Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,445 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 16 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #241

Jul 082013

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the vehicle seized. The contact had to pull over and restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and diagnosed as a throttle failure. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000. Updated 9/25/13

- East Lyme , CT, USA

problem #240

Jul 272013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 27,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle stalled as the wrench warning icon illuminated. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the part was on back order. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 27,500. Updated 8/15/13 the consumer stated Ford paid for the installation of the throttle body. The repairs took one week. Updated 08/22/13

- Schererville, IN, USA

problem #239

Jul 282013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
I was driving on the highway and suddenly the wrench lit up and my car began to slow down, even though I continued to hold down the gas pedal. I was able to get the side of the highway since it was late at night, but during rush hour, I would have created a pile up. The car started fine about 10 minutes later, but I took it to the dealership and was told that it was a throttle body problem and they are on back order and I would have to pay for a rental car or drive a car around that could randomly stall for the next week. I am currently waiting for the parts to come in.

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #238

Jul 182013

Escape

  • 63,128 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down the interstate, the car started to de-accelerate. The accelerator did not respond and I went into limp mode. Car was towed to repair shop. It started right up and no problem was found - didn't register on the computer and wrench warning light went off. Ten days later, the car did the same thing, this time in the city. Different repair shop diagnosed the problem as the throttle body. Ford dealers in the area told me there were 3700 of these parts on back order! gee, maybe there is a problem with massive numbers needing to be replaced! a recall needs to be initiated. My incident on the interstate almost resulted in an accident.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #237

Jul 102013

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle became resistant to acceleration attempts over 10 mph. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for repairs. The manufacturer was notified about the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 54,000. Updated 08/27/13 the dealer replaced the throttle body. Updated 08/29/13

- Port Washington, NY, USA

problem #236

Jul 262013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
I was driving down the interstate heading to work when I lost all power. The vehicle did not die or stall, it lost power and the gas pedal would not work. As my speed started declining, I had to immediately turn on my emergency lights and move off the side of the road. Which was hard at the time with other traffic in that lane. And the decreasing speed while I was in my lane had me nervous as other vehicles came up flying behind me. As soon as I pulled over on the side of the road, my car immediately died. I tried to turn it on after about ten minutes and the engine just rolled but would not come on. After about 25 minutes, my car started up again. I was able to get it to a dealership and they said right away that it was probably the throttle body, but that the part was on back order and would take up to a week to get in. After they checked it out, it was in fact the throttle body. I ended up lucking out because they did have a part for me. Upon paying for my repair, I was told by the Ford service department, that they had seen a major spike in this repair. They even said they once had 15 cars in one day that all needed the throttle body repaired. And that is why the part had originally been on back order. They also stated that they were not the only dealership noticing this spike. I was informed to keep all my paperwork because with this kind of spike, it could lead to a recall.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #235

Jul 252013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while traveling at various speeds, the vehicle suddenly lost acceleration power. The vehicle was shut down and restarted but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was found that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000. Updated 9/4/13

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #234

Jul 172013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 37,314 miles
Vehicle suddenly and unexpectedly lost all power while driving on a major thoroughfare, almost resulting in a rear end collision. Vehicle has now done that three times and is not being driven as it is unsafe to operate until repaired. Ford states that it is a known issue with the throttle body but cannot obtain the replacement part for one to two months, rendering vehicle unusable and unsafe.

- Toccoa, GA, USA

problem #233

Jul 242013

Escape

  • 71,000 miles
Traveling on a highway, going 60 mph, my wrench light came on and the car went into "limp" mode. This happened two more times until I was able to get somewhere safe to call a tow truck. It turns out I have a bad throttle body which I have since learned is quite common in 2010 Ford Escapes. There needs to be a recall on this item. Yes, the engine did what it was supposed to, but losing power at 60 mph during rush hour is quite dangerous.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #232

Jul 232013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I was driving on the freeway at 65 in the slow lane when suddenly the vehicle seemed to loose power. The engine was still running but the accelerator would not work. No gas seemed to be going to the engine but it was still running. The good thing was I was in the slow lane otherwise I would have been in serious trouble. I shut the engine off and waited a few moments before restarting. It started up and I was able to drive home. Researching the problem on the internet led me to this site but it would appear that this is a common problem which Ford needs to take of before someone is killed.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #231

Apr 152013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle went into limp mode. Initially it was infrequent, but it started to happen more often at various speeds, causing unsafe driving conditions. The throttle body was the reported error, was replaced and now the new throttle body is acting up again with the same errors. The car is currently at the Ford dealership because the part is on back order and no one else has it available.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #230

Jul 232013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 89,600 miles
At least 10 times over the last few weeks, my 2010 Ford Escape has lost power while driving. The RPM's drop and the engine does not respond when pushing the gas pedal. Also the wrench light comes on. Changing the transmission to neutral does not affect the stall. Typically after turning off the engine and starting it again, the engine resets to normal. Today, this happen on a crowded interstate surrounded by semi trucks at 65 mph. Luckily, I was able to coast through lanes of traffic and get to the side of the road. This defect is considerably dangerous and needs attention as soon as possible from Ford.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #229

Jul 192013

Escape

  • 70,850 miles
Vehicle was being driven down a county highway at 55 mph when it jerked forward and suddenly lost power. The vehicle coasted to almost a crawl before there was any sign of life to it. My wife called me and I asked her to pull over to a safe place. I told her to turn the vehicle off and then restart it. When she did this, she was able to drive the vehicle normally. The vehicle then jerked again and switched into the limp mode. At this point my wife pulled over and call a tow truck. The first mechanic I took it to said that I needed to take it to Ford and that it was the throttle body. Once I got it to Ford, they looked at it and said that it was the throttle body and it needed to be replace. It's hard to believe that the part was on back order. There must be a demand for the part! I am thankful that my wife is fine, but I am concerned that the jerk that she felt could have led to an accident. I would hate to have this happen to any one else.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #228

