Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,571 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 8 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Dec 042012


  • 60,400 miles


The car lost engine power unexpectedly while under way. Pressing the gas pedal made no difference, and the car would not coast - it lost speed rapidly. Upon turning the car off and waiting a few minutes, the car would restart and operate normally. Sometimes it would operate for normally for the entirety of the trip, other times the car would exhibit the problem again.

- Roslindale, MA, USA

problem #12

Dec 222012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
At freeway speed the car lost power. We were able to pull to the shoulder of the highway. A small wrench warning light appeared on the dashboard. We checked the owner's manual, and it referred to a "throttle/power train" issue and told us to seek dealer attention as soon as possible. The engine restarted, so we continued our trip. We stopped in sulfur springs, tx, at the Ford dealership. That morning the vehicle battery was dead (which was the first problem we have ever had with the vehicle), and we began our trip after jump-starting the car. I thought the stalling was related to the battery problem. The events were explained to the tech, we replaced the battery which we felt would also solve the stalling problem. The stall occurred the next day, and again on our return trip. I took the vehicle to our local Ford dealer where the throttle body assembly was replaced. We have not, as of now, tested the repair at freeway speed, but were assured by the dealer that the problem was solved.

- Tahlequah, OK, USA

problem #11

Jun 152012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 29,321 miles
On June 15, 2012, the 2010 Ford Escape with 29321 miles lost power (I.e. no gas, but electronics remained on) while merging onto a crowded highway at 50 mph. An accident was barely avoided. Error lights were lit on the dashboard and the car would not restart. However, upon removing the keys from the ignition and reinserting them, the error lights turned off and the car restarted without any apparent problems. The car was immediately driven to the university Ford dealership in chapel hill, nc. The service department could not detect a problem, stated that the computer was not registering any errors, and returned the car without fixing anything. On June 27, 2012, the car (29988 miles) again lost power in the middle of an intersection while making a left turn. The car had been stopped at a traffic light and was accelerating from a stopped position. Again, an accident was barely avoided. This time, the car's computer did register an error. The service department at university Ford identified a faulty throttle body sensor (part no. 9L8Z9E926A) and replaced it with part no. Ds7Z9E926A. The service department ensured the problem would not repeat itself. On November 24, 2012, the car (roughly 34000 miles) lost power for a third time while stopped at a traffic light. Removing the keys from the ignition and replacing them allowed the car to be restarted, and the car was promptly taken to university Ford. The service department stated that no error was registered on the computer and that the car would have to be returned. The warranty policy states that no parts can be replaced if a problem is not detected.

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #10

Aug 092012


  • 42,000 miles


I was driving on the highway when suddenly I lost all acceleration and had to coast off the road. A wrench was lit up on my dashboard and although I had no acceleration, my engine was still sputtering/running. After turning the car off for a few minutes and restarting it, it ran fan and the wrench light was off. It ran fine for the next week until it happen again. I was pullin onto the access road to the highway and the car again lost all acceleration, but continued to run. This continued all the way home, which I arrived safely, luckily. I called a Ford dealership and they were unable to get a service manager on the phone. They were supposed to call me back, which they never did. I ended up taking my car to another shop near my home and they told me that my electronic throttle body had gone out. They had recently made this fix to two other Ford Escapes, which concerned me. They also had to get the replacement piece directly from Ford, which also concerns me because I am now convinced it is a faulty piece altogether. I still feel at risk as they have only replaced the piece which I feel may still by faulty. I am disappointed that Ford was put so many people at risk and my hope is that this is researched and is recalled for peoples safety. I feel so blessed that my child was not in the car with me during these incidents although I was extremely scared for my own well being. I would like Ford to be held responsible for this.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #9

Aug 082012


  • 35,700 miles
Twice, vehicle went into "limp mode" and failed to accelerate, once while stopped at a traffic signal, and a second time when turning onto another roadway. The engine would only idle and we had to pull out of moving traffic and shut down the engine for a minute and then restart. It would then run fine. Guessing the throttle computer had to reboot to function again.

