Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,726 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 22 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Feb 062011

Escape 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car engine accelerates on its own, whether or not my foot is on the gas petal. I thought it was transmission trouble, but not sure now after reading article in baton rouge advocate today. Brought car into dealership at least 3 times, they cannot find anything. They say bring it in when it happens, but once I was headed to baton rouge and it just started racing, another time to gently, and other times just headed home or shopping. It has happened minimal 25 times. I will start logging the mileage, speed, dates, & times as of today...2/26/13. I realize it is what you are calling a power surge. I cannot wait to get rid of this car.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #32

Dec 152012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
When accelerating, the car's RPM jumps really high but the car is not moving any faster. Actually feels like it is losing power. Exact same type of feeling as indicated in the 2/25/13 reports in the news on the Ford investigation. Took to the dealership twice and they could not recreate it.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #31

Feb 062013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 41,788 miles
I was driving down the road and my car stalled and started jerking before shutting down entirely. I would push on the gas and my car would not drive forward, as if it lost its power. The Ford dealership had to replace the throttle body, after I owned the car for less than a year.

- Prairie Village, KS, USA

problem #30

Dec 012012

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 70,480 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and a smoke test was performed. The dealer located a leak in the system with the potential for fuel leakage as well. The valve solenoid, valve assembly pipe and the fuel filler pipe were all recommended for replacement. The manufacturer was notified and a complaint was filed but no assistance was offered. The vehicle was repaired at a cost of $ $931.64. The failure and current mileage was 70,480. Updated 03/01/13 the component failures based on what the dealer provided, which was a smoke test, confirmed the fuel system was leaking fuel vapors into the atmosphere and any places that fuel vapors could Escape. Updated 03/07/13

- Lino Lakes, MN, USA

problem #29

Jan 292013

Escape

  • 41,914 miles
This vehicle belongs to my daughter and while driving to get lunch the said vehicle slowed and started jerking and shaking. The engine didn't die but the accelerator would not throttle up. She eventually was able to return back to work and later in the afternoon had a doctor's appointment and she left work for her appointment and traveled about a mile before experiencing the same symptoms as previously stated. My daughter phone me for help and I went to her location and we traded vehicles and I tried to drive it but it wouldn't accelerate as before. The engine would idle and the speedometer indicated 3 mph. I notified Ford and requested a wrecker and then was able to get the Escape to drive about another mile before it stalled again. I waited for a wrecker that never came and I finally started the engine again and entered the interstate and traveled abt six miles at 65 -70 mph when it lost power again. I idled at 3 mph for about a mile to the Ford dealership and they were closed. Finally I idled another 2 miles to the daughter's residence and parked the vehicle in her garage.the next day I went to autozone and I asked them what codes P2111 and P2112 were and they advise me it had to do with the throttle body. I then drove it to the dealership at 3 mph and left it. I purchased a throttle body from another Ford dealership and installed it in about twenty minutes. It seems to be running good now after test driving it for 15 miles with no issues. The vehicle's warranty expired @ 3yrs or 36,000 miles.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #28

Jan 162013

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact started the ignition and an unusual noise emitted from the engine area and the service engine light illuminated. The engine was shut down. Upon restarting, the vehicle was able to resume normally. The failure occurred while idling or when the ignition was started. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the malfunction. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #27

Dec 282012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 37,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

December 28,2012- while traveling on the interstate at 65mph my 2010 Escape engine cut off. I finally got to emergency lane and the SUV was idling rough. I cut the engine off and restarted it in a few minutes.I took it to the Ford dealership today. They ran a diagnostic test and nothing was wrong. They offer to drive it to see if it would cut off again. I have always bought Toyota but thought I would buy Ford this time. They are definitely a problem so Ford stand behind your product and fix it before someone gets hurt or killed.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #26

Jan 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 26,490 miles
While driving there was a sudden loss of power. The wrench icon lit up on the dash display & the engine light came on too. There was no response from the gas pedal at all. The engine stayed on & all other features of the vehicle worked. I shut the car off & restarted the vehicle & continued driving. This occurred 4 times within a half hour. It was a miracle that I was not involved in an auto accident. I brought the vehicle back to a Ford dealer where they replaced the throttle body. Vehicle has been operating fine ever since & the gas pedal is more responsive than it was before. The original bumper to bumper warranty expired less than 2 months ago & I had to pay for this repair. I am very unhappy.