Jul 012013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
While driving at a constant speed of approximately 35 mph, vehicle suddenly stalled without warning or hesitation. I coasted to a stop in a nearby parking lot (luckily!), turned ignition off and vehicle restarted and ran with no problems for almost two weeks. On Saturday, July 13th while driving in a similar situation, the vehicle again stalled and would not restart until I coasted to a stop on the side of the road and turned the ignition off. Since then the vehicle has done this about a half dozen times but not always by just stalling. The vehicle has also went into 'limp home' mode on at least one occasion when my son was driving and he was lucky enough to be close to a friend's house where it sat overnight. When we started it the next time it ran like it was misfiring very badly, so we turned the ignition off and tapped on the throttle body with the handle of a screwdriver. It then started and idled normally and we were able to drive it about three miles home. It also has sputtered erratically similar to a very bad repeated misfiring until stopping and turning the ignition off. It did this twice within a quarter mile and then ran fine for over 15 miles that I drove it to the Ford dealership who wanted $107 dollars to diagnose a problem that I am fairly certain I already had figured out. The dealership said their 'specially trained' technicians may find a different cause than the P2111 code I had read with a scanner from a local auto parts store suggested. I have found out that this problem was supposed addressed by Ford thinking that there was a printed circuit board problem in the electronic throttle body. However, this vehicle was manufactured in March of 2010, after the October 15th, 2009 date they had started using the new part.

- Brunswick, GA, USA

problem #227

Jul 182013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 51,703 miles
Vehicle suddenly lost power and wouldn't accelerate... engine eventually cut off. Continued to be a problem in my attempt to get home. Had it towed to the dealership the next day, where they discovered a problem with the throttle body.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #226

May 172012

Escape 8-cyl

  • 49,542 miles
My 2010 Ford Escape has an intermittent issue where the accelerator stops working, the engine wrench alert comes on, the engine is still running. When this occurs the vehicle has basically stalled, in that you can't accelerate only slow down or coast. After the problem occurs you must turn the vehicle off and wait a few minutes, then it will usually start up and the accelerator will function again. This problem has happened probably a dozen times since it started, we usually just pull over and turn vehicle off/on, yesterday the problem nearly caused an accident though as my son was pulling out of a parking lot into traffic and the vehicle stalled.

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #225

Jul 192013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
The vehicle suddenly stopped running; initially heard a gentle thump followed by a decrease in RPM < 900. Depressing the accelerater had no affect. After coming to a complete stop I was able to restart the vehicle. I took the vehicle to a Ford dealership the next day. They were unable to find anything wrong. The vehicle has repeated this same thing 3 times since the first occurence. I am scheduled to take the vehicle back to the dealership tomorrow 7-23-13.

- Magnolia, DE, USA

problem #224

Jul 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 49,523 miles
The problem started on July 09, 2013. My wife was dropping our kids off at daycare and a summer program when the car just lost all power couldn't accelerate or anything. The vehicle could just coast. We have never had any problems with the vehicle before, so I told her to try and shut down the vehicle to restart it. There were no warning lights and it worked fine. Then after dropping the kids off it happened to more times to her on her way to work. After I got off of work, I picked up the vehicle and drove it around non-busy roadways to see if it could happen to me, and it did. I immediately dropped it off at a service center close by. I am extremely concerned about these incidents after looking online and finding out that this is not a random incident. It is happening to many people. Something in the throttle body goes bad causing the vehicle to go into something that people are calling "limp mode". my wife was driving at highway speeds with vehicles behind her and my children in the car. This situation could have been devastating and I am glad that it wasn't. I do not want it to be devastating for anyone else either though. I believe it should be looked at closely. After talking to the parts department of a Ford dealer, it seems that Ford has recognized the problem by changing the part. The problem is that it only helps if you change the part. I believe that Ford should be doing something about this to ensure nobody is injured badly or worse.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #223

Jul 212013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 63,114 miles
I was pulling out into traffic and upon attempting to accelerate, vehicle lost power. Wrench light came on and no matter how far down I pushed the gas pedal, I could not go over 5 mph. Thankfully, I was able to pull over, turned off the ignition, restarted and vehicle drove fine for about 500ft and then it began doing the same thing. This continued my entire 5 mile trip home. This is very dangerous just to lose power while driving. Mechanic indicates defective "throttle body."

- Jensen Beach, FL, USA

problem #222

Jul 142011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 34,209 miles
After 65-70 mph on interstate with no issue "jump" or slip occurs after exiting, coming to stop and then accelerating again. Upon accelerating car jumps hard with vibration. Was told nothing wrong and needed front end alignment?? this issue has occurred since purchasing brand new. Was always told nothing wrong with car while under warranty. Once out of warranty Ford dealer in tn on 9-12-11 told me again nothing wrong with vehicle and charged me $98. Try to explain issues however they put in their words. Took car again 7-23-12 to dealer, apparently couldn't find issue. 7-7-13: Car comes to stop on interstate! nothing happens when pressing accelerator however still has power. Had to stop turn off engine and restart! this has happened 5 times in past week. Taking to dealership tomorrow July 22 2013. Appears to be same symptoms as throttle body issues! dangerous to have car stop on freeway! very disappointing as this car is only 3 yrs new!

- Kenner, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?