additional $170 on a miscellaneous item. On 11/12/12 the wrench light came on again when I started the vehicle in the morning. I drove it to my dealer and was told it was the canister purge valve that had a leak. This was also not covered under warranty.

- Breaux Bridge, LA, USA

problem #85

Mar 142013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
While slowing down to make a turn or come to a stop, vehicles transmission jerks violently. After starting the vehicle and putting it in gear, the vehicle jerks and slams into gear. While on the highway and trying to speed up after going through tolls, vehicles RPM's jump wildly, strains engine because vehicle will not go into gear. Causing you to have to slow down and nearly cause an accident with vehicles behind you. Ford told me (May 8, 2013) it is a leaking seal on the transmission, but the part is on back-order until the middle of July.

- Georgetown, PA, USA

problem #84

May 032013

Escape

  • 61,000 miles
While driving on a busy road my car lost power and would not accelerate. It began shaking and the wrench symbol came on. I was able to drift over to the center lane and turn my car off. It restarted and drove decent. I went to a local mechanic who said cleaning the throttle body may help. I picked it up today and it still isn't shifting properly. I will go to a Ford dealership tomorrow. I also had the same issues with throttle body/car stalling in August 2012.

- Hendersonville , NC, USA

problem #83

May 032013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 42,500 miles
I was accelerating up the on-ramp to the bay bridge from san francisco late this afternoon. The car was responding to my foot on the pedal as the engine revved and I gained speed, then suddenly it stopped responding and slowed to a chug with my foot still on the pedal. The wrench light illuminated as I practically came to a stop with speeding traffic slamming on brakes behind me. I put on hazards, stopped car, turned off engine, restarted car and the wrench light was off but the engine light remained on for the entire time afterwards. When I would accelerate in drive, it would limp at about 4 mph. I could not go any faster. I was able to get over to the slow lane and tried to keep going. The caltrans service patrol truck pulled up behind me and escorted me over to the left lane where I proceeded slowly to the next exit. I eventually was towed to the Ford dealer (where I bought the car) and had to leave it over the weekend. They charge a fee for diagnosis, but can't do it until Monday, so I don't know what they'll find. From what I've read, other people describe very similar symptoms. This was an extremely dangerous situation in the middle of Friday rush hour traffic. I was lucky no one was hurt. Since we bought the car new, the acceleration sound has always been loud, and sometimes passing gear sounds like it's over-shooting. After I stop accelerating, it still keeps revving. However, this is the first time it has stalled.

- Berkeley, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?