- Paramus, NJ, USA

problem #25

Dec 072012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 40,235 miles
2010 Ford Escape engine stalls at random times: It's happened to me six times now. First while I was driving 65 mph on the interstate in the middle lane when suddenly, with no warning, I was no longer able to get enough throttle to continue moving forward. I had to coast to the side of the road. I was almost rear-ended, I really thought I was going to be killed. It is a very scary situation, going from 65 mph to nothing. The car just shuts off and goes into some type of rough idle mode and a little orange wrench appears on the dash. After stopping and turning off the engine it will start back up. First occurrence was December 7th, 2012, second and third were several days later. Fourth and fifth were January 24th 2013 and the sixth on January 25, 2013. Four times were on the interstate at speeds of 60-65mph. Two times were on main streets at 35-40 mph. Car was purchased new and all service as required has been performed at dealership. Took car in after first two stalls they stated they could find nothing wrong.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #24

Jan 042013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
Vehicle being operated on congested highway when it stalled.

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #23

Sep 112012

Escape

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated the check engine light illuminated on the instrument. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three times and all they have done is reset the computer. The dealer was unable to determine why the check engine light came on. The failure mileage was 40,000. The current mileage was 46,000.

- Raeford, NC, USA

problem #22

Dec 302012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 47,577 miles
On 30 December 2012 at approximately 5 pm I was driving my 2010 Ford Escape XLT on us 61 in port gibson, Ms. I was traveling at approximately 55 mph with the cruise control engaged when the vehicle began to slow down unexpectedly. I glanced down to observe the gauges and discovered the cruise control had ceased functioning and the trouble light (shaped like a wrench) had illuminated. I pressed the accelerator pedal and the engine failed to respond. I pulled to the shoulder and shut down the engine. After checking under the hood for any loss of fluid or obvious mechanical failure I could detect nothing indicating a major mechanical failure. I restarted the engine and observed the gauges noting the trouble light was no longer present. Thinking the problem may have been a temporary issue, I again proceeded to travel upon the highway for approximately 100 yards and again the same trouble light illuminated and I lost the ability to accelerate after reaching around 45 mph. I again pulled over, shut off the engine, and restarted. I managed to turn around and go home, but not before I had the same failure occur approximately 4 more times at 65 mph. I contacted Ford roadside assistance and the vehicle is being towed to a dealership in vicksburg, ms, 35 miles away. This is the first time the vehicle has exhibited any defects since I purchased it in June, 2012 with approximately 33,000 miles on it. I feel this vehicle is not safe to be operated upon the roads and could endanger my family's safety as well as other motorists.

- Port Gibson, MS, USA

problem #21

Dec 312012

Escape

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while accelerating from a stop, the service engine and check engine warning lights illuminated as the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was restarted but the failure recurred several times before reaching the contact's destination. The vehicle was not taken to a mechanic and was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #20

Dec 312012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 38,120 miles
Defective throttle body the 2010 Ford Escape not once but multiple times would go to idle and run rough while traveling on different roads at different speeds. The gas pedal would do nothing to make the car go but it was idling rough and coasting causing us to stop on the side of very dangerous roads. We would turn it off and let it sit for a few minutes and then it would start normal. The gas pedal would work again but repeat the same problem 5 to 10 minutes later. We were certainly glad this did not happen on the interstate in front of an 18 wheeler or we would be dead. The dealership said the throttle body is bad. The car is only 2,000 miles out of warranty from the standard bumper to bumper warranty, the extended powertrain warranty does not cover the part. So we are out almost $400 for a part that should never fail to begin with.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #19

Dec 222012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
At freeway speed the car lost power. We were able to pull to the shoulder of the highway. A small wrench warning light appeared on the dashboard. We checked the owner's manual, and it referred to a "throttle/power train" issue and told us to seek dealer attention as soon as possible. The engine restarted, so we continued our trip. We stopped in sulfur springs, tx, at the Ford dealership. That morning the vehicle battery was dead (which was the first problem we have ever had with the vehicle), and we began our trip after jump-starting the car. I thought the stalling was related to the battery problem. The events were explained to the tech, we replaced the battery which we felt would also solve the stalling problem. The stall occurred the next day, and again on our return trip. I took the vehicle to our local Ford dealer where the throttle body assembly was replaced. We have not, as of now, tested the repair at freeway speed, but were assured by the dealer that the problem was solved.