- Conway, SC, USA

problem #8

Jul 272012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 47,500 miles
The car literally died while driving. I pulled over (coasted more like), turned off the engine and then tried to restart (it did). Then it did the same thing an hour later. I was told by a trusted mechanic it's likely a defective throttle body assembly (tba) and that there's a note in the database indicating there might be a problem. I won't know for sure until it's replaced on Thursday. I called Ford and they said it's possible it could be covered under their 60,000/5yr power train warranty but that a dealer might say it's under the 3 yr warranty and thus passed coverage. I went to a nearby Ford dealership and surprise, surprise it's not covered. How can a car literally dying while on an interstate highway not be due to a defective part?! it's a 2010 model. I've got less than 50,000 miles on it. Also the emissions warranty book specifically lists the tba as covered and it's not limited to 3 years. This looks like an accident waiting to happen. It's not a minor problem like the air conditioning going out. And I don't think this is an isolated incidence if there is sufficient concern that a mechanic can see a warning on the part. Hope I'm wrong. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #7

Aug 012011


  • 12,300 miles


While driving to the tpa on I-75 approaching the exit for I-4 we slowed for a truck that cut us off. Our vehicle shifted down at least two gears which caused the engine to over rev. We tried to speed up, but the engine just revved higher. So we slowed while exiting on to the ramp for I-4. we were able to get over to the right and pull off the ramp road before getting on to I-4. we turned the engine off and sat for a few minutes to compose ourselves. I was hoping that the system would reset itself so we could continue. We started the engine and we continued to the airport without anymore problems. I drove home, called john at brandon Ford and described the problem. He said it would be difficult to solve the problem because none of the dash lights came on during the incident. He said to drive the vehicle and hopefully it wouldn't happen again. I drove for two weeks drove without incident until 8/26/2011. The same thing happened as before. The engine down shifted about 65 mph and the engine began revving. We slowed the vehicle and came to a stop to make a left turn. After accelerating we felt the engine over revving before shifting. The vehicle is unsafe to drive. It is unpredictable as to when a problem will occur. It's a matter of time before something bad is going to happen. We need this problem fixed with assurance that it is truly fixed or we need restitution from Ford for selling us an unsafe vehicle.

- Sun City Center, FL, USA

problem #6

Mar 212011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 8,500 miles
Was stopped in traffic - traffic began to move, I pressed on accelerator and proceeded. Hit about 5 mph and engine lost power completely and steering wheel locked up - radio and A/C remained on. Battery and oil warning lamps on dash illuminated. Was able to put vehicle in neutral and move to side of road. Turned ignition off and was able to re-start vehicle as normal. Proceeded to my destination as normal.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #5

Jan 072011


  • 10,000 miles
My 2010 Ford Escape with remote start malfunctioned in 2010 and 2011. The unit starts the vehicle when fobs are laying untouched on a table and away from all possible contact. A reprogramming of the unit was completed in 2010 but the incident occurred again in January of 2011. The entire unit was replaced on 1/12/2011. Carbon monoxide poisoning a distinct possibility.

- Washington, PA, USA

problem #4

Jul 192010


  • 4,292 miles
No accelerator response in the middle of a lefthand turn with oncoming traffic. No engine revs then engine roared and I was able to complete my turn. Dealer saw no engine codes, no notes, a 1.5 mile test drive showed nothing, no notes with VIN and Ford stated no known issues. It didn't happen then?

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #3

Apr 202010


  • 2,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that whenever he got out of the vehicle, he would get shocked from any metal part of the door. The dealer stated that the failure was an operational characteristic of the vehicle. The failure mileage was approximately 2,000. The current mileage was approximately 4,600.

- Saint Charles, IL, USA

problem #2

Apr 302010


  • 100 miles
L.E.D. lites are too dim in bright day light to see, ,safety issue, ,must take eyes off road to look real close to radio information screen & odometer, , this is unsafe.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #1

Dec 142009


  • 500 miles
Purchased 2010 Ford Escape XLT on 12-12-09. On Monday, 12-14-09 power steering went out and light for stabilizer came on and would not shut off. Car was hardly drivable and extremely hard to steer. Dealership stated the power steering was newly computerized this year and did not run on belt and pistons anymore. Dealership replaced steering column and returned car on Friday 12-18-09. Today is 1-6-10 and my power steering went out again tonight. Will be taking vehicle to dealership tomorrow. Will post second complaint for the 2nd incident once resolved.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?