- Tahlequah, OK, USA

problem #18

Dec 172012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 40,500 miles
My wife was driving to work down a country road at about 55 mph with the cruise control on. All of the sudden she felt the car jerk and a wrench indicator light came on. The car immediately started to decelerate. She would push on the gas pedal and nothing would happen. Luckily there was no traffic around and she was able to coast into a driveway. The vehicle was basically about to stall out so she turned it off. After 30 seconds she started it back up and it started fine. To be safe we had it towed to the dealership it was purchased from. The dealership said no error message was in the computer system. After consulting with Ford the dealership told us that they were pretty sure it was the throttle body that needs replaced. We have not had the throttle body replaced do to the fact that the no error message was in the car computer and there seems to be no guarantee that $500 fix will take care of the issue. Upon more research I have done it seems like this issue is a very wide spread issue and happening all over the country. I am just glad that this did not happen to my wife while she was on a busy highway during the morning rush hour, which she does take sometimes to work but this morning choice to go the back way.

- Perrysburg, OH, USA

problem #17

Dec 082012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Serious and life-threatening malfunction impeded my ability to control my 2010 Escape occurred while driving 50mph on a very busy highway. My Escape stalled suddenly without any warning what so ever in the middle of the lane while driving on the busy highway. As I tried to continue driving, pushing the throttle pedal, the Escape would not go, it slowed down suddenly on it's own. I was able to ease off the payment to the side of the lane; however, I was almost hit in the rear by a auto behind me before I could get off the payment. I was fortunate to have been at a place where I could ease off the payment. The highway is curvy and hilly. This scared me to death. A wrench light came on indicating a malfunction of the throttle/powertrain. The engine was running fine. I turned off the engine and waited a few minutes, then I cranked it and it cranked fine. The wrench light went off. I tried driving it again, and once I pulled back into the highway, giving it gas, it would barely go, so I eased back again. I called roadside assistance and had it towed to the dealership. After it was inspected I was told the electric throttle body had malfunctioned and needed replacing. It was the caused of the sudden stalling while I was driving. My life as well as others were put in a dangerous situation because of this malfunction. I understand that there has been a lot of complaints like mine already filed here. Ford should issue a recall immediately before any deaths occur. I had to pay $470 to get this taken care since my warranty was out 3/36,000. I was told that this was not covered by the powertrain 5/60,000.

- Silver Creek , GA, USA

problem #16

May 122012

Escape

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph the vehicle stalled and overheated. The vehicle was later towed to the dealer where they advised that the radiator seal was fractured, causing a leak. In addition, they advised that the rear axle seal needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired for the radiator and rear axle seals. The manufacturer was contacted and provided 100 percent coverage of the repair. Also, the contact stated that the vehicle would shift in and out of gear without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where they advised that the solenoid and another unknown component needed replacing. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000. The current mileage was approximately 67,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Curtis, MI, USA

problem #15

Nov 252012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 36,200 miles
Throttle became unresponsive and RPM's dropped to idle. Luckily was able to coast out of traffic. There was no throttle response at all. Problem has been random in nature over the past few months with no codes being presented. Turning the car off and then back on again solved the problem (for a while). It has happened while cruising at highway speeds as well as when pulling out into an intersection. Yesterday, the throttle quit responding completely and had to have it towed. Code check reported P2111 and P2112. Dealership indicated throttle body failure. Very dangerous as complete loss of throttle control in traffic and when accelerating into traffic from an intersection leaves us in a position of limited control and can surprise other drivers because of our sudden loss of speed. This looks to be a well known problem and is severely dangerous in nature.

- Clemmons, NC, USA

problem #14

Aug 092012

Escape

  • 42,000 miles
I was driving on the highway when suddenly I lost all acceleration and had to coast off the road. A wrench was lit up on my dashboard and although I had no acceleration, my engine was still sputtering/running. After turning the car off for a few minutes and restarting it, it ran fan and the wrench light was off. It ran fine for the next week until it happen again. I was pullin onto the access road to the highway and the car again lost all acceleration, but continued to run. This continued all the way home, which I arrived safely, luckily. I called a Ford dealership and they were unable to get a service manager on the phone. They were supposed to call me back, which they never did. I ended up taking my car to another shop near my home and they told me that my electronic throttle body had gone out. They had recently made this fix to two other Ford Escapes, which concerned me. They also had to get the replacement piece directly from Ford, which also concerns me because I am now convinced it is a faulty piece altogether. I still feel at risk as they have only replaced the piece which I feel may still by faulty. I am disappointed that Ford was put so many people at risk and my hope is that this is researched and is recalled for peoples safety. I feel so blessed that my child was not in the car with me during these incidents although I was extremely scared for my own well being. I would like Ford to be held responsible for this.

- Plano, TX, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?